Wisdom Tooth Removal in HKL, Interval?

TSshyan90's
post Jan 7 2023, 12:29 PM, updated 3y ago

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,200 posts

As topic, I have done my appointment in Titiwangsa KK and they have check my left wisdom and claim that since it is impacted, KK would not have the ability to extract it.
So they refer me to HKL instead.
My question is .... is anyone extract their wisdom tooth before in HKL and how long is the interval. My wisdom has cavity and sometime will feel sour but it usualy gone within few second.
I heard my friend which extract her can opted for General anesthesia in Hospital Kajang, would it be the same case in HKL?
MrBaba
post Jan 7 2023, 12:52 PM

2,506 posts

If can wait for gov specialist total cost will be less than 60rm
TSshyan90's
post Jan 7 2023, 12:55 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Jan 7 2023, 12:52 PM)
If can wait for gov specialist total cost will be less than 60rm
Ya, I getting my appointment @ end of this month. But I think they will check and OPG 1st until they come out the plan and date to extract it.. 100% will done it in Gov Specialist.. Dont really wanted to fork out 1k plus for removal..... I just wonder what is the waiting interval for HKL..

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Jan 7 2023, 12:56 PM
Lurker
post Jan 7 2023, 01:17 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

What about the one near kotaraya?
Moved to Pudu Sentral (bus station) now
TSshyan90's
post Jan 7 2023, 01:22 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 7 2023, 01:17 PM)
What about the one near kotaraya?
Moved to Pudu Sentral (bus station) now
That is KK right? For normal wisdom tooth they claim can extract...but mine are impacted...so KK cant do it at all.
MrBaba
post Jan 7 2023, 02:27 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jan 7 2023, 12:55 PM)
Ya, I getting my appointment @ end of this month. But I think they will check and OPG 1st until they come out the plan and date to extract it.. 100% will done it in Gov Specialist.. Dont really wanted to fork out 1k plus for removal..... I just wonder what is the waiting interval for HKL..
Depend on luck one
TSshyan90's
post Jan 7 2023, 02:34 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Jan 7 2023, 02:27 PM)
Depend on luck one
Ok thanks..Hope can be my turn..dont want drag too long..
1 more question, can we request General anaesthesia instead of local anaesthesia... Dont really want to stay awake while they "brutally" done something in my mouth....
MrBaba
post Jan 7 2023, 02:39 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jan 7 2023, 02:34 PM)
1 more question, can we request General anaesthesia instead of local anaesthesia... Dont really want to stay awake while they "brutally" done something in my mouth....
U can ask I think they won't layan u lol. The operation very fast one .
Hobbez
post Jan 7 2023, 02:40 PM

1,235 posts

Accept there is a risk when you go under general anaesthesia. There have been cases of people not waking up from it...i.e. dieded.

Go search it up. This is a risk you have to decide.
TSshyan90's
post Jan 7 2023, 03:01 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Jan 7 2023, 02:40 PM)
Accept there is a risk when you go under general anaesthesia. There have been cases of people not waking up from it...i.e. dieded.

Go search it up. This is a risk you have to decide.
Ya.. but still prefer general anaesthesia...see how doctor say 1st.. I did General Anaesthesia before while during my knee surgery in Government hospital...hope it is fine..

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Jan 7 2023, 02:39 PM)
U can ask I think they won't layan u lol. The operation very fast one .
Ok..try my best to get the answer... sad.gif Hope can la...
MrBaba
post Jan 7 2023, 03:21 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jan 7 2023, 03:01 PM)
Ya.. but still prefer general anaesthesia...see how doctor say 1st.. I did General Anaesthesia before while during my knee surgery in Government hospital...hope it is fine..
Ok..try my best to get the answer... sad.gif Hope can la...
U ask nicely lo who know u might get it .
SUSjoe_star
post Jan 7 2023, 04:44 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

It's fast, did both one shot took around 30 mins for the surgery. In and out tops 45 mins.

