Ativa or X50?

TSmactreouser
post Feb 27 2023, 09:28 AM, updated 3y ago

2,512 posts

How would you choose of Ativa vs X50? In terms of Price, Performance and the most important thing - Maintenance Fees 😅
lordgamer3
post Feb 27 2023, 09:30 AM

847 posts

Japanese car to me for reliability.
mrhrs
post Feb 27 2023, 09:37 AM

142 posts

There are two different segments of these cars
zgerm
post Feb 27 2023, 09:38 AM

151 posts

if maintenance fee concern you, choose ativa
Zot
post Feb 27 2023, 09:39 AM

7,938 posts

I wonder if the X50 X70 spare parts still takes months as heard before
TSmactreouser
post Feb 27 2023, 09:42 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(zgerm @ Feb 27 2023, 09:38 AM)
if maintenance fee concern you, choose ativa
It's 1L with Turbo, right? Wouldn't the Turbo hard and expensive to be maintained? (Like Exora does ðŸĪŠ)
GOPI56
post Feb 27 2023, 09:45 AM

1,495 posts

I would go for Ativa in this case. Ativa still based on Japanase engine from Toyota I think.

blindmutedeaf
post Feb 27 2023, 09:45 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Feb 27 2023, 09:42 AM)
It's 1L with Turbo, right? Wouldn't the Turbo hard and expensive to be maintained? (Like Exora does ðŸĪŠ)
not really expensive but whatever adds on pero offer during service, just decline =x

zgerm
post Feb 27 2023, 09:47 AM

151 posts

make sure service the car on time and use genuine oil you should be fine
croydon
post Feb 27 2023, 09:47 AM

533 posts

X50 bad fc, wont comment about Ativa since i'm not join Ativa FB group

This post has been edited by croydon: Feb 27 2023, 09:48 AM
SUSTanahGagal
post Feb 27 2023, 09:48 AM

146 posts

Blind also know x50 is much better la

Ativa completely not the same level

This post has been edited by TanahGagal: Feb 27 2023, 04:35 PM
SUSTanahGagal
post Feb 27 2023, 09:50 AM

146 posts

Small car of course has low fc and low maintenance

QUOTE(croydon @ Feb 27 2023, 09:47 AM)

zero5177
post Feb 27 2023, 09:51 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

If you want low maintenance get Sedan

Both of these options have super expensive tire that cost you above 1.5k to change all

And if you concern about Turbo, then get a N/A engine car instead, Turbo fuel consumption quite high for city drive.
MrBaba
post Feb 27 2023, 09:52 AM

2,506 posts

Proton FC is so horrible until I feel like ppl that sewel only buy ( except for saga )
metalfire
post Feb 27 2023, 09:54 AM

1,306 posts

both are different segments.
danielmckey
post Feb 27 2023, 09:54 AM

1,053 posts

Richman club- X50 (High Price, Standard Safety, High Power, Petrol hungry, full reliability, etc)
Savings club - Ativa (Medium Price, Standard Safety, medium power, semi reliabilty, etc)

Totally different segment... Should not compare...

This post has been edited by danielmckey: Feb 27 2023, 09:55 AM
ze2
post Feb 27 2023, 09:55 AM

319 posts

For practicality and lower cost, Ativa, for drivibility x50.

SUStsunade
post Feb 27 2023, 09:58 AM

2,063 posts

Are you really considering these 2 cars? Sounds like you arent
ikeiyou
post Feb 27 2023, 09:59 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Feb 27 2023, 09:28 AM)
How would you choose of Ativa vs X50? In terms of Price, Performance and the most important thing - Maintenance Fees 😅
i have both cars, but the answer is depending on what you use that car mostly for.
if city traffic - get the ativa.
if regularly long distance - the x50 (the seats are far far better)

in terms of reliability, both are good. they've never given me problems, at all.
cars are just tools. get the one that fits your use.

yongkt
post Feb 27 2023, 10:00 AM

109 posts

For overall driving experience, I believe the X50 is much better. For a more budget friendly option, get the Ativa.
ikeiyou
post Feb 27 2023, 10:02 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(yongkt @ Feb 27 2023, 10:00 AM)
For overall driving experience, I believe the X50 is much better. For a more budget friendly option, get the Ativa.
TBH, both cars are not expensive to own.
But if buyer is concerned about saving money, then avoid SUVs entirely.
The tyre costs itself will make you hurt.
Like I said above, cars are just tools. If you need an SUV, then you get one. If you dont, there are other options.
SUSnoos
post Feb 27 2023, 10:04 AM

