Liew Chin Tong: Proton is still our National Car
SUSMr Mercedes
Mar 14 2023, 11:52 AM, updated 3y ago
KUALA LUMPUR, March 13 — Proton is still Malaysia’s national car even though it is now under semi-private ownership, Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister Liew Chin Tong said in the Dewan Rakyat today.
He explained that Proton meets the necessary criteria to qualify as a national car brand because the company’s majority stake is locally owned and continues to employ 8,500 workers who are 99 per cent Malaysians.
“In addition, Proton has appointed more than 180 Tier-1 local companies that are involved in the overall supply chain, while the average value of local procurement is in between 75 per cent to 80 per cent especially for the models developed locally.
“Proton has also carried out local research and development activities to enable it to assemble the platform, upper body and engine for models such as Persona, Iriz, Exora, Saga and various other models before,” he said during the Minister’s Question Time this morning.
Liew was responding to Petaling Jaya MP Lee Chean Chung who wanted to know why Proton is still given special treatment when it is only 51 per cent owned by Malaysians.
The PKR backbencher also asked if the special treatment would be abolished.
Liew explained that the National Automotive Policy 2020 (NAP 2020) which lists the criteria for Malaysian vehicles can be used as a guide for Proton’s status as a national car brand.
He said that to qualify as a national car brand, it must be majority owned by Malaysians and focus on the development of local supply chains.
He added that the criteria also include the carmaker’s ability to conduct local research and development activities and provide many job opportunities for locals.
Liew said like other local vehicle manufacturing companies such as Perodua, Honda, Toyota and Volvo, Proton is also given direct tax incentives based on the manufacturing activities carried out because it involves activities that are encouraged.
“Proton and other local vehicle manufacturers as well have the opportunity to enjoy indirect tax incentives such as exemption from import duty, excise duty and sales tax, depending on the method current evaluation, which is through cost and benefit analysis. “Based on the contribution of Proton and Perodua to the local automotive industry, both companies are still treated as national car manufacturers.
“However, Proton and Perodua must ensure that the criteria outlined under the NAP 2020 are complied with,” he added.
Avex
Mar 14 2023, 12:00 PM
no wonder car issues everywhere, poor QC. so many proton x50 x70 breakdowns. Deswai must hire China expats, they can come here and do QC role. if fail blame them
This post has been edited by Avex: Mar 14 2023, 12:01 PM
TOMEI-R
Mar 14 2023, 12:04 PM
It has always been. Only the old man keeps disputing this and plans to come out with another national car company.
SUSWahlberg
Mar 14 2023, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(Avex @ Mar 14 2023, 12:00 PM) no wonder car issues everywhere, poor QC. so many proton x50 x70 breakdowns. Deswai must hire China expats, they can come here and do QC role. if fail blame them i tought its stake been bought by
BL98
Mar 14 2023, 12:08 PM
Spart part and QC still a major problem.
ozak
Mar 14 2023, 12:08 PM
Proton has no local soul anymore.
Beside this x50 x70 totally from China, what else is new and innovate?
pobox
Mar 14 2023, 12:10 PM
IF, a big if, DAP is in the opposition today, he will probably be say different thing about it.
Avex
QUOTE(Wahlberg @ Mar 14 2023, 12:06 PM) i tought its stake been bought by  stake is just part of the investment, not the workforce. need more expat in the workforce
ja836kyau
Other than Malaysians, most people on earth don't know what is a Proton.
Only Malaysians syok sendiri.
msacras
Mar 14 2023, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2023, 12:08 PM) Proton has no local soul anymore. Beside this x50 x70 totally from China, what else is new and innovate? The front grill?
lyn_member
Mar 14 2023, 12:12 PM
when your ex-wife married to others still your wife
tctham
Mar 14 2023, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2023, 12:08 PM) Proton has no local soul anymore. Beside this x50 x70 totally from China, what else is new and innovate? i actually prefer proton's ride and handling over geely. i don't mind other aspects, but appreciate it more if proton takes more time to refine the ride and handling before bringing it over to malaysia market. (i understand they are already refining it, which is something i appreciate too. just saying, i prefer them to take their time and refine it, rather than rushing over a car that is made for china road) i believe our local market x70 x50 has better ride and handling over its chinese brethren.