I don't think GH will layan anaesthesia request, unless you got cable

After surgery high chance your tongue nerves may be "bruised" and feel weird for couple months
TSshyan90's
post Jan 7 2023, 04:53 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Jan 7 2023, 04:44 PM)
It's fast, did both one shot took around 30 mins for the surgery. In and out tops 45 mins.

I don't think GH will layan anaesthesia request, unless you got cable

After surgery high chance your tongue nerves may be "bruised" and feel weird for couple months
No idea.. my colleague done her extraction in Hospital Kajang last year and she did get General Anaesthesia... Not sure how about my case..
I heard that if your Wisdom got nerves connected into 2nd molar dentist will "killed" that nerve 1st before continue extract your wisdom
SUSNew Klang
post Jan 7 2023, 05:24 PM

4,998 posts

Checking in. I have removed both my top wisdom teeth 20 years ago.

Now I am scheduled to remove my bottom tooth.
Tokik Siwok
post Jan 7 2023, 06:10 PM

312 posts

I have extracted my wisdom teeth on both sides at government hospital, total 4 teeth removed including top and bottom.
I did each side separately and both occasion also done with local anesthesia. I can tell you that you'll barely feel the pain during the procedure, except for the soreness from opening your mouth for too long during the surgery. If you suddenly feel increasing of pain during the procedure, you can request the the dentist to inject more anesthesia again.

You will be fine. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Tokik Siwok: Jan 7 2023, 06:11 PM
SUSskyblack4492
post Jan 7 2023, 06:40 PM

1,342 posts

Update us when done
Aaron212
post Jan 7 2023, 09:25 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jan 7 2023, 09:22 AM)
That is KK right? For normal wisdom tooth they claim can extract...but mine are impacted...so KK cant do it at all.
This is depending on the Klinik pergigian

U can try walk in another nearby KP and claim very pain n wanna check

Most KP in KV will do surgery in KP, unless difficult case then they will refer u to hosp

Even in hosp maybe not specialist do, just normal dental officer but with good skills

Based on ur symptoms better do it fast before the tooth in front of ur wisdom rot as well, then u will cry and wish u never had save that 1k

Many private clinics still can get RM800 for the surgery
TSshyan90's
post Jan 7 2023, 11:12 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(Tokik Siwok @ Jan 7 2023, 06:10 PM)
I have extracted my wisdom teeth on both sides at government hospital, total 4 teeth removed including top and bottom.
I did each side separately and both occasion also done with local anesthesia. I can tell you that you'll barely feel the pain during the procedure, except for the soreness from opening your mouth for too long during the surgery. If you suddenly feel increasing of pain during the procedure, you can request the the dentist to inject more anesthesia again.

You will be fine.  smile.gif
Any reason why remove 4 ya...all 4 has issue?? Some say better remove 4 but seems my top 2 is good condition... ><

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Jan 7 2023, 09:25 PM)
This is depending on the Klinik pergigian

U can try walk in another nearby KP and claim very pain n wanna check

Most KP in KV will do surgery in KP, unless difficult case then they will refer u to hosp

Even in hosp maybe not specialist do, just normal dental officer but with good skills

Based on ur symptoms better do it fast before the tooth in front of ur wisdom rot as well, then u will cry and wish u never had save that 1k

Many private clinics still can get RM800 for the surgery
I already went to KK near titiwangsa, they check and terus refer me to HKL.. They check say so far only Wisdom got issue but havent OPG so cant get the actual result. End of this month will went for OPG and till then have to wait ba..

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Jan 7 2023, 11:15 PM
Aaron212
post Jan 7 2023, 11:19 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jan 7 2023, 07:12 PM)
Any reason why remove 4 ya...all 4 has issue?? Some say better remove 4 but seems my top 2 is good condition... ><
I already went to KK near titiwangsa, they check and terus refer me to HKL.. They check say so far only Wisdom got issue but havent OPG so cant get the actual result. End of this month will went for OPG and till then have to wait ba..
Usually hosp waiting list for MOS wisdom tooth will take min 6 months?

