Suitable Wifi Card for my 12th Gen B660M PC, Intel AX210 or AX211?
TSbabylon52281
Jan 8 2023, 11:41 AM, updated 3y ago
Hi guys,
My Intel B660M PG Riptide PC mobo has an open M2 Key E slot for addin wifi card, but Im in a dilemma which should I go for, either AX210 or AX211. I know that AX210 is PCIE based and AX211 is CNVIO2 and my mobo does support for both types if according to it QVL.
I came to know that CVNIO2 is Intel proprietary and not backward compatible with ori CNVIO (which makes it questionable if it will be forward compatible with CNVIO3 eventually) hence Im leaning to get the AX210 with its more open configuration, as I would have the flexibility to use it on another system. However b4 I buy I want to confirm if Im not leaving any features/performance on the table by going PCIE(AX210) and not CNVIO2(AX211).
Another question, the AX210 comes with Key A-E form factor (has 2 notches) while AX211 is only Key E. My mobo documentation only states it is Key E socket so I wonder if it will also be compatible with the Key A-E type AX210.
Any advice from sifus are much appreciated. Thanks.
SUSifourtos
Jan 8 2023, 11:44 AM
Pro use LAN
or just USB wifi with antenna.
M2 pcie has more important roles
TSbabylon52281
Jan 8 2023, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jan 8 2023, 11:44 AM) Pro use LAN or just USB wifi with antenna. M2 pcie has more important roles I only amateur level, router downstairs at one end, PC upstairs at the other end. Can't afford the eyesore of running a long LAN cable all the way upstairs and across my house. That M2 slot is 2230 and only for Wifi addin card. My USB ports has more important roles since I have 4 external HDD connected. But thanks 4 ur suggestion. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 8 2023, 11:48 AM
asdasd
Jan 8 2023, 11:50 AM
why not just get a PCIE WIFI adapter Card that comes with external antenna ?
if you directly install onto the mobo,how will you connect the antenna? Or Does your mobo comes with preinstalled antenna?
bobowyc
Jan 8 2023, 12:02 PM
Lol. Add another router upstairs. I ran the LAN cables under the stairs and up to the door frames and drilled a hole into my room. And I placed a router right inside my room. lol. I have 2 PCs and 1 PS4, so the 3 slots are all used up. haha. And constantly getting full 500Mbps speed. haha.
Just for Wifi sake, i think better get PCIE Wifi Adapter. It'll be better than the slot the mobo provided. Or else searching for the right WiFi card will take time. IMO.
TSbabylon52281
Jan 8 2023, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(asdasd @ Jan 8 2023, 11:50 AM) why not just get a PCIE WIFI adapter Card that comes with external antenna ? if you directly install onto the mobo,how will you connect the antenna? Or Does your mobo comes with preinstalled antenna? Was thinking of getting something like this  The mobo IO panel also have holes to mount the antennas as well. The card would go into this slot which is specifically for WIFI (example pic below) This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 8 2023, 01:38 PM
TSbabylon52281
Jan 8 2023, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(bobowyc @ Jan 8 2023, 12:02 PM) Lol. Add another router upstairs. I ran the LAN cables under the stairs and up to the door frames and drilled a hole into my room. And I placed a router right inside my room. lol. I have 2 PCs and 1 PS4, so the 3 slots are all used up. haha. And constantly getting full 500Mbps speed. haha. Just for Wifi sake, i think better get PCIE Wifi Adapter. It'll be better than the slot the mobo provided. Or else searching for the right WiFi card will take time. IMO. Thanks but that sound like too much work to pull a cable upstairs and also not easy to hide that eyesore. Been using Wifi since early on nearly 20 years ago and seen how it becomes more and more viable as a LAN alternative, so unlikely I will go back to using cable unless the router is right beside me. Thanks for the suggestion!
