12,683 posts

source : http://star-ecentral.com/movies/reviews/re...1392&sec=Movies

The power of three

By S.B. TOH

Triangle

Rating(out of 5): NR

(Golden Screen Cinemas)

Starring: Kelly Lin, Simon Yam, Louis Koo, Lam Ka Tung, Sun Hong Lei, Lam Suet

One movie, a single story, three directors, some half a dozen screenwriters - sounds like something Quentin Tarantino might cook up, and a recipe for a turkey, doesn't it?
Yep.

The very notion of it sounds like a bad idea, and you expect the movie to fail, and fail badly. But Triangle is, in fact, quite brilliant.

Having too many cooks doesn't always spoil the broth. You expect it to crash and burn, but see how the movie takes flight. See how it soars, swoops, and manically wings the story in an improvisatory act that is giddy to watch.

A unique collaboration that brings together three iconic Hong Kong filmmakers, Tsui Hark, Ringo Lam and Johnnie To, this movie - about three desperate men, a box of treasure, an unfaithful wife, her rogue cop lover, and the gangsters they all end up tangling with - has a chameleonic, almost schizophrenic quality to it.

It goes through mood swings, plot twists, and changes in pace like the trinity that it really is.

Brooding, it paces nervously, pauses, breaks into a trot; steeled, it gathers momentum, hurtles, and veers; seething, it screeches to a halt, explodes and - what do you know? - does a pirouette.

It is often surprising, it is unpredictable, but the story holds together pretty well and is never scatter-brained despite the ad-hoc approach and mercurial quality.

The movie is riveting to watch, from start to finish.

It is often said that art cannot be made via committee, but there is always an exception to everything in life, and Triangle is certainly exceptional. The modus operandi of the filmmakers is to do what they call "a serial", in which one person picks up where the other leaves off.

How the story begins, how it develops, and how it ends was not discussed.

Comments Tsui Hark, who directed the first act, "It was agreed we mustn't interfere with the other's creative ideas or narratives. Each director had absolute control over what he wanted to do. Hopefully our joint efforts would result in an exciting and entertaining film."

It does.

And more than that, Triangle is edgy and surprisingly dark - something HK films don't usually do very well, even when bathed in blood - psychological drama not being a forte.

But in this film, there are times when the bleakness and despair seems almost overwhelming, particularly in Ringo Lam's middle segment, which focuses on the marital discord of Simon Yam's timid character as he is forced to confront his wife's infidelity and murderous intents.

Perhaps it is just pure luck, a one-off thing, a happy chance but Triangle seems to have benefited from the best qualities of its three filmmakers - Tsui Hark's vision and attention to detail, Lam's dark impulse and nihilistic tendencies, and To's sublime gift for transmuting motion with emotion, as well as his fine sense of irony.

The story begins in a dimly lit bar - two men talking in a hushed tone. Something about a jewellery shop and a getaway car. Another friend observes them from a nearby table. Something is brewing, something with a bad whiff to it.

Fai (Louis Koo) is trying to persuade taxi driver Sam (Simon Yam) to join in a heist. Sam is jittery about the whole thing. His other friend Mok (Sun Hung Lei) tells him it's a bad idea whatever it may be.

As the three men argue, a stranger interrupts them.

The old man hands them a piece of gold and reveals clues that could lead them to more. The heist is forgotten. Over the next few days, as they piece the clues together, the men lock in on the location of what they hope is a box full of treasure.

But even before they retrieve it, things are already beginning to spin out of control: Sam's wife and her lover are plotting his downfall; Fai's robber friends are breathing down his neck; also, there seems to be more to Fai than he makes out.

When they get their hands on the box, the sh*t hits the fan. The three friends find themselves in over their head as Murphy's Law kicks in and everything that could possibly go wrong, does. Greed, suspicion, lust, jealousy, revenge, double-dealing, the serendipity of fate - it all bubbles to the surface as we are taken on a veritable roller-coaster ride to the very end.

The almost wordless climax in a dinky little jetty beside a patch of tall grassland is classic Johnnie To - tense, still, and, suddenly, full of bodies in frantic motion.

Triangle is terrific stuff, a three-in-one offer you just can't afford to miss out on.

yen223
post Oct 22 2007, 06:45 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Oct 22 2007, 01:38 PM)
source : http://star-ecentral.com/movies/reviews/re...1392&sec=Movies

One movie, a single story, three directors, some half a dozen screenwriters - sounds like something Quentin Tarantino might cook up, and a recipe for a turkey, doesn't it?
Yep.

