What brand of instant water heater should I, replace my current one with?

SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 02:25 PM, updated 3y ago

4,333 posts

Recently my water heater performance has degraded.

I am now getting just slightly warm water on maximum setting.

I used to get scalding hot water a few months ago.

Any brand replacement recommendations?
nebula87
post Jan 26 2023, 02:27 PM

Fg = mg
1,425 posts

Joven
SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 02:28 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jan 26 2023, 02:27 PM)
Joven
I have heard about this brand but have not used it before. Good and lasting?

pureawesomeness
post Jan 26 2023, 02:28 PM

191 posts

Storage heater la unker if you want to be scalded.
kang6421
post Jan 26 2023, 02:30 PM

87 posts

either joven or panasonic. you cant go wrong with both of this brand
SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 02:31 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(pureawesomeness @ Jan 26 2023, 02:28 PM)
Storage heater la unker if you want to be scalded.
Don't quite like the storage heater concept.

Need to wait for the water to heat up.

SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 02:31 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(kang6421 @ Jan 26 2023, 02:30 PM)
But I am already using a Panasonic. hmm.gif

h4r8_kIlLeR
post Jan 26 2023, 02:32 PM

89 posts

Just buy any cheapo china electric heater. They have snow in their country so they should be professionals when it comes to instant electrocution ic heaters.

This post has been edited by h4r8_kIlLeR: Jan 26 2023, 02:32 PM
Rusty Nail
post Jan 26 2023, 02:32 PM

Why am I still here?
4,884 posts

still looks new, i like the slim design. the on/off button gets stuck after a few years use though
IamBlind
post Jan 26 2023, 02:33 PM

20 posts

Joven ok punyah if you do not seek nice design or fancy feature. I pakai Alpha brand ok juga okok design got build in pump no rain shower which i really have no use of it since water pressure no good.
Revoz
post Jan 26 2023, 02:34 PM

679 posts

SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 02:34 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Jan 26 2023, 02:32 PM)
still looks new, i like the slim design. the on/off button gets stuck after a few years use though
Yeah, my Panasonic only about 5 years old.

The button is working fine though.
SUSTongPakFu
post Jan 26 2023, 02:35 PM

141 posts

Use joven la..

Where is ur chor yat till chor ng makan tered?
maluapeboskur
post Jan 26 2023, 02:36 PM

67 posts

https://youtu.be/Bp3mc6ycNWw

This one
pandah
post Jan 26 2023, 02:37 PM

719 posts

Warranty ended? Many years already?

My panasonic more than 10 years still working fine, only need to turn slightly more than the cool zone, if maximum memang panas gila.

For me i still go for pana, 2 electrolux sudah kaput after use for about 9 years, now both also change to pana. May be old stuffs was made more tough kot...

This post has been edited by pandah: Jan 26 2023, 02:38 PM
scorgio
post Jan 26 2023, 02:38 PM

4,696 posts

QUOTE(h4r8_kIlLeR @ Jan 26 2023, 02:32 PM)
Just buy any cheapo china electric heater. They have snow in their country so they should be professionals when it comes to instant electrocution ic heaters.
China domestic models is 6000W.

Malaysia model is 1800-2500W.

The former confirm heat up super fast & scalding hot.
SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 02:38 PM

4,333 posts

Joven
QUOTE(IamBlind @ Jan 26 2023, 02:33 PM)
Joven ok punyah if you do not seek nice design or fancy feature. I pakai Alpha brand ok juga okok design got build in pump no rain shower which i really have no use of it since water pressure no good.
QUOTE(TongPakFu @ Jan 26 2023, 02:35 PM)
Use joven la..

Where is ur chor yat till chor ng makan tered?
Seems many of you are recommending Joven.

Seriously thinking about it. hmm.gif

SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 02:40 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jan 26 2023, 02:38 PM)

My Malaysia-made Panasonic is rated 3,600W hmm.gif

ClarenceT
post Jan 26 2023, 02:41 PM

14,970 posts

QUOTE(pandah @ Jan 26 2023, 02:37 PM)

My panasonic more than 10 years still working fine, only need to turn slightly more than the cool zone, if maximum memang panas gila.

For me i still go for pana, 2 electrolux sudah kaput after use for about 9 years, now both also change to pana. May be old stuffs was made more tough kot...
Should get a new Heater every few years, for safety.

SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 02:42 PM

4,333 posts

I think warranty ended a;ready. More than 5 years old.

@r3|4^2
post Jan 26 2023, 02:43 PM

188 posts

I'm using Centon. Still working good; almost 10years already.
ozak
post Jan 26 2023, 02:43 PM

17,025 posts

Just get back the Panasonic.

It is a good experience brand.
kamfoo
post Jan 26 2023, 02:45 PM

847 posts

haier
SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 02:46 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(@r3|4^2 @ Jan 26 2023, 02:43 PM)
I'm using Centon. Still working good; almost 10years already.
hmm.gif

SUSraynman

4,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 26 2023, 02:43 PM)
Just get back the Panasonic.

It is a good experience brand.
I am thinking of changing brand. laugh.gif

kenloh7

414 posts

post ur problem in kakiDIY and the experts there will help u how to debug and fix it.
SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 02:50 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Jan 26 2023, 02:46 PM)
post ur problem in kakiDIY and the experts there will help u how to debug and fix it.
It is not a no-go problem.

