What's your worst property purchase?, lots of property woes threads lately

coyouth
post Feb 11 2023, 09:18 AM

820 posts

QUOTE(jehhlim @ Feb 10 2023, 06:04 PM)
At least the houses are completed, whereas at Kuchai PRIME AREA a fully sold out condo price ranging from rm300k to rm780k++ went ABANDONED…all buyers underwater especially with the rising OPR
i can't imagine how it's like, any real buyers here in /k/ that has experienced this before? do you actually need to continue paying the loan to the bank or you just don't care and leave it as that?
TrialGone
post Feb 11 2023, 09:20 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Feb 10 2023, 09:22 PM)

So.....China tofu dreg finally come to malaysia.
wawasan2200
post Feb 11 2023, 09:24 AM

189 posts

Is high rise seldom have quality issue?coz if got issue the building collapse many will die so the QC is more tight?.

Btw, luckily I buy ready build house

See first only buy

Some ulu place lcoal developer workmanship is good and cheap, just ulu location, maybe the boss is good-hearted and they don't need to share profit and feed many macais

N9484640
post Feb 11 2023, 09:25 AM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

QUOTE(jehhlim @ Feb 10 2023, 06:04 PM)
At least the houses are completed, whereas at Kuchai PRIME AREA a fully sold out condo price ranging from rm300k to rm780k++ went ABANDONED…all buyers underwater especially with the rising OPR
Which one is this? Can give location or name? Thanks
coyouth
post Feb 11 2023, 09:25 AM

820 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Feb 10 2023, 06:38 PM)
Country Garden Danga Bay is part of the China-owned Country Garden group which is developing the Forest City project on four reclaimed islands in the Johor straits.

wow, so shitty this developer from china also can get big project in johor.
PortgasDerekAce
post Feb 11 2023, 09:28 AM

206 posts

i bought sub sale

no complaints, i love my unit
SUSKaya Butter Toast
post Feb 11 2023, 09:29 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Feb 10 2023, 06:25 PM)
Almost bought a condo few metres away from newly built mosque.. you know i know which project la haha. In damansara. Luckily pull out last minute.

Agent and developer very pandai hid the information when selling.
Dcosmos?
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Feb 11 2023, 09:37 AM

937 posts

that area ah?

wait another 10~15years la.

but i doubt the price will appreciate much.
SUSCoolStoryWriter
post Feb 11 2023, 11:04 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(Kaya Butter Toast @ Feb 11 2023, 09:29 AM)
Dcosmos?
Yup. Basically entire central park damansara area
tkyong1
post Feb 13 2023, 09:05 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(Joe1997 @ Feb 10 2023, 09:15 PM)
ahh that unit mmg super overpriced. But right now the mall business is gaining back momentum, and sunway medical centre is opening soon. Maybe the property price will increase back
This few years has been very tough for my financial.

A single bad investment in Tropicana Gardens unit (bought at property peak time), plus covid-19 pandemic, retrenchment, all came in once, really set me backward very badly.

A bad decision wiped out all the previous hard work. Hope Tropicana Gardens unit price will gain to RM1300 psf in future.

Nothing much that I can do beside hold on and wait it out.

Randomization
post Feb 13 2023, 12:55 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(tkyong1 @ Feb 13 2023, 09:05 AM)
This few years has been very tough for my financial.

A single bad investment in Tropicana Gardens unit (bought at property peak time), plus covid-19 pandemic, retrenchment, all came in once, really set me backward very badly.

A bad decision wiped out all the previous hard work. Hope Tropicana Gardens unit price will gain to RM1300 psf in future.

Nothing much that I can do beside hold on and wait it out.
Lesser expectation, lesser disappointment. wink.gif
azlanys1
post Feb 13 2023, 01:13 PM

57 posts

I visited this Teresse back in 2015. In the end settle for nearby subsale corner lot Bandar Seri Putra 630 k. Yes, price not moving much here thinking to sell mine 850 k after done renovation.
ayamxxx
post Feb 13 2023, 01:20 PM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Feb 13 2023, 12:55 PM)
Lesser expectation, lesser disappointment.  wink.gif
from my view, better buy those cheaper <500k house/apartments where it is cheaper to pay monthly and easier get tenants. For landed <500k, the price gain is also higher vs those expansive at 700k-900k unit. Yeah location is different.
StorMx
post Feb 13 2023, 01:30 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(iEatCuteDogs @ Feb 10 2023, 02:21 PM)
What's your worst property purchase?

this is my story of my journey, pain and frustration of my worst property purchase, lessons learned will be shared below. I wanna rant here cause my lorong neighbour today lelong off their unit at below market price.
this is my second property I purchased (also my first landed house), so I was relatively new to this prop thingy. a real newbie
I bought from stupid IOI during early 2015 and is in IOI Bandar Puteri Bangi @ Teresse 2. during that time, they are doing pile foundation on the site

bought it at MYR769,000, with 90% loan for 35 years, that amounted to MYR699,000. Topup 4% @ MYR31,000. Got a discount of 2% from IOI Club platinum membership (cause bought more than MYR2,000,000 of prop value from them), another 2% discount from events promo (CNY that time buy) and another 2% discount from referral (extended family referral fees pass back to me for down payment).

