post Jan 27 2023, 10:26 AM

808 posts

Faster laugh
SUSWahlberg
post Jan 27 2023, 10:30 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Jan 27 2023, 10:25 AM)
This is 5G in Malaysia … mehhhhh

High PING latency, 4G like download and upload speeds @@
TSNoNameSoldier
post Jan 27 2023, 10:31 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Wahlberg @ Jan 27 2023, 10:30 AM)
Simply put because of not Huawei 5G
SUSeds2
post Jan 27 2023, 10:32 AM

101 posts

try using a better phone like samsung s22
Quantum Geist
post Jan 27 2023, 10:32 AM

109 posts

Got telco and plan for 4G that exceed 100Mbps?
TSNoNameSoldier
post Jan 27 2023, 10:33 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(eds2 @ Jan 27 2023, 10:32 AM)
But ppl are saying ipon high tech ipon cepat
Asthen1a
post Jan 27 2023, 10:34 AM

45 posts

too slow?
nazrul90
post Jan 27 2023, 10:37 AM

302 posts

5G not mature yet. Remember the time we first time adopt to 4G? My place dont even have coverage that time
LuckyBai
post Jan 27 2023, 10:42 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(Quantum Geist @ Jan 27 2023, 10:32 AM)
Yes there is

This post has been edited by LuckyBai: Jan 27 2023, 10:48 AM

SUSMuchafaka
post Jan 27 2023, 10:43 AM

Faster then world class usa
Quantum Geist
post Jan 27 2023, 10:46 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(LuckyBai @ Jan 27 2023, 10:42 AM)
Yes there is
postpaid? I got a prepaid maxis line that averages 50Mbps even when close to tower, never exceeds by much
PJng
post Jan 27 2023, 10:46 AM

12,039 posts

Yes, got one time my digi, 160mbps
Download app around 18MB/s
LuckyBai
post Jan 27 2023, 10:49 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(Quantum Geist @ Jan 27 2023, 10:46 AM)
postpaid? I got a prepaid maxis line that averages 50Mbps even when close to tower, never exceeds by much
Yes i am on postpaid ... But have to admit it has to br in feng sui spot lah
PJng
post Jan 27 2023, 10:52 AM

12,039 posts

https://www.speedtest.net/result/a/4399449840
https://www.speedtest.net/result/a/4351479118
Digi prepaid, but read the date, not new one
teehk_tee
post Jan 27 2023, 10:54 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

eric's son speed
andyng38
post Jan 27 2023, 10:57 AM

2,400 posts

The current 5G technology is deployed on non-standalone architecture (NSA), which means that the 5G network is still complemented with the 4G network. Muniff says this will be the mainstay for the next few years before 5G is available everywhere, after which a move to standalone architecture can happen.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/node/649265

oh well...4G still does what i need to do.
failed.hashcheck
post Jan 27 2023, 10:59 AM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,090 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jan 27 2023, 10:46 AM)
Yes, got one time my digi, 160mbps
Download app around 18MB/s
My digi prepaid is always 200+ mbps

But take it with grain of salt. Digi is known to fuck with speedtest, they remove any throttle to test server that usually applied to the rest of internet.
Then every few quarters they will pay soyacincau to write about how their (rigged) speed are fastest in speedtest.net report.

But at least the test shows what 4g are capable of.

Edit: ok can confirm this one is valid. Afaik they dont rig fast.com

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Jan 27 2023, 11:07 AM
feekle
post Jan 27 2023, 11:00 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

scandinavian speed. Hail omputehh....
loserguy
post Jan 27 2023, 11:01 AM

500 posts

don't care about max speed, increase coverage, make it stable and consistent first.
-oc-gassa
post Jan 27 2023, 11:02 AM

967 posts

LOL bro

via Yodoo
on old A70 phone

5 Jan 2023
MR_alien
post Jan 27 2023, 11:05 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

what telco are u using and when did u conduct the test at?
our 5G are mmwave type which means the more walls, the slower the speed
yvliew
post Jan 27 2023, 11:06 AM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

CB celcom, haven't seen 5G signal like in 2 weeks or more.
PJng
post Jan 27 2023, 11:07 AM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Jan 27 2023, 10:59 AM)

But take it with grain of salt. Digi is known to fuck with speedtest, they remove any throttle to test server that usually applied to the rest of internet.
Then every few quarters they will pay soyacincau to write about how their (rigged) speed are fastest in speedtest.net report.