Just not hot enough for my liking. biggrin.gif

urnicksux2
post Jan 26 2023, 03:00 PM

79 posts

thermostat problem
change new
SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 03:01 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(urnicksux2 @ Jan 26 2023, 03:00 PM)
thermostat problem
change new
Aha! Good suggestion. I think that is the problem as well.

machomama
post Jan 26 2023, 03:39 PM

64 posts

in the case of a heater not churning out enough heated water, turning the water volume / pressure lower helps but it'll mean lesser water from the shower and may not work for some.

as for brands, Panasonic is a trusted choice although Joven, Alpha, Rinnai (gas) etc all good examples as well. Lemons do exist among good brands too as i had to replace my joven.......with a Pana - will check how it fares.
TAN WENG
post Jan 26 2023, 03:41 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 02:25 PM)

Joven buy online cheap cheap
SUSeds2
post Jan 26 2023, 03:44 PM

101 posts

panasonic the water pump really slow.

get alpha, joven or rubine
Zot
post Jan 26 2023, 03:47 PM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 02:31 PM)
But I am already using a Panasonic.  hmm.gif
Not sure why Panasonic still have separate control to on/off and temp. Others just have one. Maybe they think user will forget the temp setting laugh.gif

I used an unknown brand (never heard and forget already) and also branded one. My unknown one last longer still. I use Joven, Alpha, Panasonics and now Toshiba. I can say they last long except I think Panasonic price on high side because of brand compare to others with same features.

This post has been edited by Zot: Jan 26 2023, 03:48 PM
SUStikaram
post Jan 26 2023, 03:51 PM

10,722 posts

I use smart solar

No need electricity n low maintenance every 2 year come one up keep

Already more than 15 years

This post has been edited by tikaram: Jan 26 2023, 03:51 PM
Zot
post Jan 26 2023, 03:53 PM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 02:31 PM)
Don't quite like the storage heater concept.

Need to wait for the water to heat up.
My main bedroom is using storage type. It is because the bathroom is designed for it with copper piping and bathtub with mixer. I bought Joven 35L model. Turning it on all the time significantly increases the electricity bill. If I turned off after use and want to use it in the evening, the water I felt like has lost significant heat.

So, I'm using it like normal instant water heater, turn it on before use and then off after use. The delay in hot water for me is not bad, Within one minute it is hot enough for me to shower.
silverhawk
post Jan 26 2023, 03:54 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

First, try to see if can get it serviced, sometimes a simple component swap will fix your problem.

If not, I would 2nd everyone's suggestion for Joven. So far have not had problems with their products.

If you got money and want to be bougie, can get Stiebel Eltron heaters.
laparwolf
post Jan 26 2023, 03:57 PM

35 posts

fantasy1989
post Jan 26 2023, 03:58 PM

4,707 posts

get any with DC pump

AC pump will have noise when operating

mine electrolux AC pump ...cheap but not hot enough eventhough max liao

like 39c when turned max

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Jan 26 2023, 03:59 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Jan 26 2023, 04:09 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Its the weather cold lah it will affect shower water lah
WaCKy-Angel
post Jan 26 2023, 04:13 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Get a DC pump and one with separate control for the pump can manual control the pump power.

iinm AC pump without separate control and pump is always ON although no water running. The sound anmoying then some ppl lazy to off heater power switch and not good for the motor
bamkai
post Jan 26 2023, 04:17 PM

167 posts

Haier dc pump
Lunzai
post Jan 26 2023, 04:21 PM

158 posts

Give Joven a good consideration.
To me is really not bad.
You won't impress anyone with that basic design, but the reliability is very good.
Bossku_Johor
post Jan 26 2023, 04:42 PM

146 posts

Alpha water heater
keyser soze
post Jan 26 2023, 04:51 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jan 26 2023, 02:38 PM)

6000w is 25amp. Normal socket is 13 amp. Round pin type is 15amp.
6000w will either trip the breaker burn your circuit together with your house.
China made really blow as big as they can.
Even your circuit can tahan 25amp, if anything goes wrong your trip to heaven is gonna be one way and express.
SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 05:11 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Jan 26 2023, 04:51 PM)
6000w is 25amp. Normal socket is 13 amp. Round pin type is 15amp.
6000w will either trip the breaker burn your circuit together with your house.
China made really blow as big as they can.
Even your circuit can tahan 25amp, if anything goes wrong your trip to heaven is gonna be one way and express.
My house is installed with 3-phase electricity.

Is the ampere enough to support a 6,000W-rated water heater without tripping?

keyser soze
post Jan 26 2023, 06:35 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 05:11 PM)
My house is installed with 3-phase electricity.

Is the ampere enough to support a 6,000W-rated water heater without tripping?
6000W in 3 phase and single phase is different.
No household water heater or electrical appliances with Sirim cert produce 3 phase products, maybe except AC, if not mistaken.
Electrocuted by single phase you still stand a chance, 3 phase the chances is slim.
All your house power points only use 1 phase. Either this room use red phase, next room use yellow phase another room use blue phase.

Joven did have a products that that use very powerful heater (more than 25A single phase) without storage tank. But they don't have Sirim cert, either it can't pass local regulation or it meant for small market they didn't bother to apply for the cert or it meant for oversea market.
If you insist to buy this products, which I have ask Joven and they quite reluctant to sell. You need to install a new breaker and pull and big ass cable to the water heater to support the load in single phase. Normal 3 pin plug you need 2.5 to 4mm for 13A. The big ass cable I talk about require 6 to 10mm.
https://joven-electric.com/product-category...t-water-heater/
Install such powerful water heater in single phase also difficult to balance between phases in your house. When you use the heater, 1 phase is much heavier then another 2 phases then your breaker might trip. Unless your house is big.

Oh, another advice is to install RCCB in your DB for the circuit of your water heater, don't rely on the ELCB alone.

This post has been edited by keyser soze: Jan 26 2023, 06:47 PM
SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 06:59 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Jan 26 2023, 06:35 PM)
6000W in 3 phase and single phase is different.
No household water heater or electrical appliances with Sirim cert produce 3 phase products, maybe except AC, if not mistaken.
Electrocuted by single phase you still stand a chance, 3 phase the chances is slim.
All your house power points only use 1 phase. Either this room use red phase, next room use yellow phase another room use blue phase.

