Anime Ultimate Survivor Kaiji, 1998 Kodansha Manga Award (General)
TSZephyr_Mage
Oct 14 2007, 11:53 AM, updated 15y ago
QUOTE(ANN) Itou Kaiji is a bum who steals car emblems and slashes tires on what seems to be a regular basis. This routine changes one day when he is paid a visit by a man in a trench-coat. Once the two get talking, it seems that the visitor (Calling himself Endou) is a debt collector. The reason for his visit is an unpaid loan which kaiji had previously co-signed for a work-mate (Furuhata Takeshi). The original loan was 30000 yen and once Takeshi had disappeared, the loan then fell on Kaiji. Kaiji is then told of a way to clear the interest compounded debt (which stood at 3,850,000 yen), which involved getting on a boat with others in his position. Once on the boat the debtors would then have to gamble with loaned money, which would end with a few winning, and others getting into deeper debt and having to work to pay of their debts. After some coercing kaiji accepts a position on the boat, in order to clear himself and make a bit of money as well... Nobody watching this? From what I've seen so far, it's the anime to watch this season. This post has been edited by Zephyr_Mage: Oct 21 2007, 09:28 PM
Depthcharge101
Oct 14 2007, 12:34 PM
The art cover... doesn't look too appealing.
TSZephyr_Mage
Oct 14 2007, 12:51 PM
I admit the character design looks funny, with the sharp nose and all, and it's possibly the reason why not many people are picking it up, much like Mononoke, which is an awesome show.
But nonetheless, the first episode was interesting but the second episod got me hooked. So I'm wondering if there's anyone else watching this.
Sichiri
Oct 14 2007, 02:19 PM
this is the mahjong anime rite?
TSZephyr_Mage
Oct 14 2007, 02:22 PM
That's Akagi. This one's made by almost the same team though.
lamely_named
Oct 14 2007, 04:10 PM
what is this faggotry?
soap opera animu?
failed so hard it's harder than diamond.
TSZephyr_Mage
Oct 14 2007, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(lamely_named @ Oct 14 2007, 04:10 PM) what is this faggotry? soap opera animu? failed so hard it's harder than diamond. Your fail is so epic I won't even bother.
Fyonne
Oct 14 2007, 07:24 PM
yea, i watched n liking it. though im just lazy to create thread bout it.
Kaiji is making his move. well that great coz he has been showing a loser side for the past 1st 2 eps, getting scam n dread bout it. 3rd eps goin to be great eps of his survival scheme.
SUSrainy~days
Oct 14 2007, 07:35 PM

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Oct 14 2007, 07:24 PM) yea, i watched n liking it. though im just lazy to create thread bout it. Kaiji is making his move. well that great coz he has been showing a loser side for the past 1st 2 eps, getting scam n dread bout it. 3rd eps goin to be great eps of his survival scheme. well they can't let the protagonist die at 3rd eps rite
SailorMercury
Oct 14 2007, 07:54 PM
hmmm... the art work making me not to watch this anime...
TSZephyr_Mage
Oct 14 2007, 08:00 PM
I was all facepalm.jpg when he got pwned... then I watched in vain as he got b**** slapped and broke down into tears. lol I can't wait to see how he's gonna make his comeback. He has to win every game  I hope Triad won't slow down like how they did with Bokurano This post has been edited by Zephyr_Mage: Oct 14 2007, 08:02 PM
SUSrainy~days
Oct 14 2007, 09:18 PM

bokurano story a bit boring... not enough motivation for them to do it quickly, but i don't think we won't really get addicted with this anime much since it's jan ken pon style gamble...
in other hand nothing makes us feel better than seeing people miserably gambling away their life to survive (backstab each other)
Fyonne
Oct 14 2007, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(rainy~days @ Oct 14 2007, 07:35 PM) well they can't let the protagonist die at 3rd eps rite  well they can do higurashi style  dies n walk again, repeating the same time period  QUOTE(rainy~days @ Oct 14 2007, 09:18 PM) bokurano story a bit boring... not enough motivation for them to do it quickly, but i don't think we won't really get addicted with this anime much since it's jan ken pon style gamble... in other hand nothing makes us feel better than seeing people miserably gambling away their life to survive (backstab each other) well, jan ken pon is just a beginning, i think in next story would be other form of gambling, unique one of coz, like Washizu Mah Jong n that jan ken pon.
TSZephyr_Mage
Oct 15 2007, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(rainy~days @ Oct 14 2007, 09:18 PM) bokurano story a bit boring... not enough motivation for them to do it quickly, but i don't think we won't really get addicted with this anime much since it's jan ken pon style gamble... in other hand nothing makes us feel better than seeing people miserably gambling away their life to survive (backstab each other) I think the main theme of the show is how Kaiji survives against the odds, not jankenpon lol
TSZephyr_Mage
Oct 21 2007, 10:42 AM
Just watched episode 3. Good episode. Kaiji made good use of psychology, but had he come up against a more composed opponent he'd be screwed. The other guy was just too stupid to think out of the box. Now he's gonna save the other guys' asses, who've been freeriders.
Fyonne
Oct 21 2007, 09:01 PM
^now they have no cards left, 5 stars n 14 million cash in total. of coz Kaiji can be an azz saving his own arse now n leave those 2 loser, but heck, the choices are buying 4 more stars (well i dun think they will goin to do it, coz the purpose of this anime is bout gambling n not buyin), so another choice is buying cards with those who has 3 stars n dun have the guts to make nemore dangerous bets.
TSZephyr_Mage
Oct 21 2007, 09:22 PM
I was hoping Kaiji would kick the fat ass off, what a dirty ******* lol The other one was the very reason Kaiji got on that ship too...
Well, it'd be too easy and cheesy if Kaiji won every game with those 5 cards. At least we might get to see a new strategy in the next episode.
Fyonne
Dec 13 2007, 10:45 PM
well, it seem the hell jan ken is done for it (well long time ago) but here come the new challenge. it seem to be some sort of physical game, or perhaps something else?
i just amaze how great this show can be. It will shown Kaiji is fuked in the begining, n he got solution which make u think its plausible n can get him out of here, but then hit u with his plan backfired n bring him down deeper n again, finding another solution.. n cycle go on :|
TSZephyr_Mage
Dec 15 2007, 07:30 PM
Watched ep11 Holy shit. INTENSE That's all I can say right now.
Fyonne
Dec 30 2007, 10:49 PM
 neway, its really nice they way they make this phychology stuff. the artist (yea the creator of this Kaiji n AKagi) really knows/understand bout human nature. i can see why his work won awards afterall. nice eps 13. our hero has started to crumble apart together with rest. bump for this great underrated anime