U can try ur luck go other kp if they have small intraoral x ray also can proceed adi maybe within2 or 3 months u get to do adi if you are lucky

Please insist the dental officer to intro other Kp within ur area which is able to do MOS

Dont small small issue like this also refer hosp. Hosp is reserved for more severe cases like accident until face fractured or cancer cases
Tokik Siwok
post Jan 7 2023, 11:27 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jan 7 2023, 11:12 PM)
To prevent uneven bite in the future
TSshyan90's
post Jan 7 2023, 11:32 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Jan 7 2023, 11:19 PM)
Usually hosp waiting list for MOS wisdom tooth will take min 6 months?

U can try ur luck go other kp if they have small intraoral x ray also can proceed adi maybe within2 or 3 months u get to do adi if you are lucky

Please insist the dental officer to intro other Kp within ur area which is able to do MOS

Dont small small issue like this also refer hosp. Hosp is reserved for more severe cases like accident until face fractured or cancer cases
My friend who had her wisdom tooth remove in Hospital Kajang back in 2021 are waiting 6 month due to covid time...
I not really sure what is the waiting period in HKL......
So far I went for 2 KP...2 also bounce me to Hospital...

Sorry to ask but I saw you also dentist..you work for government or private already..?
Aaron212
post Jan 7 2023, 11:37 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jan 7 2023, 07:32 PM)
My friend who had her wisdom tooth remove in Hospital Kajang back in 2021 are waiting 6 month due to covid time...
I not really sure what is the waiting period in HKL......
So far I went for 2 KP...2 also bounce me to Hospital...

Sorry to ask but I saw you also dentist..you work for government or private already..?
Im in private

I know how the system works in gov

If really difficult case they will still refer u to Hosp, and if that particular KP not allowed to do mos surgery then u also will get refered

And another reason also is sometimes when u go consult u get a lazy dental officer. So u get refered also

Hosp waiting time too long. Who knows when ur appt for the surgery there will be another covid breakout then u have to line up again

Trust me, just go to another kp, eg KP puchong batu 14 and cry say very pain. They will check for u and do the surgery
TSshyan90's
post Jan 7 2023, 11:53 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Jan 7 2023, 11:37 PM)
Im in private

I know how the system works in gov

If really difficult case they will still refer u to Hosp, and if that particular KP not allowed to do mos surgery then u also will get refered

And another reason also is sometimes when u go consult u get a lazy dental officer. So u get refered also

Hosp waiting time too long. Who knows when ur appt for the surgery there will be another covid breakout then u have to line up again

Trust me, just go to another kp, eg KP puchong batu 14 and cry say very pain. They will check for u and do the surgery
Ok.. let me check for another KP again.. Normally can I request for General Anaesthesia during my extraction?? I mean does it allow in Government Hospital?
My refer letter like this...Mesioangular impacted...
Aaron212
post Jan 7 2023, 11:55 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jan 7 2023, 07:53 PM)
Ok.. let me check for another KP again.. Normally can I request for General Anaesthesia during my extraction?? I mean does it allow in Government Hospital?
My refer letter like this...Mesioangular impacted...
Mesioangular is the easiest. But can be varied depending on the depth of impaction

Why need GA? Dental phobia?
TSshyan90's
post Jan 8 2023, 12:11 AM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Jan 7 2023, 11:55 PM)
Mesioangular is the easiest. But can be varied depending on the depth of impaction

Why need GA? Dental phobia?
Ya... can say dental phobia..
amandamai
post Jan 8 2023, 04:37 AM

156 posts

from what i read of people's experience, patient can get GA for the surgery but they usually remove all 4 teeth at once. need to be warded for that. 3 days stay max i think if no complication.
but you said your other 2 teeth are okay. if they dowan to do GA for 2 teeth, then you remove all la before the good two be problematic in the future. Have they grown to their full size now? Just tell them it's hard to clean and you want to remove all.

waiting time. I don't know now. my experience was 12 years ago in HKL. i extracted two at KP. the other two in HKL. horizontals. one tooth at a time
Paradigmata
post Jan 8 2023, 08:28 AM

345 posts

Government hospital specialists are not that special

I regretted to have my wisdom teeth removed in government hospital.