Joven did have a products that that use very powerful heater (more than 25A single phase) without storage tank. But they don't have Sirim cert, either it can't pass local regulation or it meant for small market they didn't bother to apply for the cert or it meant for oversea market.
If you insist to buy this products, which I have ask Joven and they quite reluctant to sell. You need to install a new breaker and pull and big ass cable to the water heater to support the load in single phase. Normal 3 pin plug you need 2.5 to 4mm for 13A. The big ass cable I talk about require 6 to 10mm.
https://joven-electric.com/product-category...t-water-heater/
Install such powerful water heater in single phase also difficult to balance between phases in your house. When you use the heater, 1 phase is much heavier then another 2 phases then your breaker might trip. Unless your house is big.

Oh, another advice is to install RCCB in your DB for the circuit of your water heater, don't rely on the ELCB alone.

I am a layman in electricity.

Is there a RCCB in my 3-phase DB? unsure.gif
patienceGNR
post Jan 26 2023, 07:00 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

Using Panasonic non-pump, lupa model liao. Good stuff.

I don't need pump because my house's water pressure is stronk.
SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 07:02 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Jan 26 2023, 07:00 PM)
Using Panasonic non-pump, lupa model liao. Good stuff.

I don't need pump because my house's water pressure is stronk.
Same. My house water pressure is strong too. No pump in my Panasonic water heater.

jojolicia
post Jan 26 2023, 07:03 PM

1,926 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 02:38 PM)
Seems many of you are recommending Joven.

Seriously thinking about it.  hmm.gif
Yes, Joven as you are replacing a current Panasonic

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jan 26 2023, 07:06 PM
keyser soze
post Jan 26 2023, 07:08 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 06:59 PM)

Is there a RCCB in my 3-phase DB?  unsure.gif
Yes, that's a RCCB, just make sure the outgoing circuit is to your water heater or water heaters. You can do it by turning it off and see if your water heater still functioning or not.
The drawback is, it's very sensitive. Any small things not right it will trip. For the sake of your life, if the RCCB keep tripping just replace the water heater or the heating element that connect to this circuit.

This post has been edited by keyser soze: Jan 26 2023, 07:08 PM
SUSraynman
post Jan 26 2023, 07:10 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Jan 26 2023, 07:08 PM)
Yes, that's a RCCB, just make sure the outgoing circuit is to your water heater or water heaters. You can do it by turning it off and see if your water heater still functioning or not.
The drawback is, it's very sensitive. Any small things not right it will trip. For the sake of your life, if the RCCB keep tripping just replace the water heater or the heating element that connect to this circuit.
Thanks. Appreciate the info. icon_rolleyes.gif

k!nex
post Jan 26 2023, 07:36 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 02:28 PM)
Joven good. But if you want it to last very long , buy those without built in pump. All these water heater that i had in the past , its the water pump that goes faulty , the heater still working.
If you really need water pump , get an external dc pump from lazada or shopee and install yourself.
k!nex
post Jan 26 2023, 07:39 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 26 2023, 03:47 PM)
Not sure why Panasonic still have separate control to on/off and temp. Others just have one. Maybe they think user will forget the temp setting  laugh.gif

I used an unknown brand (never heard and forget already) and also branded one. My unknown one last longer still. I use Joven, Alpha, Panasonics and now Toshiba. I can say they last long except I think Panasonic price on high side because of brand compare to others with same features.
The thing about Toshiba electrical appliance is it was acquired by Midea in 2016. So basically you are getting a Midea unit but you pay Toshiba price.
WhatMan
post Jan 26 2023, 07:39 PM

1,623 posts

I use Panasonic water heater. Probably will stick to same brand after in a few years time.
DValentine
post Jan 26 2023, 07:43 PM

773 posts

old stuff dont come with fail mechanism after x period
xandras
post Jan 26 2023, 07:51 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 02:28 PM)
Or Alpha. Joven & Alpha used to be the same before each branched out under different names, if I’m not mistaken. Both Malaysian brands.

I support this comment. But get a DC model instead of AC. Cost a bit more but quieter and last longer.
howszat
post Jan 26 2023, 07:52 PM

2,932 posts

These things are modular by design.

The service center near you should be able to send a technician to replace the appropriate module(s).
xandras
post Jan 26 2023, 07:54 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Lunzai @ Jan 26 2023, 04:21 PM)
Give Joven a good consideration.
To me is really not bad.
You won't impress anyone with that basic design, but the reliability is very good.

Mine at home. Ok what quite hensem
SUSRich Dad
post Jan 26 2023, 08:03 PM

27 posts

Get solar central heater.
cycheah
post Jan 26 2023, 08:05 PM

237 posts

Joven ok. Deka rubbish. Currently using Centon, fast water heat up. M
layzieboy
post Jan 26 2023, 08:20 PM

496 posts

Been using alpha DC pump. Close to 20 years no issues so far.
Cookie101
post Jan 26 2023, 08:22 PM

1,616 posts

Joven lasts more than ten years.

westernkl
post Jan 26 2023, 08:41 PM

552 posts

Joven
Parking
Roadwarrior1337
post Jan 26 2023, 08:45 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(Revoz @ Jan 26 2023, 02:34 PM)
Ahhhh the good old days when I growing up as a kid. Mom will heat up kettle full of hot water and pour into baldi mix with some tap water

Memang syok Mandi like this young time that you have to budget the water so u can rinse the soap off and at last take remaining water in the baldi and pour all over yourself as final rinse and deprive your sibling of any more balance of water hahahaahahaa
SUSnatx001
post Jan 26 2023, 08:47 PM

121 posts

fireballs
post Jan 26 2023, 08:47 PM

5,650 posts

Only Pana have built in 15ma rcd
Lunzai
post Jan 26 2023, 08:52 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Jan 26 2023, 07:54 PM)

