Utara Gathering meet and ride, amacam? nak join?

Jumpa mana? Ride mana?

Kedah [ 3 ] ** [11.54%]
Perak [ 7 ] ** [26.92%]
Perlis [ 0 ] ** [0.00%]
Penang (mainland) [ 4 ] ** [15.38%]
Penang (island) [ 12 ] ** [46.15%]
Total Votes: 26
Guests cannot vote 

jaycee1
post Jan 19 2023, 03:06 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Well I am in Ipoh during that week. Anywhere north is 2 hours for me. Was planning to go betong. Will stay tuned.
jaycee1
post Jan 19 2023, 03:13 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Will avoid Penang. Siow ah, go PG during CNY break... Hahahahahaha
jaycee1
post Jan 19 2023, 03:40 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Couple of destinations maybe.

Gunung jerai.

Expensive and likely won't let u up unless you are staying up there. Likely fully booked also. But good ride up the Twisties. Popular biker getaway.

Betong

Easy for first timers to pop their Thai motorcycling cherry if not yet dont so yet. Felda road from Gerik to border is pretty nice and deserted. Cheap food and accomodations. Close to everyone up north. 3d2n more than enough.

Penang

Normal days ok..CNY break no go....it's hard enough for kapchai to squeeze through narrow roads and traffic let a lone a big bike with panniers. However balik pulau road is a fun riding road. If planning to avoid city centre maybe doable. 2nd bridge to bayan lepas to balik pulau to dam. Then back track.
jaycee1
post Jan 19 2023, 04:48 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 19 2023, 03:52 PM)
I say meet in ipoh

So the central/southerners can ride up n northerners can ride down..

Then head to Cameron via simpang pulai...tt...cameron is central enough for people to head back to their respective states be it north or south
I'm good with this since I will be at Ipoh all week up to 29th.
jaycee1
post Jan 20 2023, 12:02 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 19 2023, 08:08 PM)
I can go Ipoh also, date can TBD later.
Well, meeting in Ipoh then ride up Cameron's via simpang pulai. Brinchang and tanah rata probably pasar malam jam packed all long week though. But best chance is after Wednesday weekday. Those from KL can just take the shorter route back down via old road-tapah.

It's another long weekend for KL folks on the 1st...so people might take Monday and Tuesday off.
jaycee1
post Jan 22 2023, 08:59 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Strike Eureka @ Jan 21 2023, 07:35 PM)
Got min cc requirements or not?
Scare all big bikes show up small bike mana boleh ikut sweat.gif
QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 22 2023, 12:08 AM)
See rules, ride your own ride.

I think la, small CC just go at comfortable speed, as long as got phone, ok one. Last time follow kapcai convoy, got member EX5 just slowly ride until meet point, then rest a while, then resume.

Maybe someday you buy big CC superbike, then we cannot chase u liao.
Ever try to keep up with orang asli down a twisty mountain road on a kapchai when he's on the hurry? Hahaha.

Ride your own ride. I think whoever the organiser would be will be going to set up rendezvous points for slower bikes and riders to catch up. Anyway, I don't like the idea of riding in a pack....that's when things usually go south real quick. . Better just set meet up points and time so we just meet there at various points.
jaycee1
post Jan 24 2023, 03:05 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Going to keep the ball rolling then.

If Ipoh/Cameron highlands then I will organize. Since I'm familiar with the route having been up and down a few hundred times.

Proposed Date: Friday 27th Cameron's Daytrip Simpang Pulai Route
Initial meet point : PETRONAS / Shell Simpang pulai. (Will add location links and coordinates later)
Time : 10am.

Those that arrive early can have breakfast at the kopitiam next to the PETRONAS. If Muslim riders, can meet at the PETRONAS on the road to camerons. Have a warung next to it. Both is about 2km ish from toll exit @ simpang pulai.

I set time 10am to allow for outstation guys enough time to arrive. KL guys should leave by 7.45am. Penang guys 8.30am. allow for extra time if on a slower bike.

Move out 10.30am (if you are late, just ride up, meet at next point)

11.30 rendezvous point 1. Banjaran cafe Vista point. Stop. . Have a smoke rest, whatever. Landslide area, so don't stand too near the edge.
12.30 Brinchang/Tanah Rata town. Lunch, shoot the shit, free and easy. Other POI/ Photo op can discuss later.

3.30. bung off. Ride home. Folks from south can use the shorter tapah route back. Hope everyone get home safe by 7pm before dark.

Rules.
1) don't bunch up together if want to ride together. Give enough room.
2) it is not a race. So enjoy the ride, weather and views
3) ride your own pace. We will wait for you.
4) obey traffic laws if you can. There are many double line sections with blind left hand corners. Overtake with care. Tapah route downhill tarmac rough and can be sandy. Caution needed.
5) bring tools, tyre repair kit. Pump if you have. Bring your own rain gear
6) full riding gear recommended for your own safety.
7) I'm not going to harp on your licence, L sticker , exhaust. Just don't run into other bikers in the group. You do you.
8) those with smaller fuel tanks, please inform early so can plan for fuel stops.

