Buying insurance before ownership transfer, is it possible?

TSMR_alien
post Apr 10 2023, 05:06 PM, updated 2y ago

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

want to ask who has experience with this
is it possible to purchase a car insurance for a car that hasn't transfer ownership yet?...but plan to do soon?
because the seller confirmed it's doable because he did it
but consulting with insurance agent say it's only possible after ownership transfer

so who is actually correct?
and if it is possible, is it only doable via agent and not via online?
gobiomani
post Apr 10 2023, 06:38 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 10 2023, 05:06 PM)
is it possible to purchase a car insurance for a car that hasn't transfer ownership yet?...but plan to do soon?
but consulting with insurance agent say it's only possible after ownership transfer

I recently bought a car direct from the owner. I tried to buy insurance for the car before the ownership transfer but it was not possible via online insurance portals. Tried several different insurance companies but all came out with the message that the car is not registered under my name. So just wait until ownership transfer and then only buy insurance. Remember to transfer NCD from existing or previous car if any.
TSMR_alien
post Apr 10 2023, 06:51 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Apr 10 2023, 06:38 PM)
I recently bought a car direct from the owner. I tried to buy insurance for the car before the ownership transfer but it was not possible via online insurance portals. Tried several different insurance companies but all came out with the message that the car is not registered under my name. So just wait until ownership transfer and then only buy insurance. Remember to transfer NCD from existing or previous car if any.
online system guarantee cannot because it's tied to the system
the system definitely won't allow me to renew it because IC number and plate number doesn't match

but my question is..is it possible to be done via agent or not because the seller's previous case(he has 2 cars) actually has a real life example(although i'm not sure real or not)
Chrix
post Apr 10 2023, 09:15 PM

1,187 posts

yes can, just state the effective date. But now days can transfer name without insurance coverage unlike the past.

I do all myself by walk in or contact the insurer directly (some can even do via whatsapp, just need documents & payment sent over) instead of agent

TSMR_alien
post Apr 10 2023, 09:31 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Apr 10 2023, 09:15 PM)
yes can, just state the effective date. But now days can transfer name without insurance coverage unlike the past.

I do all myself by walk in or contact the insurer directly (some can even do via whatsapp, just need documents & payment sent over) instead of agent
i know can for the bolded part actually
for physical, i think depends on officer...because the last time i did it physically at JPJ branch...the officer is quite strict what he wants

but i also use mysikap system before...this one can transfer without insurance coverage....i can even go to JPJ and get the VOC without insurance
but too bad this seller doesn't have mysikap account

i know i can do it directly with insurer but usually cases like this, i usually use agent since they have more access to the system, faster too

since u say it can be renew before my ownership transfer, i'm going to try it next week, 2 days before ownership transfer...see if it really can or not
AtMostFear
post Apr 10 2023, 11:35 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 10 2023, 09:31 PM)
i know can for the bolded part actually
for physical, i think depends on officer...because the last time i did it physically at JPJ branch...the officer is quite strict what he wants

but i also use mysikap system before...this one can transfer without insurance coverage....i can even go to JPJ and get the VOC without insurance
but too bad this seller doesn't have mysikap account

i know i can do it directly with insurer but usually cases like this, i usually use agent since they have more access to the system, faster too

since u say it can be renew before my ownership transfer, i'm going to try it next week, 2 days before ownership transfer...see if it really can or not
same like the previous poster said, you cant do it online but need to do it manually. and you need to tell the insurer the 'effective date'. good luck.
taitianhin
post Apr 10 2023, 11:38 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

Insurance is compulsory to renew roadtax...
SO there is no rush while changing onwershihp...
Chg ownership then buy insurance on same day also can one..
else, how should it reflect your name in the insurance system with your own ic?

This post has been edited by taitianhin: Apr 10 2023, 11:39 PM
TSMR_alien
post Apr 11 2023, 10:44 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Apr 10 2023, 11:35 PM)
same like the previous poster said, you cant do it online but need to do it manually. and you need to tell the insurer the 'effective date'. good luck.
thanks...got it

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Apr 10 2023, 11:38 PM)
Insurance is compulsory to renew roadtax...
SO there is no rush while changing onwershihp...
Chg ownership then buy insurance on same day also can one..
else, how should it reflect your name in the insurance system with your own ic?
i actually got the same opinion as well
but the seller request me to renew the insurance few days prior to the ownership transfer saying his previous transaction is like that
saying if done like this, the whole transaction will went on faster

which is why i'm asking if it's possible to even be done this way?

here got some opinion saying just set the "effective date" to the date of the ownership transfer instead
taitianhin
post Apr 11 2023, 10:58 AM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 11 2023, 10:44 AM)
thanks...got it
i actually got the same opinion as well
but the seller request me to renew the insurance few days prior to the ownership transfer saying his previous transaction is like that
saying if done like this, the whole transaction will went on faster

which is why i'm asking if it's possible to even be done this way?

here got some opinion saying just set the "effective date" to the date of the ownership transfer instead
Ya...you can call in set "effective date" for the polisy

shd be fine....

at the end, it just to secure your accident. dont have to buy the insure when the car is not in your hand....
and not your name too
TRAZE99
post Apr 11 2023, 06:36 PM

389 posts

only can be done with physical shop agent, not online.
i sold several car, just give the new owner photo of current geran. he could buy siap insurance and proceed to jpj for name transfer (new geran)+ print new roadtax) on the same day.
nowdays can transfer name with or without insurance.
oks911
post Sep 16 2024, 11:58 PM

519 posts

Do we need to renew insurance after transfer ownership ? Let say insurance is still valid another 8 months, once transfer ownership completed, is the new buyer will need to buy new insurance?
TSMR_alien
post Sep 17 2024, 07:51 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(oks911 @ Sep 16 2024, 11:58 PM)
Do we need to renew insurance after transfer ownership ? Let say insurance is still valid another 8 months, once transfer ownership completed, is the new buyer will need to buy new insurance?
yes because the insurance follow owner's name
so the old insurance that has 8 months left, the ex-owner can tell the insurance panel that the car is sold and can refund
you as the new owner starts a new insurance for your new car

that's why i'm confused why at used car ads, the owner use "just renew insurance or insurance still have 10 months left" as selling points laugh.gif
you as the new owner won't be able to utilize that insurance, it's not yours
dogbert_chew
post Sep 17 2024, 01:16 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(oks911 @ Sep 16 2024, 11:58 PM)
Once seller already sold the car, his insurance no longer valid for that car. Just get a refund from insurance company for the remaining period.

0.0189sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:45 AM