Mine at home. Ok what quite hensem
you are easy to pleased
that is very gooding
thumbsup.gif
ffrozz
post Jan 26 2023, 08:53 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(Revoz @ Jan 26 2023, 02:34 PM)
No joke, I'm using kettle only but whenever I have fever. I like to take cold shower in the morning. Habit growing up using well water early morning
ffrozz
post Jan 26 2023, 08:55 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(natx001 @ Jan 26 2023, 08:47 PM)
this type very dangerous, easily explode and burn if you forget, no auto cut off

zerorating
post Jan 26 2023, 08:57 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

last time few day memang air supply macam very cold, thats might be the reason why you dont feel warm.

also if you insist want to change, my votes goes to panasonic

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jan 26 2023, 08:59 PM
xandras
post Jan 26 2023, 09:00 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Lunzai @ Jan 26 2023, 08:52 PM)
you are easy to pleased
that is very gooding
:thumbsup:
Hahaha as long it’s functional and reliable la. Gone thru many fancy looking heaters already. All spoil in less than 3-5 years
kevinc
post Jan 26 2023, 09:11 PM

437 posts

joven dc pump
Selene Yeo
post Jan 27 2023, 12:37 AM

149 posts

Sharing some comparison info I got from multiple salespersons when researching which instant water heater I should buy last time. Some info from the salespersons sounds like hearsay, so u might want to do some fact checking.

1. Jap Brand | Panasonic

Advantage:
- Produce by a reputable company.
- Water heater parts feels good quality.
- Push start function to turn on, some prefer this over turning on water using a stop valve.

Disadvantage:
- Pricey, one of the most expensive instant water heater in the market, if not the most expensive (comparing with other brands with equivalent specs and range).
- Only 1 year warranty.
- Panasonic handsets have one of the lowest water flow in the market, with very small nozzles that shoots needle-light water spray, quite painful if water pressure is strong. So if u like strong water flow, this might be the wrong brand for you. But good thing with low water flow is that u save water, and also get hotter water (lower water flow = higher output water temperature).
* U can solve this low water flow issue by using non-Panasonic handsets with Panasonic water heaters to get higher water flow, but your output water won't be hot as before since most, if not all Panasonic water heaters are only 3.6kW (lowest heating element rating in the market).

Remarks: Get Panasonic if u have higher budget and u don't mind lower water flow handsets with needle-light water spray in exchange for water saving and hotter water.

2. Malaysian Brands | Joven, Alpha, Centon - apparently these 3 companies' directors are all relatives, but split due to family squabbles. Technology, quality and parts should be quite similar. Alpha and Centon are said to be jointly manufacturing instant water heaters for reputable OEM brands like Rinnai and Sharp too.

Advantage:
- Around longer than China brands, hence maybe more experience? Instant water heater's built-in pumps were apparently first started by Centon long time ago, then this technology is shared with Alpha and soon followed by other brands.
- All-rounder in terms of quality and price, in between China brands and Panasonic.

Disadvantage:
- Not as cheap as China brands.

Remarks: Go with Malaysian brands if u want an all-rounder instant water heater, not too pricey yet reliable. The salesperson recommended me to go with Centon as they have hotter heating element rating (from 4.2kW, to 5.4kW for colder Genting weathers, even up to 7.0kW models), while Joven and Alpha models are mostly only at 3.6kW to 3.8kW. So if u like hotter water and to plan ahead for cold rainy weathers, go for Centon. I chose Centon too because I did a quick search on Shopee and found that Centon has the most positive reviews / ratings amongst all the instant water heater brands.

3. China Brands | Midea, Haier, Toshiba - Toshiba water heater division was apparently bought over by Midea, so that Midea can sell their made-in-China water heater with a higher price using the existing Toshiba Japanese brand power.

Advantage:
- Damn cheap, maybe too suspiciously cheap.
- Can easily get from anywhere, a lot of online sellers (eg. Shopee, Lazada) are throwing price for these China branded instant water heaters.

Disadvantage:
- Subpar quality, salespersons even warn me not to expect China brands to last as long as Panasonic or Malaysian brands. True or not, I don't know.

Remarks: Go for this if you are tight on budget, and prioritize price over quality (eg. for your tenant, not self-use. tongue.gif) But they are still SIRIM and Suruhanjaya Tenaga certified regardless, so should still be safe to use as long as your water heater installations and wiring / piping requirements are up to standard.

Feel free to correct me if any info are not accurate.

This post has been edited by Selene Yeo: Jan 27 2023, 12:39 AM
mushigen
post Jan 27 2023, 01:08 AM

4,955 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 06:59 PM)

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Jan 26 2023, 07:08 PM)
That RCCB should be the main RCCB for the whole house. If you check Suruhanjaya Tenaga's guideline, it should be rated 100mA for both single and 3-phase.
300mA I think is too high, which can easily kill you if you have this much current leakage from the water heater.

ST's guideline also says you need to have another 10mA RCCB for each water heater, as there's high risk of electrocution due to presence of water, which I don't see in your DB.

Those little ones are MCB, which trips on overload.

There's a sifu (can't remember his username)...ceo-something who posted good explanation.

Disclaimer: I'm a layman.

This post has been edited by mushigen: Jan 27 2023, 01:12 AM
SUSraynman
post Jan 27 2023, 05:26 AM

4,333 posts

These are very good guides, guys.

Thanks for the info. icon_rolleyes.gif
greyPJ
post Jan 27 2023, 06:25 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

last time i cincai bought elba, it last forever

after so many years the built in pump rosak, heater still working like new.

so now i use separate water pump install after water tank.

better buy separate pump n heater.
SUSraynman
post Jan 27 2023, 06:29 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Jan 27 2023, 06:25 AM)
last time i cincai bought elba, it last forever

after so many years the built in pump rosak, heater still working like new.

so now i use separate water pump install after water tank.

better buy separate pump n heater.
My house water pressure is strong.