577 posts

Want power get X50
Want good FC get Ativa
kevinc
post Feb 27 2023, 10:08 AM

437 posts

ativa
Aaron212
post Feb 27 2023, 10:34 AM

1,773 posts

X50

Purely due to the driving dynamics n experience

Tekan sure vroom damn syok

Run over bumps also no rasa

Keep in mind high FC and exp tyres

But Myr still cheap fuel so yolo
SUSAmeiN
post Feb 27 2023, 10:38 AM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

x50 la. spareparts can buy from taobao je
soulz69
post Feb 27 2023, 10:43 AM

:: LoveHate ::
1,973 posts

ativa
Lanchio
post Feb 27 2023, 10:45 AM

487 posts

Reconsider both choices if money is tight. SUV maintenance is higher than sedan car.
Fzeo
post Feb 27 2023, 10:48 AM

455 posts

maintenance fee: ativa > x50

even x50 can go far, i will pick ativa.

wait for s50 and new vios?

kons
post Feb 27 2023, 11:10 AM

КÐūÐ―Ņ
6,181 posts

x50 active cruise control is still not as refined as toyota.

sometimes the car steer itself too close to the other lane.

tested both on mrr2
TSmactreouser
post Feb 27 2023, 11:11 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(blindmutedeaf @ Feb 27 2023, 09:45 AM)
not really expensive but whatever adds on pero offer during service, just decline =x
I see! Any examples?

QUOTE(croydon @ Feb 27 2023, 09:47 AM)

X50 Bad FC? shocked ðŸ˜ē

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Feb 27 2023, 09:52 AM)
Proton FC is so horrible until I feel like ppl that sewel only buy ( except for saga )
Maybe Perodua light weight that's why good in FC?

QUOTE(ikeiyou @ Feb 27 2023, 09:59 AM)
i have both cars, but the answer is depending on what you use that car mostly for.
if city traffic - get the ativa.
if regularly long distance - the x50 (the seats are far far better)

in terms of reliability, both are good. they've never given me problems, at all.
cars are just tools. get the one that fits your use.
WOW... I might be able to get the satisfied ideas from you 😁
70% KL & Selangor Drive. And maybe once a month outstation!
My concern still surrounded to maintenance wise — parts (price and durability), fees (overall).

How about performance and power (5 persons + luggages)?

This post has been edited by mactreouser: Feb 27 2023, 11:12 AM
ikeiyou
post Feb 27 2023, 11:13 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Feb 27 2023, 11:11 AM)
How about performance and power (5 persons + luggages)?
for 5 person + luggage, even the x50 is too small.
If short distance still bearable. If you go long distance, its uncomfortable.
TSmactreouser
post Feb 27 2023, 11:19 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(ikeiyou @ Feb 27 2023, 10:02 AM)
TBH, both cars are not expensive to own.
But if buyer is concerned about saving money, then avoid SUVs entirely.
The tyre costs itself will make you hurt.
Like I said above, cars are just tools. If you need an SUV, then you get one. If you dont, there are other options.
Very Honest Suggestions and advice! Appreciate!
Does it mean, New Alza also should be avoided?
Actually how expensive is the SUV's Tyre compare to Sedan?

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Feb 27 2023, 10:34 AM)
X50

Purely due to the driving dynamics n experience

Tekan sure vroom damn syok

Run over bumps also no rasa

Keep in mind high FC and exp tyres

But Myr still cheap fuel so yolo
High FC really shocking me! Nowadays, what a technologies!

QUOTE(Lanchio @ Feb 27 2023, 10:45 AM)
Reconsider both choices if money is tight. SUV maintenance is higher than sedan car.
Wow.... Can't imagine! Roughly, how much difference? Like how many percentage higher than a Sedan maintenant fees?
kevintth
post Feb 27 2023, 11:20 AM

1,618 posts

sound like axia vs vios..... but the new vios now has some features brought from ativa... lol

This post has been edited by kevintth: Feb 27 2023, 11:20 AM
Sagiez
post Feb 27 2023, 11:21 AM

44 posts

They are not sewel, they just not cheapskate like Perodua owner. They know what they paid for. They rather pay extra money for fuel than have to endure the feeling like 'naik sampan' at the highway or road with lots of corners.

I used to own both (MyVi & Persona) and have to travel almost 100-150km daily for my previous job, and seriously the fuel difference just around RM30 per month. But the comfort and handling of Proton over Perodua, even if the FC difference is RM100 per month i still willing to choose Proton. MyVi gave me body ache all over after just 2 months of travelling and the problem settled when i changed to Persona.
TSmactreouser
post Feb 27 2023, 11:21 AM

2,512 posts

If avoided those SUV like X50 , Ativa, Alza... What's your advices and suggestions for a better maintenance and good FC with spacious' vehicle?
TSmactreouser
post Feb 27 2023, 11:24 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Sagiez @ Feb 27 2023, 11:21 AM)
They are not sewel, they just not cheapskate like Perodua owner. They know what they paid for. They rather pay extra money for fuel than have to endure the feeling like 'naik sampan' at the highway or road with lots of corners.