It's just a training place for newbie.

My experience was, failed to extract my teeth in whole piece, split/glide down by another specialist when the first one gave up half way.
I am pretty sure some % remain inside when they sew up my gum

Better go for an established dentist if I had the money.
winkytoe
post Jan 8 2023, 09:03 AM

136 posts

Went for appointment on 14/9/2021. Scheduled to remove wisdom tooth on 1/3/2021

“URGENT” kek

TSshyan90's
post Jan 8 2023, 10:03 AM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(winkytoe @ Jan 8 2023, 09:03 AM)
Went for appointment on 14/9/2021. Scheduled to remove wisdom tooth on 1/3/2021

“URGENT” kek

HKL also ar? Got tell them the tooth is pain? OPG and discuss for surgery are done by same day??

QUOTE(amandamai @ Jan 8 2023, 04:37 AM)
from what i read of people's experience, patient can get GA for the surgery but they usually remove all 4 teeth at once. need to be warded for that. 3 days stay max i think if no complication.
but you said your other 2 teeth are okay. if they dowan to do GA for 2 teeth, then you remove all la before the good two be problematic in the future. Have they grown to their full size now? Just tell them  it's hard to clean and you want to remove all.

waiting time. I don't know now. my experience was 12 years ago in HKL. i extracted two at KP. the other two in HKL. horizontals. one tooth at a time
Upper one is fully grown. Only the lower kacau..

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Jan 8 2023, 08:28 AM)
Government hospital specialists are not that special

I regretted to have my wisdom teeth removed in government hospital.

It's just a training place for newbie.

My experience was, failed to extract my teeth in whole piece, split/glide down by another specialist when the first one gave up half way.
I am pretty sure some % remain inside when they sew up my gum

Better go for an established dentist if I had the money.
But after you done it hve any issue since then..?
I can say it really need depends your luck getting good doctor or not...My sister done in KP.. one side up and down. 1 impacted like mine. Doc take 30 min settle both and no pain at all.

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Jan 8 2023, 10:07 AM
TSshyan90's
post Jan 30 2023, 09:51 AM

1,200 posts

Today went for HKL.. 7.45 arrived.. straight ask me OPG.. wait another 20minute done OPG.. another 20 minute for dental explanation and etc..dental say GA need wait till July....end up I opted for LA which falls in early march.. but now a small problem that my wisdom "might" link to some of my nerve... need 3D scan on next week...😅 right side molar no issue.. left side might have sikit cavity but dental say no big deal until 3d scan only can check everything

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Jan 30 2023, 09:52 AM
hotNcool
post Jan 31 2023, 09:42 AM

212 posts

mine was an impacted wisdom tooth too, i booked a checking session at kk and so lucky i got rearranged because one of the patient didnt pick up the appointment call,
got me signed off some paper, and explained to me that tooth might cause numbness for month if anything happen because it was a bit close to the nerve underneath,
the little cut open operation was done by two intern doctor, and they were so efficient, it was painless although i had swallowed a painkiller afterward afraid of the extraction impacts!

at the night i was be able to eat some sushi and soft solid food dy, i expected it will be swollen soon but it occurred 3 day afterward.

