Fitness Any good reference about muscle mass chart?

TSFlierMate4
post Jan 8 2023, 01:14 AM, updated 3y ago

Validating
90 posts

Hi, I am new to this forum section.

Where can I find reliable muscle mass chart on the Internet?

For example I found this, but....

According to another article:

There isn’t a lot of credible data on average muscle mass percentages. The only source with reliable information is a 2000 study in the Journal of Applied Physiology. In the study, researchers measured the muscle mass percentages of 468 men and women.

Their muscle mass chart is more oriented to age.

Muscle mass percentage averages for men

AgeMuscle mass percentage
18–35  40–44
36–55  36–40
56–75  32–35
76–85  < 31

Muscle mass percentage averages for women

AgeMuscle mass percentage
18–35  31–33
36–55  29–31
56–75  27–30
76–85  < 26

So let say a young man is 21 years old (not me) with 40% muscle mass, is he considered low in his age group (second chart), or high referring to the first chart?
It is confusing.
SupermanLick
post Jan 10 2023, 10:20 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,455 posts

Lifting female
Buttock big and around, don't butt tilt
low yat 82
post Feb 24 2023, 07:29 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(FlierMate4 @ Jan 8 2023, 01:14 AM)
Hi, I am new to this forum section.
Where can I find reliable muscle mass chart on the Internet?
For example I found this, but....
According to another article:
Their muscle mass chart is more oriented to age.
So let say a young man is 21 years old (not me) with 40% muscle mass, is he considered low in his age group (second chart), or high referring to the first chart?
It is confusing.
For wat. People usual count bodyfat. U still haven consider bone density etc

0.0186sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:16 AM