News 10-year-old scoliosis patient seeks donations for, spinal brace

TSchina_dude 02
post Apr 18 2023, 03:35 PM, updated 3y ago

633 posts

KUALA LUMPUR: While most 10-year-olds would be out playing sports and exploring, this is not the case for Angel Eng Low Hui Mei who has scoliosis.

Having a 36-degree curved back, her condition has restricted her from doing heavy activities such as carrying her school books in her backpack and opting for a trolley bag instead.

Eng's grandmother, Yeow Kwek Lai, 53, said she noticed one of Eng's shoulders was slightly raised when standing up and that her spine was curved.

This prompted them to go to a nearby hospital, where she was diagnosed with scoliosis on Oct 11 last year.
"One of her biggest fears is to undergo surgery if she is not able to acquire the 3D scoliosis brace.

"She is currently doing a 3D scoliosis brace fitting at Teh Lin Prosthetic & Orthopaedic Centre, which costs RM5,000.

Having a 36-degree curved back, her condition has restricted her from doing heavy activities such as carrying her school books in her backpack and opting for a trolley bag instead.

Eng's grandmother, Yeow Kwek Lai, 53, said she noticed one of Eng's shoulders was slightly raised when standing up and that her spine was curved.

This prompted them to go to a nearby hospital, where she was diagnosed with scoliosis on Oct 11 last year.

"She is currently doing a 3D scoliosis brace fitting at Teh Lin Prosthetic & Orthopaedic Centre, which costs RM5,000.

Appearances can be deceiving, so it's unlikely dollar will wane in significance
"She hopes that the brace can alleviate her condition so that she can be active again and pursue her interest in arts," Yeow said.

Yeow added that hopefully, the brace will boost Eng's confidence and that she won't be made fun of by her friends any longer.

Those who wish to aid Eng can transfer their donations to Media Prima-NSTP Humanitarian Fund's Maybank account at 5141-0532-3170 and email a copy of the deposit slip or any other form to communications@mediaprima.com.my.

Meanwhile, cheques can be made to the fund by mailing the cheque to Group Corporate Communications Department, Media Prima Bhd, Level 1, Anjung Riong, Balai Berita, 31 Jalan Riong, 59100 Bangsar, Kuala Lumpur, with the patient's name written on the reverse of the cheque.
https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2023/04/...ns-spinal-brace

This post has been edited by china_dude 02: Apr 18 2023, 03:36 PM
SUSWahlberg
post Apr 18 2023, 03:36 PM

144 posts

Sure, we all will help anyway we can
Xith
post Apr 18 2023, 03:37 PM

133 posts

Bump
ycs
post Apr 18 2023, 03:39 PM

4,232 posts

can trust media prima ke?
SUSasx26365
post Apr 18 2023, 03:41 PM

27 posts

Why her grandmother? Where parents?
Epci
post Apr 18 2023, 03:49 PM

125 posts

Avangelice
post Apr 18 2023, 03:51 PM

5,272 posts

Uhhh... 36 degrees isn't alot to warrant a surgery and bracing government hospital does it for free. I see so many children with scoliosis with Cobb angles from 50 to 60 degrees and their RS is less that 3. What makes this girl any special?
billylks
post Apr 18 2023, 03:54 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Apr 18 2023, 03:39 PM)
can trust media prima ke?
The crazy thing is the fund macam a general one, no way for you to ensure the money is just for the girl.
SUSWahlberg
post Apr 18 2023, 04:02 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 18 2023, 03:51 PM)
Uhhh... 36 degrees isn't alot to warrant a surgery and bracing government hospital does it for free. I see so many children with scoliosis with Cobb angles from 50 to 60 degrees and their RS is less that 3. What makes this girl any special?
From Human to another Human... just helping
Avangelice
post Apr 18 2023, 04:13 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Wahlberg @ Apr 18 2023, 04:02 PM)
From Human to another Human... just helping
So what about the little girl I just saw last month who's Cobb angle was 60 and her father is told she need surgery that costs at least 10k?

Why selective assist?
sinnlig
post Apr 18 2023, 04:16 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 18 2023, 04:13 PM)
So what about the little girl I just saw last month who's Cobb angle was 60 and her father is told she need surgery that costs at least 10k?

Why selective assist?
Govt won't pay the 10k?
Khamzat Chimaev
post Apr 18 2023, 04:17 PM

50 posts

bump..pls donate guys
kamfoo
post Apr 18 2023, 04:20 PM

846 posts

any pic..?
Avangelice
post Apr 18 2023, 04:20 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(sinnlig @ Apr 18 2023, 04:16 PM)
Govt won't pay the 10k?
Due to the age of the girl and her aggressive scoliosis, she doesn't have time on her side but government is fully booked. Hence why have to look for alternatives.
sinnlig
post Apr 18 2023, 04:22 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 18 2023, 04:20 PM)
Due to the age of the girl and her aggressive scoliosis, she doesn't have time on her side but government is fully booked. Hence why have to look for alternatives.
As govt doc can u help to put in urgency?
Avangelice
post Apr 18 2023, 04:25 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(sinnlig @ Apr 18 2023, 04:22 PM)
As govt doc can u help to put in urgency?
This opens the door for abuse. Like that you can pay your way to be on the top of the list. Believe me, rich people have offered me money to do this. No thank you
SUSWahlberg
post Apr 18 2023, 04:25 PM

144 posts

Why selective assist?
I help her too.. no problem
sinnlig
post Apr 18 2023, 04:37 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 18 2023, 04:25 PM)
This opens the door for abuse. Like that you can pay your way to be on the top of the list. Believe me, rich people have offered me money to do this. No thank you
Wow interesting.
mushigen
post Apr 18 2023, 04:38 PM

4,954 posts

Why selective assist?
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 18 2023, 04:25 PM)
I don't understand. What are we supposed to do to help her since we're talking about donating money here?
janszmatt
post Apr 18 2023, 04:44 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Apr 18 2023, 04:38 PM)
I don't understand. What are we supposed to do to help her since we're talking about donating money here?
Ask her go government hospital to do the brace
My donation to her already included in my tax to LHDN

0.0177sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:41 PM