anyway , it was a pleasant experience. I payed a total of 53rm i think including the registration fee and also the earlier check-up fee, save me a hundred bucks or even thousand

this is so senget one

This post has been edited by hotNcool: Jan 31 2023, 09:47 AM
TSshyan90's
post Feb 13 2023, 04:27 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(hotNcool @ Jan 31 2023, 09:42 AM)
mine was an impacted wisdom tooth too, i booked a checking session at kk and so lucky i got rearranged because one of the patient didnt pick up the appointment call,
got me signed off some paper, and explained to me that tooth might cause numbness for month if anything happen because it was a bit close to the nerve underneath,
the little cut open operation was done by two intern doctor, and they were so efficient, it was painless although i had swallowed a painkiller afterward afraid of the extraction impacts!

at the night i was be able to eat some sushi and soft solid food dy, i expected it will be swollen soon but it occurred 3 day afterward.

anyway , it was a pleasant experience. I payed a total of 53rm i think including the registration fee and also the earlier check-up fee, save me a hundred bucks or even thousand

this is so senget one
does it hurt the front tooth?
I done my detail CBCT scan and doc give the green light to go as it does not link to my nerve...so just wait the judgement day and see how after the operation done... btw already stock up some Oradex and hopefully it wont swollen as I need wear helmet leh..
CatVenger007
post Feb 13 2023, 05:00 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jan 30 2023, 10:51 AM)
Today went for HKL.. 7.45 arrived.. straight ask me OPG.. wait another 20minute done OPG.. another 20 minute for dental explanation and etc..dental say GA need wait till July....end up I opted for LA which falls in early march.. but now a small problem that my wisdom "might" link to some of my nerve... need 3D scan on next week...😅 right side molar no issue.. left side might have sikit cavity but dental say no big deal until 3d scan only can check everything
Huhhh, so fast?? Fren of mine done whole process in HKL for more than 4 hours thoo. For the next visit, she terus cancel and attend to private clinic.

Everything was fast and smooth but the price is exp kek. hmm.gif hmm.gif
TSshyan90's
post Feb 15 2023, 09:35 AM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(CatVenger007 @ Feb 13 2023, 05:00 PM)
Huhhh, so fast?? Fren of mine done whole process in HKL for more than 4 hours thoo. For the next visit, she terus cancel and attend to private clinic.

Everything was fast and smooth but the price is exp kek.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Depends.. I arrived in HKL on 7.30am... settle everything within 1 hour in 1st appointment.. my second appointment CBCT takes around 2 and half hour... 3rd terus operate.. however operation they mention that day got 4 people and I can arrived earlier even it has appointment time.All surgery are 1st come 1st serve.

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Feb 15 2023, 09:36 AM
CatVenger007
post Feb 15 2023, 12:23 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Feb 15 2023, 10:35 AM)
Depends.. I arrived in HKL on 7.30am... settle everything within 1 hour in 1st appointment.. my second appointment CBCT takes around 2 and half hour... 3rd terus operate.. however operation they mention that day got 4 people and I can arrived earlier even it has appointment time.All surgery are 1st come 1st serve.
My pren called to a private clinic to make an appointment, 1 day settle everything. And just nid to follow up on the status by 2 weeks once.

The pricing I guess HKL is more affordable than private clinic a lot. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
JohnL77
post Feb 15 2023, 01:03 PM

1,887 posts

Hoho... Last time I removed 8 teeth. 4 teeth on each side, 2 appointments.

The dentist damn fast. Cut open my gum then drill drill drill the wisdom tooth to break it into small pieces then pull out.

Local anesthesia.

I think I only paid RM1 or RM5? Wow nowadays RM50 at government hospital?

hotNcool
post Feb 15 2023, 04:15 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 15 2023, 01:03 PM)

The dentist damn fast. Cut open my gum then drill drill drill the wisdom tooth to break it into small pieces then pull out.

Local anesthesia.

different state different rate, penang here cost 4rm if stiches needed ? long lost memories with pain i tend to forget
TSshyan90's
post Feb 15 2023, 04:56 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 15 2023, 01:03 PM)

Local anesthesia.