That's why I bought the Panasonic non-pump model.
greyPJ
post Jan 27 2023, 06:32 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 27 2023, 06:29 AM)
My house water pressure is strong.

That's why I bought the Panasonic non-pump model.
if thats the case just buy back Panasonic no pump model

its cheap.
SUSraynman
post Jan 27 2023, 06:34 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Jan 27 2023, 06:32 AM)
if thats the case just buy back Panasonic no pump model

its cheap.
Many here recommended Joven. I am still thinking about it. hmm.gif

popice2u
post Jan 27 2023, 06:45 AM

1,337 posts

stay with Panasonic
SUSraynman
post Jan 27 2023, 07:49 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Jan 27 2023, 06:45 AM)
stay with Panasonic
What is the reason may I ask?

Zot
post Jan 27 2023, 08:20 AM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jan 26 2023, 07:39 PM)
The thing about Toshiba electrical appliance  is it was acquired by Midea in 2016. So basically you are getting a Midea unit but you pay Toshiba price.
I know that Toshiba is in financial trouble that forced them to sell several divisions. Midea controls the home appliances (about 80%). I know Midea is also manufacturing water heater for others too but that is not necessary means all competing brands the same. Midea has been doing this long time already but only now selling more on own brand. Each company has their own designs and specifications. If not models from every company will have same feature. Basic design of water heater is the same but electronically the design is different.

I'm in manufacturing business and this practice is common. Many European brands like Tefal, Electrolux, Moulinex, etc are made in China. Now many products component are moving out of China because of tax due to US-China relation. Many China and Taiwan based company are moving operation to Malaysia indeed.

I bought Toshiba because it was on sale and has cheaper price compare to other brands with similar feature. wink.gif
ixaRA
post Jan 27 2023, 08:22 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 27 2023, 08:20 AM)
I know that Toshiba is in financial trouble that forced them to sell several divisions. Midea controls the home appliances (about 80%). I know Midea is also manufacturing water heater for others too but that is not necessary means all competing brands the same. Midea has been doing this long time already but only now selling more on own brand. Each company has their own designs and specifications. If not models from every company will have same feature. Basic design of water heater is the same but electronically the design is different.

I'm in manufacturing business and this practice is common. Many European brands like Tefal, Electrolux, Moulinex, etc are made in China. Now many products component are moving out of China because of tax due to US-China relation. Many China and Taiwan based company are moving operation to Malaysia indeed.

I bought Toshiba because it was on sale and has cheaper price compare to other brands with similar feature.  wink.gif
I also bought toshiba.. Now using it 2 years already.. Still ok
plouffle0789
post Jun 28 2024, 07:17 AM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(eds2 @ Jan 26 2023, 03:44 PM)
panasonic the water pump really slow.

get alpha, joven or rubine
Panasonic have jet pump inside model

DC pump also available

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5431289

My joven 5 months spoiled
Atrocious
post Jun 28 2024, 07:24 AM

101 posts

The lesser components, the better. Midea single knob control ftw!

This post has been edited by Atrocious: Jun 28 2024, 07:25 AM
zairee2580
post Jun 28 2024, 07:32 AM

385 posts

Stay away from joven
Try ribune
beverlykho
post Jun 28 2024, 07:35 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(zairee2580 @ Jun 28 2024, 07:32 AM)
Stay away from joven
Try ribune
I think you meant "Rubine."

This post has been edited by beverlykho: Jun 28 2024, 07:36 AM
Selene Yeo
post Jun 30 2024, 12:20 AM

149 posts

Recently changed to this CENTON Atlantis Rainshower. Cool part bout this instant water heater set is that its rainshower diverter has an additional faucet output (in addition to output warm water to the shower handset or the rainshower head). Especially useful if u need to collect a bucket of warm water or wash your leg without removing the hanging shower handset; or for practicing Muslims, can use this function for wuduk (washing up before prayers comfortably with warm water).

I bought it online during Pay Day Sale offer + cashback vouchers, reasonably cheap for a rainshower instant water heater, also very fast delivery. U can get it here - Shopee / Lazada

Candino
post Oct 12 2024, 10:44 AM

64 posts

Hi All

Any comment about the LIVINOX TS series water heater ?
Selene Yeo
post Oct 14 2024, 10:37 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(Candino @ Oct 12 2024, 10:44 AM)
Hi All

Any comment about the LIVINOX TS series water heater ?
Hearsay from a salesperson I spoke to is that Livinox does not manufacture their own water heater, but got a low cost OEM manufacturer to produce for them and mark up quite a high price in the market, and if I remember correctly, the salesperson mentioned it might be the same low cost manufacturer that OEM instant water heaters for Electrolux, Rinnai, and Acson (yes, even this aircon brand is trying to penetrate the instant water heater market now).

Be prepare to pay a premium for most of these brands that OEM their products (as opposed to manufacturing the products themselves), and just make sure to read their warranties' terms and conditions to check who is the one that will be providing the aftersales service - is it the brands themselves, or maybe subcon to someone else? not sure. And how long after u purchase will they be providing the aftersales service, especially for the brands which just started selling instant water heaters recently like Livinox and Acson, just in case they discontinue selling instant water heaters after a while if it is not profitable.

Some price check for u to compare between the brands mentioned above:

- Livinox | Shopee link here
- Electrolux | Shopee link here
- Rinnai | Shopee link here
- Acson | Shopee link here

SUSceo684
post Oct 15 2024, 02:04 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 27 2023, 07:49 AM)
What is the reason may I ask?
Easily lasts 10-15 years with the only problem is limescale at shower head. Easy to buy ori shower hose/head parts to replace.
mingan95
post Oct 19 2024, 05:16 PM

Hello otai2, I'm staying in Condo currently, and would like to replace my previous non-pump water heater due it being not hot enough.

