Xiaomi Redmi Note12/13/14/15 | POCO X5/X6/X7/X8 Series, The new (rebadged) SPEED-cies

real_cranium
post May 7 2023, 03:47 PM

64 posts

Sifus, how does the RN12PP / F5 / F5P compared to Pixel 6A?
real_cranium
post May 7 2023, 04:52 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ May 7 2023, 04:25 PM)
Pixel 6A
Pros
- Best Camera for under RM3000 (Subjective because Pixel Camera Software is best for many with Pixel Magic Eraser and other Pixel features)
- Smooth Pixel Software
Cons
- Poor battery life, slow charging, Charger not included in box
- 60Hz OLED
- Bad Internet Connectivity, poor support of 5G and WiFi bands in Malaysia
- In Display fingerprint scanner
- Tensor G1 is moderately below average speed and heats up easily
-No Malaysia warranty
- No wireless charging

RN12PP
Pros
-Worse camera than 6A, but better than F5, F5P
-Side physical fingerprint scanner
-120Hz OLED
- Great battery life, 120W fast charger in box
- Great Connectivity support in Malaysia
Cons
- Slow Dimensity 1080, slower than Tensor
- RRP RM1599 is too high priced, this phone, imo RM1099 is better price

Poco F5 and F5 Pro
Pros
-Side Fingerprint scanner
-Fast Performance with Snapdragon 7+ Gen 2 ane 8+ Gen 1, which means phone still smooth operation after 2 years of use (faster than Tensor and Dimensity 1080)
-Great battery life, fast charging (F5 Pro has 30W wireless charging if you like it)
-Great Connectivity options in Malaysia
- Xiaomi Service Centres available in Malaysia for Warranty
Cons
- Camera is worst of the 4, but still 64MP OIS sensor is acceptable for decent daylight photos

Recommendation
Poco F5 > Poco F5 Pro > Redmi Note 12 PP > Pixel 6A

Reason for Pixel ranked low is because ownership of Pixel in Malaysia very troublesome compared to official markets where Pixel is sold in, since no warranty in Malaysia. And F5 Pro is lower than F5 because specs very similar and F5 Pro not worth spending extra money compared to F5.

If you are a Pixel fan, Pixel 6A is a good entry level phone to experience Pixel software magic for their camera, but not good for a daily driver in Malaysia.
My Poco F3 just died after less than 2 years. Most prolly Main Board issue. Very reluctant to buy another Poco (& Redmi too I supposed). The Pixel 6A heating up issue is a great concern though. Pixel 6A also is not snappy enough compared to Poco F3 IMO. I guess Samsung A54 should be a good candidate then?
real_cranium
post May 8 2023, 09:53 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ May 7 2023, 08:58 PM)
Welp, that's sad, motherboard issues is common for all Xiaomi phones, whether it be Xiaomi, Poco and Redmi.

My family uses Xiaomi phones (Redmi, Poco, Xiaomi as well), and personally the best experience we had with Xiaomi was their T series. My sister's Mi 10T motherboard also broke after one year, but Xiaomi just upgraded her phone directly to a Xiaomi 11T since the phone was still under the 2 year warranty there was no stock of Mi 10T motherboard.

Another reason I also recommend the T series from Xiaomi, is because Xiaomi Malaysia offers 2 years warranty for all T series smartphones, compared to conventional 1 year warranty for Poco and Redmi phones. Also both Xiaomi 11T and 12T series are promised at least 3 major Android updates and 4 years of security updates.

Xiaomi 11T Pro should be avoided due to heating issues of the Snapdragon 888, and Xiaomi 12T Pro is kinda around RM2200-RM2500 price range, which is too expensive imo.

My recommendation for Xiaomi phones is as follows since your phone died recently.

1. Xiaomi 11T
2. Xiaomi 12T (go for this if you can find it under RM1500),
3. Xiaomi 12T Pro
4. Poco X5 Pro (though this one is only 1 year warranty, and only recommend if your budget is too tight)

Xiaomi 11T 256GB (RM1325 after discount) https://s.lazada.com.my/s.5rqi9

The upcoming Poco F5 could be cheaper than Xiaomi 11T, but a small comparison between F5 I did below for your reference.

Performance: F5 (Snapdragon 7+ Gen 2) better than 11T (Dimensity 1200)
Storage: Both are 256GB
Camera: F5 has inferior sensor with OIS, 11T has better sensor without OIS
Screen: Both are 120Hz FHD+ OLED
Build quality: 11T has Aluminium frame+Glass back > F5 is plastic frame+plastic back
Battery: Same 5000mAh with 67W charger included in box
Warranty: 11T (2 Year) > F5 (1 Year)
Price: F5 early bird pricing expected to be RM1499 for 8GB+256GB version, meanwhile Xiaomi 11T 8GB+256GB current lowest price that can be found is RM1325 for new set

Anyways, F5 pre-orders could take until next month June for shipping, if you need a phone right now, then buy the best phone that is ready stock
I used Redmi K20 / Mi 9T immediately before the Poco F3. The 9T also died on me with possible charging port issue. Hence the hesitance of buying yet another Redmi, Poco, Xiaomi. I used to love my Redmi Note 3 though. I humbly thank you for your extensive replies.

0.0364sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:03 AM