11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread, OMG PORT FORWARDING KRACKED !

JWCheah
post Oct 25 2007, 06:26 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(multiplexer @ Oct 25 2007, 05:47 PM)
as far as i know, your connection will be encrypted or masked. but some im pretty sure they are using sort of security appliances on the internet gateway such as Intrusion Prevention System. some of the IPS can "read" the encrypted packet and definitely catch you if u used torrent or they detected that u are a heavy downloader...
I doubt that... bcoz of the number of users + data and the amount of traffic caused... but I do know that Cisco and a few others have started testing a system to enable ISP to characterized the encryption and then put all the "unknown/possible p2p" into a queries... all push thru a fix channel so that you do not jammed their BW too much, causing an auto throtthe at a tunnel all awaiting their packet to arrive (like the arrival hall of KLIA during super peak) .... from what I read, it is not out yet... or maybe the article was outdated.... hmm.gif
JWCheah
post Oct 25 2007, 09:14 PM

251 posts

I think we are all getting a bit excited here trying to "hack" the modem and getting pass ISP's evil claw.... but i think we should look at the issues in two different ways.....

(1) WE ARE NOT GETTING CLOSE TO 60% OF OUR PACKAGE STATED SPEED (FOR USERS ON HSDPA)
(2) HEAVY P2P USERS GETTING THROTTLE BADLY FOR EXCESSIVE DOWNLOADS (LIMIT BANDWIDTH)

what we want and what we are getting is sooooooooo far that i've read thousands of threads from UK/USA (mostly dated 2006) and we are not alone on P2P limitations... but at least they are getting at least 75% of their respective packages. vmad.gif

while VPN has already proven to increase your torrent by an average of 300%, the connection speeds/total activities is controlled by the ISP (like the phenomenan for the past few nights) where only resetting your connections helps.

This post has been edited by JWCheah: Oct 25 2007, 09:14 PM
JWCheah
post Oct 26 2007, 01:53 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 26 2007, 01:38 AM)
it seems that my torrent has been blocked.it wont reach more than 10kBps anymore, though the seeds are around 2k..sometimes it's just 0.1kBps sad.gif
U are not alone..... same here too!!! I tot my config got problem but it was confirmed that it is Maxis.... I'm using my friends Streamyx router connection (staying 1 floor below me, biggrin.gif ) and the torrent goes to 55K~80K..... effortless.....

bruce.gif grumble.gif

really pissed that I'm paying RM138 for this!!!! vmad.gif
JWCheah
post Oct 26 2007, 01:05 PM

251 posts

You'all are not the only one here... just imagine that those you're in this forum are those who can voice it out.... what about the thousands who are not into forums or doesn't know the existence of LYN.... hmm.gif

But the bottomline is that I think Maxis has increase their P2P blocking to a higher level... however last nite was shocking... I manage to do 180KBps for 2 hours (3am till 5am, according to the log) and then "Ka-put" it drops to 5KBps in matter of seconds... this confirmed prasys explaination on how "THEY" are handling the P2P connections (QoS) and stuff....
JWCheah
post Oct 27 2007, 10:54 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(sui @ Oct 26 2007, 02:58 PM)
but u're subscribed to bolehvpn right, still drop to 5kb/s?

i subscribed yesterday and now my bitcomet max can go is 20kb/s (with vpn), tried utorrent and its even lower

something wrong with my settings or maxis?
I know, as i mentioned b4, VPN helps but as you hit a certain period with high speed.... *bam*.... the entire connection drops to an unimaginable level (the signal strength remains MAX). I've seen this happening for a couple of times. Speechless....

I'm surfing for a possible explaination somewhere in this WORLD WIDE WEB... but i must say... Maxis P2P security is comparable with those in UK and FRANCE.... top notch!

JWCheah
post Oct 27 2007, 01:19 PM

251 posts

I'm staying at 19th floor i'm still on HSDPA 5-bar... it was not recommended at first because the statement was origianal 4 ZTE modem which needs a powerplug to run with... therefore if it is indoor... it is safer not to go beyond 5th floor, but I'm using USB WBB with the 5m extention booster and hang it out at the balcony... no issue with signal problem. Only problem is Maxis itself...

This post has been edited by JWCheah: Oct 27 2007, 01:20 PM
JWCheah
post Oct 27 2007, 03:09 PM

251 posts

Slightly off topic...I'm now connected to streamyx 1MBps via a friends router staying a floor below me... (ask him to leave his router near the balcony as I'm directly on top . rclxms.gif ) ... utorrent Speed w/o VPN 25K~40K with VPN 55K~85K.