I used to own both (MyVi & Persona) and have to travel almost 100-150km daily for my previous job, and seriously the fuel difference just around RM30 per month. But the comfort and handling of Proton over Perodua, even if the FC difference is RM100 per month i still willing to choose Proton. MyVi gave me body ache all over after just 2 months of travelling and the problem settled when i changed to Persona.
What a great user reviews! Appreciate!
So. Which car are driving now?
ZzZzz...
post Feb 27 2023, 11:24 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

QUOTE(noos @ Feb 27 2023, 10:04 AM)
Want power get X50
Want good FC get Ativa
i support this,
i know is diff segment, given u got the budget to buy any of this..

thats the main diff
msacras
post Feb 27 2023, 11:27 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(zgerm @ Feb 27 2023, 09:38 AM)
if maintenance fee concern you, choose Axia
Fixed
ikeiyou
post Feb 27 2023, 11:27 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Feb 27 2023, 11:19 AM)
Does it mean, New Alza also should be avoided?
actually, Alza is a good idea too.
It also uses regular sized tyres.

msacras
post Feb 27 2023, 11:32 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Feb 27 2023, 11:21 AM)
If avoided those SUV like X50 , Ativa, Alza... What's your advices and suggestions for a better maintenance and good FC with spacious' vehicle?
Civic

If no budget then it’s City
msacras
post Feb 27 2023, 11:33 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(ikeiyou @ Feb 27 2023, 11:27 AM)
actually, Alza is a good idea too.
It also uses regular sized tyres.
Advance and H model’s tyre is on the pricier side, changing 4 will cost you upwards of RM1k too.

This post has been edited by msacras: Feb 27 2023, 11:38 AM
dogbert_chew
post Feb 27 2023, 11:34 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Feb 27 2023, 11:21 AM)
Alza is different from X50, Ativa
Its a spacious 7 seater with claimed 22km/l

Lower maintenence naturally aspirated proven Myvi engine. Lowest variant X has 15" rims so tyres cost 200+ each (for those worried about tyre cost over 3-4 years)
blindmutedeaf
post Feb 27 2023, 11:34 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Feb 27 2023, 11:11 AM)
I see! Any examples?

For Ativa... RM paid for my myvi when service by pero is almost identical
an example of it is they will ask you to install that magnet >>https://www.wapcar.my/news/magnetic-trap-on-oil-filters--do-they-really-work-or-is-it-just-a-quack-remedy-57377 <<
or some battery thingy to prevent leak, IDK what is that so cannot find the source

anyway, just say no to all those nonsense rclxs0.gif

for driving... if you are fetching people a lot... back sit is not so comfortable...

Driving alone is good but not on corner.

edit - some typo

This post has been edited by blindmutedeaf: Feb 27 2023, 11:37 AM
SUSrtk74
post Feb 27 2023, 11:46 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

New or old myvi?
ikeiyou
post Feb 27 2023, 11:52 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Feb 27 2023, 11:33 AM)
Advance and H model’s tyre is on the pricier side, changing 4 will cost you upwards of RM1k too.
the x50 still rather new. but when the time comes shouldn't be too far from what i paid for 4pcs on the older x70

This post has been edited by ikeiyou: Feb 27 2023, 11:54 AM
Sagiez
post Feb 27 2023, 12:06 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Feb 27 2023, 11:24 AM)
What a great user reviews! Appreciate!
So. Which car are driving now?
Changed to new Persona. FC wise better than old Persona but of course not as much as Bezza/MyVi. But as the reason i stated before, drive comfort and handling is my priority that's why still stick with Proton.
unknown_2
post Feb 27 2023, 12:09 PM

572 posts

if ur main priority is maintenance, operating cost, go for ativa.
but bear in mind these 2 cars not really in the same category.
ativa engine is weak, which makes it doesn't feel like a SUV, more like a jacked up myvi feel.
driving vise, grip, handling, speed, responsiveness, cornering, ativa doesn't hold a candle against x50.

TLDR:
care about cost - go for Ativa
care about driving experience - x50
unknown_2
post Feb 27 2023, 12:12 PM

572 posts

till this day, myvi is the only car i'll pening when i sit in 1.
Pugbunny
post Feb 27 2023, 01:15 PM

717 posts

Maintenance cost wise, Ativa is more friendlier
SUSKaya Butter Toast
post Feb 27 2023, 01:16 PM

325 posts

u have money or not.

have money, go x50.

no money, ativa.
minano0001
post Feb 27 2023, 02:36 PM

540 posts

Want power and better interior go x50
Want fc and lower maintenance go ativa
johnnycp
post Feb 28 2023, 08:41 AM

600 posts

Activa tak sedap, x50 tebu best gile, spec to spec comparison, Tapi spare part tarak

This post has been edited by johnnycp: Feb 28 2023, 08:42 AM
68 others
post Feb 28 2023, 08:55 AM

105 posts

asal bukan proton
MegaCanonF
post Feb 28 2023, 09:13 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Feb 27 2023, 11:33 AM)

ouch! might rethinking my plans to upgrade to an SUV.
BoomerangCircles
post Feb 28 2023, 09:15 AM