Normally i just test update app if notice high speed download
Software update 1.1GB just about 1min 30sec
MR_alien

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

as long that area isn't congested
speed can reach over 100Mbps
fantasy1989

4,706 posts

3bar only..sure not stable
DValentine
post Jan 27 2023, 11:09 AM

773 posts

mudah lupa?

meksia didnt sign up for dnb
Natsukashii
post Jan 27 2023, 11:10 AM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jan 27 2023, 11:01 AM)
don't care about max speed, increase coverage, make it stable and consistent first.
Exactly.. in any place other than Klang Valley.. we would be fine with 25Mbps for both upload and download.. but it has to be stable and consistent. That's good enough. But they launch 5G in Putrajaya (or was it Cyberjaya) then become proud of the speed already. Then there was a youtuber did the testing.. got pissed off when quota limit exceeded. Later Celcom excluded speedtest from the quota limit.

For Klang Valley, will need high speed though.. got people work while moving ..
Quantum Geist
post Jan 27 2023, 11:13 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Jan 27 2023, 11:09 AM)
mudah lupa?

meksia didnt sign up for dnb
talking about 4G that matches ts 5G speed my man
Thrust
post Jan 27 2023, 11:13 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Currently, although telco have rolled out 5G, the service is only limited to the more expensive postpaid packages.

Cheaper packages are neglected to use the 5G network in which I think is actually going against the government's initiatives of making 5G network available to everyone soonest possible.
nate_nightroad
post Jan 27 2023, 11:14 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

dai lou my tunetalk 4g already 180 plus speed
p4n6
post Jan 27 2023, 11:15 AM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 27 2023, 11:05 AM)
what telco are u using and when did u conduct the test at?
our 5G are mmwave type which means the more walls, the slower the speed
Our 5G not mmwave
SUSeds2
post Jan 27 2023, 11:17 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jan 27 2023, 11:15 AM)
Our 5G not mmwave

This post has been edited by eds2: Jan 27 2023, 11:19 AM
MR_alien
post Jan 27 2023, 11:18 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jan 27 2023, 11:15 AM)
Our 5G not mmwave
yes it is
i used it for a month in december 2022

the 1st few days i already knew it's mmwave
it's very obvious, it's unlike our 4G but the speed is pretty godlike
michaelkkl
post Jan 27 2023, 11:20 AM

362 posts

My digi 4g even faster than this dnb 5g
desmond2020
post Jan 27 2023, 11:21 AM

906 posts

User problem koh

https://www.speedtest.net/my-result/a/8958573013
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 27 2023, 11:22 AM

1,602 posts

You need to ask Digi why their speed cap like that lol. Or switch to Celcom wink.gif
treblecase
post Jan 27 2023, 11:27 AM

IHI
779 posts

Ok la acceptable but it fluctuates.

PJng
post Jan 27 2023, 11:28 AM

12,039 posts

Actually why people like to crop signal battery level when screenshot?
How to see what line
SUSeds2
post Jan 27 2023, 11:37 AM

101 posts

cyberjaya can get over 1gbps

Quantum Geist
post Jan 27 2023, 11:41 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(eds2 @ Jan 27 2023, 11:17 AM)
as far as I'm aware that was a PoC test, not sure if they got towers built yet for mmWave
Burningsunz
post Jan 27 2023, 11:55 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(Quantum Geist @ Jan 27 2023, 11:41 AM)
as far as I'm aware that was a PoC test, not sure if they got towers built yet for mmWave
penang now install alot of 5g tower already. and more coming
akhito
post Jan 27 2023, 11:57 AM

745 posts

lel please read more they do mmwave for trial but real deployment now not mmwave
if mmwave lagila hujan habis
Quantum Geist
post Jan 27 2023, 11:59 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jan 27 2023, 11:55 AM)
the 5G I mentioned is using the 28GHz band or more commonly named mmWave, I wasn't sure if that band specifically has towers already or not, there's 2 more bands of 5G implemented in Malaysia and I believe those are the ones commonly used to get most of the coverage in Malaysia.
TSNoNameSoldier
post Jan 27 2023, 12:06 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jan 27 2023, 11:55 AM)
what actually happened to Yes Terragraph in Penang?
letitsnow
post Jan 27 2023, 12:08 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Jan 27 2023, 10:59 AM)