Current model is Joven SA15m, just wondering if I upgrade to Joven SB11iP-RS Water Heater, is that going to be helpful and increase the temperature?

Alternatively, Im considering ALPHA - SMART 18i too.

Hopefully I can get more opinion on which model to select as the new replacement. Thanks
Kasawari 2
post Oct 19 2024, 05:38 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 02:40 PM)
My Malaysia-made Panasonic is rated 3,600W  hmm.gif
Panasonic or Joven are reputable brands. I use 2 Joven units for nearly 10 yrs and still working.
Just because yr current Panasonic shower having issue, doesn't mean they are no good. Just bad luck. 5-10yrs is considered reliable already.
3600 watt is most common for us unless yiu live at Genting or Cameron, then you need 5000 watt unit or you have crocodile skin.
junsheng
post Oct 19 2024, 09:45 PM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,258 posts

QUOTE(Kasawari 2 @ Oct 19 2024, 05:38 PM)
Panasonic or Joven are reputable brands. I use 2 Joven units for nearly 10 yrs and still working.
Just because yr current Panasonic shower having issue, doesn't mean they are no good. Just bad luck. 5-10yrs is considered reliable already.
3600 watt is most common for us unless yiu live at Genting or Cameron, then you need 5000 watt unit or you have crocodile skin.
it's depending on your water pressure / flow rate, especially on rainy cold days high power ones perform better
nowadays panasonic just tell you to turn down the water pressure instead of coming out with 4.8kw
joven does't have anything above 3.6kw if i'm not mistaken

mushigen
post Oct 19 2024, 09:55 PM

4,955 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Oct 19 2024, 09:45 PM)
it's depending on your water pressure / flow rate, especially on rainy cold days high power ones perform better
nowadays panasonic just tell you to turn down the water pressure instead of coming out with 4.8kw
joven does't have anything above 3.6kw if i'm not mistaken
4.8kW > 20A liao, i think need to upgrade wiring and MCB.
SourLemons
post Oct 19 2024, 10:17 PM

223 posts

alpha truestory long lasting
junsheng
post Oct 19 2024, 10:17 PM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,258 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 19 2024, 09:55 PM)
4.8kW > 20A liao, i think need to upgrade wiring and MCB.
yes, as you should, i remember reading someone post from st
rccb and wiring should be reinspected when you replace water heater no matter what power and type of water heater you're getting
VeeJay
post Oct 19 2024, 10:57 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(mingan95 @ Oct 19 2024, 05:16 PM)
Hello otai2, I'm staying in Condo currently, and would like to replace my previous non-pump water heater due it being not hot enough.

Current model is Joven SA15m, just wondering if I upgrade to Joven SB11iP-RS Water Heater, is that going to be helpful and increase the temperature?

Hopefully I can get more opinion on which model to select as the new replacement. Thanks
Alpha is among few brands that still provide heat controller and pump controller as well. Most of the models nowadays dont have the pump control.
mellovicious
post Oct 19 2024, 11:10 PM

469 posts

my hause got 2

one is alpha, another is toshiba

the toshiba still functions well but after a few years the temp knob becum too sensitive and difficult to adjust the right temp.

so annoying
Selene Yeo
post Oct 20 2024, 09:28 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(mingan95 @ Oct 19 2024, 05:16 PM)

- - - - -

The output water temperature of your instant water heaters are affected by:

1. Inlet water temperature | The lower the original water source's temperature, the lower the output water temperature.
2. Power rating | The higher it is, the hotter the output water temperature.
3. Water flow | The higher it is, the lower the output water temperature.
4. Shower accessories | Explanation below.

- - - - -

For your comparison,

1. Power ratings | JOVEN SA15M, JOVEN SB11iP-RS, and ALPHA - SMART 18i all have similar power rating, only 3.6kW (the lowest power ratings in the market). Since your current water heater and the ones that u might want to purchase have the same power ratings, u can expect the same output water temperature right out of the water heater's outlet.

2. Shower accessories | Assuming if your water heater unit is the same but the only change is that u only upgrade its shower accessories from a shower rail to a rainshower set, using the rainshower set will provide an even lower output water temperature, since the hot water has to travel further up to the top of the rainshower, and will encounter more heat loss when the water travels thru its heat conductive stainless steel rainshower piping.

In conclusion, since your current JOVEN SA15M and JOVEN SB11iP-RS has the same power rating, and also an accessories change from shower rail (JOVEN SA15M) to rainshower (JOVEN SB11iP-RS), u will logically get a lower output water temperature with this switch.

- - - - -

So what can u do?

1. Use back your current water heater and lower your water flow | By lowering your stop valve during showers to reduce the water flow; or get those shower handsets with lower water flow / thinner nozzles such as this, and the output water temperature will be slightly higher compared to when u were using your old shower handset. This is the same concept as why PANASONIC 3.6kW water heater is hotter than JOVEN / ALPHA 3.6kW water heater, because PANASONIC shower handsets have much smaller nozzles (and sometimes too sharp and painful high pressure sprays) compared to JOVEN / ALPHA shower handsets.

2. Get a higher power rating water heaters | Most of JOVEN and ALPHA instant water heaters are 3.6kW. U can upgrade to 4.2kW like this CENTON (example here) or 4.5kW like this DEKA (example here) or 5.4kW like this CENTON (example here).

#Victor
post Jan 19 2025, 03:49 AM

4,672 posts

QUOTE(Selene Yeo @ Oct 20 2024, 09:28 PM)
- - - - -

The output water temperature of your instant water heaters are affected by:

1. Inlet water temperature | The lower the original water source's temperature, the lower the output water temperature.
2. Power rating | The higher it is, the hotter the output water temperature.
3. Water flow | The higher it is, the lower the output water temperature.
4. Shower accessories | Explanation below.