244 posts

buy both. settle.
tkw60
post Feb 28 2023, 09:21 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 27 2023, 10:39 AM)
I wonder if the X50 X70 spare parts still takes months as heard before
Cannot comment so much...those x50 or x70 lovers will condemn you for raise up thier loved car problem....
For me I will choose perodua for their servis .spare part available or chop shop for the part...
tkw60
post Feb 28 2023, 09:28 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Sagiez @ Feb 27 2023, 12:21 PM)

True.i own a proton persona ...regard fc proton will thirst a bit more only compare myvy ..but hey 1.6 sure consume more fuel then 1.5 a bit more....long distant drive sure proton better ..can't be wrong..
For sparepart available both brand sure perodua win..
lordgamer3
post Feb 28 2023, 09:35 AM

847 posts

One more thing not sure how Ativa's gearbox in terms of maintainence compares to the x50. The x50 dual clutch gearbox clutch changes might be on the higher side. If you take the advance model for x50 electronics over the long term might be in question. No doubt the x50's ride quality power etc better then Ativa considering its in a different segment but that said there are a lot more things to consider for long term reliability then to just think change engine oil and jalan kinda mentality.
msacras
post Feb 28 2023, 10:58 AM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Feb 28 2023, 09:13 AM)
ouch! might rethinking my plans to upgrade to an SUV.
This is just Alza, not even remotely classified as SUV.
hungrygodzilla
post Feb 28 2023, 11:51 AM

456 posts

If budget allow, X50. Ativa build quality quite sad, but for it's price, still ok. I very much prefer a X50 for daily drive.
kcchong2000
post Feb 28 2023, 12:03 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Feb 27 2023, 11:34 AM)
Alza is different from X50, Ativa
Its a spacious 7 seater with claimed 22km/l

Lower maintenence naturally aspirated proven Myvi engine.  Lowest variant X has 15" rims so tyres cost 200+ each (for those worried about tyre cost over 3-4 years)
Don't dream on it too much. B segment MPV 3rd row very jeebye. Best is c segment like exora..
dogbert_chew
post Feb 28 2023, 12:44 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Feb 28 2023, 12:03 PM)
Don't dream on it too much. B segment MPV 3rd row very jeebye. Best is c segment like exora..
Have you fetched passengers in Alza 3rd row from PJ to Langkawi and asked their opinion?

Hint: Alza wheelbase > Exora
Darkspreader
post Feb 28 2023, 12:59 PM

148 posts

X50 is overall a much superior car...albeit pricier

If you don't mind the spare part issues (which proton is trying to solve by opening a new regional part center in east m'sia), definitely go for X50. No brainer
kcchong2000
post Feb 28 2023, 01:02 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Feb 28 2023, 12:44 PM)
Have you fetched passengers in Alza 3rd row from PJ to Langkawi and asked their opinion?

Hint: Alza wheelbase > Exora
Old one yes. New one not yet. Old one not for adults
Ku9
post Feb 28 2023, 01:23 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Darkspreader @ Feb 28 2023, 12:59 PM)
X50 is overall a much superior car...albeit pricier

If you don't mind the spare part issues (which proton is trying to solve by opening a new regional part center in east m'sia), definitely go for X50. No brainer
How not to mind X50 sparepart issues???
trinity8
post Feb 16 2024, 11:04 PM

22 posts

Hi, i want to know how much does ativa number plate casing cost? Spoke to the Perodua dealer says that number plate is RM40 but not including the casing? Does normally Perodua give for free the casing or I have to buy from them or should I buy outside and ask them to fix it? Sounds weird pay for number plate but no casing ? Thanks..newbie here.
romuluz777
post Feb 16 2024, 11:32 PM

2,215 posts

How about the H WRV ? Thats a cute lil crossover.
ze2
post Feb 16 2024, 11:39 PM

319 posts

Ativa cheaper to maintain
Boomwick
post Feb 16 2024, 11:40 PM

1,002 posts

Honda wrv
contagiouseddie
post Feb 16 2024, 11:46 PM

305 posts

This is what I noticed as an Ativa owner. Inside the car the vibration from the 3-cylinder engine is definitely more than the X50. But, if you stand outside with the hood open on both car, you can see the X50 3-cylinder makes much more noise with bigger vibration. I can only say the insulation is better on the X50 but that amount of noise and vibration will really put a big question mark on the X50 in the longer term. Toyota on the other hand has been making reliable 3-cylinder engine for ages while Geely in China already switched back the X50 engine back to 4-cylinder and rumours X50 face-lift in Malaysia next year will also switch back to 4-cylinder.engine.