Edit: ok can confirm this one is valid. Afaik they dont rig fast.com

kahkahkah, i never trust any portal in malaysia. from cars, tech, restaurants, artists, etc. They all paid ads disguised as news.

konon news.
letitsnow
post Jan 27 2023, 12:12 PM

23 posts

the 5G tech itself is meh. its news around the world.
SUSeds2
post Jan 27 2023, 12:12 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(akhito @ Jan 27 2023, 11:57 AM)
lel please read more they do mmwave for trial but real deployment now not mmwave
TSNoNameSoldier
post Jan 27 2023, 12:18 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(akhito @ Jan 27 2023, 11:57 AM)
QUOTE(eds2 @ Jan 27 2023, 12:12 PM)
Can you not show old news dated back in 2019? He was referring current deployment. Also, does celcom has the license to deploy 5G network in Malaysia?
MR_alien
post Jan 27 2023, 12:20 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(Quantum Geist @ Jan 27 2023, 11:41 AM)
if it's not mmwave
u can't reach such insane speed
johnnycp
post Jan 27 2023, 12:21 PM

599 posts

Me on Maxshit 4G still. KL City center speed. Phone samseng S22+

This post has been edited by johnnycp: Jan 27 2023, 12:22 PM
akhito
post Jan 27 2023, 12:56 PM

745 posts

QUOTE(eds2 @ Jan 27 2023, 12:12 PM)
QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Jan 27 2023, 12:18 PM)
Can you not show old news dated back in 2019? He was referring current deployment. Also, does celcom has the license to deploy 5G network in Malaysia?
To recap, Malaysia has 3 spectrum bands for 5G namely, 700MHz, 3.5GHz, and 26/28GHz. At the moment, Digital Nasional Berhad is primarily deploying 5G using the 3.5GHz band and the network currently covers selected areas in Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, and Cyberjaya.
https://www.digital-nasional.com.my/does-5g...s-mcmc-response

The key to understanding 5G NR is that service providers employ a combination of radio frequencies to deliver high-speed data services to their end customers. For their part, 5G low, mid, and high bands each possess different capabilities with regards to speed and range.

5G low bands deliver 5G coverage over the longest distances. They are typically Frequency Division Duplex (FDD)-based and are either new (for example, 700MHz) or are already in use and can be repurposed for 5G via spectrum sharing. The low-band frequency family spans 600MHz through 2600MHz. The lower frequency characteristic of the low bands makes this spectrum especially well-suited for providing wide area coverage.

5G mid bands (Sub-6, also referred to as FR1) provide additional capacity, albeit across a shorter distance. They are typically found between 2300MHz and 6000MHz, where the 3500MHz frequency band is the most common for 5G rollouts. Mid bands are ideal for massive Multiple Input, Multiple Output (MIMO) technology deployments.

5G high bands (mmWave, also referred to as FR2) are found in the range of 24GHz to 40GHz. They deliver large quantities of spectrum and capacity over the shortest distances. They also use massive MIMO to expand capacity and extend coverage. Moreover, they include wide spectrum segments available for 5G along with lower latencies.
https://www.ericsson.com/en/reports-and-pap...millimeter-wave

if really mainly use mmwave sudah lama flyover 4g speed (sub-6 or 5g midband capable of 10mbps-1gbps while mmwave boasts up to 5Gbps) but deployment speed and cost will be higher
raining, signal weakening issue need to be alleviate with more infra
footnote: 3500MHz= 3.5 GhZ

This post has been edited by akhito: Jan 27 2023, 01:02 PM
Quantum Geist
post Jan 27 2023, 01:01 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 27 2023, 12:20 PM)
if it's not mmwave
which speed which area? low & mid band 5G should have speeds ranging from 200 to 480 Mbps, mmWave in best conditions with direct line of sight should peak at 1Gbps.
SUStolongking
post Jan 27 2023, 01:11 PM

20 posts

Pakai android lettew. iPhone no such problem
Boy96
post Jan 27 2023, 01:14 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Phone need download speed so fast for what? Not like gonna download steam games also

4k YouTube 50mbps enough

This post has been edited by Boy96: Jan 27 2023, 01:14 PM
cloudstrife07
post Jan 27 2023, 01:17 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