now here's the shittiest part, after 7+ years, the house value never increased but decreased. why? there are so many unsold units, and the developer are trying to sell them off ASAP. so they throw in some ridiculous discounts.
eg. take bumi lot for example, 7-10% discount over the years (CRAZY!), then raya/cny promo 4-5% off, referral scheme another 2-3%, IOI club membership 2%. total discount is almost 20%. that is -20% of the original house value, so  people are buying at around MYR630,000 for my unit type post CCC for those unsold units while I bought it at MYR722,860. that's more than MYR100,000+ difference and it's so unfair. it pull down the property price. and to make matters worst, IOI introduce a scheme during MCO. BUY NOW PAY LATER, loan is under IOI. so they buy the prop and dont have to pay loan for 5 years. CIBAI!

so many people buy those props, but never move in ... until today. so what happened? well.... they cant pay back the loan, so banks lelong it at stupidly cheap price, like 40-50% below market value. then people started disposing it -10% below market value too.

as you can see from the screenshot, the property is already overpriced, stupid developers made it fucking worst. a 7 bedroom, 7 bathroom 3,300 sqft unit 3 story terrace house 1KM away is CHEAPER by MYR100,000.  ranting.gif

now you might tell me, just wait till the value appreciates and dispose the unit. meanwhile rent out.
well, renters are hard to find in that area cause they are spoiled for choice. like i would wanna rent in that 7 bedroom 7 bathroom house 1km away, which cost MYR1,800/month. meanwhile my taman rent is 1,900 cause have to offset installment to bank which is around MYR3,600/month. so rental is slightly more than half. so what my creative neighbour did is to partition up the entire house, 3 bedroom downstairs, 3 bedroom upstairs and rent the rooms out for MYR400-600 to cover the installment. but that barely covers the full amount and there are only 3 renters at the moment. sad shit

so i am stuck in a dilemma, cant rent out (too low rental and too many competition, not enough renters), cant sell (-10% market value now, brand new house -50% value), and if wait until full loan tenure then sell off, i would be actually paying MYR1,512,000 (total payment with principal and interest). i will be paying MYR882,000 in interest over 35 years, and i doubt capital gains can cover that.
also this property have so many defects, some of my neighbours have their roofs fallen on their heads, leaking everywhere, huge cracks and even hollow garage due to soil erosion. the developer sucks in marketing as well as workmanship too
this prop is beyond fucked.

Credit: neighbour's house. this shitty IOI developer workmanship sucks beyond belief. complain to MPKJ already, developer still dont wanna fix

so my lesson learned:
1. avoid small and medium size developers. and for the big fish developers, in my opinion and experience, only Sime Darby, Glomac, Tropicana can be trusted. the rest like Mahsiao, IOI, etc. can eat shit
2. dont trust sales agent, dont trust marketing gimmicks. a property is your biggest investment in life, do your research gao gao. if possible, price check on every single property and future developments around a 5km radius. dont slack up, cause developers love to upscale, oversell and overprice their properties.
3. track record and reputation of a developer is important. if the developer has multiple red flags before, avoid that developer at all cost no matter what.
later i post some defects of my neighbour's house. see also wanna cry
You took term loan?

Then really GG
jrshow
post Feb 13 2023, 03:17 PM

2,186 posts

bro, can i know whats ur bank value?have u asked? thanks in advance
TSiEatCuteDogs
post Feb 13 2023, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(StorMx @ Feb 13 2023, 01:30 PM)
You took term loan?

Then really GG
err no? full flexi loan. but RHB sucks. no matter how much you put in, it will shorten the duration, not reduce the installment
teslaman
post Feb 13 2023, 09:31 PM

1,154 posts

QUOTE(iEatCuteDogs @ Feb 10 2023, 04:05 PM)
house owner in teresse 1 & 2 too?
sad.gif
everywhere also owner cry
StorMx
post Feb 14 2023, 11:41 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(iEatCuteDogs @ Feb 13 2023, 04:04 PM)
err no? full flexi loan. but RHB sucks. no matter how much you put in, it will shorten the duration, not reduce the installment
Then just sell below market 10% and liquidate your flexi loan.
jehhlim
post Feb 18 2023, 09:15 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(Xsence @ Feb 10 2023, 06:30 PM)
How come sold out can abandoned one
Thats why its best to buy completed unit, no abandon risk and what u see is what u get

jehhlim
post Feb 18 2023, 09:19 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(coyouth @ Feb 11 2023, 09:18 AM)
i can't imagine how it's like, any real buyers here in /k/ that has experienced this before? do you actually need to continue paying the loan to the bank or you just don't care and leave it as that?
Two option, either u dun pay and the bank will confiscate ur property, or continue to pay the interest every month…

As of now, the buyers who paid interest is akin to dumping money into the sea…pay for nothing one, with the current OPR the buyers are dumping around rm900 to rm1.5k every month into the sea FOR NOTHING

6 years have passed for this Kuchai Lama condo proj (finally declared abandoned in 2022) but there are no foreseeable timeline whether this could end and so now is considered endless suffering…

This post has been edited by jehhlim: Feb 18 2023, 09:23 AM

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:58 AM