1 to 5 ringgit is normal klinik pergigian... RM50 consider is Minor surgery and done in specialist.
JohnL77
post Feb 15 2023, 05:01 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Feb 15 2023, 04:56 PM)
1 to 5 ringgit is normal klinik pergigian... RM50 consider is Minor surgery and done in specialist.
The orthodontist at klinik pergigian wrote a referral letter for me to go to HKL to do surgery to remove wisdom teeth. They asked me general or local anesthesia? I said just local anesthesia la.
TSshyan90's
post Feb 15 2023, 05:22 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 15 2023, 05:01 PM)
The orthodontist at klinik pergigian  wrote a referral letter for me to go to HKL to do surgery to remove wisdom teeth. They asked me general or local anesthesia? I said just local anesthesia la.
Hmm..no idea..You done your wisdom in new building or the old building? Cause the new building there state is RM50(Surgery)+Rm5(Specialist Clinic charge).
Yeah..after consider awhile I opt for LA.. But I consider lucky as just need wait for less than 30 days til my turn.

JohnL77
post Feb 15 2023, 05:24 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Feb 15 2023, 05:22 PM)
Hmm..no idea..You done your wisdom in new building or the old building? Cause the new building there state is RM50(Surgery)+Rm5(Specialist Clinic charge).
Yeah..after consider awhile I opt for LA.. But I consider lucky as just need wait for less than 30 days til my turn.
Can't remember, long time ago. I think it was before they built that new specialist doctor building.

So you cabut your wisdom teeth already? How was it?
TSshyan90's
post Feb 15 2023, 05:50 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 15 2023, 05:24 PM)
Can't remember, long time ago. I think it was before they built that new specialist doctor building.

So you cabut your wisdom teeth already? How was it?
Early march... another 15 days to judgement day... Doc say is very easy job for them...But i still worry AF!
JohnL77
post Feb 16 2023, 01:33 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Feb 15 2023, 05:50 PM)
Early march... another 15 days to judgement day... Doc say is very easy job for them...But i still worry AF!
The dentist who did my surgery was very quick. But I don't think I had nerve issue like you.
TSshyan90's
post Feb 16 2023, 02:27 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Feb 16 2023, 01:33 AM)
The dentist who did my surgery was very quick. But I don't think I had nerve issue like you.
Maybe just preventative action.. Cause nerve side can be very huge issue and could lead to death..
JohnL77
post Feb 16 2023, 02:30 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Feb 16 2023, 02:27 PM)
Maybe just preventative action.. Cause nerve side can be very huge issue and could lead to death..
I think the doctor's are good enough to check since they let you know beforehand. All the best with your surgery.

Last year also I did gum transplant and the doctor let me know that some areas cannot do transplant because got vital nerves there. I think they are careful enough.
TSshyan90's
post Mar 1 2023, 12:42 PM

1,200 posts

Just done.. what i can say...pain like hell...
At 1st she give me few jab of anaesthesia... still fine when she done the 1st few process...then during she drill my teeth root it pain / sensitive like shit...end up she give me another 1 or 2 jab to stop the pain....my body like lost conscious for a while then coming back from hell after the extra jab....not a good experience but it done at last.

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Mar 1 2023, 12:43 PM
TSshyan90's
post May 11 2023, 03:44 PM

1,200 posts

In this day, my lower wisdom finally gone forever.. done GA in HKL. Total damage Rm53.. Compare to LA more damage has made as need insert breathing tube in my airway... good thing is painless during the whole process...(Basically still suffer same after wake up..However because due to Surgeon skill better, I can eat some soft bread(Mandatory if I need get out from day care) and porridge on today.. Previously I only can eat liquified oatmeal in 2 days straight and day 3 only able eat porridge.)

This post has been edited by shyan90's: May 11 2023, 10:14 PM

0.0309sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:56 PM