Maxis The Official Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread, OMG PORT FORWARDING KRACKED !

bytefreezer
post Oct 25 2007, 02:02 PM

175 posts

I think Maxis is also using some kind of lame tricks, such as throttling our connection. Sometimes ur speed will drop down tremendously when u reach to a certain limit. I used time webbit (wireless broadband) for 3 years, even though the speed is not stable, but is only +- 5KBps from their promised 384kbps.

But once in a while, Maxis also will feed u with fast internet, like this morning. smile.gif

bytefreezer
post Oct 25 2007, 06:59 PM

175 posts

I think it'll be hard to obtain the firmware directly from ZTE, since they are the one that producing the thing and sell to maxis. Mayb there will be some disclosure agreement in between.

They are some other ISPs in other countries using this modem as well, but no luck sad.gif Their users also facing the same problem.
And the simlock on the simcard itself ... i put tat into my p910i and i can make calls bypassing the simlock ... not sure on other phone.

Anyone tried to unlock the sim card and put it on a data card?

And i found one funny link on the modem, dunno for what ... it will make ur modem show busy message after few hits.
http://192.168.0.1/cgi-bin/mainweb?optype=0006

This post has been edited by bytefreezer: Oct 25 2007, 07:04 PM
bytefreezer
post Oct 25 2007, 10:38 PM

175 posts

Hehe ... but the most important issue now is to wait Maxis to finish their so called "upgrade". At least hold ur gun till then. smile.gif
Like myself, my modem is a 3G broadband modem in daytime, after sunset ... it will transforms into .... not Autobot ... but a 56K modem which will giv me 5~10 KBps of http download.
P2P throttling is another case, but at least, let us get back what we are actually paying for ... Y(sleep.gif)
Anyone hav an idea that VPN or tflux or utorrent webui is more suitable for us? currently using getbyte2u's webui, reasonable speed at 60~250KBps, any other method that will achieve better speed?
bytefreezer
post Oct 26 2007, 01:35 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Oct 25 2007, 11:37 PM)
I'm in Damansara Utama area, and Maxis Wireless is the best for me, as I am getting internet connection all by myself.

Don't want the hassle of getting Streamyx and phone line.

Over budget.

Is there any DU people here that is using Maxis wireless?
How is the speed?
I'm in PJ SS2. The speed of the Maxis Wireless here can be considered strong, but in the morning and afternoon only. after 6pm, the modem will transform into 56K modem doh.gif

I got one fren staying near the firestation opposite of KDU college, speed also bout the same like mine.

Hope this can help. icon_question.gif

Here is the speedtest for ur ref. icon_rolleyes.gif

bytefreezer
post Oct 27 2007, 09:36 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 27 2007, 08:11 PM)
I think I've found out by crashing the router. They can't do many things. At the moment my modem is hung. I did that trick and bam i have found some speed improvement.
Yes, i did that before, when the modem showing busy ... ur speed will be faster than usual ...
i found out when i went into a hidden page, then i simply click on those buttons, and it hang until i restart the modem. rclxms.gif

http://192.168.0.1/cgi-bin/mainweb?optype=0016
http://192.168.0.1/cgi-bin/mainweb?optype=0006

both did the same thing ... will bring u into some "pin disable" page. till now haven know what it's for. rclxub.gif

bytefreezer
post Oct 28 2007, 08:54 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 28 2007, 08:01 PM)
you'll pay more..Not RM 98

RM 98 + gov tax + RM 5 for the bill and that RM 15 for line rental

Breaking News

I am downloading a DVD (as we speak) and I've found out that once you reach 3GB (i assume its 3 or so) the download gets super slow ...It does not go beyond 384Kbps (aka 40 Kilobytes/sec) , currently its hovering around 5-10..Using VPN also does not break this. It seems that my Internet is going slower and slower. I asked my friend who is using maxis and he said that he does not have any sort of slowness. Can someone confirm with me
i downloaded more than 3GB since i subscribed to the service at the beginning of the month. Erm ... roughly 20GB++. my speed only slow at nite time, normally 5-30KBps http download. But morning and afternoon speed very fast, can reach 400KBps if lucky. By the way, i retrieve my torrent files back from utorrent webui provided by getbyte2u. If direct torrent, no luck for me even during 1am-6am. mad.gif My location is in PJ SS2. icon_rolleyes.gif
bytefreezer
post Oct 28 2007, 11:31 PM

175 posts

Reset means reset the base station ... relocating base station.
In my experience, my connection will only get worst every time when i ask them to reset. Last week, i asked them to reset me back to my original base station (normally the nearest to ur location), and my speed improved. And now sometimes in the morning or afternoon, i can get a http download speed at 400KBps++, which is quite happy for me. But at nite, still become 56K modem as most of the maxis wireless bb users experienced. smile.gif

