House Renovation, Aircond recommendations

TSbibirbieber
post Apr 4 2023, 06:11 AM, updated 3y ago

237 posts

Hi sifus,
I just bought a subsale unit and renovating the house right now. I’m planning to change the airconds in the house as well. The issue right now is I’m not sure which brand aircond that I should buy. I just need one inverter unit since mostly I will use that 1 unit only. Planning to get 1 unit for 2.5hp, and 3 unit for 1.0hp.
Please recommend a good reliable brand/model.
Thanks in advance
ungka
post Apr 4 2023, 07:01 AM

498 posts

last time i heard mitsubishi heavy industry was good. not sure if it still is.
i personally used hisense/daikin.

but im not particular in a/c thus can't really tell whats the diff

This post has been edited by ungka: Apr 4 2023, 07:01 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 4 2023, 07:12 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Can never go wronv with Samsung / Panasonic / Daikin / Mitsubishi

Want cheaper can get Gree

Want cheaper somemore Hisense or Electrolux

I havr Panasonic and Electrolux and Panasonic gives highest problem. Same unit fuse prob twice.
Another Panasonic both indoor outdoor unit cooling coil prob.
Electrolux prob is wiring/piping no issue with itself although this unit not often used.

So i would say many a times aircond prob is caused by external factor such as bad installation of piping or wiring.
Unless u get a lemon unit
Aaron212
post Apr 4 2023, 07:22 AM

1,773 posts

Get a good brand despite the price

When 1 night ur air cond spoil u will be cursing the World why did u save rm200 during installation

Sir_Jim
post Apr 4 2023, 07:49 AM

529 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 4 2023, 07:12 AM)
Can never go wronv with Samsung / Panasonic / Daikin / Mitsubishi

Want cheaper can get Gree

Want cheaper somemore Hisense or Electrolux
I havr Panasonic and Electrolux and Panasonic gives highest problem. Same unit fuse prob twice.
Another Panasonic both indoor outdoor unit cooling coil prob.
Electrolux prob is wiring/piping no issue with itself although this unit not often used.

So i would say many a times aircond prob is caused by external factor such as bad installation of piping or wiring.
Unless u get a lemon unit
Nvr go wrong with pana but u claimed pana gv u trouble? Haier is cheaper?
IMF2025
post Apr 4 2023, 07:57 AM

202 posts

I bought 2.5hp inverter for my master and 1 Hp for all my others rooms. Brand I choose is Mitsubishi as my old hse using Mitsubishi and it’s been donkeys years >15 yrs edi and still going.

My other property I used daikin but not really happy with the looks and performance. Felt like mitsu had a more premium feel.

Mitsubishi is made Thailand so spare parts I’m not too sure about.
mingyew
post Apr 4 2023, 09:42 AM

4,177 posts

want long term cost saving model.. can consider Midea All easy pro.. can service on your own.
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 4 2023, 10:34 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Sir_Jim @ Apr 4 2023, 07:49 AM)
Nvr go wrong with pana but u claimed pana gv u trouble? Haier is cheaper?
Like i said, either lemon unit or installer prob.
sijun
post Apr 4 2023, 10:41 AM

318 posts

Any major brand is ok, panasonic daikin acson, gree, midea, etc
installation is more important. make sure done properly with proper pipings.
Maknusia
post Apr 4 2023, 10:48 AM

997 posts

Totally agree on installation part. I have unknown brand thats been running for 30plus years with no issues.

Most of the time its due to installation, water outlet piping, copper sizing, length and bending.

Lately been reading, Midea is very DIY friendly

This post has been edited by Maknusia: Apr 4 2023, 10:49 AM
johorian
post Apr 4 2023, 01:10 PM

159 posts

Panasonic, until now no probem, only normal service. Daikin unit problematic, i had 2nos, both also got problem.
theochew
post Apr 4 2023, 01:40 PM

35 posts

1.For best intermediate aircond - I personally recommend midea MSAG10 Xtreme models (newer models)

Reason: in terms of physical build MSAG10 models.
you may notice their btu is higher - this is because they are using gold fin for BOTH condensor coil (outside) & evaporator coil (inside)
gold fin is more durable (heat, dust, salty air, acidic etc resistant) & more efficient in transferring heat - therefore cools down faster, higher btu [just google gold fin vs blue find to study more]

other benefits on their catalogue I will say just abit more plus plus. gold fin is what I am looking for.

