Chat Vespa to be sold buying Honda ADV or Xmax straight, Buying decisions for nee scooter.

TSsinbaron
post Mar 31 2023, 07:24 PM, updated 3y ago

So recently people from my vespa group wanted to buy my vespa at about 13k RM with my upgrades . Year build is 2017 but i’m really tempted to buy new Honda ADV160, tukar angin in a way.

Ofcorse advance of using Vespa being the life style, community i build , sentimental value i developed and just simply fun. Its aint fast .

As daily raider for about 40-50km daily there are number of cons like a feel of under power. Maintenance wise its like myvi cost , allot of spare parts are hard to get and all squeaking sound you need to bare till your order arrives from Vietnam and you bring to your foreman for repair. Yes there is option to go for Official Vespa dealer but they charge double which is inefficient. Like Belt costs about 260Rm , Shoe brake 40-60rm.

Now my finally decision falls for Wmoto ES250i, but many of people say spare parts are same as Vespa hard to get. I did some minor repairs for Vespa and attached is the bill i spend in 2023 alone about 800rm.

a) Will honda create same problem like Vespa.
b) What is the normal spending for maintenance including minor and major service.
c) Will it be practical to drive it on highways. Some time sometime wanna go Thailand . For ling distance
d) I dont think its reasonable to buy anything of China or Taiwan brand . Or should i just screw it and take Xmax with some loan of 10k ? 🤣🤣🤣

olak329
post Mar 31 2023, 07:49 PM

109 posts

13k for primavera is a good price.
sold my 2016 sprint at 8k 3 years back
sparketh
post Mar 31 2023, 07:51 PM

233 posts

Generally I would avoid scooters for long distances. The roller and belting systems are always a pain to change. I prefer chain. But scooters are good cos don’t need to carry ur helmet around. For city riding Honda would do well. For long distance need to get Honda rs and yamaha. Got many mods for bigger tyre and bigger tangki minyak
TSsinbaron
post Mar 31 2023, 07:57 PM

QUOTE(olak329 @ Mar 31 2023, 07:49 PM)
13k for primavera is a good price.
sold my 2016 sprint at 8k 3 years back
Ohw yes , but considering that i have invested about 2.6k RM for just upgrades like absorbers . Malossi Pulley and Delta Clutch some accessories from SIP.

TSsinbaron
post Mar 31 2023, 07:59 PM

QUOTE(WhiskeyTango777 @ Mar 31 2023, 07:56 PM)
Xmax lo apa lagi….suitable for long distance , fuel tank bigger also
Yes but will burn a hole in my wallet but can loan. Lets see how it goes i feel like looser if i take loan for motorbike before motorbukes where so cheap and affortable dont know now 🤣🤣
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 31 2023, 08:03 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(sinbaron @ Mar 31 2023, 07:24 PM)
So recently people from my vespa group wanted to buy my vespa at about 13k RM with my upgrades . Year build is 2017 but i’m really tempted to buy new Honda ADV160,  tukar angin in a way.

Ofcorse advance of using Vespa being the life style, community i build , sentimental value i developed and just simply fun. Its aint fast .

As daily raider for about 40-50km daily there are number of cons like a feel of under power. Maintenance wise its like myvi cost , allot  of spare parts are hard to get and all squeaking sound you need to bare till your order arrives from Vietnam and you bring to your foreman for repair. Yes there is option to go for Official Vespa dealer but they charge double which is inefficient. Like Belt costs about 260Rm , Shoe brake 40-60rm.

Now my finally decision falls for Wmoto ES250i, but many of people say spare parts are same as Vespa hard to get. I did some minor repairs for Vespa and attached is the bill i spend in 2023 alone about 800rm.

a) Will honda create same problem like Vespa.
b) What is the normal spending for maintenance including minor and major service.
c) Will it be practical to drive it on highways. Some time sometime wanna go Thailand . For ling distance
d) I dont think its reasonable to buy anything of China or Taiwan brand . Or should i just screw it and take Xmax with some loan of 10k ? 🤣🤣🤣

Since you do long distance ride. Why not get a proper bike? If you don't want to big cc. Can consider the versys 250.
minizian
post Mar 31 2023, 08:06 PM

1,074 posts

I remember naza does the distributorship.

Then what happened after that, if i mistaken they lost it and another company currently distributing it?
Asthen1a
post Mar 31 2023, 08:33 PM

45 posts

honda adv 160 ftw
Justin.Loong
post Mar 31 2023, 09:38 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(WhiskeyTango777 @ Mar 31 2023, 07:56 PM)
Xmax lo apa lagi….suitable for long distance , fuel tank bigger also
+1.
X-Max has lots of upgrade parts too.
Justin.Loong
post Mar 31 2023, 10:11 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(sparketh @ Mar 31 2023, 07:51 PM)
Generally I would avoid scooters for long distances.  The roller and belting systems are always a pain to change. I prefer chain. But scooters are good cos don’t need to carry ur helmet around. For city riding Honda would do well. For long distance need to get Honda rs and yamaha.  Got many mods for bigger tyre and bigger tangki minyak
What scooter did you ride?
SUSCincai lar
post Mar 31 2023, 10:21 PM

