mezanny
post Mar 21 2023, 11:14 AM

709 posts

QUOTE(Voreus @ Mar 17 2023, 10:30 AM)
mid 20s, male
grad'ed 2 years ago with a degree in accounting
worked in the industry for a while, didnt feel like doing it for the rest of my life
why i chose accounting? Long story (tl;dr : bad decisions + peer pressure)
decided to try something else that i have interests in (IT field)
did bootcamps, not bad so far
familiar with html css python, basic laravel bootstraps and react
made my own website with the things i have learnt
got offered for an intern role, but the pay is too low to even pay the bills
and im competing with tons of cs degree holders out there, not sure how can i nego for higher pay
at the same time thinking of getting into sales too since i dont reject the idea of talking to people
right now its either:
bite the nail, go for the intern and work another job

or go into sales while dedicating some time into making my own coding portfolio

idk man, feeling real lost atm, not sure where to go

thanks sifu for yer opinions
Know 2 guys that did accounting, A and B.

Both don't like accounting

both were from the same public acctg firm as auditors

After audit, A decided to take up Masters in IT. Graduated, work in IT. Didn't like it, then do Sales. Lost touch, dunno what happened to him.

After audit, B stuck on to Accounting, went to commercial. Though hated it, but slough it out. Slowly salary risen. Not exactly thaat geng. But in the end, earn below 20k by 40yo.

mezanny
post Mar 21 2023, 03:27 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(Voreus @ Mar 21 2023, 02:04 PM)
Valid opinion
Maybe A landed a tech sales role and doing well atm who knows, which field in IT did he graduated with by the way?

good for B, there are of course people like him where persistence prevailed while at the same time ive also seen people in accounting industry whos salary didnt break pass 5k despite having over 5 yrs exp, maybe B has ACCA or MIA?
Those people at B, that still earn < 5k.

must be those that don't dare to change job after 3 years, stay at Company that is not doing well, cannot pay increment and bonus, then stay on.

very rare to have this kind of people if they have paper cert.

Most of those who < 5k are the ones without paper cert.
mezanny
post Mar 22 2023, 12:10 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(Voreus @ Mar 21 2023, 10:28 PM)
job market must be really good for the city B is living in, if he doesnt have ACCA or MIA at the first place
or he's got something that allows him to stand out from the massive supply of accountants over demand
or he is lucky to land onto the right company that values his skillset appropriately
the reason for my guessing is that, i have joined lots of accounting groups (mainly Malaysian's) and seen lots of topics discussing salaries stuff
earning 5k+ even for senior account exec is not as common (normally 4500+- for west malaysia), even for a accounting degree grad unless he is in the big 4 which is already highly competitive
if that person managed to break pass 5k after only 3 years exp dude's gotta be having real good networks, or very good at what hes doing

Heck i also have friends in the accounting industry, the ones who managed to break 5k within 3 years exp are the ones in big4 and only during peak seasons
breaking 5k without qualification is not hard.

In fact I know one lady without qualification, she is in AR. She switched a few jobs, sometime thinking she is invulnerable because high demand, but when she became AR head, she realized she could not go any further than the salary earned by a AR head.

Because the more higher finance paid jobs are CFO, financial controllers, consolidators, business controllers, budget controllers, costing, etc are not available to her.

She's been in the AR line too long that she does not have the technical abilities to do full set acc, statutory, mgmt acctg, taxation, financial modelling.

but if one wants to break above certain psycological barrier its a lot harder.

This post has been edited by mezanny: Mar 22 2023, 12:11 PM

0.0167sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:27 PM