Cloud: i think in short, if you want Torrent, then go get wired with VPN or Tflux.... no other choice... at this moment....

This post has been edited by JWCheah: Oct 27 2007, 03:09 PM

JWCheah
post Oct 27 2007, 03:45 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(whitestarfc @ Oct 27 2007, 03:32 PM)
if that the case, what do you guyz think of 4G Izzi wireless broadband??
which is using radio signal, more stable than 3G

it's 1mbps, but will get free upgrade to 2mbps next year (Got the technology, but not approved yet by the government)

Current package is 1 num sum payment RM 1,138 = RM 88 x 12 months + RM 82 installation.

then is refunded for 1 year period, 7 days 100% refund, 75% refund for 3 months, 50% refund for half year...

What do you think??
I've checked out Izzi... limited coverage at the moment which rules it out of contention. There are alot of concern with this non-telco companys where you are not fully assured of their support and future quality. But hey, if the existing users are happy with it, then go on... better than some of us which is still stuck with the big telcos but unwilling/unable (18-mths contract) to move away... therefore we end up here @ LYN vmad.gif mad.gif
talking crap allday..... shocking.gif rclxub.gif
JWCheah
post Oct 28 2007, 10:46 PM

251 posts

Just called Maxis at 9:45pm to reset my connection.... b4 this i can't even open speedtest.net... do try & share ur results.... hmm.gif
JWCheah
post Oct 28 2007, 11:23 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(llhm87 @ Oct 28 2007, 10:52 PM)
Reset your connection means shut down and wait 20 minutes procedure is it? Do you think that helps?
Nope... reset at the Maxis end... called the toll free number and tell them that you can't even load Maxis webpage... ask if there are having any issues... they will probably tells you know.... then u ask for a remote reset on their end... and then they'll tell u to discon... wait 10~15 minutes and then u r back on....

u should know when it is reset as if you try to connect b4 this wait period... ur modem will connect but u can't surf at all, it will show some connection resetting web page... i tried that almost everyday... so far so good... i'm torrenting at 45~80KBps ( for the last 90 minutes) as we speak.

JWCheah
post Oct 29 2007, 12:02 AM

251 posts

Hmmm..... i kind of confirm Maxis anti-P2P formula... if you track back my previous post, i got ok speed at 9:50pm after reset... then torrent for a stable average of 50KBps... not complaining..... then after EXACTLY 2 HOURs ON THE DOT..... BAAM! Speeds drop to 5KBps... and it is like i set the max d/l cap to 5KBps.... u can see the seeds and peers remains but not the speed... of course the peers will slowly down as you go on...

mad.gif vmad.gif shakehead.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif huh.gif ohmy.gif dry.gif mad.gif bruce.gif shakehead.gif mega_shok.gif
JWCheah
post Oct 29 2007, 03:24 PM

251 posts

It is like when you are a new user... they put u on a special priority list and then later when u r stuck with the 18mth contract... then.... they put you in a dump hole with rest of the ppl including prasys & myself..... Welcome to Maxis Hell WBB....

I've called Maxis KLCC techinical hotline (connected thru a fren), they actually dare to challenge me that I can easily obtain 2.5Mbps... no sweat... my dare is if they fail, i get refund.... not a bad plan smile.gif
JWCheah
post Oct 29 2007, 07:29 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(multiplexer @ Oct 29 2007, 04:46 PM)
are they asking u to try it out at KLCC??? do they dare to go to ur house and give it a try? drool.gif
I've tested it before inside KLCC, a few spot actually... the best connection is when u manage to capture HSDPA which is unlikely as that area only covers with UTMS.... so we are looking at max speed 750KBps ~1.2MBps.... how to reach 2.5MBps!!! Has anyone ever experience >2MBps... (a least with 3 consecutive speedtest)???
JWCheah
post Nov 1 2007, 03:39 AM

251 posts

Hmmm..... i really cannot believe how patient we are in accepting these crab service from Maxis. I manage 2 torrent @ 80KBps and after setting everything for more 15 mins only for the speed to last less than 15 minutes... returning to 3~5KBps... really tired of them....

