Samsung Samsung Galaxy S23 Series Discussion Thread, Epic moments are coming

plain_white
post Jan 27 2023, 05:25 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Jan 15 2023, 03:40 PM)
7 important changes in S23 series.

1. ⁠Lower buttons (The S23 side buttons sit slightly lower than those on its predecessor).
2. ⁠Smaller hole punch (The S23 models will get a small punch-hole on the front screen).
3. ⁠Wider frame (Samsung’s Galaxy S23, the Ultra and Plus seem to share a metal frame and glass cover design).
4. ⁠Improved speakers (The speakers in the Galaxy S23 Series reportedly get a noticeable bump in quality for a better listening experience while also offering better bass as well).
5. ⁠Improved cooling (As per the recent leaks, the Galaxy S23 models will feature a cooling system that is 1.6 times better than the Galaxy S22).
6. ⁠Big camera improvements (After 3 generations of using the 108MP sensor, the South Korean tech giant is finally bringing the jump to an even more impressive 200MP sensor).
7. ⁠Massive performance improvements (The Galaxy S23 series will feature Qualcomm’s new Snapdragon 8 Gen 2 chipset
Got rumours saying that the ultrasonic fingerprint sensor is the same as s21 and s22 series. It will be a disappointment if they are not using the latest qualcomm 3d sensor
plain_white
post Feb 2 2023, 12:26 PM

444 posts

For pickup, is it also from 24th Feb onwards? How's the experience from previous pre order?

plain_white
post Feb 2 2023, 12:28 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(ChaChaZero @ Feb 2 2023, 12:12 PM)
The problem is there is no option to cancel once you have committed to it. Believe me, I tried just a month ago with the S22.

The collection schedule of the old device is near instant, I did chat with the agent over Whatsapp to cancel the collection. They will inform Samsung to deduct the RM 600 rebate and you will have to pay the additional 600 if you choose to proceed with the cancellation.
Means after you check out and pay the full amount, then decided to cancel the trade in, they will request u to pay additional rm600 before they deliver the phone?
plain_white
post Feb 4 2023, 09:51 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Feb 4 2023, 09:43 PM)
This is also true. Hence, it's called "iterative" and not "revolutionary" upgrade.

Only upgrade those poor performance features and issues lingering in S22. Now, S23, with the same body of S22 has better camera, energy consumption, stereo sound and finger-print scanner.
Except the fingerprint scanner. It's still the same from s21 series. Maybe reserve for next year
plain_white
post Feb 4 2023, 10:05 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Feb 4 2023, 09:56 PM)
Only the Ultra version is using the latest Qualcomm 3D Sonic MAX sensor. The non-Ultra is using the old version. See vix below at timeline 4:35 onwards:

It didn't really tell its the latest FP sensor. The quolcomm 3d max can unlock using both fingers. I Google everywhere but only mentioned that s23 series still using the old FP sensor.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sammyfans....or-upgrade/amp/

This post has been edited by plain_white: Feb 4 2023, 10:06 PM
plain_white
post Feb 5 2023, 12:52 PM

444 posts

Celcom is offering RM4399 for 512GB with the cheapest plan.
Good option for those who can't get the trade in deal.

plain_white
post Feb 20 2023, 10:38 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(shanjeev @ Feb 20 2023, 10:17 PM)
Anyone else wants to join. Postponed till tomorrow haven't decided whether to get Whitestone TG or SP. Do joint fast to save some money. Thanks.
I think the delivery is cheaper if you buy from amazon.
plain_white
post Feb 23 2023, 07:05 PM

444 posts

The ROI code still can be used to claim from telco pre-order until 17th April ya. At least from celcom pre-order

https://www.celcom.com.my/support/faq/perso...s-pre-order-s23
plain_white
post Feb 24 2023, 06:03 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(nasiayam @ Feb 24 2023, 04:53 PM)
How to automate turning the plug on/off?

I'm using ewelink/sonoff/smart life switches, wonder if there's a way to turn off the plug when battery reaches 95%

Currently I see how much time remaining to charged the battery, then set the switch to turn off by count down
I just use Bixby routines.
Set your condition to turn off fast charging and on protect battery from 11pm-7am etc. So throughout the night ur device will only be charged until 85 percent. Let's say you usually wake up at 7.30am, the phone will be charged to 100 percent when u wake up. Best of both world.
plain_white
post Feb 26 2023, 12:11 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Feb 26 2023, 11:34 AM)
Preorder deal and launch deal is different.
yea, if preorder from celcom, got nothing. If order now got free galaxy buds live. LOL
plain_white
post Feb 26 2023, 01:31 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(Qooohqoo @ Feb 26 2023, 12:38 PM)
I mean if you look at EPP, the 256gb s23u is available for 4k now. Only difference is that preorder was 512gb but RM 400 more.
During pre-order, 512gb s23 ultra was rm4399 for the cheapest plan.
Now, 512gb s23 ultra is still rm4399 + free galaxy buds live for the same plan.
Those pre-order really kena fark. Lol
plain_white
post Feb 26 2023, 02:07 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Feb 26 2023, 01:58 PM)
Those company pay makes sense. I have friends company don't pay also will take up Telco contract.

Not it bothers me, just it doesn't make sense when you have better option not being bounded by contract and locked phone.
For some, even if they buy without contract they still need to pay for the monthly Telco plan. So it makes more sense to just buy the device from telco and get a huge phone discount. Not everyone stay at home or home with wifi all the time. Many are always on the go like doing sales or at the site. I'm sure these people need huge data and unlimited calls etc.
plain_white
post Feb 26 2023, 02:12 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Feb 26 2023, 02:07 PM)
Only Axiata 512GB Note23 non-Lime is unlocked version... all other telcos are locked 24-months using that telco's SIM Card only... so, Axiata's offer is the cheapest in this country (and perhaps in ASEAN region) assuming our company will pay the Axiata Mega RM188 monthly plan for the next 24 months working with that company....it's even way cheaper than EPP/EDU packages...

It's true that axiata offer the cheapest unlocked s23 phone deal. Those who got the company pay for their phone bills or are actually on postpaid plan anyway, it's a no brainer to get from them.
It just funny how celcom fark their customers with better deal right after pre-order ended 🤣
plain_white
post Sep 17 2025, 01:48 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 16 2025, 05:35 PM)
Same with my Fold 5, suddenly back cover open up. Really surprised me the quality of Samsung Galaxy flagship Fons
Same thing happened to my S23 ultra. Samsung's quality is deteriorating. After the delay of oneUI 7 for the previous flagships, I am very disappointed with Samsung. I think Samsung has been stagnant for few years. Even the upcoming S26ultra leaks is quite meh. Now, I am seriously considering switching to iphone 17.
plain_white
post Sep 20 2025, 07:20 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Sep 19 2025, 09:52 AM)
You think Apple has big improvement? Or same slow-slow same-same like Samsung?
I would say almost stagnant as well. But we hardly heard of any hardware issues such as back cover popping out or green line issue etc. Software updates are consistent and uniform across all models of iphones. Unlike Samsung who deliberately delayed the oneUI 7 to boost the s25 sales. The gap between the 2 platforms is slowly disappearing. Samsung and google are trying to be apple. Might as well get the real one.

0.2616sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:20 AM