iPod Unleashing the potential of the iPod touch, A step-by-step guide

SUSMike3300
post Mar 26 2008, 11:08 PM

6,866 posts

What To Do If Your Wi-Fi Doesn't Work.

Many people complain that they get an error saying: "Safari can't open the page because it can't find the server," although they have full signal. This is a common problem, caused by the way iPod handles the Domain Name System (DNS).

To test if this is your problem, enter this into the address bar: 72.14.207.99

It should load Google. The reason that this works is because DNS is what converts the URL (what you enter into the address bar) into the correct IP address. By directly entering the IP address, you eliminate the need for the DNS.

Here is how you fix this:
1) On the Springboard, go to Settings> WiFi
2) Tap the blue arrow to the right of the network's signal strength meter
3) Delete everything in the DNS field
4) Copy everything in the Router field to the DNS field so it looks like this:

Now go into Safari, and try to load a page. It should work by now.

If that doesn't work, and you are at somewhere other than a home or personal network, there is a good chance that there is MAC address filtering. A MAC address identifies the device to the network and if there is a filter, only specific devices will be allowed to connect.

SUSMike3300
post Mar 27 2008, 12:41 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(No0KieF @ Mar 27 2008, 12:35 AM)
just wanna ask... for the first step

1: Restore your iPod touch to a fresh state of 1.1.4,  for this just click Shift and hit the Restore. If you don't have 1.1.4 firmware, you can download it here (right click>save as): 1.1.4. Firmware Save at your desired folder and remember where you save them cause when you hit Shift+Restore, you're locating your firmware.

say, my ipod is on 1.1.4 now,
what will happen if i restore it using 1.1.2 firmware instead of 1.1.4?
will it brick the ipod touch?
cuz i wanna try a software that is compatible with 1.12.
Nope, you gotta need a 1.1.4 fresh restore and you don't need to downgrade anymore. So start from 1.1.4.

It won't brick but you gotta enter your iPod into DFU mode in order to downgrade it. If you wanna try installing 1.1.2 3rd party apps, then stay at 1.1.2.
SUSMike3300
post Mar 29 2008, 03:49 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(CrazyRock @ Mar 29 2008, 12:44 AM)
Hey guys, I ran into some serious problem.

I was struck after:
3: Now run this modded ZiPhone by David (iPodtouchMaster05), you can download it here (RapidShare link): Modded ZiPhone After unzipping the .rar folder, click a file called jailbreak. Let it do it's thing, it should be done in less than five minutes and it's normal for your iPod touch screen to flicker/scroll thru some weird white messages.

My ipod wouldn't reboot & keep displaying BDS root: md0, major2, minor 0

What should i do now?

PLs advice.
+3kk! said it all, restart and try again. On my first try I have the same error, just restore and try for second time and it works.

SUSMike3300
post Mar 31 2008, 11:24 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Mar 31 2008, 09:44 PM)
I just got my iTouch 8GB with no Dead Pixels.. smile.gif
Jailbreak it straightaway using ZiPhone with success.. thumbup.gif
installed some apps but sometimes it says memory getting low, please delete some photos to free up space.. I've not even put in any music/movies/photos...
Any idea why is this happening?
If you open your iTunes and check on the space status, your Others highlighted in orange means all the jailbreaking stuff and iPod touch only limits apps till 80MB so you probably over limit it. Just go to Installer and find Boss Tool. Then relocate your fonts and restart, you should be able to install lots more apps.
SUSMike3300
post Apr 2 2008, 05:03 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(me_kenny @ Apr 2 2008, 04:46 PM)
im a new n vr happy user of ipod touch. it's true that the jailbreaking takes a lot of patience. neway, wanna share my experience of jailbreaking with u guys. initially i tried to use the ziphone provided by mike3300 but my ipod dsnt seem to work with the ziphone provided. after several tries restoring, i google up n used the new ziphone from http://www.ziphone.org/. it has even a GUI for easy usage and walah, it works like a charm n from there i continue following the steps provided by mike3300. neway, thank you for the steps mike3300

may i knw wht 3rd party apps that allows me to use msn?
Glad to help although there's a little glitch, ahaks~! Add http://twenty08.com/installer into your repository Sources in Installer, after refresh go to Install tab and find twenty 08, then download Mobile Chat. It has GUI just like iPhone's SMS and it works really well.
SUSMike3300
post May 12 2008, 08:04 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ May 12 2008, 07:02 PM)
er...
im using 1.1.4 and jailbreaked..
i hold onto an icon for few seconds.. i dun see it moving ? or jiggle?
After restoring fresh from 1.1.4. it doesn't give you the features yet, you have to install the January Software Upgrade first. After the 5 new apps are on your homescreen, try and touch any icons again. Either jailbreak it and install of Installer or buy the apps, just jailbreak it.
SUSMike3300
post May 13 2008, 03:27 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ May 13 2008, 10:25 AM)
orait..
will try to install the january updates and try..
btw, the bosstools once i have relocated the fonts and stuffs.. can i remove the program? (bosstool) ?
Yes, you can uninstall the app.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 1 2008, 08:20 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ May 31 2008, 10:49 AM)
i dont have ipod.. so wondering what the carrier signal for in ipod?
The screen will just display iPod, with third-party application you can change the text to anything you like.
SUSMike3300
post Jun 1 2008, 12:00 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 1 2008, 11:37 AM)
ahh ic, i tough the carrier were functional same as normal phone.. hahaa

but does it has wifi?
Yes, WiFi 802.11b/g.
SUSMike3300
post Jul 12 2008, 07:01 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Jul 12 2008, 02:47 PM)
what's the latest on 2.0 f/w for ipod touch?  i wonder should i upgrade it official via iTunes?
Look here: http://www.apple.com/ipodtouch/

Yes, and you have to pay for it: $9.95
SUSMike3300
post Sep 15 2008, 06:34 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Sep 15 2008, 12:08 AM)
does ipod touch able to use GPS function ?
'Nuff said, no.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0254sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:11 PM