Dear HR/ Legal expert
My company changed my service notice period in the confirmation letter against the offer letter. Is this legal?
thanks in advance
Looking for legal advice
Dec 30 2022, 08:27 PM, updated 3y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
57 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Dear HR/ Legal expert
My company changed my service notice period in the confirmation letter against the offer letter. Is this legal? thanks in advance |
Dec 30 2022, 08:41 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,303 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
you need to bring this up directly to the HR...could be a typo but who knows, best to seek clarification.
Dec 30 2022, 08:44 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,962 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
QUOTE(natedrake @ Dec 30 2022, 08:27 PM) Dear HR/ Legal expert Can u be more specific please?My company changed my service notice period in the confirmation letter against the offer letter. Is this legal? thanks in advance As we all know during probation period notice period usually is 24hours whilst for permanent position varies from 30-120days. |
Dec 30 2022, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 30 2022, 08:44 PM) Can u be more specific please? in the employment letter the service notice after confirmation is one month but when the confirmation letter issued it is now 3 months.As we all know during probation period notice period usually is 24hours whilst for permanent position varies from 30-120days. |
Dec 30 2022, 08:49 PM
Dec 30 2022, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(natedrake @ Dec 30 2022, 08:48 PM) in the employment letter the service notice after confirmation is one month but when the confirmation letter issued it is now 3 months. QUOTE(natedrake @ Dec 30 2022, 08:49 PM) What position may i ask?U have 2 choices either accept or leave. Although u can accept but later still leave after 1 month notice period and i doubt they would take legal actions against u. U can go fight for 1 month even and if u win u still lose coz relationship already sour u think u still got bright future there? This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Dec 30 2022, 08:55 PM |
Dec 30 2022, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 30 2022, 08:53 PM) What position may i ask? Thanks, it was just issued without any acceptance or my acknowledgement.U have 2 choices either accept or leave. Although u can accept but later still leave after 1 month notice period and i doubt they would take legal actions against u. |
Dec 30 2022, 09:09 PM
service notice period after confirmation actually works both ways, is either you like it or you don't, nothing in between.
Bad is dragging to work and trying to complete the day for the next 3 months can take a toll on your body, mind and soul. Good is you have sufficient time to plan especially for senior positions. Rule of thumb, non-exec and exec role - 1 month, senior and manager role - 3 months. |
Dec 30 2022, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(metalfire @ Dec 30 2022, 09:09 PM) service notice period after confirmation actually works both ways, is either you like it or you don't, nothing in between. yeah i have no issue except the way they changed my terms without consent is dissappointing.Bad is dragging to work and trying to complete the day for the next 3 months can take a toll on your body, mind and soul. Good is you have sufficient time to plan especially for senior positions. Rule of thumb, non-exec and exec role - 1 month, senior and manager role - 3 months. |
Dec 30 2022, 09:14 PM
Dec 30 2022, 09:17 PM
Dec 30 2022, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(natedrake @ Dec 30 2022, 09:13 PM) QUOTE(metalfire @ Dec 30 2022, 09:14 PM) QUOTE(natedrake @ Dec 30 2022, 09:17 PM) Technically u havent signed the letter right?And its not wrong for company to restructure/change their rules/operations from time to time. Perhaps they realized 1 month is not enough for handover job to new employee? Imagine u tell HR u want to resign and tomorrow HR hire new employee to takeover ur position meh? All in all if u think not fair then go ask for reason. Accept if u can, else bid goodbye. |
| Change to: | 0.0160sec
5 queries
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:52 AM |