- - - - -

For your comparison,

1. Power ratings | JOVEN SA15M, JOVEN SB11iP-RS, and ALPHA - SMART 18i all have similar power rating, only 3.6kW (the lowest power ratings in the market). Since your current water heater and the ones that u might want to purchase have the same power ratings, u can expect the same output water temperature right out of the water heater's outlet.

2. Shower accessories | Assuming if your water heater unit is the same but the only change is that u only upgrade its shower accessories from a shower rail to a rainshower set, using the rainshower set will provide an even lower output water temperature, since the hot water has to travel further up to the top of the rainshower, and will encounter more heat loss when the water travels thru its heat conductive stainless steel rainshower piping.

In conclusion, since your current JOVEN SA15M and JOVEN SB11iP-RS has the same power rating, and also an accessories change from shower rail (JOVEN SA15M) to rainshower (JOVEN SB11iP-RS), u will logically get a lower output water temperature with this switch.

- - - - -

So what can u do?

1. Use back your current water heater and lower your water flow | By lowering your stop valve during showers to reduce the water flow; or get those shower handsets with lower water flow / thinner nozzles such as this, and the output water temperature will be slightly higher compared to when u were using your old shower handset. This is the same concept as why PANASONIC 3.6kW water heater is hotter than JOVEN / ALPHA 3.6kW  water heater, because PANASONIC shower handsets have much smaller nozzles (and sometimes too sharp and painful high pressure sprays) compared to JOVEN / ALPHA shower handsets.

2. Get a higher power rating water heaters | Most of JOVEN and ALPHA instant water heaters are 3.6kW. U can upgrade to 4.2kW like this CENTON (example here) or 4.5kW like this DEKA (example here) or 5.4kW like this CENTON (example here).
wonder can 4.2kW like Centon work on wire that not 4mm if normal use maybe just turning like 50% of the heater? this is the concealed wiring provided by developer, i supposed the specs should be the same from heater end until the db. if requied to change the wiring that already concealed in wall for condo, is it possible to change without removing the tiles and hacking? the distance from db to the heater point is like 5 metres+
thet2697
post Jan 19 2025, 07:41 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Jan 19 2025, 03:49 AM)
wonder can 4.2kW like Centon work on wire that not 4mm if normal use maybe just turning like 50% of the heater? this is the concealed wiring provided by developer, i supposed the specs should be the same from heater end until the db. if requied to change the wiring that already concealed in wall for condo, is it possible to change without removing the tiles and hacking? the distance from db to the heater point is like 5 metres+
If you are only using half then just get the normal 3.6kW because that will also be overrated for your needs. Using 4.2kW on non-rated wire is a death trap waiting to happen.
Momo33
post Jan 19 2025, 07:51 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 26 2023, 07:59 PM)

your RCCB rated 300mA . is NOT recommended. Not safe !
Tenaga ST recommends 100mA RCCB at DB box .

Also there is ST recommendation for additional .. 10mA RCCB on water heater Line.

this is for safety from electrocutions . To trip the power at those limits .
do comply for your safety.

This post has been edited by Momo33: Jan 19 2025, 08:50 AM
Selene Yeo
post Jan 19 2025, 10:02 AM

149 posts

wonder can 4.2kW like Centon work on wire that not 4mm if normal use maybe just turning like 50% of the heater?
By 'just turning like 50% of the heater', do u mean just keeping the power knob to the middle rather than turning it towards the max?

Regardless of where u turn the power knob to, do note that using less than 4mm cable for any water heater with power rating below 5.711kW is against Suruhanjaya Tenaga guidelines and all SIRIM certified brand's instruction manuals, regardless of whichever water heater brands u purchase, which might give u some trouble for insurance / warranty / liability claim if (touch wood) something unfortunate happen.

Also, as stated by @thet2697, if you are planning not to fully utilize the power of a 4.2kW water heater by keeping the power knob in the middle, then no point getting a 4.2kW one in the first place, as you are basically using lesser power and generating lesser heat / lesser output water temperature, similar to a lesser power rated water heater. Hence getting a lesser power rated water heater will suffice. But do note that in Suruhanjaya Tenaga guidelines, 4mm is still required for water heaters in the 3.xkW range.

If u choose to take your own risk and go against Suruhanjaya Tenaga guideline by continue to use your existing 2mm cable, then getting a lesser power rated water heater will have lesser risk than a higher power rated one. And to answer your initial question, if u are comparing using a 4.2kW water heater with the power knob turned full vs keeping it halfway, keeping it halfway will have lesser risk than turned full.

if requied to change the wiring that already concealed in wall for condo, is it possible to change without removing the tiles and hacking? the distance from db to the heater point is like 5 metres+
Definitely possible, it'll just be unsightly and not practical. Imagine a cable sticking out from your DB box, lining thru the surface of your walls, continuing on to your switch outside your bathroom, thru your bathroom door frame (door might need some cutting to allow the cable to pass thru), thru your bathroom walls until it reaches your water heater.

tannyboy91
post Jan 19 2025, 11:47 AM

35 posts

Rinnai
ozak
post Jan 19 2025, 11:55 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(tannyboy91 @ Jan 19 2025, 11:47 AM)
Rinnai
Rinnai is a good heater.

Been use for 11yrs. Daily usage and still fine till now.

The wan I use is expensive model.
Selene Yeo
post Jan 19 2025, 01:16 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 19 2025, 11:55 AM)
Rinnai is a good heater.

Been use for 11yrs. Daily usage and still fine till now.

The wan I use is expensive model.
Heard from an electronic store salesperson that RINNAI Instant Water Heaters are made by an OEM company owned by directors from ALPHA and CENTON, and sold with marked up price thanks to it Japanese brand status.