contagiouseddie
post Feb 16 2024, 11:47 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(trinity8 @ Feb 16 2024, 11:04 PM)
Hi, i want to know how much does ativa number plate casing cost? Spoke to the Perodua dealer says that number plate is RM40 but not including the casing? Does normally Perodua give for free the casing or I have to buy from them or should I buy outside and ask them to fix it? Sounds weird pay for number plate but no casing ?  Thanks..newbie here.
Usually the car showroom company adds the plate number holder for free with their company branding at the bottom as some sort of advertisement.
Gargamel_gibson
post Feb 16 2024, 11:58 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Feb 16 2024, 11:46 PM)
This is what I noticed as an Ativa owner. Inside the car the vibration from the 3-cylinder engine is definitely more than the X50. But, if you stand outside with the hood open on both car, you can see the X50 3-cylinder makes much more noise with bigger vibration. I can only say the insulation is better on the X50 but that amount of noise and vibration will really put a big question mark on the X50 in the longer term. Toyota on the other hand has been making reliable 3-cylinder engine for ages while Geely in China already switched back the X50 engine back to 4-cylinder and rumours X50 face-lift in Malaysia next year will also switch back to 4-cylinder.engine.
Can go any showroom sit test drive car. Their cars should be 2-3 years old now
trinity8
post Feb 17 2024, 11:17 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Feb 16 2024, 11:47 PM)
Usually the car showroom company adds the plate number holder for free with their company branding at the bottom as some sort of advertisement.
That's what I thought. I think they are just taking advantage of me maybe?... sounds really weird that I have to buy the casing separately. thanks!
Brotherjoe
post Feb 17 2024, 01:02 PM

2,215 posts

passive safety, isnt x50 is better than ativa?
ativa body looks soft.
oM41GoD_
post Feb 17 2024, 01:31 PM

246 posts

Wait for rebadged Yaris cross ?
Gargamel_gibson
post Feb 17 2024, 01:31 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Feb 17 2024, 01:02 PM)
passive safety, isnt x50 is better than ativa?
ativa body looks soft.
2024 still got people see car safety from looks and knock on door panel ka? You know we have crash tests for that right?
And even if worried also worried about X50 more. Geely not an international car maker, they only design their cars to CNCAP standard which is very very low compared to even Asean NCAP, don't even talk about EURO NCAP. Proton had to redesign so many things to pass Asean NCAP, orignal Geely Binyue would have failed. Chery is a much better China brand because their cars designed and passed Euro NCAP and Australia NCAP
adamhzm90
post Feb 17 2024, 09:27 PM

1,389 posts

I own ativa and my dad own x50..

Refinement wise, x50 way better
thx2012
post Nov 30 2024, 02:38 PM

877 posts

Ativa Better, Low Maintaince and FC is Cheap.

X50 Maintaince slightly high but the major is FC very High, if u buy X50

use for 10 years, u FC Cost can make u buy 1 Ativa.
johnnycp
post Nov 30 2024, 05:10 PM

600 posts

X50 coz aktiva sampan ride
TAN WENG
post Nov 30 2024, 05:32 PM

145 posts

Take this byd m6 instant torque

kidmad
post Nov 30 2024, 09:56 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(thx2012 @ Nov 30 2024, 02:38 PM)
Ativa Better, Low Maintaince and FC is Cheap.

X50 Maintaince slightly high but the major is FC very High, if u buy X50

use for 10 years, u FC Cost can make u buy 1 Ativa.
let's say it doubles ativa fc which is not.. rm50 per tank.. 1 month rm200... 1 year rm2400.. 10 years rm24k... buy mat lan ativa? u got calculate before simply spew shit?

This post has been edited by kidmad: Dec 1 2024, 05:49 AM
ayamxxx
post Nov 30 2024, 10:42 PM

4,061 posts

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Nov 30 2024, 10:44 PM
mushigen
post Nov 30 2024, 11:36 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Nov 30 2024, 09:56 PM)
let's say it doubles ativa fc which is not.. rm50 per tank.. 1 month rm200... 1 year rm2400.. 10 years rm24k... but mat lan ativa? u got calculate before simply spew shit?
He used total fuel cost instead of the difference in fuel cost, which is wrong lo.
thx2012
post Dec 2 2024, 04:19 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Nov 30 2024, 09:56 PM)
let's say it doubles ativa fc which is not.. rm50 per tank.. 1 month rm200... 1 year rm2400.. 10 years rm24k... buy mat lan ativa? u got calculate before simply spew shit?
As i heard my friend said X50 Full Tank RM 100, Ativa full Tank 65, the different is Rm 35, and X50 Full Tank can go 320Km, Ativa Full Tank can go 380km so i roughly calculate the Different RM 50, if 1 month 4 time pump Fuel is Different RM 200 for Petrol 12 month is Rm 2400, 10 year is Rm 24,000

the 2nd thing different is Maintenance Cost, Ativa yearly Maintain Cost is RM 700, X50 year maintain Cost is Rm 1200, 1 year different Rm 500, 10 year is Rm 5,000

The 3rd Thing Different is Proton is make in China, u also know China Quality after use 5 year , sini rosak situ rosak, expect repair cost will be Rm 8000 for 10 year

