Vein patterns on engineered Quartz top, changing colors

TSGameFr3ak
post Jan 11 2023, 12:20 PM, updated 3y ago

3,849 posts

So I know the quartz stone top that I picked was man made. And I know that it will fade with time but mine was installed just around 8 months ago and I'm starting to see the vein patterns which was originally grey/black, turning in to a pink-purple color tone (it's more vivid in person, the camera couldn't accurately capture the color). According to the salesperson, it's 3D printed patterns or something, sounded like he doesn't know either.

The area is quite well lit with natural light but it's not direct fully exposed sunlight.

Does anyone know if there's anything I can do to mitigate this? Something like UV polish or something? I'm really regretting my decision of not going solid wood....
MISMan
post Jan 11 2023, 12:36 PM

718 posts

aiyo, so sad.

ur man made quart top ink has faded.

damn! so cheap skate meh?

jibpek
post Jan 11 2023, 12:44 PM

706 posts

cultured marble

The color will change a bit, but it is ok lah. better than solid wood.
COOLPINK
post Jan 11 2023, 12:53 PM

3,660 posts

just accept it and live with it.
not worth the hassle to get it fixed.
lowyat101
post Jan 11 2023, 01:03 PM

2,547 posts

since we are on this topic, may i know how do we normally select or see the type and quality of the quartz stone proposed by those kitchen cabinet suppliers? as i see, most of them will just list it as quartz top without any other further details. is there anything that we shall ask them before confirming the order?

TSGameFr3ak
post Jan 11 2023, 01:08 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jan 11 2023, 01:03 PM)
since we are on this topic, may i know how do we normally select or see the type and quality of the quartz stone proposed by those kitchen cabinet suppliers? as i see, most of them will just list it as quartz top without any other further details. is there anything that we shall ask them before confirming the order?

You really have to keep drilling them for the actual type of qaurtz stone that's being used. Most are manmade which has 0 pores and quite water proof but don't be fooled by the stain / scratch resistant sales pitch. It scratches relatively easily and can be stained. The problem with me as a person who used to have solid wood tops, quartz are pretty to look at but that's about it. If it's stained then there's not much you can do. You can try to polish it but you risk making it worse. The inconsistent gloss finish will be noticeable.

With solid wood top, most damages can be sanded away and restained. Mine was sealed with a poly top coat and it's water proof. I'm not even worried about scratches since I can just resand and reapply top coat.

This is probably the last time I'll use any type of stone as my countertop.
lowyat101
post Jan 11 2023, 01:13 PM

2,547 posts

noted with thanks. from your experience, will the sloid wood top be much more expensive than a quartz top?

TSGameFr3ak
post Jan 11 2023, 01:21 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jan 11 2023, 01:13 PM)

noted with thanks. from your experience, will the sloid wood top be much more expensive than a quartz top?
Absolutely, I bought a can of varnish from ACE and applied the top coat myself on the solid wood countertops and table. Some high usage areas have worn out the top coat but I'll just need to reapply the top coat to make it glossy again. You can also select the color tone of your wood stain to your liking. The quartz are making me anxious everytime I place something on it, worried that it'll stain, it'll scratch, it'll crack. None of these were my concerns when I'm still using solid wood tops. My previous countertop was done by Ikea and I picked their solid wood countertop (when they still have them, nowadays they no longer carry them).

And it's a nightmare if some sanding/grinding is needed for the stone countertop, it produces SO MUCH DUST it coats the entire house with stone dust. Also these manmade quartz stone are held together with a bunch of chemicals, god knows what are in those dust. With wood, I think it's much easier to replace. They're not as heavy, they're not that messy to cut/sand. I think there's more and more workshops now that sells solid wood tops, you'll just have to look around.

I've used that solid wood top from 2016 > 2022, only applied 2 layers of top coat, it only requires another application when I was moving out.

0.0140sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:48 AM