*Take note their older models, is EITHER condensor coil gold fin only (Xtreme dura series) OR evaporator coil gold fin only (All easy pro series etc).
Other brands, such as Gree also have golden fin on the condensor coil only (compressor). If nothing is mentioned about the coil, then mostly is blue fin.

2. Lastly Installation is very important. If possible, back to back installation. The longer piping you run, the higher probability of future issues (does not mean it will happen)

Ckmwpy0370
post Apr 4 2023, 02:46 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(bibirbieber @ Apr 4 2023, 06:11 AM)
Hi sifus,
I just bought a subsale unit and renovating the house right now. I’m planning to change the airconds in the house as well. The issue right now is I’m not sure which brand aircond that I should buy. I just need one inverter unit since mostly I will use that 1 unit only. Planning to get 1 unit for 2.5hp, and 3 unit for 1.0hp.
Please recommend a good reliable brand/model.
Thanks in advance
I m using panasonic for my old house, second house and third house so far no issue thumbsup.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

PAChamp
post Apr 4 2023, 03:47 PM

1,159 posts

i used Mitsubishi for a few years then it spoiled. Now using panasonic.
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 4 2023, 03:53 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(theochew @ Apr 4 2023, 01:40 PM)
1.For best intermediate aircond - I personally recommend midea MSAG10 Xtreme models (newer models)

Reason: in terms of physical build MSAG10 models.
            you may notice their btu is higher - this is because they are using gold fin for BOTH condensor coil (outside) & evaporator coil (inside)
            gold fin is more durable (heat, dust, salty air, acidic etc resistant) & more efficient in transferring heat - therefore cools down faster, higher btu [just google gold fin vs blue find to study more]

other benefits on their catalogue I will say just abit more plus plus. gold fin is what I am looking for.

*Take note their older models, is EITHER condensor coil gold fin only (Xtreme dura series) OR evaporator coil gold fin only (All easy pro series etc).
            Other brands, such as Gree also have golden fin on the condensor coil only (compressor). If nothing is mentioned about the coil, then mostly is blue fin.

2. Lastly Installation is very important. If possible, back to back installation. The longer piping you run, the higher probability of future issues (does not mean it will happen)
Any reason why colour of fin makes difference? Its not just colouring?
Maknusia
post Apr 4 2023, 05:26 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 4 2023, 03:53 PM)
Exactly my understanding is both gold and blue are just coating on the aluminum fin. After some time, with multiple wash, it would go away, unless its just with basic wash with no chemical or high pressure, then the coating remains.
rumahwip
post Apr 4 2023, 05:43 PM

1,102 posts

inverter, panasonic or Sharp, prefer sharp coz save power
nihility
post Apr 4 2023, 06:09 PM

1,601 posts

It is called hydrophilic fins. The fin creates a polarized, high energy surface that attracts water to the surface.

In short - it also creates a “self-cleaning” effect on coils.
nexona88
post Apr 4 2023, 08:04 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,588 posts

Panasonic, Daikin & midea should be okay...

Using them without any major problem 🙏

Main thing is the proper installation.... That one not so experience people do... Good luck lorh....

theochew
post Apr 5 2023, 10:51 AM

35 posts

it isnt just coloring, its the coating material that they are using.

All these general aircond marketing on cooler, higher btu, self-cleaning, less dust etc, most of them are related to the coating of the coils.

Therefore in my opinion, any model with both outside coils & inside coils with gold fin, then that should be a better choice for me.
arffrhn
post Apr 5 2023, 11:38 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 4 2023, 08:04 PM)
Panasonic, Daikin & midea should be okay...

Using them without any major problem 🙏

Main thing is the proper installation.... That one not so experience people do... Good luck lorh....
I installed one of the 1.5HP Panasonic Inverter model but seems like it functions as a normal aircond?

I thought inverter model upon turning on it will blast the maximum to get the room cools faster and gradually slow down to maintain temperature. But the panasonic one I have seems to never do this. It is like it always prioritize quietness rather than the temperature. Is it normal?

0.0248sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:54 PM