55 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Singapore PR Application on May 2023, Already 12 months

jojolicia
post Nov 4 2024, 08:52 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(guitarfreak17 @ Nov 4 2024, 02:12 PM)
Hi everyone, would like to check, is it worth submitting an appeal email to ICA for my gf’s (chinese malaysian) PR application that just got rejected? The application was made on the new system in July 2024. She works in the banking sector and has been in SG since June 2023, both her siblings are PR, uncle & auntie are singaporean. Appreciate any advice sifus can offer, thanks in advance!
Siblings, uncle aunty all irrelevant. In banking sector as what? position, qualification ?
malz89
post Nov 4 2024, 10:00 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Nov 4 2024, 08:52 PM)
Siblings, uncle aunty all irrelevant. In banking sector as what? position, qualification ?
Speaking of which, her rejection is quite fast leh. Now they take only 4 months to process ah?
jojolicia
post Nov 4 2024, 11:02 PM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Nov 4 2024, 10:00 PM)
Speaking of which, her rejection is quite fast leh. Now they take only 4 months to process ah?
Yeah, I was told the same too, very fast.

I know one Malaysian got his approval in 2 months. The notification came in mid Oct.

He applied after 6 years at work here.
guitarfreak17
post Nov 5 2024, 08:23 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 4 2024, 03:01 PM)
From what I know, appeal applications are usually rejected.

My friend also applied for PR and just got approved. He applied two years ago but was unsuccessful, so he only got PR after applying a second time. He has an Employment Pass (EP) all the time.

However, he regularly transfer SGD to MYR and send the money to Malaysia for his housing loan, and his SGD deposit in Singapore bank is very low.

Does your girlfriend also have a low deposit in her Singapore bank?
So, are you also a Singapore PR?
Wouldn’t say that her deposit is low in SG bank. Most of her savings are in SGD actually, although there’s some commitments in MY that she transfers money on monthly basis. Oh well, guess just have to try again next time. I applied for PR around the same time as her actually. Not sure if i might get a different outcome 😂. I’m in construction under M&E consultant.
guitarfreak17
post Nov 5 2024, 08:25 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Nov 4 2024, 05:09 PM)
Could it be that she's in a Competitive field? I heard many finance getting rejected too. Usually get it on 2nd try
We heard something similarly to this too, I also suspect it has something to do with how slow the salary goes up, compared to other industries, too competitive definitely
guitarfreak17
post Nov 5 2024, 08:30 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Nov 4 2024, 08:52 PM)
Oh does close relatives’ ties to SG not contribute to the application at all then? She’s an assistant service manager on EP. Worked in MY since 2018, came SG in June 2023.
jojolicia
post Nov 5 2024, 08:48 AM

1,910 posts

QUOTE(guitarfreak17 @ Nov 5 2024, 08:30 AM)
Oh does close relatives’ ties to SG not contribute to the application at all then? She’s an assistant service manager on EP. Worked in MY since 2018, came SG in June 2023.
I wld reckon 2nd submission instead of appeal. All the best.
malz89
post Nov 5 2024, 10:10 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Nov 4 2024, 11:02 PM)
Yeah, I was told the same too, very fast.

I know one Malaysian got his approval in 2 months. The notification came in mid Oct.

He applied after 6 years at work here.
Dayum so fast nowadays. Haha
malz89
post Nov 5 2024, 10:15 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(guitarfreak17 @ Nov 5 2024, 08:25 AM)
We heard something similarly to this too, I also suspect it has something to do with how slow the salary goes up, compared to other industries, too competitive definitely
No finance is one sectors with the highest pay. Hence, likely her position may not high enough currently to be qualified for a PR given that so many competitors that may have an edge over her. Just reapply when she gets promoted or something.

I'd you're in a niche sector, securing a PR is quite easy.

eddyooi
post Nov 5 2024, 10:39 AM

89 posts

what advantages having a PR?
malz89
post Nov 5 2024, 10:45 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(eddyooi @ Nov 5 2024, 10:39 AM)
what advantages having a PR?
CPF, job security, subsidies, buying house
CaffeineDog
post Nov 5 2024, 11:51 AM

QUOTE(malz89 @ Nov 5 2024, 10:45 AM)
CPF, job security, subsidies, buying house
I second that

guitarfreak17
post Nov 5 2024, 01:45 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Nov 5 2024, 08:48 AM)
I wld reckon 2nd submission instead of appeal. All the best.
Thanks! Appealing probably isnt the best option right now.
guitarfreak17
post Nov 6 2024, 09:04 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Nov 5 2024, 10:15 AM)
No finance is one sectors with the highest pay. Hence, likely her position may not high enough currently to be qualified for a PR given that so many competitors that may have an edge over her. Just reapply when she gets promoted or something.

I'd you're in a niche sector, securing a PR is quite easy.
Yeah, think so. Her colleague (also chinese malaysian) also got rejected recently. Would you say that M&E consultant in construction is considered as a nichie sector? 🤔🤔
malz89
post Nov 6 2024, 11:00 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(guitarfreak17 @ Nov 6 2024, 09:04 AM)
Yeah, think so. Her colleague (also chinese malaysian) also got rejected recently. Would you say that M&E consultant in construction is considered as a nichie sector? 🤔🤔
I'm not sure about M&E consultant, but you can always give it a try. Alternatively, you guys could get married and apply together. Haha .. how long have you guys been working? Although the minimum requirement is 6 months, yet that's just the borderline. Can try applying again about 2 years down the road.

Anyway, quite a number of /k actually got an offer. You're the first rejection iinm.
malz89
post Nov 6 2024, 11:09 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(CaffeineDog @ Nov 5 2024, 11:51 AM)
I second that
But in the end no money what also cannot haha
guitarfreak17
post Nov 18 2024, 08:14 PM

30 posts

Hi all, just to share that I just got my IPA. Bittersweet indeed since my gf’s was rejected 😆
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 18 2024, 08:25 PM

1,816 posts

QUOTE(guitarfreak17 @ Nov 18 2024, 08:14 PM)
Hi all, just to share that I just got my IPA. Bittersweet indeed since my gf’s was rejected 😆
Congratulations on getting your PR approval! This is a big milestone for you.

Don’t worry too much about your girlfriend’s application—if you both decide to get married, you can sponsor her PR application as your spouse, which will significantly increase her chances.

Wishing you both all the best!

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 18 2024, 08:26 PM
aikido_dude
post Nov 18 2024, 08:31 PM

63 posts

Hope you don't mind me asking. Did you apply with the new system or the old system?
malz89
post Nov 18 2024, 10:19 PM

1,135 posts

It's ok can find new one .. haha .. jk .. anyway grats .. seems almost everyone who posted in serious /k gets it

55 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:40 PM