Added on October 28, 2007, 11:53 pm
QUOTE(llhm87 @ Oct 28 2007, 10:11 PM)
I also experience with that kind of speed at this time. Do make a complaint to Maxis. I stay at Happy Garden which is near to Sri Petaling.
I got one fren staying in Happy Garden also ... cool2.gif He said connection very fast wo~~~

This post has been edited by bytefreezer: Oct 28 2007, 11:53 PM
bytefreezer
post Nov 2 2007, 10:48 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(JWCheah @ Nov 2 2007, 01:59 PM)
I do strongly believe that MAXIS is stating the "fair usage policy" as a tactical move to legally allows them to cut you off (mad throttling) your connections when you reached a certain BW usage. But they will never admit it as if u complaint, they just reply "oh, we will reset your connections,sir, please leave your modem off for 15 minutes" which i've heard more than 10 times (as i got throttled off more than 10 times) already. I'm not sure about packages like 384MBps... as it is not consider as UNLIMITED ACCESS package.

Just to let you guys know that my first bill came yesterday and somehow... i only have to pay RM 103.00 instead of the RM138.00/month.... the beakdown did not reveal anything... !!! ..... Hmmm......  hmm.gif ...... dunno whether to call them to clarify or not..... BETTER NOT.... anyone with the similar scenario?
The "fair usage policy" seriously make me wanna laugh. While Maxis BB user can't even use their bandwidth fairly, and Maxis wanna talk bout "fair usage", mad.gif

We shud ask them, i pay for the 3.6Mbps and i only get 56Kbps, is tat fair? Even if they gimme 768Kbps i also happy already .... carrect or not? doh.gif
bytefreezer
post Nov 4 2007, 03:16 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 4 2007, 10:59 AM)
tell u what, u need to complain 5 times a week, yell and shout at them about the problems that u have each time, and don give any face...
then they will solve ur problem
BBXiong, You sure that you were only yell and shout? ... i tot u told me got some F word in the conversation of you and maxis? .... icon_rolleyes.gif

Now i didn't even want to call them already, wasting my time. Waiting for my semester break, then i'll crack their modem firmware ...wuahahhah .... Try observe ur download speed ... when reaching quite high ... ur speed when drop till very low .... then rise again ...then drop again ... THIS IS BECAUSE OF THE STUPID "CHINA MADE MODEM" DOING QOS ON UR CONNECTION !!!

Maxis rather admit this is a technical problem than admitting it as a trick to con people ... mad.gif

This post has been edited by bytefreezer: Nov 5 2007, 07:19 AM
bytefreezer
post Nov 5 2007, 07:22 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Nov 4 2007, 08:56 PM)
oh..they still didnt do the 3gb limit download rite? Im worry because im about to exceed 2.5gb dnload already...for just 2 days laugh.gif

anyone experience it before? how did they do? terminate our acc? unsure.gif
hehe ...last month i downloaded nearly 60GB of stuff ... There is no limit .....yet ...smile.gif

This post has been edited by bytefreezer: Nov 5 2007, 07:22 AM
bytefreezer
post Nov 5 2007, 01:08 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(cantdecide @ Nov 5 2007, 08:02 AM)
Mind to specify what package are you guys on - especially those with Speedtest.net result of more than 1000 kbps.  This is interesting to me as I am not able to get those speed at any time.  I am on a 384kbps.  Are you guys on the advance package, how did you manage that speed?
If u really wan to join the package of 3.6 Mbps, u can state ur location here, see whether if any one can give u the status of their 3.6 package near ur area. smile.gif
bytefreezer
post Nov 5 2007, 05:23 PM

175 posts

the height of the building i dun think will affect tat much ... as long as it's not too high, else how do those ppl make calls and use 3G over there. by the way, got one fella named prasys staying on 19th(see the first post).
bytefreezer
post Dec 14 2007, 11:03 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Dec 14 2007, 10:46 AM)
dun tell me the maxis international link is being hit by an earthquake tongue.gif
Hehe, and the earthquake only hit maxis server particularly ... smile.gif
Think they shouldn't put all eggs in one basket, shud have some backup plans.
Or maybe the main reason is because they are having more clients than the server can serve, therefore server went down. Recently they are trying to con everyone in my neighborhood to join maxis bb ... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bytefreezer: Dec 14 2007, 11:03 AM
bytefreezer
post Feb 21 2008, 03:20 PM

175 posts

Every month also got few days cannot access international websites. They should add a slogan into their promotion banner:

"Maxis Wireless Broadband, best for surfing Malaysian websites!"
bytefreezer
post Feb 22 2008, 03:57 PM

