Can i travel during passport renewal ?, I need to travel from sg to malaysia.

TSEdlois
post Dec 22 2022, 05:04 PM, updated 3y ago

28 posts

Hi guys bangwall.gif

I Recently had a emergency and needed to travel to johor.

However i just applied for passport renewal via online.

So my question is can i use my current passport to go back to Malaysia while my passport renewal application is being process.

i had called few places. some said can no problem, some say after the application my old passport is invalid. rclxub.gif
destee88
post Dec 22 2022, 05:13 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(Edlois @ Dec 22 2022, 05:04 PM)
Hi guys  bangwall.gif

So my question is can i use my current passport to go back to Malaysia while my passport renewal application is being process.

i had called few places. some said can no problem, some say after the application my old passport is invalid. rclxub.gif
i think u should go ask at immigrant malaysia
mini orchard
post Dec 22 2022, 05:17 PM

14,511 posts

Hi guys  bangwall.gif

When a valid passport is with the holder, is consider good for travel. Renewal process dont invalidate it.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Dec 22 2022, 05:19 PM
omnimech
post Dec 22 2022, 05:18 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

As long as they dont cut your old passport. it is still valid as long as the date is still valid.

just travel. its not invalid until you physically go and collect your new passport.
nobrainer86

65 posts

Hi guys  bangwall.gif

Until they cut your current passport when handing over the new passport, your passport is valid

Of course assuming your current passport date is not expired. Bring along your proof that you have applied new passport in case it's within 6 months of expiry for re-entry

Source: own experience living working overseas where passport is frequently used and wait time for new passport is months

This post has been edited by nobrainer86: Dec 22 2022, 05:19 PM
TSEdlois

28 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Dec 22 2022, 05:13 PM)
i think u should go ask at immigrant malaysia
i did called them,

Immigration office said
They said as long as my current passport is still valid i can use it.

MyGCC
They said once i had applied for the application. During these period my current passport is not valid.
mini orchard
post Dec 22 2022, 05:22 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Edlois @ Dec 22 2022, 05:18 PM)
i did called them,

Immigration office said
They said as long as my current passport is still valid i can use it.

MyGCC
They said once i had applied for the application. During these period my current passport is not valid.
Provided it has a validity period of minimum 6 months
TSEdlois
post Dec 22 2022, 06:02 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Dec 22 2022, 05:22 PM)
Provided it has a validity period of minimum 6 months
For re-entry back to singapore, i called ICA office already they said As for Malaysian Workers, as long as your Work Pass and Employment Pass, etc. is still valid. you can re-entry Singapore. Provided that your passport is still valid.

since my passport is just shy of less than 6 month when i re-enter SG. shouldn't be a problem
TSEdlois
post Dec 22 2022, 06:04 PM

28 posts

Thanks alot guys. i guess i can travel between borders with a peace of mind liao

0.0152sec    1.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:03 PM