Samsung Samsung Galaxy S23 Series Discussion Thread, Epic moments are coming

kitman
post Feb 3 2023, 12:10 PM

2,691 posts

hi guys, already ordered the s23ultra and want to know if i can use those 60w+ chargers from ugreen and get higher 45w charging speed. Seeing how sensitive samsung batteries are - is it safe with reputable 3rd party chargers?
Or is it better not to risk it and buy ori 25w samsung charger? i see many youtube test on s22ultra that show minimal difference when charging with 25w vs 45w.
thanks!

This post has been edited by kitman: Feb 3 2023, 12:12 PM
kitman
post Feb 3 2023, 02:58 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Feb 3 2023, 12:12 PM)
I'm using ugreen gan charger for my S22U, so far no issues. Not bothered with the "45w" charging status. So far full charge from 10% around 1 hour.
Samsung haven't implement any proper fast charging like the China phones. The 45w charger and normal 25w charging very minimal difference. Shouldn't even be advertised as a feature imo
very true, kinda funny flagship phone have this kind of charging speed. anyway will look at ugreen gan charger since the ori samsung 25w charger cost that much already smile.gif
kitman
post Feb 3 2023, 03:07 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(jkche0520 @ Feb 3 2023, 01:53 PM)
Just to add on some comments on GaN charger recommendations. Not all chargers will support 45w even though it has >45w due to PPS compatibility.

Previously was discussed in S22 thread, there is quite a number of brands that support, such as Mcdodo and few more but I can't recall those brand.

But normal 25w charge speed is almost same as 45w.
Like difference in minutes.
Small knowledge :
Fast charging = 15w (charging logo is green)
SFC = 25w (charging logo is blueish green)
SFC 2.0 = 45w (charging logo is blueish green)
good infor - thanks!

i still feel it is dumb for samsung not to incl a charger with their phones. frankly buying phones from samsung or iphone is a poor experience compared to brand like xiaomi/honor/oppo etc. you have everything you need when you receive the phone - fast charger, usb cable, a simple case and factory installed screen protector. dont have to set aside additional budget to scout around and worse, getting suckered when buying overpriced casing and screen protector biggrin.gif .
kitman
post Feb 7 2023, 11:54 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Feb 7 2023, 10:33 AM)
Judging from the response and market condition, plus the fact those upgraded last year will most likely not upgrade, I doubt they can even sell 7900 units online.... let alone 14k units offline.

Let's see.
maybe will sell but after this initial batch will be minimal sale cos whoever wanted s23 would have bought it during this month.
kitman
post Feb 9 2023, 04:28 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Feb 9 2023, 04:16 PM)
XUNDD casing not ok for u?
XUNDD is good, i use them for all my phones and tablet. other brands like spigen are overrated and overpriced. for screen protector i plan to pop into samsung shop and see if they have stock - just a normal piece of plastic with some anti smudge chemical etc but sell at super high premium price... If no stock just buy high rating generic hydro film from lazada
kitman
post Feb 16 2023, 04:12 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 16 2023, 04:04 PM)
My S23 listed as "on the way". But all the other stuff like cable and charger and case etc are still "Preparing Order".
nevermind - based on samsung logic you have many many many many many many chargers around your house to use.

anyway i bought my charger from samsung lazada and receive it in 2days. not bad.

i just realised from youtube video yesterday that the usb cable in the box of the rm5k+ samsung galaxy s23 ultra is incompatible for 45w fast charging 2.0, for that you need to buy a new cable. haiyo doh.gif lucky i just got the low power 25w charger

This post has been edited by kitman: Feb 16 2023, 04:14 PM
kitman
post Feb 16 2023, 04:26 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(viking kong @ Feb 16 2023, 04:22 PM)
Meaning if we are insist to use the type-c cable tht came with S23ultra with 45W charger then the power output reduce to 25W?  bangwall.gif
i think so, i just got the infor fr here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xuhs_6QFCFk

but maybe some of the sifu here can enlighten biggrin.gif
kitman
post Feb 16 2023, 04:32 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Feb 16 2023, 04:27 PM)
i cant find any other cable other than 100W ones in samsung shop though..
dunno, i never had such problem with huawei, honor or xiaomi where the usb cable they gave is not up to what the phone can support. great job samsung haha.

i initially did thought of getting the 45w but finally decided to get the common 25w as the charging speed is only slightly faster and 45w way more pricy.
kitman
post Feb 16 2023, 04:35 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Osjh5 @ Feb 16 2023, 04:30 PM)
Nani! but i saw in the description, it says

Packaging Contents
Power Adapter, USB-C to USB-C 5A Cable, Quick Start Guide
Sorry, tried to print screen here, but i dont know how... it always appear as a link.
You all may check at the samsung official stores see see.

Look under Specifications - > packaging Contents
then that is great news, maybe its different cable for different market! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kitman: Feb 16 2023, 04:37 PM
kitman
post Feb 16 2023, 05:12 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Feb 16 2023, 05:09 PM)
Want to ask, if use 65w to charge the phone do u know if will spoil either the phone, powerbank or charger?

I hv super fast charge 25w samsung powerbank. Got 1 time borrow friend to charge her phone (normal charge one her phone). Then spoilt my power bank
Bye bye rm200
no expert on this but for me, i think best to use back same recommended chargers. i only use the charger that comes with all my device, this is the first time i need to buy a charger for a phone dry.gif
kitman
post Feb 23 2023, 10:58 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(x-frame @ Feb 23 2023, 09:45 AM)
Let's view it from actual track record. Xiaomi is doing 120W charging which is awesome and they did not have any battery issue before. Samsung had a battery issue which lead to a global recall. So on paper, Xiaomi is still better. Clean track record and better battery innovation. In the battery department, I would say Xiaomi is doing a much better job as compared to Samsung.

Dont get me wrong, I also bought S23U but we need to be honest to ourselves. Xiaomi deserve the credit in their battery department and they did a good job (So far, unless 1 explodes and did a global recall). Other departments, Samsung is better (Except price department)... lol
NGAM!!

Dont forget Xiaomi cost way less too.

PS: I also ordered the S23U
kitman
post Apr 20 2023, 11:18 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Apr 20 2023, 09:32 AM)
Don use cable come with phone
ya this is the most screw up part. LOL at samsung.

i moved from huawei mate 40pro to s23ultra. the mate 40pro charge at 66w fast charge out of the box - s23ultra cacat in this aspect.

also unlocking the mate 40pro was easy and quick via the finger print sensor plus the face unlock. the finger print sensor on s23ultra 25% of the time need to press 2x, both device got hydrogel screen protector and the s23pro already set to most sensitive.

This post has been edited by kitman: Apr 20 2023, 11:20 AM

0.3435sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:50 AM