Rent out or sell it, fully renovated house

TSBboyDora
post Dec 28 2022, 07:33 PM, updated 3y ago

2,368 posts

Hi all,

would like to get some insights from all the expert here. Im in dilemma now.

my current house is fully renovated which i spend quite a large sum of money in it. ( fully extension from and back / plaster ceiling / new gates / new tiles etc etc...)

My situation
i bought a new house and now thinking wanna to rent or sell it. Why im dilemma because i initially plan to inherit it to my kid in future.
so if i rent it out, I worry the tenant will "destroy" it as I cannot expect the tenant will take good care as I do. the cost of repairing will be cost a bomb later. i dont have any experience to rent out as this is my 1st property.

Plus, the rental is base on "fully furnished" or "non furnished". Not so sure about renovated or non renovated. Thats why base of my noob understanding, cant rent for high price also. ( i might be wrong)

If i leave it vacant, waste also as it doesnt generate income.

So, if I plan to sell it, i believe can get a good price. If i sell it , i dont think i can afford to buy a similar property to my kid in future. ( please dont blast me "why you need to buy for your kid. Let them buy themselves in future. Dont spoil your kid, dont create strawberry generation , dont spoon feed your kid till adults..... etc etc). laugh.gif laugh.gif

thank you.

whyseej00
post Dec 28 2022, 07:51 PM

731 posts

Market isn't great to sell
Renting out will definitely create wear and tear to your house

I would choose to rent it out. As it generates cashflow. Impose a higher deposit and weed out problematic renters to reduce damage to your prop
lonely66
post Dec 28 2022, 07:58 PM

595 posts

actually is not easy to rent or sell in this time, why not just post it rent or sell and which ever comes first brows.gif
MAC5
post Dec 28 2022, 08:00 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Dec 28 2022, 07:33 PM)
Hi all,

my current house is fully renovated which i spend quite a large sum of money in it. ( fully extension from and back / plaster ceiling / new gates / new tiles etc etc...)

My situation
i bought a new house and now thinking wanna to rent or sell it. Why im dilemma because i initially plan to inherit it to my kid in future.
so if i rent it out, I worry the tenant will "destroy" it as I cannot expect the tenant will take good care as I do. the cost of repairing will be cost a bomb later. i dont have any experience to rent out as this is my 1st property.

Plus, the rental is base on "fully furnished" or "non furnished". Not so sure about renovated or non renovated. Thats why base of my noob understanding, cant rent for high price also. ( i might be wrong)

So, if I plan to sell it, i believe can get a good price. If i sell it ,  i dont think i can afford to buy a similar property to my kid in future. ( please dont blast me "why you need to buy for your kid. Let them buy themselves in future. Dont spoil your kid, dont create strawberry generation , dont spoon feed your kid till adults..... etc etc).  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
thank you.
where is your location by the way? different location different strategy..
ManutdGiggs
post Dec 28 2022, 08:09 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Dec 28 2022, 07:33 PM)
Hi all,

My situation

So, if I plan to sell it, i believe can get a good price. If i sell it ,  i dont think i can afford to buy a similar property to my kid in future. ( please dont blast me "why you need to buy for your kid. Let them buy themselves in future. Dont spoil your kid, dont create strawberry generation , dont spoon feed your kid till adults..... etc etc).  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
thank you.
So ur current house is a landed. It won't generate gd roi regardless u r renting out with or without furnishing. U won't necessarily get a bad tenant n yes in malai u c more irresponsible tenants around.

I would say rent it but hunt down ur tenant slowly. No one ll guarantee u a gd tenants. Even the tenant won't say they r bad to u.

Just for sharing, I hav frenz renting their landed to the same tenant for more than 10yrs in kd n ttdi without having any issue. 1 of them offered to paint the whole house after 10trs as a token of appreciation at the same time to upkeep his house. Another fren sending hampers to tenant every yr, by hand.

On the other hand oso hav fren houses got destroyed n really spent a fortune for refurbishment.

Rental game is tricky. When u r lucky u get a gd one for many yrs. If unlucky then need to fight to evict just few mths after renting the house out.

To keep yes as u said in future maybe hard to get. To sell oso it's not a definite answer u won't get a beta wan elsewhere. Or u r very certain ur kid ll liv the old house or ll stay put in malai for long???

M2c

TSBboyDora
post Dec 28 2022, 08:30 PM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Dec 28 2022, 07:51 PM)
Market isn't great to sell
Renting out will definitely create wear and tear to your house

I would choose to rent it out. As it generates cashflow. Impose a higher deposit and weed out problematic renters to reduce damage to your prop
higher deposit,,....mmm....good idea. thank you.
previously got offer...but the price too low. the person offer me the price for basic units around my neighbourhood... so i decline
TSBboyDora
post Dec 28 2022, 08:34 PM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Dec 28 2022, 08:09 PM)
So ur current house is a landed. It won't generate gd roi regardless u r renting out with or without furnishing. U won't necessarily get a bad tenant n yes in malai u c more irresponsible tenants around.

I would say rent it but hunt down ur tenant slowly. No one ll guarantee u a gd tenants. Even the tenant won't say they r bad to u.

Just for sharing, I hav frenz renting their landed to the same tenant for more than 10yrs in kd n ttdi without having any issue.  1 of them offered to paint the whole house after 10trs as a token of appreciation at the same time to upkeep his house. Another fren sending hampers to tenant every yr, by hand.

On the other hand oso hav fren houses got destroyed n really spent a fortune for refurbishment.

Rental game is tricky. When u r lucky u get a gd one for many yrs. If unlucky then need to fight to evict just few mths after renting the house out.