Randomization
Mar 14 2023, 12:15 PM
Basically any brand can JV with Malaysian with less than 50% holding, then can qualify for national brand.
Avex
Mar 14 2023, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(tctham @ Mar 14 2023, 12:12 PM) i actually prefer proton's ride and handling over geely. i don't mind other aspects, but appreciate it more if proton takes more time to refine the ride and handling before bringing it over to malaysia market. (i understand they are already refining it, which is something i appreciate too. just saying, i prefer them to take their time and refine it, rather than rushing over a car that is made for china road) i believe our local market x70 x50 has better ride and handling over its chinese brethren. not really, if you put current x50 and x70 made in malaysia, riding on China road, it will feel too stiff and the road feedback feel. their road quality is different than ours. their version feels more ply and nice which is much better on their road, if you go to their village, better get a 4 wheel drive This post has been edited by Avex: Mar 14 2023, 12:19 PM
Brotherjoe
Mar 14 2023, 12:29 PM
How proton still a national car when it is just rebadge the car from another brand?
If naza rebadge Ferrari can we also car it national car? Bufori hq is in Malaysia, cars are all handmade in Malaysia. Why not call it a national car too?
Oh wait need to fulfill the nep ownership criteria.
This post has been edited by Brotherjoe: Mar 14 2023, 12:30 PM
Ayambetul
Mar 14 2023, 12:34 PM
Exemption on import tax? Local made local assembly local part
Is just like telling u Water is wet
jerm57
Mar 14 2023, 12:36 PM
Taking big puff of that copium gas. When majority owned by the government baru talk.
river.sand
Mar 14 2023, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2023, 12:08 PM) Proton has no local soul anymore. Beside this x50 x70 totally from China, what else is new and innovate? Perodua cars are based on japanese models, no local soul also.
mois
Mar 14 2023, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(Avex @ Mar 14 2023, 12:18 PM) not really, if you put current x50 and x70 made in malaysia, riding on China road, it will feel too stiff and the road feedback feel. their road quality is different than ours. their version feels more ply and nice which is much better on their road, if you go to their village, better get a 4 wheel drive Our village need helicopter. Even hilux cannot masuk Malaysia 1 China 0
ozak
Mar 14 2023, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(tctham @ Mar 14 2023, 12:12 PM) i actually prefer proton's ride and handling over geely. i don't mind other aspects, but appreciate it more if proton takes more time to refine the ride and handling before bringing it over to malaysia market. (i understand they are already refining it, which is something i appreciate too. just saying, i prefer them to take their time and refine it, rather than rushing over a car that is made for china road) i believe our local market x70 x50 has better ride and handling over its chinese brethren. QUOTE(river.sand @ Mar 14 2023, 12:36 PM) Perodua cars are based on japanese models, no local soul also. Beside the China CEO care about their X50, X70, what else plan did he have for the local car innovation? It has been over 5yrs now.
KingArthurVI
Mar 14 2023, 01:25 PM
This whole thing is a shitshow and we all know it. About time all other manufacturers get to play on a level playing field and let the market work itself out. P1 and P2 should compete or die trying. If other manufacturers win, they can grow and scale locally instead to meet the new demands from rakyat by hiring local staff (maybe those that got laid off by failing P1 & P2), so in the end the justification that P1 & P2 are crucial for “proving locals with jobs” are just a bunch of bollocks.
msacras
Mar 14 2023, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2023, 01:18 PM) Beside the China CEO care about their X50, X70, what else plan did he have for the local car innovation? It has been over 5yrs now. They’re not even ambitious enough to snatch the currently largely unexplored EV/hybrid market despite the comprehensive EV tech they have in China. Year 2027 for 1st proton EV? Too little too late https://www.lowyat.net/2022/288438/proton-first-ev-2027/This post has been edited by msacras: Mar 14 2023, 01:29 PM
Avex
Mar 14 2023, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2023, 01:18 PM) Beside the China CEO care about their X50, X70, what else plan did he have for the local car innovation? It has been over 5yrs now. i think malaysia market will soon play a less role, they might just bring the platform here, do for right hand market for export purposes, there might be new models that will not be sold in Malaysia
JoeK
Mar 14 2023, 01:35 PM
PJ MP bodo ke?