Q&A Experience buying from cdjapan co?, Shipping time, do we get tax?

TSwidesky867
post Dec 21 2022, 08:44 AM, updated 3y ago

46 posts

Hey all,

I plan to buy some game osts from this website https://www.cdjapan.co.jp/.

Has anyone purchased from them before and shipped their order to Malaysia? I'm worried of being taxed by Malaysia side.

FYI, my cart won't be more than 600RM total.

Marcion
post Dec 21 2022, 08:56 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(widesky867 @ Dec 21 2022, 09:44 AM)
Hey all,

Has anyone purchased from them before and shipped their order to Malaysia? I'm worried of being taxed by Malaysia side.

Well for my experience, they have no problem sending item to Malaysia, the problem is when reach kastam Malaysia instantly being hold and you have to meet kastam for the time. Can't hire pos to handle it, have to self go meet kastam. But I know your place can hire pos agent to do clearance kastam fee.
Zot
post Dec 21 2022, 08:58 AM

7,938 posts

I purchased DVD music long long time ago. Only 2 pieces, so no tax. I could not remember detail but I think I received card from Pos Malaysia to collect the CD from Post Office. Don;t remember detail but maybe they thought I bought JAV laugh.gif

No problem at Pos Malaysia as I finished dealing with it in a minute or so.
SUSWahlberg
post Dec 21 2022, 09:01 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(widesky867 @ Dec 21 2022, 08:44 AM)
Hey all,

why?
TSwidesky867
post Dec 21 2022, 09:14 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(Marcion @ Dec 21 2022, 08:56 AM)
Well for my experience, they have no problem sending item to Malaysia, the problem is when reach kastam Malaysia instantly being hold and you have to meet kastam for the time. Can't hire pos to handle it, have to self go meet kastam. But I know your place can hire pos agent to do clearance kastam fee.
Thanks for sharing. Is the kastam at one place only (i.e KL etc)?
TSwidesky867
post Dec 21 2022, 09:14 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 21 2022, 08:58 AM)
I purchased DVD music long long time ago. Only 2 pieces, so no tax. I could not remember detail but I think I received card from Pos Malaysia to collect the CD from Post Office. Don;t remember detail but maybe they thought I bought JAV  laugh.gif

No problem at Pos Malaysia as I finished dealing with it in a minute or so.
LOL, sounds like a good experience. Thanks.
xPrototype
post Dec 21 2022, 09:15 AM

316 posts

I ordered from CDJapan before. 2 pieces of CD. Sent directly straight to my house
TSwidesky867
post Dec 21 2022, 09:16 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(Wahlberg @ Dec 21 2022, 09:01 AM)
why?
Collectors item biggrin.gif
TSwidesky867
post Dec 21 2022, 09:22 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(xPrototype @ Dec 21 2022, 09:15 AM)
I ordered from CDJapan before. 2 pieces of CD. Sent directly straight to my house
Wow thats great. Do you remember which shipping option you used?
kweil
post Dec 21 2022, 09:26 AM

230 posts

if buy 2-3 items no prob la.. will easily pass kastam
Zot
post Dec 21 2022, 09:27 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(xPrototype @ Dec 21 2022, 09:15 AM)
Yes. I believe this can happen too. The good whether customs want to inspect or not is random. If they want to check it, they will ask you to go and collect so that they can open it in front of you but they can also open package for inspection without your presence. Same like you order anything from online services.
Ayer
post Dec 21 2022, 09:27 AM

206 posts

whatever just buy now, cuz next year kena 10% tax
SUSWahlberg
post Dec 21 2022, 09:29 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(widesky867 @ Dec 21 2022, 09:16 AM)
Collectors item biggrin.gif
last time i collect cassette before the cd era even before the mp3 era
dang quite a lot full of cassette and some cd, but once digital version came, never look back
cheers to u for your hobby
always remember
myteam94
post Dec 21 2022, 09:35 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(widesky867 @ Dec 21 2022, 08:44 AM)
Hey all,

what game OST you planning to buy.. interested with it
xPrototype
post Dec 21 2022, 09:46 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(widesky867 @ Dec 21 2022, 09:22 AM)
Wow thats great. Do you remember which shipping option you used?
I digged back my old email, I selected DHL at that time back in 2018.

However I also found some notes that you might find useful.

roymustang
post Dec 21 2022, 10:20 AM

Tahun lepas aku beli. Barang dekat rm300. Guna ems. 8 hari sampai rumah terus
IpohGuyz
post Dec 21 2022, 10:26 AM

160 posts

Rule is above rm500 will tax. This includes the shipping fee. Which means your product max at 300+. Cause shipping usually 50-100? You won't want to borderline at 500. Nanti lepas, kena tax
TSwidesky867
post Dec 21 2022, 11:05 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Dec 21 2022, 09:35 AM)
what game OST you planning to buy.. interested with it
FFXIV soundtracks smile.gif

QUOTE(xPrototype @ Dec 21 2022, 09:46 AM)
I digged back my old email, I selected DHL at that time back in 2018.

However I also found some notes that you might find useful.
Thanks for the info man.

QUOTE(IpohGuyz @ Dec 21 2022, 10:26 AM)
Rule is above rm500 will tax. This includes the shipping fee. Which means your product max at 300+. Cause shipping usually 50-100? You won't want to borderline at 500. Nanti lepas, kena tax
ohmy.gif Okay got it.

Thanks everyone for the comments.
Marcion
post Dec 21 2022, 12:25 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(widesky867 @ Dec 21 2022, 10:14 AM)
Thanks for sharing. Is the kastam at one place only (i.e KL etc)?
Not sure because I from sarawak so the way kastam doing job is different.
Sien99
post Dec 21 2022, 12:49 PM

164 posts

Last time tried before, lucky everything smooth no kena kastam no kena tax. Straight go home

0.0212sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:35 AM