The 4th Thing is Tyre, Ativa 17 inch, X50 18 Inch, the different cost for 4 tyre total is 170 x 4 = Rm 680 , if 10 year change 5 time will be different RM 3,400

The 5th Thing, Resell Value after 10 years, we can refer CARRO website after 3 years car for X50 Flagship VS 3 years Car ATIVA AV Version

2021 X50 Selling price - Rm 78,800 - Buying Price Rm 106,000 = Total Lose Rm 27,200

https://carro.co/my/en/cars/proton/x50/2021...1-5l/29N5RLN141

2021 ATIVA AV Selling price - Rm 61,800 - Buying Price RM 72,000 - Total Lose Rm 10,200

https://carro.co/my/en/cars/perodua/ativa/2...1-0l/1P263XKV4V

So the Different Total Lose is Rm 27,200 - Rm 10,200 = Rm 17,000

ok, now we see how much the total cost different for ATIVA and X50 after use for 10 years

1st Petrol Different = RM 24,000
2nd Maintenance Cost Differnt = Rm 5,000
3rd Repair Cost Different = Rm 8,000
4th Tyre Cost Different = RM 3,400
5th Resell Value Cost Different = RM 17,000

Total Cost Different = RM 57,400

Can buy 1 More Myvi Already
rclxs0.gif
jonthebaptist
post Dec 2 2024, 04:57 AM

1,036 posts

I never understood why Ativa is so popular, for what it offers its actually very pricey car. Top up a bit you can already get top range proton or top range Perodua.
ayamxxx
post Dec 2 2024, 05:50 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(thx2012 @ Dec 2 2024, 04:19 AM)
As i heard my friend said X50 Full Tank RM 100, Ativa full Tank 65, the different is Rm 35, and X50 Full Tank can go 320Km, Ativa Full Tank can go 380km so i roughly calculate the Different RM 50, if 1 month 4 time pump Fuel is Different RM 200 for Petrol 12 month is Rm 2400, 10 year is Rm 24,000

the 2nd thing different is Maintenance Cost, Ativa yearly Maintain Cost is RM 700, X50 year maintain Cost is Rm 1200, 1 year different Rm 500, 10 year is Rm 5,000

The 3rd Thing Different is Proton is make in China, u also know China Quality after use 5 year , sini rosak situ rosak, expect repair cost will be Rm 8000 for 10 year

The 4th Thing is Tyre, Ativa 17 inch, X50 18 Inch, the different cost for 4 tyre total is 170 x 4 = Rm 680 , if 10 year change 5 time will be different RM 3,400

The 5th Thing, Resell Value after 10 years, we can refer CARRO website after 3 years car for X50 Flagship VS 3 years Car ATIVA AV Version

2021 X50 Selling price - Rm 78,800 - Buying Price Rm 106,000 = Total Lose Rm 27,200

2021 ATIVA AV Selling price - Rm 61,800 - Buying Price RM 72,000 - Total Lose Rm 10,200

ok, now we see how much the total cost different for ATIVA and X50 after use for 10 years

rclxs0.gif
Obviously u pay for 98hp fuel consumption vs 175hp, sure that higher hp need more fuel. But from what i tested, it will more than 320km per tank, more km range if ride on highway

Maintenance services as attached, how u got rm1.2k annually? Unless u believe all those optional service quoted by SA, engine oil additive, fuel cleaner, brake cleaner thingy, paid car wash then sure can hit rm1.2k annually.

Point 3, any proof? What items u need to replace for rm8k, can details a bit? AC compressor? Alternator? First 5 years is under warranty.

Point 4, suggest you go change at Oscar Bukit Kemuning for better price of tyre, brand new tyre. They quoted the cheapest tyre price in KL/ Selangor

RV, obviously a more car price will drop price more vs lower priced car. Take Conti how much they loss for RV, cz the initial price is higher

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Dec 2 2024, 05:54 AM
ze2
post Dec 2 2024, 07:39 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 2 2024, 04:57 AM)
I never understood why Ativa is so popular, for what it offers its actually very pricey car. Top up a bit you can already get top range proton or top range Perodua.
You need to own one to know one.
zamans98
post Dec 2 2024, 09:08 AM

oquĹɐÉđ ĮÉĨ‡ ÉđĮŒo 'ĮÉđĮÉĨĮÉŊos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 2 2024, 04:57 AM)
Not sure how you deduce, after even reading 80 replies here.

Since this is not Kopitiam...

1) for city drives, Ativa is much more powerful at lower revs pulling a lighter load giving a better driving experience for the average driver (from one of reply)

2) cheaper to maintain

3) high resell value.