To keep yes as u said in future maybe hard to get. To sell oso it's not a definite answer u won't get a beta wan elsewhere. Or u r very certain ur kid ll liv the old house or ll stay put in malai for long???

M2c
thats the reason i dilemma. just like gambling, get bad tenants headache.... sell also headache.... dont sell also headache...

what i see at those rental property are those investor who buy and then "little bit refurbish" . but mine ady spend a lot in in. If tenants destroy it, waste lot of money.
TSBboyDora
post Dec 28 2022, 08:35 PM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(lonely66 @ Dec 28 2022, 07:58 PM)
actually is not easy to rent or sell in this time, why not just post it rent or sell and which ever comes first  brows.gif
got offer, both rent and sell

Sell: too low.

rent : didnt take renovated unit as a consideration. same rental as those basic units at the neighbour hood/

both also decline. cz im still staying in this house.
TSBboyDora
post Dec 28 2022, 08:36 PM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(MAC5 @ Dec 28 2022, 08:00 PM)
where is your location by the way? different location different strategy..
old old old housing area. not prime area like mont kiara, damansara, PJ etc etc etc
mini orchard
post Dec 28 2022, 08:49 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Dec 28 2022, 08:36 PM)
old old old housing area. not prime area like mont kiara, damansara, PJ etc etc etc
How far is both houses to each other? What is nice or good about the area ? Cant you mention just the Taman name ?

Is your spouse working fulltime ?

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Dec 28 2022, 08:49 PM
mousqy
post Dec 28 2022, 08:52 PM

758 posts

its a liability later headache maintaining it and your renter drama

imho and nfa better you take money invest and gip money to kid

Noryume
post Dec 28 2022, 09:01 PM

931 posts

Why not rent the new house?
Aldo-Kirosu
post Dec 29 2022, 01:57 AM

662 posts

Heavy fully renovated house for sale? Please check the bank value is it available to cover your desired let it go price. As your knowledge bank not lend money for furniture and id etc. It only boost 10% the from the market value compare to non renovate House surrounding (some bank).

If for rent, you need to learn and customised a very special tenancy agreement (don't simply use a sample). Not only imposed the higher deposit, in the tenancy agreement need to take all the furniture and renovation picture clearly stated in the agreement, add on the maintenance requirement, for example. Every year need to service the air con, or any yearly maintenance are doing by yourself for that house also. I can imagine the tenancy agreement will be like 20 or 30 page of inventory check list.

By doing this (strict tenancy agreement) then it will be not easy to rental out your unit. So. Need patient to find a good tenant ( whole family category).

Even the roi may not optimal. But don't waste it.
SUSEast is Rich
post Dec 29 2022, 05:32 AM

125 posts

Rent out to friends family members close relatives. Nowadays lots of buy sell property scams
mini orchard
post Dec 29 2022, 07:08 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(East is Rich @ Dec 29 2022, 05:32 AM)
Rent out to friends family members close relatives. Nowadays lots of buy sell property scams
Avoid, unless prepared to 'fight' till grave.

And how are owners going to sell their properties if they worry about buy sell scams ?
wilson1149
post Dec 29 2022, 10:05 AM

508 posts

Can sell/rent but dont expect with good price.

Unless lucky meet a buyer who aiming your area.
TSBboyDora
post Dec 29 2022, 10:56 AM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Dec 28 2022, 08:49 PM)
How far is both houses to each other? What is nice or good about the area ? Cant you mention just the Taman name ?

Is your spouse working fulltime ?
Serdang.

Both houses not that really far. not like in Semenyih biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

"What is nice or good about the area ?" --> just mature area where you can get anything with walking distance. Clinic, grocery shops, makan place. suitable with family with kids.

This post has been edited by BboyDora: Dec 29 2022, 11:10 AM
TSBboyDora
post Dec 29 2022, 10:57 AM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(mousqy @ Dec 28 2022, 08:52 PM)
its a liability later headache maintaining it and your renter drama

imho and nfa better you take money invest and gip money to kid
money will depreciate thorugh time. Im bad in investment . Crypto burn until "mother cant recognise" also.

TSBboyDora
post Dec 29 2022, 10:58 AM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(Noryume @ Dec 28 2022, 09:01 PM)
Why not rent the new house?
It's a subsale house. not new. got tenant live before . need renovate also only can stay in.
TSBboyDora
post Dec 29 2022, 11:03 AM

2,368 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Dec 29 2022, 01:57 AM)
Heavy fully renovated house for sale? Please check the bank value is it available to cover your desired let it go price. As your knowledge bank not lend money for furniture and id etc. It only boost 10% the from the market value compare to non renovate House surrounding (some bank).

If for rent, you need to learn and customised a very special tenancy agreement (don't simply use a sample). Not only imposed the higher deposit, in the tenancy agreement need to take all the furniture and renovation picture clearly stated in the agreement, add on the maintenance requirement, for example. Every year need to service the air con, or any yearly maintenance are doing by yourself for that house also. I can imagine the tenancy agreement will be like 20 or 30 page of inventory check list.

By doing this (strict tenancy agreement) then it will be not easy to rental out your unit. So. Need patient to find a good tenant ( whole family category).

Even the roi may not optimal. But don't waste it.
thank you very much for your advice. I will definitely take not on that. Take picture for every part...great suggestions. That's why my tenant that im loooking for will be very niche...only family. Cannot rent to those youngster or students. thats why i dilemma... sell also headache...dun sell also headache.

ROI not optimal doesnt really matter as this house ady fully paid. (you can see in EPF thread) I use all EPF money dump into it.
Just worry tenant "destroy" my fully renovated designed house.

0.0193sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:29 PM