175 posts

I noticed that most of the time when maxis said want to perform maintenance onto their system, speed sure screw up afterward. And their customer service ppl also 0% knowledge on everything, not helpful and don't want to be helpful.

bytefreezer
post Mar 19 2008, 02:58 PM

175 posts

to butthead,
how did you confirm that they are implementing speed capping from the CSA? Because recently my speed will drop to 20KBps when it exceeds 30~40 KBps. And my speed used to be 150~350KBps ever since i subscribed Maxsux Virus Con-band. I got the feeling that Maxsux is doing some hanky panky stuff behind. But ended up the CSA telling me some lame reason that 20KBps is acceptable speed for power package. (Then what speed shud we expect for Basic Package?) icon_question.gif
Will cancel off my account soon, and dump the modem back to Maxsux. Lousy service and lousy speed. Big time CONMAN. ARghhhhhhhh....

Will complain to MCMC and NCCC if they still giving me this kind of speed and lame reasons. Speechless.

This post has been edited by bytefreezer: Mar 19 2008, 03:28 PM
bytefreezer
post Mar 19 2008, 05:15 PM

175 posts

Why don't we juz form up a group for those who already fed up with Maxsux "High Cap" narrowband, and complain to the MCMC and NCCC at the same time, and show Maxsux some nice colors. Their so called "best effort basis" is only spent on effort to find lame excuses to bluff customer.
bytefreezer
post Mar 20 2008, 10:07 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 19 2008, 10:30 PM)
how did i confirm??? the 20GB limit was via mail reply which i initally send them to enquire about the fair usage policy in the first place.. but they called me earlier today on my 2nd reply mail to them and told me the whole story... my 2nd mail basically was a request to up the limit for my account to 60GBs... so the phone depends on how you think is sort of like a rejection for my request if you like to think so....

20KBps... that is about the range of 256kbps...you take 256/8 and you'll get 32kBps...which is theoractically the max you can archieve...frankly.. i stayed up quite late yesterday and downloads (not p2p) was able to linger around the 30kBps mark... i have already done more than 25GBs by the 1st week of march and the capping will surely have came active but i only started to feel it when i reach almost 40GBs which is quite close to the date they say they implemented it...

daytime not really up to mark which is usual because when it was uncapped... daytime speed sucks a bit as well... that is what i noticed from my own personal monitoring...  i recently used a nifty small add called bandwidth monitor pro on my pc which can log bandwidth usage therefor i know it even though i am not there looking at it...

actually i have never achieved 150kBps before on my RM78 package... i only got as high as 70+kBps stable.. 256kbps is not acceptable by anyone.. let's face it... we are all downloaders and leechers... nothing is ever enough for us...
obviously i think you haven't read my post properly and i dun blame you.. it's a bunch of mess even when i look at it myself...

100GB limit was pre 14th March and the 20GB limit was post 14th March...the cap limit confirmed by them was 256kbps @32kBps...

How much further could they upgrade?
If you see it the right way now... their problem is not HSDPA limiting us @ 3.6mbps... even if they give us 7.2mbps modems it will not help as well... the problem lies in their backbone which could not sustain so many of us requesting for high bandwidth at the same time... so their next step will most probably increase their backbone out of malaysia... i don't know about the broadcast towers... but whatever the weak link from the broacast tower to us is not bad enough to cause this problem as much as their backbone... it happens to all ISP even TM...  and they know it...

frankly... this month is the first time i call customer service after the usual hotline that i call can't give me a real answer on the throttling issues...

i have already suggested to them to have all this posted on maxis.com.my/maxisbb front page so everyone knows about this...this way they can put down a black and white that this is happening... and if we find that something else is happening we can screw them directly...
butthead, i think i'm in the same trouble. For the first week of this month, usage already 20GB and follow by 12.5GB in the second week. Ever since 3rd week, my speed is being capped at 256kbps. Honestly speaking, 20GB bandwidth usage is not even enough for 384 package, don't mention about the power package. I used to download 8GB per day before their so called "maintenance" during CNY.

I'm paying for power package at the first place meaning that I'm a power user, and I needed faster download speed and bandwidth usage. But now, ended up slower than Basic Package. My housemate using a 384kbps in the next room, and he can get 651kbps.

TO THOSE THINKING OF GETTING YOURSELF A MAXIS WIRELESS BROADBAND, THINK A THOUSAND TIMES BEFORE YOU SIGN THE CONTRACT WITH THE DEVIL. AND FOR SURE, THEY WILL TELL YOU THE 7-DAY COOLING PERIOD FAIRY TALE. BUT DURING THAT PERIOD, MAXIS WILL TRY TO MAKE YOU THINK THAT YOU WILL LIVE "HAPPILY EVER AFTER" TO CONTINUE THE SUBSCRIPTION. DON'T LISTEN TO THOSE BULLSHIT.

