Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon, for download

cyew86
post Nov 30 2007, 12:23 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

hey, i am interested in using ubuntu (and obviously i am a noob at this sweat.gif)
but looking at the graphical interface, i kinda worried that my system can't do the decent job running it, so can all the sifu here give any guidance?
my system specs:

AMD Athlon XP 2000+
512MB PC133 SDRAM
128MB ATI RADEON 9600SE

and i have 2 hdd in my system (WinXP installed on a 20GB HDD, i am planning to do dual-boot by installing Ubuntu on another 40GB HDD)

so can it be done? thanks notworthy.gif
cyew86
post Nov 30 2007, 06:34 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

it's supported smile.gif

Added on December 1, 2007, 4:27 pmok, trouble's here
managed to install ubuntu onto my system
but the desktop effect cannot be activated, worse still is that not even the resolution can be changed, stuck with 800x600 resolution
tried to change to 1280x1024 monitor and fglrx driver (both open source and proprietary tried) but after restart everything reset by itself to generic vesa driver and plug and play monitor
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by cyew86: Dec 1 2007, 05:43 PM
cyew86
post Dec 2 2007, 02:04 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

even if i use open source drive, it wud still run at low graphic mode
think ATI sux on Ubuntu, or another way round, whatever

tried some solutions found online, after reboot, voila, 1280x1024 resolution, but stuck at login screen. kept entering the username and password but the screen will go blank for a second and return back to the login screen after awhile, reformatted and using windows now, give up

This post has been edited by cyew86: Dec 2 2007, 02:05 PM
cyew86
post Dec 3 2007, 12:32 AM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

used Envy and solved the problem too
but now dunno why i cant enable desktop effect even with the proprietary driver cry.gif
cyew86
post Dec 6 2007, 12:36 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(DeviousEgg @ Dec 3 2007, 08:41 AM)
Did you download the CCSM? [sudo apt-get install compizconfig-settings-manager]? After that go in to Appearance and enable custom visual settings...
did that and restarted my system, got even worse, had to run in low graphic mode and can't use any other driver except the VESA generic driver, even after i changed back to fglrx and restarted, it kept changing back to VESA doh.gif the weird thing is in the restricted driver manager, they wrote there the proprietary driver was in use and enabled rclxub.gif gave up, try ubuntu when i change my rig next time, and have to make sure i dun buy ATI for my next system
cyew86
post Dec 6 2007, 02:26 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

QUOTE(DeviousEgg @ Dec 6 2007, 12:52 PM)
Lol... sorry dude... But i do believe there shouldn't be a problem... hmmm... How about you try envy or another distro?

Added on December 6, 2007, 12:56 pm

Meng, I don't think it's a good idead to teach him su. There's a risk of him doing something wrong and screwing up.

Instead, use sudo... Like the first step that Meng mentioned.

type:

sudo ...blablabla...
put in password (the password will appear blank when you are typing it)
no prob, not ur fault, i found that method u mentioned in another support site smile.gif guess just my old 6-year old system's fault

0.0212sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:44 AM