Any of you use other car brand's engine oil?, Nissan for Honda, Toyota for Nissan, etc

TS27needles
post Jan 5 2023, 10:16 PM, updated 3y ago

221 posts

Have any of you used other car brand's engine oil for your different car brand before?

I'm tempted to save some budget, and get maybe the slightly cheaper Nissan, or Toyota (same viscosity)'s engine oil, for my Honda Jazz GK3.

I read online that, these oils are usually from the same source/factory, they just package the oil into different packaging for different car brands .

Reason why I ask is because, I actually did try the Mitsubishi engine oil in my last oil change, on my Honda Jazz. And my butt thought it felt my Jazz's performance became weird , and had some weird acceleration feeling.. Not sure my butt is just confused or what.

Any of you have any experience? or advice against doing so?

If you wish to flame / shoot me for thinking too much - please feel free to do so ya . 🙏 I want to learn the truth. Enlighten me!! smile.gif
cempedaklife
post Jan 5 2023, 10:40 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

Yes. Im using aisin on my city now.
Chrix
post Jan 5 2023, 10:59 PM

1,188 posts

Yes, as long viscosity within acceptable then ok.

I've never used manufacturer labelled engine oil in any of my cars
SleeplessEyes
post Jan 5 2023, 11:21 PM

2,429 posts

Car manufacturers / brands do not manufacture the oil themselves.

Take Example Honda - They engage Idemitsu as their OEM oil supplier. Please correct me if I am outdated.
Nissan - I heard / read that they are using Shell.
Perodua - Petronas confirmed.

Right now I am using Mizu. Its a really good budget fully synthetic oil. Certified with genuine API . Not some recycled oil. Can buy straight from their Shopee / Lazada shop.

Only if your car is a conti car, then yes, its abit fussy. i.e VW must follow VW engine oil specs.
Merc follow Merc oil specs.
eddievh
post Jan 5 2023, 11:55 PM

3,219 posts

Right now I'm using mizu 0w20w for my 10years old car. Butt dyno feeling very good.
ktek
post Jan 6 2023, 10:34 AM

小喇叭
13,220 posts

oil just oil. wrong grade also use it.
if detect trouble u cannot open vtech. replace earlier lo
RigerZ
post Jan 6 2023, 10:00 PM

On the way on the way
1,020 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jan 5 2023, 11:21 PM)
Only if your car is a conti car, then yes, its abit fussy. i.e VW must follow VW engine oil specs.
What other oil specs do conti cars need to follow besides viscosity and API rating?
ktek
post Jan 7 2023, 07:28 AM

小喇叭
13,220 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Jan 6 2023, 10:00 PM)
What other oil specs do conti cars need to follow besides viscosity and API rating?
lifespan interval. match equal or more than computer preset reminder
SleeplessEyes
post Jan 7 2023, 11:31 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Jan 6 2023, 10:00 PM)
Hi Riger,
I will quote a few specs as example below. There are several specs for each car manufacturer.

VW 508.00/509.00
This specification combo (508.00 for petrol, 509.00 for diesel) requires a 0W20 viscosity, fuel economy oil with long life additives. These specifications are NOT backward compatible with the eariler VW specifications. Recommended for the new 2.0 TFSI 140 kW and 3.0 TDI CR 160 kW VW/Audi engines.

Source: https://www.oilspecifications.org/volkswagen.php

For Merc
MB 229.52
Oils meeting this specifications must have lower ash content, at least 1% better fuel economy compared to the requirements of MB 229.31 and MB 229.51 and better oxidation stability for biofuel compatibility. Can also be used where an MB 229.31 or an MB 229.51 oil is required. Just like MB 229.5 and MB 229.51 this spec requires a long life oil.

Source: https://www.oilspecifications.org/mercedes_mb.php

For BMW:
BMW Longlife-14+ (BMW LL-14+)
Special motor oil for the following gasoline engines only: N20, Bx8 from model year 2014. Not allowed for diesel engines.

https://www.oilspecifications.org/bmw.php

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jan 7 2023, 11:31 AM
RigerZ
post Jan 7 2023, 02:57 PM

On the way on the way
1,020 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 7 2023, 07:28 AM)
lifespan interval. match equal or more than computer preset reminder
And where can we find this specification information?

This post has been edited by RigerZ: Jan 7 2023, 02:59 PM
linkinstreet
post Jan 7 2023, 08:33 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jan 7 2023, 11:31 AM)
Hi Riger,
I will quote a few specs as example below. There are several specs for each car manufacturer.