AND FOR THOSE MAXIS CYBER TROOPERS THAT TRYING TO POST SOME FAKE INFO IN THIS THREAD, PLEASE STOP THIS BULLSHIT AS WELL, SINCE NOBODY WILL BELIEVE IN YOU GUYS.

bytefreezer
post Mar 20 2008, 05:13 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(jamkuwong @ Mar 20 2008, 02:59 PM)
Count me in  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Although I'm just Basic package cannot expect much in speed but...at least keep the connection more stable lol. I always keep disconnecting.  doh.gif
Once me and friends gathered information that we need, I'll pm you details to complain Maxis to MCMC. Meanwhile, you can do some speedtest on maxis bandwidth tester and capture some screenshots during morning, afternoon and nite. 3 screenshots each. Will sent those screenshots to MCMC as well.

By the way, FYI: the definition of broadband is the speed must exceed or at least 256kbps according to MCMC.
Reference Doc: MCMC Quality of Service Standards Ref.
bytefreezer
post Mar 20 2008, 06:36 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 20 2008, 06:07 PM)
this is one of the point i was thinking about too... 20GBs of capping over the 3 different packages is not fair... of course the 384kbps package will reach the limit later followed by the 640kbps package and then the worst will be the power package users... they should employ capping differently based on packages...

frankly i am saying this as i am an end user too... i don't work for maxis and i have no relations to maxis in any way at all...
mind exposing who is the idiots so that we can go give them a good stabbing....
you better have a whole chart of the speed over the month 24 x 7... just several days won't be enough to give your case a strong enough backing...unless you can show them your bandwidth chart that trully sucked from the 1st of the month till the 31st of the same month... and you better do it now before they notice the users about the capping in black and white... if not you will get stuffed in your face once more by them....

my reasoning... if your chart did show your connection did not achieved at least 70% of what they promised from start to end month... then it is a technical fault on their side...if it did at any point achieved what they promised (this is another story which i will tell you later below) then both sides are not at wrong... if they get this capping BS out in time before you submit your complains to the MCMC or whatever consumer trade council, you are also screwed because if they do notify customers of new policies then they are not totally at wrong...

okay.. back to the point if you do achieve some certain amount of speed (which i guess you did cos u downloaded 8Gs a day at some point)...then this will need to be tied to a SLA (service level agreement) to make your complaint work, i did not see at any point in the document that mentions there has to be a stated amount of throughput during any time of the day only service availability...the SLA, they will have to note in black & white the promised speed/throughput to you as the customer and the variation of performance during a certain period of time acceptable to the customer...service availability and many other things among the agreement...this however does not exists in between us and the isp...

only leased line subscribers do have the power to request for an SLA between them and the ISP because they are paying high $ for it... it can cost up to our 10 years worth of payment for a power package just to pay them 1 month for a 4mbps and above leased line ... in the end, maxis will just come and hit you with the damn phrase that everyone hates <speed is "based on a best effort basis">....with an sla agreement.. you can screw them up if you have the evidence that the performance that is guaranteed in the SLA is not achieved at any point in time...

this is my view... once again i am not related to maxis and i don't want you to blow your whistle over this... i am just a normal consumer who had his first experience with a wireless broadband provider and i have gotten tired of arguing with the ISPs that i have previously used...but never the less  fromwhat you shown us from mcmc is a good thing to use in case we want to get out of the termination contract tongue.gif

if you do intend to go to mcmc about this... please do get the facts as straight as possible before you do so or you will just get stuffed like a dummy...cause i do think maxis do have certain relations with them if they are that important...

boy did they read their rules just nicely...which they did ngam-ngam @ 256kbps

"broadband access service" means an always-on bandwidth service that has a downstream capacity in excess of 256kbps
i don't know what you meant by disconnection? mind sharing so we can help you out...

disconnection as in totally no radio transmission at all? the ppp connection keeps dropping? or HSDPA keep falling back to UMTS?
whoa... butthead bro, thanx for your long explanation. We are planning to quit the service without paying the unreasonable penalty fees. And there were a few cases which involved this matter in the NCCC website. Because no point to let them improve their service for a while, then come back throttle in the next month. All of us are frustrated and fed up by their super genius customer service staff and technician. Try imagine a technician that tell you: "20KBps download speed is an acceptable speed for your power package".
Haha, very funny, I received April fool jokes in mid March this year. Thank you Maxis, wish you bankrupt and sell off your company as soon as possible.

0.0239sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:01 PM