If it is true, better just get either ALPHA or CENTON (as these 3 comparisons are made in Malaysia and is SIRIM certified) since they should be similar in quality and with lower price points, and supporting our local brand in the process thumbsup.gif

ozak
post Jan 19 2025, 01:50 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Selene Yeo @ Jan 19 2025, 01:16 PM)
Heard from an electronic store salesperson that RINNAI Instant Water Heaters are made by an OEM company owned by directors from ALPHA and CENTON, and sold with marked up price thanks to it Japanese brand status.

If it is true, better just get either ALPHA or CENTON (as these 3 comparisons are made in Malaysia and is SIRIM certified) since they should be similar in quality and with lower price points, and supporting our local brand in the process thumbsup.gif
Nothing is confirmed by you.

With the real experience I go through now (11yrs of usage), I would stick back to Rinnai.
kangkayu
post Jan 19 2025, 02:38 PM

129 posts

James Own Venture
Seng89
post Jan 21 2025, 03:05 PM

2,687 posts

Anyone using this ? Good to go ? Actually I not required DC pump.

Still thinking Panasonic or this...

robotking123
post Jan 21 2025, 03:06 PM

Gas cooker
cakoilembutgebu
post Jan 21 2025, 03:10 PM

152 posts

Alpha also quite long lasting. Mine 15 years still running strong
thesoothsayer
post Jan 21 2025, 03:14 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jan 19 2025, 07:51 AM)
your RCCB  rated 300mA  .  is  NOT recommended.    Not safe !
Tenaga ST  recommends  100mA  RCCB  at  DB box .

Also  there is  ST recommendation  for  additional  ..  10mA  RCCB  on water heater Line.   

this is for safety  from electrocutions .  To trip the power  at those limits .
do comply for  your safety.
I'm using the 10mA RCBO for the heaters.
Selene Yeo
post Jan 23 2025, 11:28 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(Seng89 @ Jan 21 2025, 03:05 PM)
Anyone using this ? Good to go ? Actually I not required DC pump.
U can refer to online stores' reviews to see what other buyers think about this model. Link here - Shopee / Lazada

QUOTE(Seng89 @ Jan 21 2025, 03:05 PM)
Still thinking Panasonic or this...
Few points to consider after using these 2 brands (can double check the details with dealers):

1. Price - PANASONIC should be significantly more expensive than JOVEN. An equivalent model to JOVEN SB11iP RS should be PANASONIC DH-3NP2MSR, which is around 50% more expensive than the JOVEN model. Link to the PANASONIC model here - Shopee / Lazada

2. Warranty - PANASONIC usually give only 1 blanket year warranty for most, if not all of their products, while JOVEN (and most other water heater brands) give 5 years parts warranty (not including servicing fee, that's chargeable) for some of their components (eg. heating element, DC Pump).

3. Switch to Turn On - PANASONIC has the push-to-start button to turn on the water heater, while JOVEN uses the stop cock (to turn on the water flow, and the flow switch inside the water heater will turn on the water heater when water flow is detected).

4. Water Flow - PANASONIC shower handset nozzles are usually much smaller compared to other brands, hence giving lesser water flow, and if the water pressure is high, smaller nozzles will give a sharper and stronger spray compared to larger nozzles, but sometimes a bit painful when shoot to your skin. In summary, the PANASONIC model should give a lesser water flow compared to the JOVEN model, hence saving water (but less syiok for those who likes more water during showers), stronger spray, but sharper (and sometimes painful) spray. And the probability of smaller nozzles to get stuck with dirt is higher, and might need more frequent cleaning.

5. Output Water Temperature - Due to smaller nozzles, the output water flow is lesser, but it generates higher output water temperature (more contact time between the input water and the heating element). Hence the PANASONIC model should give a higher output water temperature compared to the JOVEN model.

Seng89
post Jan 23 2025, 03:38 PM

2,687 posts

QUOTE(Selene Yeo @ Jan 23 2025, 11:28 AM)
U can refer to online stores' reviews to see what other buyers think about this model. Link here - Shopee / Lazada
Few points to consider after using these 2 brands (can double check the details with dealers):

1. Price - PANASONIC should be significantly more expensive than JOVEN. An equivalent model to JOVEN SB11iP RS should be PANASONIC DH-3NP2MSR, which is around 50% more expensive than the JOVEN model. Link to the PANASONIC model here - Shopee / Lazada

2. Warranty - PANASONIC usually give only 1 blanket year warranty for most, if not all of their products, while JOVEN (and most other water heater brands) give 5 years parts warranty (not including servicing fee, that's chargeable) for some of their components (eg. heating element, DC Pump).

3. Switch to Turn On - PANASONIC has the push-to-start button to turn on the water heater, while JOVEN uses the stop cock (to turn on the water flow, and the flow switch inside the water heater will turn on the water heater when water flow is detected).

4. Water Flow - PANASONIC shower handset nozzles are usually much smaller compared to other brands, hence giving lesser water flow, and if the water pressure is high, smaller nozzles will give a sharper and stronger spray compared to larger nozzles, but sometimes a bit painful when shoot to your skin. In summary, the PANASONIC model should give a lesser water flow compared to the JOVEN model, hence saving water (but less syiok for those who likes more water during showers), stronger spray, but sharper (and sometimes painful) spray. And the probability of smaller nozzles to get stuck with dirt is higher, and might need more frequent cleaning.

5. Output Water Temperature - Due to smaller nozzles, the output water flow is lesser, but it generates higher output water temperature (more contact time between the input water and the heating element). Hence the PANASONIC model should give a higher output water temperature compared to the JOVEN model.
thanks for the input. that helps alot for me to decide too. thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif

0.2465sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:42 PM