VW 508.00/509.00
This specification combo (508.00 for petrol, 509.00 for diesel) requires a 0W20 viscosity, fuel economy oil with long life additives. These specifications are NOT backward compatible with the eariler VW specifications. Recommended for the new 2.0 TFSI 140 kW and 3.0 TDI CR 160 kW VW/Audi engines.

Source: https://www.oilspecifications.org/volkswagen.php

For Merc
MB 229.52
Oils meeting this specifications must have lower ash content, at least 1% better fuel economy compared to the requirements of MB 229.31 and MB 229.51 and better oxidation stability for biofuel compatibility. Can also be used where an MB 229.31 or an MB 229.51 oil is required. Just like MB 229.5 and MB 229.51 this spec requires a long life oil.

Source: https://www.oilspecifications.org/mercedes_mb.php

For BMW:
BMW Longlife-14+ (BMW LL-14+)
Special motor oil for the following gasoline engines only: N20, Bx8 from model year 2014. Not allowed for diesel engines.

https://www.oilspecifications.org/bmw.php
Mercedes's engine oil are now just rebadged Petronas

RigerZ
post Jan 7 2023, 10:01 PM

On the way on the way
1,020 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jan 7 2023, 08:33 PM)

Car manufacturers never made in-house engine oils to begin with innocent.gif

SleeplessEyes
post Jan 7 2023, 11:27 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jan 7 2023, 08:33 PM)

I wouldnt call it rebadge. Its because its known fact that Petronas is their official sponsor and partnership for their Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team
Just like Shell and Ferrari partnership.
DupeIkan
post Jan 9 2023, 12:06 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jan 5 2023, 11:21 PM)
Car manufacturers / brands do not manufacture the oil themselves.

Take Example Honda - They engage Idemitsu as their OEM oil supplier. Please correct me if I am outdated.
Nissan - I heard / read that they are using Shell.
Perodua - Petronas confirmed.

Right now I am using Mizu. Its a really good budget fully synthetic oil. Certified with genuine API . Not some recycled oil. Can buy straight from their Shopee / Lazada shop.

Nissan used to be Total, now by castrol iinm for semi-syn

minoru89
post Jan 11 2023, 07:20 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jan 7 2023, 11:27 PM)
I wouldnt call it rebadge. Its because its known fact that Petronas is their official sponsor and partnership for their Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team
Just like Shell and Ferrari partnership.
Yes not rebadge, as the R&D is made by Petronas. Unlike old Proton case rebadge mitsubishi
prokiller1199
post Jan 11 2023, 10:50 PM

Hi there.
966 posts

Toyota use which brand oil?

Never heard of this brand before but my mechanic don't know go where import. They say it's a good brand. Keep promoting.
https://thebeast.quv.kr/13 5W-40

This post has been edited by prokiller1199: Jan 11 2023, 10:51 PM
DupeIkan
post Jan 12 2023, 07:33 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Jan 11 2023, 10:50 PM)
Toyota use which brand oil?

Never heard of this brand before but my mechanic don't know go where import. They say it's a good brand. Keep promoting.
https://thebeast.quv.kr/13 5W-40
Promote cos get cut lor
teslaman
post Jan 12 2023, 07:36 AM

1,154 posts

QUOTE(27needles @ Jan 5 2023, 10:16 PM)
Have any of you used other car brand's engine oil for your different car brand before?

I'm tempted to save some budget, and get maybe the slightly cheaper Nissan, or Toyota (same viscosity)'s engine oil, for my Honda Jazz GK3.

I read online that, these oils are usually from the same source/factory, they just package the oil into different packaging for different car brands .

Reason why I ask is because, I actually did try the Mitsubishi engine oil in my last oil change, on my Honda Jazz. And my butt thought it felt my Jazz's performance became weird , and had some weird acceleration feeling.. Not sure my butt is just confused or what.

Any of you have any experience? or advice against doing so?

If you wish to flame / shoot me for thinking too much - please feel free to do so ya . 🙏 I want to learn the truth. Enlighten me!!  smile.gif
Change back the oil
ayamxxx
post Jan 12 2023, 10:22 AM

4,068 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Jan 5 2023, 11:55 PM)
Right now I'm  using mizu 0w20w for my 10years old car. Butt dyno feeling very good.
Same on 2015 Accord. Best bang for money
abubin
post Jan 13 2023, 04:35 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 12 2023, 10:22 AM)
Same on 2015 Accord. Best bang for money
Mizu oil doesn't last long. After 5000km, can feel it's a bit rough already. For the price, it is good enough.

I use mizu for doing engine oil flushing...LOL.

0.0315sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:51 PM