As much as the 5G speed is addictive to me (instant page load etc), it consumes more battery than 4G on my phone so had to disable it.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Jan 27 2023, 01:17 PM
akhito
post Jan 27 2023, 01:19 PM

745 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 27 2023, 01:14 PM)
Phone need download speed so fast for what? Not like gonna download steam games also

4k YouTube 50mbps enough
well titik ts ialah 5g dengan kelajuan ini and latensi tinggi baik 4g sahaja
in fact 5g is marketed for its high speed and low latency for '4th industrial revolution usage'
SUSsexysarah1992
post Jan 27 2023, 01:21 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(eds2 @ Jan 27 2023, 10:32 AM)
S22 better than iphone 14 pro? Lol, pls dont joke here
viole
post Jan 27 2023, 01:22 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

Wow how you guys get high speed. I always stuck around 20 mbps.

Heck even now im in eu, also the speed suck.

SUSsexysarah1992

316 posts

4k YouTube 50mbps enough
Haha exactly. 5G is pointless unless u are downloading big files non stop whole day.
desmond2020

906 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Jan 27 2023, 01:17 PM)
As much as the 5G speed is addictive to me (instant page load etc), it consumes more battery than 4G on my phone so had to disable it.
Shitty 4G+ got saturated with demands, so keep changing tower

End up use more battery than 5g
p4n6
post Jan 27 2023, 01:25 PM

5,968 posts

This is testing conducted not the one use commercially by users.

Malaysia smartphones dont even support 5G mmwave.

p4n6
post Jan 27 2023, 01:33 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 27 2023, 12:20 PM)
if it's not mmwave
First of all the speed is not insane.

~1Gbps is not very much insane cause 4G actually already can go to up to that speed with the right conditions… thats why most the flagship 4G smartphone is 1.2Gbps by spec for max download.

5G used by DNB to serve us should be around 2Gbps now and 4Gbps if use more spectrum.

5G Mmwave should be able to go 8Gbps and beyond at short range under right condition …

When more people use, it will be slow … the cycle repeats.
MR_alien
post Jan 27 2023, 01:44 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(Quantum Geist @ Jan 27 2023, 01:01 PM)
which speed which area? low & mid band 5G should have speeds ranging from 200 to 480 Mbps, mmWave in best conditions with direct line of sight should peak at 1Gbps.
like i said we don't have low or mid band....we use mmwave
it's either high speed or no speed
i've never tested 200-480Mbps on 5G in malaysia yet
it's either 800Mbps above or pass a wall or corner and the speed just disappear

tested in SS2, SS19, bukit jalil, the area beside pavilion BJ, bukit bintang
all the same results
MR_alien
post Jan 27 2023, 01:47 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jan 27 2023, 01:33 PM)
First of all the speed is not insane.

~1Gbps is not very much insane cause 4G actually already can go to up to that speed with the right conditions… thats why most the flagship 4G smartphone is 1.2Gbps by spec for max download.

5G used by DNB to serve us should be around 2Gbps now and 4Gbps if use more spectrum.

5G Mmwave should be able to go 8Gbps and beyond at short range under right condition …

When more people use, it will be slow … the cycle repeats.
the modem is capable of 1.2Gbps doesn't mean u can remotely reach it in reality
can u find any speed test result...no need majority...just 1 that showed 1Gbps on 4G?

meanwhile, i don't even have 1...i have 4 picture showing 800Mbps above on 5G easily
it doesn't even need the right conditions

and that gets worse in malaysia on malaysian telco laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Jan 27 2023, 01:51 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

4k YouTube 50mbps enough
the key isn't enough
for users, it maybe enough....but for the infra it isn't
notice how congested our 4G is right now?
notice how it's quite similar to what is happening to streamyx back then...when the top speed is 4-8Mbps
when everybody is hogging the line at the speed downloading....causing the whole line to bottleneck

suddenly after upgrading to unifi or fiber optic, everything is resolved?
because download is faster, everybody finishes download faster and taking turns....making the whole pipeline not bottleneck and less congested?
this is the same exact situation
when your download is finished, the other users won't feel it's congested and their part won't load
JohnLai
post Jan 27 2023, 01:53 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Jan 27 2023, 01:17 PM)
Currently, our 5G implementation is NR non-standalone (NSA).
Meaning your phone needs to activate 2 radio transceivers to work. One transceiver for LTE/4G frequency and one for 5G frequency.
That why the battery life is very bad.