113 posts

i thought antic Vespa,... i only interested in very very old Vespa,..
SUSCincai lar
post Mar 31 2023, 10:24 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(sparketh @ Mar 31 2023, 07:51 PM)
Generally I would avoid scooters for long distances.  The roller and belting systems are always a pain to change. I prefer chain. But scooters are good cos don’t need to carry ur helmet around. For city riding Honda would do well. For long distance need to get Honda rs and yamaha.  Got many mods for bigger tyre and bigger tangki minyak
scooter best is when u ride through puddles of water,.. won't had to lift up legs and wet your shoes,..
SUSKaya Butter Toast
post Mar 31 2023, 10:31 PM

325 posts

What's the charm of vespa?
TSsinbaron
post Apr 2 2023, 11:52 AM

So recently people from my vespa group wanted to buy my vespa at about 13k RM with my upgrades . Year build is 2017 but i’m really tempted to buy new Honda ADV160,  tukar angin in a way. 

UPDATE : I went to show room and tried to test ride two bikes Honda ADV160 and Wmoto XADV250.

For honda : Very light and not as good quality build as Vespa. Maybe im bias and too long used Vespa But man the wires coming out front handle bar some plastic squeking sound and acceleration pick up is not as good as Vespa. I know i might get used to it but the body weight to acceleration will take longer time for pick up. I saw reviews that top speed for adv can reach 120 my which is 110is at max for Vespa. So i took it from the list.

Next shop Taycoon motor didn't allow me to test drive Xmax but they did allow me to test ride Xdv Wmoto, and ill tell you its really heavy and pick up even longer time those massive box is not a good idea to install. Its indeed sturdy and quality is there but sales man said that they dont give warranty for Wmoto because they are not sure on the quality them self. We sell like ayam for you but harga bukan ayam punya you need to jaga your self.

TSsinbaron
post Apr 2 2023, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(Kaya Butter Toast @ Mar 31 2023, 10:31 PM)
What's the charm of vespa?
The Charm is when everyone at traffic light checks out your Vespa. You wear clothes which match the style and you can look bad in anything. Milage is not in KM but in fun to ride. Its just expensive in away to maintain . But its Italy 🇮🇹
frossonice
post Apr 2 2023, 12:13 PM

337 posts

Alternative at around the price you're looking for;

Modenas Elegan
Wmoto RT3

Both 250cc.
Justin.Loong
post May 30 2023, 10:43 AM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(sinbaron @ Apr 2 2023, 11:52 AM)
UPDATE : I went to show room and tried to test ride two bikes Honda ADV160 and Wmoto XADV250.

For honda : Very light and not as good quality build as Vespa. Maybe im bias and too long used Vespa But man the wires coming out front handle bar some plastic squeking sound and acceleration pick up is not as good as Vespa. I know i might get used to it but the body weight to acceleration will take longer time for pick up. I saw reviews that top speed for adv can reach 120 my which is 110is at max for Vespa. So i took it from the list.

Next shop Taycoon motor didn't allow me to test drive Xmax but they did allow me to test ride Xdv Wmoto, and ill tell you its really heavy and pick up even longer time those massive box is not a good idea to install. Its indeed sturdy and quality is there but sales man said that they dont give warranty  for Wmoto because they are not sure on the quality them self. We sell like ayam for you but harga bukan ayam punya you need to jaga your self.
If you're still looking for 250cc, the new Yamaha X-Max Tech MAX will be launching soon.

andrewhtf
post May 30 2023, 12:13 PM

1,583 posts

Xmax saja lah, spare parts easy, accessories berlambak. others don't bother
WhiskeyTango777
post May 30 2023, 12:25 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(sinbaron @ Apr 2 2023, 11:52 AM)

Next shop Taycoon motor didn't allow me to test drive Xmax but they did allow me to test ride Xdv Wmoto, and ill tell you its really heavy and pick up even longer time those massive box is not a good idea to install. Its indeed sturdy and quality is there but sales man said that they dont give warranty  for Wmoto because they are not sure on the quality them self. We sell like ayam for you but harga bukan ayam punya you need to jaga your self.
biar betul…. shocking.gif

QUOTE(frossonice @ Apr 2 2023, 12:13 PM)
Alternative at around the price you're looking for;

Modenas Elegan
Wmoto RT3

Both 250cc.
elegan wold be better choice look at the bold above…. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ May 30 2023, 10:43 AM)
If you're still looking for 250cc, the new Yamaha X-Max Tech MAX will be launching soon.

harga keras wey…..yang mahal niii but 300 cc or 250cc?
300cc is just not worth to buy for full B ppl , min also need 650cc baru ada feel they say la

Justin.Loong
post May 30 2023, 12:27 PM

8,363 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ May 30 2023, 12:13 PM)
Xmax saja lah, spare parts easy, accessories berlambak. others don't bother
Honda Adv-250 how? Key yi ma? drool.gif

0.0183sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:11 PM