Cloudstrife07: good on you! at least one of us is smiling rclxms.gif

Conclusion: Maxis WBB is an excellent product to read emails.... but wait, i can do that with my Dopod 818pro.... hmm.gif
JWCheah
post Nov 2 2007, 01:59 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(moonshine @ Nov 2 2007, 01:34 PM)
I dun think Maxis will charge us. Just scaring ppl. If yes, who's getting da charges? Mind to share??
I do strongly believe that MAXIS is stating the "fair usage policy" as a tactical move to legally allows them to cut you off (mad throttling) your connections when you reached a certain BW usage. But they will never admit it as if u complaint, they just reply "oh, we will reset your connections,sir, please leave your modem off for 15 minutes" which i've heard more than 10 times (as i got throttled off more than 10 times) already. I'm not sure about packages like 384MBps... as it is not consider as UNLIMITED ACCESS package.

Just to let you guys know that my first bill came yesterday and somehow... i only have to pay RM 103.00 instead of the RM138.00/month.... the beakdown did not reveal anything... !!! ..... Hmmm...... hmm.gif ...... dunno whether to call them to clarify or not..... BETTER NOT.... anyone with the similar scenario?
JWCheah
post Nov 2 2007, 02:16 PM

251 posts

I reckon that you advertise it at
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/474232
with all the complaints at this thread, dun think u will get good response.... just my tots.... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by JWCheah: Nov 2 2007, 02:16 PM
JWCheah
post Nov 3 2007, 01:14 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(bytefreezer @ Nov 2 2007, 10:48 PM)
The "fair usage policy" seriously make me wanna laugh. While Maxis BB user can't even use their bandwidth fairly, and Maxis wanna talk bout "fair usage",  mad.gif

We shud ask them, i pay for the 3.6Mbps and i only get 56Kbps, is tat fair? Even if they gimme 768Kbps i also happy already .... carrect or not? doh.gif
i know what u mean mate. Somehow there are a few area in KL that apparently u can reached 1.2Mbps constant (Mont Kiara & DU, need confirmation) but as i said b4, when u use VPN or so... they cut u off.... hmmm..... Maxis is great for outstation surfing reading CNN. not 4 us.
JWCheah
post Nov 3 2007, 06:58 PM

251 posts

Nope.... USB WBB 3.6Mbps (yeah rite! not even close)... as i said, it suppose 2 be RM138 (usb no voice package-one lah)
But still at RM103 for a mere 300Kbps (average) is too much....

This post has been edited by JWCheah: Nov 3 2007, 07:01 PM
JWCheah
post Nov 4 2007, 04:30 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(bytefreezer @ Nov 4 2007, 03:16 PM)
BBXiong, You sure that you were only yell and shout? ... i tot u told me got some F word in the conversation of you and maxis? ....  icon_rolleyes.gif

Now i didn't even want to call them already, wasting my time. Waiting for my semester break, then i'll crack their modem firmware ...wuahahhah .... Try observe ur download speed ... when reaching quite high ... ur speed when drop till very low .... then rise again ...then drop again ... THIS IS BECAUSE OF THE STUPID "CHINESE MODEM" DOING QOS ON UR CONNECTION !!!

Maxis rather admit this is a technical problem than admitting it as a trick to con people ...  mad.gif
Spot on.... somehow when u are on non-p2p d/l, the line gets better, only sometime.
I'm actually sitting at MidValley using USB WBB... guess what... no UTMS or HSDPA.... only EDGE!!!! mad.gif

shocking.gif i think maxis was never serious about WBB... just another trial department for them to be in the market but not to be in the service... somehow, i really wish the Top Guys of Maxis WBB gets to read all these threads and now how poor and badly management they are. vmad.gif

Anybody has any luck in cracking the modem? Some south African forums mention that they are on to it but not there yet. It is both s/w & h/w modification. hmm.gif
JWCheah
post Nov 5 2007, 08:21 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(cantdecide @ Nov 5 2007, 08:02 AM)
Mind to specify what package are you guys on - especially those with Speedtest.net result of more than 1000 kbps.  This is interesting to me as I am not able to get those speed at any time.  I am on a 384kbps.  Are you guys on the advance package, how did you manage that speed?
On your package, u be lucky to enjoy 300Kbps constant. Occasionally, u will get >500Kbps and that's bonus. thumbup.gif I'm on the usb 3.6Mbps! and i have not seen it either, but i've been having constant 500Kbps to 900Kbps lately which i'm thankful for.

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:40 AM