The very notion of it sounds like a bad idea, and you expect the movie to fail, and fail badly. But Triangle is, in fact, quite brilliant.

... blah blah blah...

Triangle is terrific stuff, a three-in-one offer you just can't afford to miss out on.
what...the...f*ck

did that guy watch the same movie??
X-Zen
post Oct 22 2007, 08:07 PM

Yatta!
566 posts

QUOTE(yen223 @ Oct 22 2007, 06:45 PM)
what...the...f*ck

did that guy watch the same movie??
Not a bad review from variety below. They call it a seriocomic crimer which will chime with Asian movie buffs rather than satisfy general auds as a single, homogenous pic.

Guess that guy is an Asian movie buffs while you are not tongue.gif

Curry sauce HERE

This post has been edited by X-Zen: Oct 22 2007, 08:08 PM
wiNd
post Oct 22 2007, 09:11 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

some may like it, some may not..... smile.gif

This post has been edited by wiNd: Oct 22 2007, 09:11 PM
Ash
post Oct 25 2007, 02:58 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

This movie goes to my list of Worst Movies in 2007. The whole storyline doesnt make sense LOL you'll be laughing in the cinema if you want it for the second time(Well if you're stupid enough to waste 90 mins more in your life for this movie). I can't believe actors like Simon and Louis would be in this kind of shitty movie. HK movies nowadays are all crap actually except for Flash Point.

This post has been edited by Ash: Oct 25 2007, 03:00 PM
cuebiz
post Oct 25 2007, 10:22 PM

992 posts

I should have go to KLCC during the recent Canon fair and tell Simon Yam how crappy the movie is.
killdavid
post Oct 26 2007, 08:32 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,636 posts

I'm beginning to lose hope in HK film industry. They keep churning out these garbage and only banking on star power. Thank goodness all is not lost, the coming movie The Warlord look to have some quality.

The Triangle is total nonsense. It looks like a bunch of bored people sat together, had lots of beer and cook up some logic and reality defying story. Don't believe the reviews. The writers were paid to promote it.
dinodog_Jr
post Oct 26 2007, 11:05 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Oct 25 2007, 02:58 PM)
This movie goes to my list of Worst Movies in 2007. The whole storyline doesnt make sense LOL you'll be laughing in the cinema if you want it for the second time(Well if you're stupid enough to waste 90 mins more in your life for this movie). I can't believe actors like Simon and Louis would be in this kind of shitty movie. HK movies nowadays are all crap actually except for Flash Point.
Flashpoint is consider Ok quality in story & action to me. I dun find it overdone violence too. Is this the only impressive HK movie for year 2007 so far?

Seems overrated to me.

Chocoholic
post Oct 27 2007, 11:27 AM

33 posts

sorry if i being rude ... but i did fall asleep after the 1st half hour... do u guy think its worth seeing ... should i watch it again in the cinema???
beck_ken
post Oct 28 2007, 01:26 AM

4,716 posts

wow!
bionic woman...Kelly Lin kena hit by car (driven by lam kar tong) after that still can wake up and eat hotdog...hahahaha

the funny part is that fat guy Lam Suet! Estacy fella...keep on shaking his head while on loud music...
yohannes
post Nov 9 2007, 11:16 AM

82 posts

MMooooooooooooooooorrrning!!!!!

Repair tyres... lol
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Nov 9 2007, 11:07 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(Chocoholic @ Oct 27 2007, 11:27 AM)
sorry if i being rude ... but i did fall asleep after the 1st half hour... do u guy think its worth seeing ... should i watch it again in the cinema???
no.this movie is so shit.flashpoint is still the best HK production of 2007 so far. cool2.gif
Tachikoma
post Jan 10 2008, 12:20 AM

Dot
2,864 posts

I think it was a pretty interesting movie, but definitely not for everyone. Watch if you have the patience to wrap your head the events and try to figure out whats going on =P
kyoko4eva
post May 13 2008, 02:34 PM

idle!
908 posts

just watched it and i saw a lot of bad review
i personally think its ok wat, not bad

the only thing i don't understand is why that dead guy appear again by the roadside?
Polaris
post May 13 2008, 03:29 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

The ending requires total suspension of disbelief.

But you can tell the directors were having a lot of fun making this experimental flick

0.0211sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:11 PM