bobowyc
Jan 8 2023, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 8 2023, 01:30 PM) Thanks but that sound like too much work to pull a cable upstairs and also not easy to hide that eyesore. Been using Wifi since early on nearly 20 years ago and seen how it becomes more and more viable as a LAN alternative, so unlikely I will go back to using cable unless the router is right beside me. Thanks for the suggestion! Hence why getting a PCIE WiFi Adapter is better than the build in mobo slot. PCIE one can get AX type, faster connection. Also depends on what you do, i mostly game and download movies/anime, hence why i want the full speed and using LAN is the best. xD This post has been edited by bobowyc: Jan 8 2023, 01:56 PM
asellus
Jan 8 2023, 06:59 PM
#gompusas
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 8 2023, 11:41 AM) Hi guys, My Intel B660M PG Riptide PC mobo has an open M2 Key E slot for addin wifi card, but Im in a dilemma which should I go for, either AX210 or AX211. I know that AX210 is PCIE based and AX211 is CNVIO2 and my mobo does support for both types if according to it QVL. I came to know that CVNIO2 is Intel proprietary and not backward compatible with ori CNVIO (which makes it questionable if it will be forward compatible with CNVIO3 eventually) hence Im leaning to get the AX210 with its more open configuration, as I would have the flexibility to use it on another system. However b4 I buy I want to confirm if Im not leaving any features/performance on the table by going PCIE(AX210) and not CNVIO2(AX211). Another question, the AX210 comes with Key A-E form factor (has 2 notches) while AX211 is only Key E. My mobo documentation only states it is Key E socket so I wonder if it will also be compatible with the Key A-E type AX210. Any advice from sifus are much appreciated. Thanks. A motherboard with B660M supports CNVIO2 therefore go with best and get a Intel® Wi-Fi 6E AX411 card. I use this one with my Asrock Z790 Pro RS/D4 and damn, it works beautifully as a wifi + Bluetooth adapter.
asdasd
Jan 9 2023, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 8 2023, 12:26 PM) Was thinking of getting something like this » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «  The mobo IO panel also have holes to mount the antennas as well. The card would go into this slot which is specifically for WIFI (example pic below)  I prefer this type of pcie adapter as it comes with heat sink and protects against interference.
PRSXFENG
Jan 9 2023, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(asdasd @ Jan 9 2023, 12:26 PM) [/spoiler] I prefer this type of pcie adapter as it comes with heat sink and protects against interference.
might be blocked or partially blocked by the GPU though
TSbabylon52281
Jan 9 2023, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(asdasd @ Jan 9 2023, 12:26 PM) [/spoiler] I prefer this type of pcie adapter as it comes with heat sink and protects against interference.
I see. Unfortunately my mobo only has 1 open PCIE X1 slot other than the GPU X16 so I prefer if can avoid using up that slot unless necessary.
PJng
Jan 10 2023, 12:32 AM
Even pc come with wifi, i still pull long cable, for stable connection I just ignore those cable on wall
alepfx
Jan 10 2023, 09:56 PM
My most preferred choice is comfast cf-953ax for usb and comfast ax210ngw for pcie. Cheap and good product. They got official store at aliepxress, link COMFAST aliexpress
k!nex
Jan 11 2023, 03:59 PM
Buy AX210 even if you can use AX211. If you can afford, then go for AX411, but really expensive ,I myself think its not worth the money. The reason why CNVIO interface exist is to cut cost for system builders by integrating part of the WiFi components in the PCH(chipset) .
Usually if the motherboard has the M.2 labelled for WiFi adaptors, it means it has to support USB interface too because that AX210 has Bluetooth integrated which runs on USB, the WiFi part runs on PCI-E .
If 1 day you need to upgrade to a new WiFi adaptor, you can put it in an older notebook or sell it to other people who runs AMD rigs. CNVIO cards like AX211 has much smaller market to sell to. I did put an AX210 in my HP Intel 6th gen ultrabook, it runs perfectly. It originally comes with WiFi AC only. Also upgraded my Illegear Intel 8th gen gaming laptop from a CNVIO AC9560 to an AX210 without a hitch.
This post has been edited by k!nex: Jan 11 2023, 04:02 PM
TSbabylon52281
Jan 11 2023, 05:38 PM
Thanks for all the feedback and advice guys. I did check with Asrock and their support team confirmed both AX210 and 211 are supported, and that going with either won't affect performance  I most agree with k!nex comment about the AX210 being less tied to the CNVIO standard meant it could be reused into other systems when time replace that with something better (Wifi 7?). I think I will go with AX210 or even the nonE AX200. I hope this forum will help others in deciding as well. This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 11 2023, 05:40 PM