‘Park At Your Own Risk’ no longer applicable

Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 28 2023, 08:39 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(wawasan2200 @ Apr 28 2023, 07:15 PM)
so car stolen who will be responsible?
paid carpark.
you pay to have your vehicle in a safe space.
provider cannot deny.
Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 28 2023, 08:41 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(Freshmeat21 @ Apr 28 2023, 08:11 PM)
Can we sue majlis bandaraya since we paid parking fees?
i think (roadside) parking by municipal is covered separately under law, bylaw, ordnance. iinm not covered.
Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 28 2023, 08:43 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 28 2023, 08:08 PM)
it's already a thing after a judge ruled it a few years ago
but parking operator still love to put the term behind their ticket or on the wall of the parking as if it's legal binding

unless of course your parking is free...thn yes
kpdnkk already said before in newspaper; even displaying such term itself is an offence worthy of saman.
Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 28 2023, 11:15 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(potatoespotate @ Apr 28 2023, 10:58 PM)
so if roadside parking under local council also same?
parking provided by municipal council is not liable for your loss, regardless it is paid. i can't remember which law i was reading through, but it is law. probably the law governing local government i.e. municipal.

paid parking by private entities on the other hand is responsible to provide facility and security, so they cannot wash their hands when things go broken and/or missing. keyword: paid. if you park for free, then different story lah. who wanna be kuli percuma to guard your belongings, right?
Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 28 2023, 11:45 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Apr 28 2023, 11:40 PM)
If this applicable to "Trade At Your Own Risk" term from guru saham......... oh yes
QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Apr 28 2023, 08:43 PM)
kpdnkk already said before in newspaper; even displaying such term itself is an offence worthy of saman.
it is illegal for carpark operators to even display or tout "park at own risk".
Oltromen Ripot
post Apr 28 2023, 11:51 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Apr 28 2023, 11:48 PM)
Since early 90s lg duhhh
yes, "duhh".
but not many drivers already know this.
and the point being stressed in 1st post is, all the judgements are now cemented by Court of Appeal.

0.0188sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:09 PM