Honda Wave Alpha PGM-FI Fuel Consumption

TSyasir725
post Mar 13 2023, 08:01 PM, updated 3y ago

Hi All,

I bought Honda Wave Alpha PGM-FI (2023), it's average fuel consumption is almost 50 km/L. Honda mentioned the consumption around 68km/L. Any suggestions please?
wat de....?!
post Mar 13 2023, 09:07 PM

50 posts

How fast you ride ?
Engine still under break-in (<1k mileage) ? assuming it is still new
TSyasir725
post Mar 13 2023, 09:14 PM

QUOTE(wat de....?! @ Mar 13 2023, 06:07 PM)
How fast you ride ?
Engine still under break-in (<1k mileage) ? assuming it is still new
During break in I was riding it less than 60 km/h, after 1k I am riding at around 80 km/h.
wat de....?!
post Mar 13 2023, 09:28 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(yasir725 @ Mar 13 2023, 09:14 PM)
During break in I was riding it less than 60 km/h, after 1k I am riding at around 80 km/h.
Saw your same post in another sub-forum... One of the member did give some valid points for you to look into such as total carried weight (yours + luggage).
Also the traffic condition like having to pass through many traffic lights (ie : frequent stop-go), riding habits, etc.
iambryan1234
post Mar 13 2023, 11:48 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(yasir725 @ Mar 13 2023, 08:01 PM)
Hi All,

I bought Honda Wave Alpha PGM-FI (2023), it's average fuel consumption is almost 50 km/L. Honda mentioned the consumption around 68km/L. Any suggestions please?
Sounds normal for a cub bike with below 125cc. 110cc no need to fret too much about fuel consumption. You should be more worried about carrying a spare can of gas in case you run out on highway if you intend to go long distance with it. But I hear this is illegal these days as well?

Never ever trust manufacturer quoted figures as their figures are generally based on highly controlled test environment and accuracy can vary wildly.

Honda claims the RSX will get up to 67.8kpml but on an older EX5 EFI I could only get it up to 51kmpl under mixed realistic use conditions

This post has been edited by iambryan1234: Mar 13 2023, 11:55 PM
jaycee1
post Mar 15 2023, 11:16 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

I find it mildly amusing someone is actually fretting over fuel consumption numbers on a kapchai.

FWIW, 80km/h is running 70-80% on a typically 110/125 kapchai. You'd expect to take a hit on fuel economy. I remember on my old EX5, the "Economy' marker on my speedo was 30-60km/h. LOL. Back then, a tank about 3-4rm can last me a week.

On a bike how you ride really affects the FC. Rider weight/load. Stop and go, ...and last but not least, speed. I can do 180km at 150kmh or 280kms on 70kmh on my bike. Double the speed, double the FC....more or less.....

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Mar 15 2023, 11:18 AM
alexei
post Mar 15 2023, 12:08 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

Hi All,

just try top gear and different speed, see which one is the speed u can get 68km/L
if all cannot get, go claim warranty
COOLPINK
post Mar 15 2023, 12:11 PM

3,654 posts

short answer: actual and claimed by manufacturer are always never the same.

there is always T&C for their claimed performance.
jaycee1
post Mar 16 2023, 10:12 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 15 2023, 12:08 PM)
just try top gear and different speed, see which one is the speed u can get 68km/L
if all cannot get, go claim warranty
Pretty sure he can hit those numbers going 40kmh constant on top gear, on a straight road and no stops, Question is, does anyone want to ride like that for 200kms.
alexei
post Mar 16 2023, 11:02 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 16 2023, 10:12 AM)
Pretty sure he can hit those numbers going 40kmh constant on top gear, on a straight road and no stops, Question is, does anyone want to ride like that for 200kms.
haha, sounds like you and me won't do this

but, seriously, I've came across multiple people who can hog a lane driving at 40 to keep FC to minimum...
jaycee1
post Mar 16 2023, 01:09 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 16 2023, 11:02 AM)
haha, sounds like you and me won't do this

but, seriously, I've came across multiple people who can hog a lane driving at 40 to keep FC to minimum...
Obviously no. LOL, It's a bike....that's the point. It saves gas so I don't have to drive/ride like I need to save gas.

And while i struggle to get 20km/L on my 373cc on city riding, partly because I insist of banging on the rev limiter on every gear because the bike is underpowered...........even then, fuel saving is still 3x compared to when I was driving daily.

So getting 50km/L to me is the bike is running on air....

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Mar 16 2023, 01:13 PM
alexei
post Mar 16 2023, 03:18 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 16 2023, 01:09 PM)
Obviously no. LOL, It's a bike....that's the point.  It saves gas so I don't have to drive/ride like I need to save gas.

And while i struggle to get 20km/L on my 373cc on city riding, partly because I insist of banging on the rev limiter on every gear because the bike is underpowered...........even then, fuel saving is still 3x compared to when I was driving daily.

More consolation to TS, my 2T bikes get 37km/L and ~22km/L respectively.
lowpro
post Mar 16 2023, 04:44 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 16 2023, 01:09 PM)
Obviously no. LOL, It's a bike....that's the point.  It saves gas so I don't have to drive/ride like I need to save gas.

Question is this; Is TS questioning the accuracy of the fuel consumption test or lamenting about the extra cost he has to pay for fuel due to the inaccurate rating?
kupronikel83
post Mar 19 2023, 05:37 PM

119 posts

Hi All,

50 km = 1 litre = RM 2.05... Ok la...

Save a lot of 💰💰

If total distance from your work place is about 20 km, pergi balik pun masih kurang dari 1 litre of FC

I'm gonna buy this bike one day...

Dah 40 thn ma, mau ride santai² saja pergi kerja

This post has been edited by kupronikel83: Mar 19 2023, 05:41 PM
zegapain
post Mar 20 2023, 05:40 PM

93 posts

Hi All,

if you speed less than 80km/h might able to get it (Circumstances of add top box and pick up peoples weight will affect fuel consumption).

For long distance travel i suggest you get spare tin to keep fuel for emergency.
leon898
post Mar 21 2023, 09:59 AM

734 posts

Hi All,

normally they test at 60km at flat surface....

and new bike tend to have higher fc...wait until 10,000km first..

This post has been edited by leon898: Mar 21 2023, 10:08 AM

0.0172sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:46 PM