post Oct 18 2007, 06:22 PM

229 posts

anyone ordered the CD?
lexasp
post Oct 19 2007, 05:37 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(radiounit @ Oct 18 2007, 09:58 PM)
im not sure what kernel it is... but ubuntu can run mostly on all p4 comps, and im sure of that  biggrin.gif . what's ur comp spec? if it's too low, u can try out xubuntu, which minus the fancy effects but still retain the usability of ubuntu.

anyways, to all who freshly install ubuntu 7.10 from iso cds dun forget to "sudo aptitude install compizconfig-settings-manager"  rclxms.gif
what does compizconfig-settings-manager does?

I am new to unbuntu, been using CentOS, so is "sudo aptitude install" the unbuntu version of "yum install"?
Sorry for the noobie question icon_question.gif
lexasp
post Oct 21 2007, 12:59 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(sweemeng @ Oct 19 2007, 06:39 PM)
please specify what configuration?
if you refer to the kernel version is type uname -a in terminal

Added on October 19, 2007, 6:41 pm
yum and aptitude is the equivalent, but both is a different program. so the behavior is somewhat different

compizconfig-settings-manager, is to manage your desktop effect
Thanks for the reply notworthy.gif

but I still don't understand this sudo thing, I never use anything such as sudo in CentOS.
The only su I use in CentOS is su root, but sudo -s can do the same thing in ubuntu.

so is sudo -s the same as su root? because I cant su root in ubuntu, it keeps telling me, my authentication fails.
lexasp
post Oct 22 2007, 11:48 AM

229 posts

I have a some problems here, I hope I would be able to get some assistance here.

1st problem, my wireless connection,
I have no problem connecting to my wireless connection if I disable its encryption, but when I uses WPA AES encryption, I failed to connect to it. The network manager applet just shows the connecting animation (where the bottom circle is green while the top circle is grey). I doesn't feel secure if I leave my wireless connection unencrypted. unsure.gif

I am using
3com usb 3rcusb10075 wireless device, )already installed its driver using ndiswrapper with the inf and sys file from the windows firmware that comes with the CD.) and Dlink DI-524 router.

2nd problem, also wireless
even if I disable encryption, my unbuntu is able to get connected, but with no IP address, as I had disable DHCP, the only way I can get my connection to work is to disable encryption and enable DHCP. I try to insert the infor into etc/network/interfaces but after I set my wireless usb which is given the name eth1, then the wireless option will dissappear from the network-manager applet when I restart.

3rd problem, the "beep" sound.
every time, when there are errors, my system unit will unleash a "beep" sound, but my sound card are running without a problem, as I can hear the login music, and mp3 and etc. Some example of when the "beep" sound occurs are :-
i) when I open terminal, then I press backspace on the keyboard when there is nothing to back.
ii) when I entered the wrong user/password during login, then the message to tell me the error will show up right? but when that happens and I re-enter my username and password, each key that I press will result the "beep" effect.

I just don't understand why it doesn't utilize my sound card to beep, but instead uses the motherboard to beep. Is this scenario normal? or there are some configuration that I need to play with.

Thanks for the help.

lexasp
post Nov 1 2007, 12:12 PM

229 posts

my spec pentium d 3.2ghz
nvidia 5600 128mb
ddr2 3gb
1 partition for windows and 1 partition for ubuntu.

Running fine with no problem at all, as for wireless dont use the network-manager that comes with gutsy, but install WICD instead, it can manage my wireless network better as should I say that the stock network-manager can't even connect to wpa encrypted AP, and doesn't support static IP.

0.0234sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:00 PM