You will get exactly same battery life as existing LTE/4G if the 5G is running in pure NR SA mode.
SUSCincai lar
post Jan 27 2023, 01:57 PM

113 posts

i really don't need that speed,..
CZero
post Jan 27 2023, 02:01 PM

Something For Nothing
823 posts

kesian ts faceproblem.

>test
>trial
>dec 5 2022

kelfag cant read for shit.

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2022/12/857...er-malaysias-5g

SUSifourtos
post Jan 27 2023, 02:01 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Jan 27 2023, 10:31 AM)
Simply put because of not Huawei 5G

Carrier.... not the 5G Equip

i hope even the lowest educated /ktards
understand, no matter what G, fiber or what, eventually you still connected to the network centralizer...

Network Centralizer determined the ACTUAL speed you can enjoy.

the 5G = max bandwidth potential ( we are very far from that )
Quantum Geist
post Jan 27 2023, 02:21 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 27 2023, 01:44 PM)

all the same results
we do have other 5g bands
https://www.kkd.gov.my/en/public/news/20858...vices-says-kkmm
MR_alien
post Jan 27 2023, 02:29 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(Quantum Geist @ Jan 27 2023, 02:21 PM)
we may have it but i've never stumbled it before
my experience using 5G for a month is definitely the mmwave or high speed or no speed type

or maybe they're gonna deploy those lower speed or wider coverage ones of outskirts of rural area

the slowest 5G i've used so far is at kota kinabalu which is worse than 4G

p4n6
post Jan 27 2023, 03:01 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 27 2023, 01:47 PM)
the modem is capable of 1.2Gbps doesn't mean u can remotely reach it in reality
can u find any speed test result...no need majority...just 1 that showed 1Gbps on 4G?

meanwhile, i don't even have 1...i have 4 picture showing 800Mbps above on 5G easily
it doesn't even need the right conditions

and that gets worse in malaysia on malaysian telco laugh.gif
We are currently in a very infancy stage of 5G launch in Malaysia where num of users limited so what we see today will only head lower and lower … 100Mbps is the committed speed by DNB. So anything higher shall appreaciate.
MR_alien
post Jan 27 2023, 03:31 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jan 27 2023, 03:01 PM)
We are currently in a very infancy stage of 5G launch in Malaysia where num of users limited so what we see today will only head lower and lower … 100Mbps is the committed speed by DNB. So anything higher shall appreaciate.
ok lah

why because if we're using sim card, we can't limit the speed like home fiber
we're limited by how much data we're subscribed to
but the hose has to be big in order to accommodate future needs
our 4G right now is congested and bottleneck depending where u are, 5G is the solution to that problem
emburrar
post Jan 27 2023, 03:32 PM

14 posts

Salah sweden
Boycott
LuckyBai
post Jan 27 2023, 03:34 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(emburrar @ Jan 27 2023, 03:32 PM)
Salah sweden
Boycott
On yay PuAS was the one also okay to appoint Ericsson as 5G vendor in Malaysia
HumanExtinction
post Jan 27 2023, 03:40 PM

364 posts

have 5g phone but plan not 5g biggrin.gif
p4n6
post Jan 27 2023, 04:00 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 27 2023, 01:44 PM)

all the same results
You can check the tech spec of your S22 to learn what bands it supported.

https://www.samsung.com/my/smartphones/galaxy-s22/specs/

5G bands start with N follows by a number.
mmWave is #257 or #258
3.5Ghz is #77 or #78

The Malaysia version of 5G smartphones have no mmwave if you check.

So unsure how you are using mmwave, there are alot of Android app that you can use to check which bands you are using.

Just when online news said they are testing something doesn mean they are using it or opening for public use. Celcom testing mmwave 5-6 years ago, in the end they didnt get the license to launch.
Ttbatdtptsm
post Jan 27 2023, 04:04 PM

80 posts

Battery dies faster right ?
Thats why i have one cheapo android phone as hotspot .. can go out whole day without bringing Power bank coz My iPhone is on wifi From that hot spot
MR_alien
post Jan 27 2023, 04:07 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jan 27 2023, 04:00 PM)
You can check the tech spec of your S22 to learn what bands it supported.

https://www.samsung.com/my/smartphones/galaxy-s22/specs/

5G bands start with N follows by a number.
mmWave is #257 or #258
3.5Ghz is #77 or #78

The Malaysia version of 5G smartphones have no mmwave if you check.

