Sugar in Kopi O Kosong
TSThooWeiKit
Feb 21 2023, 11:50 AM, updated 3y ago
Can drinking Kopi O Kosong add sugar level in our body?
Even though Kopi O Kosong doesn't contain sugar, but the making process of Kopi O Kosong: Sugar is used during cooking process to coat the coffee bean with caramel.
kitsunegeisha
Feb 21 2023, 11:52 AM

ur rice also got sugar. Minimal sugar should be fine. Don't overdose sugar
ciwi1166
Feb 21 2023, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(ThooWeiKit @ Feb 21 2023, 11:50 AM) Can drinking Kopi O Kosong add sugar level in our body? Even though Kopi O Kosong doesn't contain sugar, but the making process of Kopi O Kosong: Sugar is used during cooking process to coat the coffee bean with caramel. the sugar in cooking process is negligible compare to if you deliberately add sugar after it.
CoffeeDude
Feb 21 2023, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(ThooWeiKit @ Feb 21 2023, 11:50 AM) Can drinking Kopi O Kosong add sugar level in our body? Even though Kopi O Kosong doesn't contain sugar, but the making process of Kopi O Kosong: Sugar is used during cooking process to coat the coffee bean with caramel. Those coffee beans in cafes, Starbucks, coffee bean, etc does not have added sugar and margarine. Choose Arabica coffee beans.
kuntilanak
Feb 21 2023, 12:17 PM
afaik, kopi 'o kosong means no susu no sugar... hmm...
LamboSama
Feb 21 2023, 12:20 PM
Depends which one, those own grind no sugar.
But those instant one got.
But if <1g of sugar also give you such issues. You might be having unhealthy obsession regarding dieting.
Intel Core i7
Feb 21 2023, 02:31 PM
The answer is no sugar in Kopi-o
TSThooWeiKit
Feb 21 2023, 03:03 PM
Translate from ChatGPT:
When you're drinking Kopi O Kosong, which smells particularly fragrant and strong, do you feel relieved that it doesn't contain any sugar? It certainly doesn't taste sweet, but in the process of making this type of coffee, sugar, butter or margarine (which solidifies) is added during roasting to help reduce the acidity of the coffee beans. After that, the mixture is ground into coffee powder. Don't believe it? Drink a cup of Kopi O Kosong and then check your blood sugar level to see the truth.
premier239
Feb 21 2023, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Feb 21 2023, 12:17 PM) afaik, kopi 'o kosong means no susu no sugar... hmm... kopi o itself is roasted with sugar with margarine ...
minano0001
Feb 21 2023, 04:07 PM
yes kopi o kosong still contain sugar just like rice
kuntilanak
Feb 21 2023, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(premier239 @ Feb 21 2023, 03:08 PM) kopi o itself is roasted with sugar with margarine ... oh ya... forgot about the roasting part...
J1g54w
Feb 21 2023, 04:36 PM
can consider switching to matcha tea for caffeine without sugar treatment in the making process at all, also the health benefits is immense
kons
Feb 21 2023, 04:54 PM
Конс
caffeine will inhibit your insulin production...
if you drink too much coffee over the long run, your body will stop producing insulin and your blood sugar will become diabetes
dickybird
Feb 21 2023, 05:43 PM
Sugar used in roasting the coffee beans already carbonised when turned into caramel. So no worries.
dickybird
Feb 21 2023, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(kons @ Feb 21 2023, 04:54 PM) caffeine will inhibit your insulin production... if you drink too much coffee over the long run, your body will stop producing insulin and your blood sugar will become diabetes Not according to the latest studies
kevinc
Feb 21 2023, 05:51 PM
" Not everyone knows that Arabica is the most aromatic and less bitter species because it naturally contains 8% sugar, while Robusta contains 5%. To confirm that the coffee contains sugar: the change in the color of the bean from green to brownish-olive when roasting is due precisely to the caramelization of sugars"
dickybird
Feb 21 2023, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(kevinc @ Feb 21 2023, 05:51 PM) " Not everyone knows that Arabica is the most aromatic and less bitter species because it naturally contains 8% sugar, while Robusta contains 5%. To confirm that the coffee contains sugar: the change in the color of the bean from green to brownish-olive when roasting is due precisely to the caramelization of sugars" How much ground coffee is used in a cup of coffee? Kopi o kosong is just like an americano, the sugar in an Americano is zero. This post has been edited by dickybird: Feb 21 2023, 06:21 PM
Spitzer
Feb 21 2023, 08:50 PM
If you’re asking this purely for knowledge purposes - i don’t know, nor do i care.
If you’re asking because of your on a path to healthy diet - then don’t overthink it, healthy eating must be consistent, and if you put so much effort into nitpicking, you won’t last, there’s so many other malaysian food that you’ll be forced to eat that has way more unhealthy content if you really want to go into the details.
I drink cofee without added sugar, but not daily, maybe max 3 per week. My daily drink apart from plain water is teabags/leafs.
Roadwarrior1337
Feb 21 2023, 08:53 PM
Aiya life already complicated why make it complicated