4) Japanese reliability Vs China brand

LightningZERO
post Dec 2 2024, 09:46 AM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

There’s also the size considerations that this sort of topic never really considers. Some people just prefer a compact car and want something higher end than myvi, then ativa is pretty much the only cheapest options before you go to Rm100k range.
JoeK
post Dec 2 2024, 10:48 AM

1,099 posts

[b]As i heard my friend said X50 Full Tank RM 100, nd X50 Full Tank can go 320Km
As an owner of proton x50, and drive mostly 90% city drive - which resulted in worse FC possible, I can say this is bullshit

Typical I heard from atok nenek cousin friend kucing
azrilyp
post Dec 2 2024, 11:21 AM

763 posts

yes, I'm one of the sewel ones cause I never bought a Proton for the FC thou.
dogbert_chew
post Dec 2 2024, 08:04 PM

1,565 posts

As i heard my friend said

Can buy 1 More Myvi Already  rclxs0.gif
Gotta stop speculating based on hearsay,

I have both cars in my family, your calculations above quite far off. Can refer to ayamxxx response
kidmad
post Dec 2 2024, 08:47 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Dec 2 2024, 10:48 AM)
As an owner of proton x50, and drive mostly 90% city drive - which resulted in worse FC possible, I can say this is bullshit

the moment i saw those figures he spew can see how much bullshit he is throwing up in serious /k.. maybe should report da fellow for imaginary figures.
kidmad
post Dec 2 2024, 08:59 PM

4,482 posts

rclxs0.gif
point 1. stop posting nonsense when u dont even bother googling.. x50 tank got 50l? ativa vs x50 tank size is only 9 liters.
go to proton x50 sub section some members do get 6.5l/100km but alot are getting approx 11km/l.. 40l how many km? to be honest ativa fuel consumption is no where good..

point 2. go to da damn sites lookup 0-120k km how much is the total cost of service la. Pauline tan already do comparison with hrv.. in total to 100k km x50 only cost you rm4.3k.. where u pull up rm5k difference?

point 3. some stupid random number from no where.

point 4. u every 2 year change tyre? smart.. salesman eh?

point 5. base on your poor mindset and comparison why drive ativa? get a bezza or axia la. there's reason ppl driving bmw and yr still stuck with illogical comparison.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Dec 2 2024, 08:59 PM
thx2012
post Dec 3 2024, 03:14 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Dec 2 2024, 08:59 PM)
point 1. stop posting nonsense when u dont even bother googling.. x50 tank got 50l? ativa vs x50 tank size is only 9 liters.
go to proton x50 sub section some members do get 6.5l/100km but alot are getting approx 11km/l.. 40l how many km? to be honest ativa fuel consumption is no where good..

point 2. go to da damn sites lookup 0-120k km how much is the total cost of service la. Pauline tan already do comparison with hrv.. in total to 100k km x50 only cost you rm4.3k.. where u pull up rm5k difference?

point 3. some stupid random number from no where.

point 4. u every 2 year change tyre? smart.. salesman eh?

point 5. base on your poor mindset and comparison why drive ativa? get a bezza or axia la. there's reason ppl driving bmw and yr still stuck with illogical comparison.
LOL, you need to admit it, X50 Resell Value is Lower Than ATIVA... THIS IS TRUE, please refer the link I Send, here will make u total lose Rm 17k Different
thx2012
post Dec 3 2024, 03:15 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Dec 2 2024, 08:04 PM)
Gotta stop speculating based on hearsay,

I have both cars in my family, your calculations above quite far off. Can refer to ayamxxx response
My Friend Said it was True, X50 Full Tank RM 100 only can Jalan 320km like that
thx2012
post Dec 3 2024, 03:16 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Dec 2 2024, 10:48 AM)

Then what is you FC? if drive 90% City can jalan How many KM?
thx2012
post Dec 3 2024, 03:19 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 2 2024, 05:50 AM)
Obviously u pay for 98hp fuel consumption vs 175hp, sure that higher hp need more fuel. But from what i tested, it will more than 320km per tank, more km range if ride on highway

Maintenance services as attached, how u got rm1.2k annually? Unless u believe all those optional service quoted by SA, engine oil additive, fuel cleaner, brake cleaner thingy, paid car wash then sure can hit rm1.2k annually.

Point 3, any proof? What items u need to replace for rm8k, can details a bit? AC compressor? Alternator?  First 5 years is under warranty.

Point 4, suggest you go change at Oscar Bukit Kemuning for better price of tyre, brand new tyre. They quoted the cheapest tyre price in KL/ Selangor

RV, obviously a more car price will drop price more vs lower priced car. Take Conti how much they loss for RV, cz the initial price is higher
I Only buy for City Drive, dont think will go Highway , only drive within Klang Valley.

MY Friend SAID, X50 Maintenance Service they normally will charge Rm 4xx, if Major will be around RM 7xx to 8xx

the worst thing is the Resell Value, if Proton Car so Good, why the 2nd Hand Car only selling Flagship Version Rm 78,800? direct lose around RM 30k just for 3 year Car

This post has been edited by thx2012: Dec 3 2024, 03:20 AM
ayamxxx
post Dec 3 2024, 06:25 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(thx2012 @ Dec 3 2024, 03:19 AM)
I Only buy for City Drive, dont think will go Highway , only drive within Klang Valley.