Weather of the day. Possible scattered showers in the mid to late afternoon. Bring rain gear...or wait it out. Traffic would likely be on the heavier side of things. Roads are narrow. Don't bring panniers if you can.

Those who are interested, please PM me the following info.
Name, phone number, bike, coming from, I will compile and do a temp whatsapp grp for those interested.

Disclaimer
Your safety is your own responsibility. Lowyat.net and any participants or organizer of this ride and greet will not be responsible for you should anything unfortunate happen.

jaycee1
post Jan 25 2023, 03:03 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 25 2023, 02:14 PM)
Despite the ipoh cameron thing being my idea...

Its quite unlikely that I can make it laugh.gif

Have fun guys n ride safe! Especially with the rain nowadays
No prob man.

It seems no one has replied yet, so I suppose the date is a no go. Let's KIV then. Do suggest any dates later.

If that's the case I'm going to extend my Thai stay.
jaycee1
post Jan 25 2023, 09:02 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Jan 25 2023, 04:33 PM)
Extend till Sunday, wait for me.. Haha..  tongue.gif
Haha..

Even if extend, I won't be at betong lor. 4 days in betong do what7.

Considering doing a loop. Betong - yala - hatyai - back down dannok. But hatyai this Saturday looks like bad weather.

They repaved most of the road (highway 410) from betong to yala. Fresh tarmac. Very smooth. But also very slippery this morning when drizzling.
jaycee1
post Jan 26 2023, 01:00 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 25 2023, 11:41 PM)
I suggest first meet for Utara folks

Venue: Penang island (Caltex Jelutong, aka Caltex Udini)
Date: Feb 5th (Sunday)
Time: 8am

Options:
- round island makan breakfast
- cross bridge makan breakfast

Please quote and reply yes/no and choice.
Would likely pass on this, being so close to my current Thailand trip. But who knows. I might get itchy butt if I'm back ipoh that week. You guys plan. If I can make it I will drop by if I'm in Ipoh. After all it's only 90mins ride from Ipoh.
jaycee1
post Feb 4 2023, 09:42 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 26 2023, 03:27 PM)
jaycee1mcdonald13zarakiken
Or, next next sunday?

Date: Feb 12 (Sunday)

Options:
- cross bridge makan breakfast

Well I'm back in Ipoh now until Monday.

jaycee1
post Mar 6 2023, 11:44 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 6 2023, 10:30 AM)
jaycee1mcdonald13zarakikenSammy6

Date: Mar 12 (Sunday)

Options:

Nice, but unfortunately I'm not available that weekend
jaycee1
post Mar 6 2023, 01:09 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 6 2023, 12:26 PM)
Where and when is good for you?
Maybe next time go Ipoh or something?

tag mADmAN
Actually I'm back in Ipoh that week, just that my schedule is a bit tight to ride up to PG.

But if you guys want to ride up Cameron's , just let me know..I can free up 2 hours
jaycee1
post Mar 6 2023, 02:42 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 6 2023, 02:24 PM)
agak bila senang?
2 hours, meaning ulang-alik Ipoh Cameron?
Ulang alik, maybe have breakfast. But I will go back down tapah side cos going back to KL on sunday. A few extra hours maybe I can spare. Just not half a day+

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Mar 6 2023, 02:44 PM
jaycee1
post Jun 16 2023, 12:42 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 15 2023, 04:46 PM)
ive neveer been to betong.... apa best sana?
Town area not much. Nightlife, if thats your thing. Ok food, cheap beer, good thai massage, alot of malay speaking Thais so easier to communicate. Malaysians go there to raid the 7-E.

But if you venture out farther on HWY 410, there are some nice twisties. There are some camping/hiking spots along the way if thats your thing.
If you go correct time, the border crossing is generally not as busy as BKH/Danok.

Main attraction of betong is basically, it is relatively nearer to some of us (Perakians) and the higher elevation means generally it is cooler. The ride up Gerik/Lenggong is quite nice also.

Sky bridge is a waste of money. They dont allow you to ride to the top anymore. You have to park, and then sit a tuktuk or motobike taxi up.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 16 2023, 12:46 PM
jaycee1
post Feb 16 2024, 06:59 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 16 2024, 11:38 AM)
it's been... a year

I'll come up with something
Anyone wanna throw in suggestions?

Round island ride?
Gerik?
Titiwangsa?
Perak? Kedah? Betong?
Betong sounds good.

Sudah sampai gerik must as well go siam.

0.0533sec    0.36    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:51 AM