Home Networking convert HUAWEI mesh router to mesh AP, Need help

TSd_scientist
post Jan 8 2023, 05:19 PM, updated 3y ago

248 posts

Hi guys,

I use an old unifi (huawei) modem from 2015 (the silver one) with a mesh router by Huawei (Q2 hybrid). Previously I configure my PPPoE via the router and dial up to modem. Today my modem died and unifi replace an all in one for me.

Questions to all the sifu sifu, can I now still use my mesh router to be mesh access points?

Previously:
Phone line->modem->mesh router

What I want to achieve now:
Phone line->all in one->mesh AP with my mesh router.

Thank you for your assistance

PRSXFENG
post Jan 8 2023, 07:55 PM

2,615 posts

Not too sure on what you want to achieve, but you could probably go ask Unifi to change the all in one from all in one mode to just modem mode.
Not sure if Unifi lets you, but TIME does
TSd_scientist
post Jan 8 2023, 09:34 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jan 8 2023, 07:55 PM)
Not too sure on what you want to achieve, but you could probably go ask Unifi to change the all in one from all in one mode to just modem mode.
Not sure if Unifi lets you, but TIME does
Hi bro,

I'm trying to use a set of mesh router (total got 3 units) to be access point with mesh so thst I don't need to buy new ones. A lot of dead zones in my house. Thanks

Also I've managed to ask unifi, they say now only got the all in one. Sweat

0.0121sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:55 AM