MY Friend SAID, X50 Maintenance Service they normally will charge Rm 4xx, if Major will be around RM 7xx to 8xx

the worst thing is the Resell Value, if Proton Car so Good, why the 2nd Hand Car only selling Flagship Version Rm 78,800? direct lose around RM 30k just for 3 year Car

This is not kopitiam. As others mentioned, it was more than 320 km per tank.

Yeah typical my friend said, nowadays all list of service for the 5 years are even published on the website. Go figure.

Those prices at Mudah, carlist, online for used car are for catching up buyer. Inb4 not included shop processing fees, change name fees. Ask the ODR price next time.
adamhzm90
post Dec 3 2024, 12:12 PM

1,389 posts

Ativa AV 2021 also selling 55k now at mudah.
ycs
post Dec 3 2024, 01:19 PM

4,233 posts

dats about 10k pa/ 110k price ~ 9% annual depreciation, is that so bad? what depreciation rate you expect?
thx2012
post Dec 4 2024, 03:48 PM

877 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a78ExAyd-BE
centaur37
post Dec 4 2024, 05:03 PM

32 posts

My friend who bought X50 3 years ago now suffering with endless issues with his car. He wants to sell it off asap. This includes their famous power window issue after many generations.

This post has been edited by centaur37: Dec 4 2024, 05:03 PM
momusu
post Dec 6 2024, 03:10 PM

~morning musume fanboy~
812 posts

Seat belakang x50 a bit too hard for me.

MegaCanonF
post Dec 6 2024, 04:07 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(centaur37 @ Dec 4 2024, 05:03 PM)
My friend who bought X50 3 years ago now suffering with endless issues with his car. He wants to sell it off asap. This includes their famous power window issue after many generations.
just 3 years so many problems?
TAN WENG
post Dec 6 2024, 04:50 PM

145 posts

Sounds very serious
dogbert_chew
post Dec 6 2024, 08:47 PM

1,565 posts

My friend..
I own a X50. No issues so far except for noisy engine rattle..
ayamxxx
post Dec 7 2024, 10:44 AM

4,061 posts

why not send it for the warranty? that power window got recall.

what the next problem, your friends?

centaur37
post Dec 13 2024, 11:55 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 7 2024, 10:44 AM)

Proton said have to wait for 6 months to repair the power window. He also mentioned gearbox issue.
ayamxxx
post Dec 13 2024, 12:40 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(centaur37 @ Dec 13 2024, 11:55 AM)
Proton said have to wait for 6 months to repair the power window. He also mentioned gearbox issue.
Clearly he scammed u. If it indeed 6 months, sure viral at FB X50 group lol. Most warranty parts take 2 weeks waiting for part order or if lucky, that SC got the parts, can straight change under warranty.

zero5177
post Dec 13 2024, 12:42 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

I could be living in another universe, my X50 doing just fine everyday, even my battery still the original one for 3 years 2 months still counting.
ayamxxx
post Dec 13 2024, 12:45 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Dec 13 2024, 12:42 PM)
I could be living in another universe, my X50 doing just fine everyday, even my battery still the original one for 3 years 2 months still counting.
Based on dct proton used, its reliable. Only if error pop up, thats the HCA need to change and can claim under warranty. Kinda VW mechatronics parts.

My friends claim it when his car at 77k km, 4 years old, proton said it under 5 years unlimited mileage warranty
emilyious P
post Dec 13 2024, 12:57 PM

Probation

I will choose Ativa lah because they are still using Japan engine
LastManStanding99
post Jan 2 2025, 08:24 PM

37 posts

For me Ativa, low maintenance not as high as proton.
Ativa too in the beginning there's some issues too, but do have recall n settle.. now batch I think no more issues so far.. same thing resell value drop... (All cars same ) As says in other posted, back seat is a bit tight (3pax behind is suffering)
JoeK
post Jan 3 2025, 09:44 AM

1,099 posts

QUOTE(centaur37 @ Dec 13 2024, 11:55 AM)
Bro, jangan tipu

Power window got official recall now.
They even text you to come fast fast and replace the parts.

Mana ada 6 months.
ycs
post Jan 3 2025, 10:46 AM

4,233 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 7 2024, 10:44 AM)

i didnt get the recall letter for X50?
touristking
post Jan 3 2025, 11:13 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(centaur37 @ Dec 13 2024, 04:55 AM)
Been waiting almost 5 months for my Honda steering rack issue. The car is 11 months old.
SUStakeshikitamura
post Jan 3 2025, 11:28 AM

40 posts

china brand? more competitive
ayamxxx
post Jan 3 2025, 11:29 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jan 3 2025, 10:46 AM)
i didnt get the recall letter for X50?
Can send to SC and ask for this. If got parts, maybe can swap/change asap

0.0709sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:08 AM