Signing Bonus, Employers asking staffs to repay bonus.
TSMingu P
Jan 18 2023, 05:59 PM, updated 3y ago
Hi Serious K, I am curious about one thing, if you guys ever heard of employers asking they staff to repay the bonus if the staff leave within 12months after the bonus paid? they came out a signing bonus kinda shit and asking staff to sign it in-order to get bonus.
Lembu Goreng
Jan 18 2023, 06:07 PM
Never heard of such thing
I’m sure what they are doing is legal, but I would leave the company if I were you. Sounds like toxic management
teslaman
Jan 18 2023, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(Mingu @ Jan 18 2023, 05:59 PM) Hi Serious K, I am curious about one thing, if you guys ever heard of employers asking they staff to repay the bonus if the staff leave within 12months after the bonus paid? they came out a signing bonus kinda shit and asking staff to sign it in-order to get bonus. yes depends on any papers you sign
NorAzdanNordin
Jan 18 2023, 06:13 PM

First of all - what exactly are you referring to?
Annual performance bonus, or SIGN ON bonus? Both are 2 different things.
Anyway, like one dude earlier said - depends on what you sign on your employment contract. If it’s in there, and you’ve signed and accepted it, then too bad lo.
trojandude
Jan 18 2023, 06:20 PM

Yes, I don’t think this is uncommon either and not a cinaman style either.
It sounds like you’re describing sign on bonus if you agree to work for employer. Usually these bonus have terms like you need to work at least X months. Else, repay prorata or what else depending on the terms.
jmas
Jan 18 2023, 06:25 PM
check back your agreement was there such clauses
TSMingu P
Jan 18 2023, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jan 18 2023, 06:07 PM) Never heard of such thing I’m sure what they are doing is legal, but I would leave the company if I were you. Sounds like toxic management Yea, I just left
TSMingu P
Jan 18 2023, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(NorAzdanNordin @ Jan 18 2023, 06:13 PM) First of all - what exactly are you referring to? Annual performance bonus, or SIGN ON bonus? Both are 2 different things. Anyway, like one dude earlier said - depends on what you sign on your employment contract. If it’s in there, and you’ve signed and accepted it, then too bad lo. Annual bonus 🥲
Lembu Goreng
Jan 18 2023, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(jmas @ Jan 18 2023, 06:25 PM) check back your agreement was there such clauses Its new agreement ler, not previous agreement
MrBaba
Jan 18 2023, 07:13 PM
Normal if got black and white
Noryume
Jan 18 2023, 07:21 PM
What the clause in the letter that you sign? Signing/ Sign In / Sign On Bonus is an incentive for employee joining a company. Normally come with clause for duration of work. Some give upfront and some give after you completed the duration.
elm0001
Jan 18 2023, 07:25 PM
huh leave within 12 months have to pay back bonus
means you leave when also need to pay back the bonus there’s no escape lol
Enjoise
Jan 18 2023, 07:31 PM
1. buat bodo 2. threaten to report them
potatolala
Jan 18 2023, 07:37 PM

QUOTE(Mingu @ Jan 18 2023, 05:59 PM) Hi Serious K, I am curious about one thing, if you guys ever heard of employers asking they staff to repay the bonus if the staff leave within 12months after the bonus paid? they came out a signing bonus kinda shit and asking staff to sign it in-order to get bonus. Sounds like toxic company. Bonus is for past year performance.
WaCKy-Angel
Jan 18 2023, 07:39 PM
Look on the bright side....u just need to lepak at office dont do work wait till they fire u.
Thebestscammer
Jan 18 2023, 07:43 PM
yes. in the west this is how it works. often its only for positions that are highly sought after / competitive and with start up company where they dont have alot of funds to begin with so they will offer to give you this and that package. but if they offer sign on bonus then either you are in a niche industry that they really want or you have a big dick that they want. either way, they want you thats why they give sign on bonus but the stipulation usually is if you leave then you have to give it back thats why alot of people force themselves to stay for at least 1 year before the jump ship silicon valley is notorious for this kind of hiring style
jmas
Jan 18 2023, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(Mingu @ Jan 18 2023, 06:45 PM) QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jan 18 2023, 06:46 PM) Its new agreement ler, not previous agreement ok TS just explained above, its annual bonus but they need to sign agreement to return it if leave within 12mths. got it... its legal for companies to do it, but then also major red flag time to leave the company dont sign, time to search for new job
ShadowR1
Jan 18 2023, 08:08 PM
If there is no blank n white ... report je.
Let the authority decide.
thpace
Jan 18 2023, 08:13 PM
it actually legal as bonuses is under company discretion and not covered by employment law whatsoever unless stated in your contract that you are guaranteed bonuses or some kind of performance based incentives
it somehow a new trend on company with high turn over. i first heard about around 5 or 6 years ago..
It started with sales especially those high sales volume managers. The reasoning is due to when they run they bring their client along with them
forgotoldlogin
Jan 18 2023, 08:30 PM

Annual bonus but need to repay back if resign? Unless your company pays you abnormal bonus 120 months bonus like Hyundai Oil, it makes no sense to payback annual bonus if resigned