Enquiry of socket switch from China:

TSJessica JM.
post Mar 24 2023, 06:16 PM, updated 3y ago

122 posts

Hello all! I wanna get a universal socket switch from Taobao, but my friend's like, "Nah, don't do it man. The socket switch from Taobao doesn't have SIRIM approve, so if something goes wrong at your house like a fire or something, your insurance company could just say nope to your claim." Is that for real though?

I checked out some socket switches on Shopee, but the designs don't look as good as the ones on Taobao. Can y'all hook me up with some suggestions?

fireballs
post Mar 24 2023, 06:19 PM

5,647 posts

https://shopee.com.my/SCHNEIDER-VIVACE-KB11...754.16315072472

you can get these locally.
acbc
post Mar 24 2023, 06:19 PM

9,043 posts

Buy local with SIRIM lor.

Don't risk it.

I have installed those China made smart switches before. After like 6 months, some will burn inside.
fireballs
post Mar 24 2023, 06:34 PM

5,647 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Mar 24 2023, 06:19 PM)
Buy local with SIRIM lor.

Don't risk it.

I have installed those China made smart switches before. After like 6 months, some will burn inside.
beacuse china voltage is 220

malaysia is 240 and sometimes 250
nexona88
post Mar 24 2023, 10:56 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,443 posts

Normally I buy local one with SIRIM... Better & longer lasting too..

China one cheaper but don't last long....
SUSceo684
post Mar 25 2023, 12:29 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

No sirim anything wrong insurance can use that as technicality not to pay up
TSJessica JM.
post Mar 25 2023, 03:21 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 25 2023, 12:29 AM)
No sirim anything wrong insurance can use that as technicality not to pay up
How about electronic devices? Like air fryer

Sometimes I bought it from Taobao
TSJessica JM.
post Mar 25 2023, 03:22 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Mar 24 2023, 06:19 PM)
I found this too but yea seem this is the best I can get, not manage to get others better appearance
sijun
post Mar 25 2023, 10:59 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(Jessica JM. @ Mar 24 2023, 06:16 PM)
Hello all! I wanna get a universal socket switch from Taobao, but my friend's like, "Nah, don't do it man. The socket switch from Taobao doesn't have SIRIM approve, so if something goes wrong at your house like a fire or something, your insurance company could just say nope to your claim." Is that for real though?

I checked out some socket switches on Shopee, but the designs don't look as good as the ones on Taobao. Can y'all hook me up with some suggestions?
for high voltage or long term on switch item i will use local ones. ie for cooker, hoods, fridge etc etc.

aside from that i use from taobao ones, so far no issues, currently 2yrs usage in 1 house and 1 yr in another house.

even my electrician was surprised as build quality seem very good and even asked me to help him get for his own use.

however on the insurance part, yes, no sirim they may argue.

in terms of design, china definitely has way better ones and alot cheaper as well. those from local like zenso also can find exactly same in china.

QUOTE(Jessica JM. @ Mar 25 2023, 03:21 AM)

for me, if it deals with high heat ie. air fryer, oven etc i nvr use from china before. TV, monitors, speakers etc i've used with no issue.

just got a steamer from china tho, havent tried.

This post has been edited by sijun: Mar 25 2023, 11:00 AM
fireballs
post Mar 25 2023, 11:03 AM

5,647 posts

If high powered item is always better to change to UK plug

Our UK plug is much more sturdier and comes with additional fuse for safety
adamw
post Mar 25 2023, 11:11 AM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,351 posts

QUOTE(Jessica JM. @ Mar 24 2023, 06:16 PM)

Buy from reputable Chinese manufacturer that export to UK. If UK can approved it's standard is even stricter than Sirim. Show which are the design you prefer maybe can hook you up with the manufacturer but have to be clever a bit as they normally do B2B not B2C.
SUSceo684
post Mar 25 2023, 01:07 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

I banana. so no taobao for me.
I only sapu cheap deal on Lapsapda or Pee pee.

Better to get local SIRIM set because a lot of those CE "China Export" only not tested against any authority. CE is shiok sendiri logo (mfg self certify).
nexona88
post Mar 25 2023, 08:40 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,443 posts

Depends on brands...

Safe if those brands available here in Malaysia

Those unknown one...

Good luck 🤞
EdEd
post Mar 27 2023, 08:36 AM

357 posts

local one switch with usb is like RM60 each socket

china one 2 gang RM60

but probably not worth the risk
epicure
post Mar 27 2023, 11:37 AM

229 posts

Ive got 5 of these installed in my house. mainly for charging hp and desktop mounted IP cctvs. seems ok so far. non of them are used for higher powered devices like fridge, microwave etc.

bought them cos recently they come with usb c outlet, very convenient
ongss
post Mar 27 2023, 11:58 AM

426 posts

I purchased switches and sockets from a local Shopee seller that had SIRIM labels. Even though the brands were of German, they were produced in China and Vietnam respectively. As I required a large quantity, I opted to purchase 13A multi sockets with USB from the 1688 portal, which were priced very affordably. I found some Chinese brands are equally as good, but I was particularly impressed with the quality of Bull. Upon opening one unit and inspecting the wires, I found them to be of good quality. I also acquired a meter checker to assess the workmanship of my electricians and those 13A multi sockets, which turned out to be satisfactory. In fact, all my Cat6 with built-in WIFI sockets and my PoE switches are from Chinese manufacturers. Of course, for heavy duty items such as 20A switches and 15A sockets, I used those with SIRIM labels.
TSJessica JM.
post Apr 11 2023, 04:49 PM

122 posts

After I emailed Schneider to ask about international and universal sockets, they informed me that these products are considered non-compliant and therefore do not require SIRIM. However, if a fire were to occur in my house and my insurance company denied my claim due to my use of a non-SIRIM product, it would be similar to purchasing a socket from Taobao. In both cases, using a non-compliant product could potentially lead to complications with insurance claims.

0.0172sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:04 PM