So unsure how you are using mmwave, there are alot of Android app that you can use to check which bands you are using.

Just when online news said they are testing something doesn mean they are using it or opening for public use. Celcom testing mmwave 5-6 years ago, in the end they didnt get the license to launch.
i'm not using samsung, am using motorola right now
i'm not at klang valley now to test and i might not have a chance to test because unifi mobile is ending their free 5G pass

but i can assure u it's mmwave because of the range....it's extremely short range...over a wall and that's it, either the 5G won't move or it bounce back to 4G
it works perfectly find outdoor but indoor have to beware...1 wall = 1 obstacle

u can go to the telco section of lowyat, many people there faced the same issue
for me outdoor, once i exited my taman which is less than 100m, the signal bounce back to 4G
p4n6
post Jan 27 2023, 04:18 PM

5,968 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 27 2023, 04:07 PM)
i'm not at klang valley now to test and i might not have a chance to test because unifi mobile is ending their free 5G pass

but i can assure u it's mmwave because of the range....it's extremely short range...over a wall and that's it, either the 5G won't move or it bounce back to 4G

for me outdoor, once i exited my taman which is less than 100m, the signal bounce back to 4G
The mid and low bands are all used up for 4G, the 5G band used currently is high band which as compared to the low and mid also poorer in term of penetration.

So if it is mmwave it will be much worse cause it is Ultrahigh frequency.

If high band cause loss of signal with a wall, mmwave likely will loss signal with merely curtain or paper … not suitable for Msia with rainy season.
MR_alien
post Jan 27 2023, 04:24 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jan 27 2023, 04:18 PM)
The mid and low bands are all used up for 4G, the 5G band used currently is high band which as compared to the low and mid also poorer in term of penetration.

So if it is mmwave it will be much worse cause it is Ultrahigh frequency.

If high band cause loss of signal with a wall, mmwave likely will loss signal with merely curtain or paper … not suitable for Msia with rainy season.
what i've experience on december is exactly like what MKBHD did on his 5G explanation video
exactly the same thing
kausar
post Jan 27 2023, 04:27 PM

608 posts

slow ..............
Burningsunz
post Jan 27 2023, 05:19 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Jan 27 2023, 12:06 PM)
what actually happened to Yes Terragraph in Penang?
that is trial only.
laihuhng
post Jan 27 2023, 05:28 PM

603 posts

Why yours so slow? Penang.

mick84
post Jan 27 2023, 05:30 PM

96 posts

Im happy with 4G at strong coverage area.
Seldom layan poxn at outside, so 5G is not a must for me at this moment.
mw1980
post Jan 27 2023, 05:41 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 27 2023, 04:07 PM)

I thought with 5G I can finally stop watching prawns in parks and move indoors for better comfort and privacy, I guess those families in parks just have to bear with me for another few years until 6G comes out.
Ayambetul
post Jan 27 2023, 06:51 PM

331 posts

Too fast nanti data habis cepat
poh880
post Feb 28 2023, 03:06 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 27 2023, 04:24 PM)
what i've experience on december is exactly like what MKBHD did on his 5G explanation video
exactly the same thing
FYI, our 5G using n78 wihich is 3500MHz / 3.5GHz (High Band). Not mmWave (28GHz or similar like US). If mmWave are used, our phones mostly out of range. laugh.gif
dennis008
post Feb 28 2023, 03:16 PM

545 posts

cassian948
post Feb 28 2023, 03:19 PM

931 posts

ikeiyou
post Feb 28 2023, 03:25 PM

118 posts

crazy fast in KL too. a regular Full HD movie downloaded in few seconds.
upload also faster than 4G. but the unfortunate thing is still the latency, similar to 4G only.
MR_alien
post Mar 1 2023, 03:55 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(poh880 @ Feb 28 2023, 03:06 PM)
FYI, our 5G using n78 wihich is 3500MHz / 3.5GHz (High Band). Not mmWave (28GHz or similar like US). If mmWave are used, our phones mostly out of range. laugh.gif
our phone are very easily out of range
just cross 1 wall, u can watch the signal drop(as simple as inside and outside the toilet)
craxors
post Mar 1 2023, 04:26 PM

2,529 posts

inb4 guna android better.

0.0402sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:02 AM