[Need advice] Personal info possibly compromised.

TSaltuser
post Dec 13 2022, 10:36 AM, updated 3y ago

66 posts

Not sure if this is the right place to post this, so my apologies if I got it wrong and I hope the mods would move it to the right section.

Problem:
Earlier today I received two phone calls from unknown mobile numbers. When I answered, both people asked me if I had called them (i.e. they received a missed call from my number). One was a guy who didn't talk much, the other was apparently a woman working as a doctor in a hospital and said she called back because it she thought it might be something urgent (seeing as she works as a doctor). She even told me my name came up on her screen as if my number is in her contact list. The first guy said his phone only showed my number, no name.

So it seems that either my number and possibly my personal info is compromised or someone is spoofing their calls using my number, but it's even more concerning when they are also using my name. But what was really interesting is this started after my credit validity expired today (I'm using the old celcom xpax prepaid plan thingy, subscribed from decades ago), so I couldn't even have made those calls to them! Not sure if there is a correlation or it's just a coincidence.

My question:
What can/should I do in this situation? I would like to reach out to the proper authorities to have this investigated, as I don't want to be implicated in any kind of scam or shady stuff, but I'm a bit confused as what my options are.
JLA
post Dec 13 2022, 11:20 AM

2,768 posts

long answer
https://soyacincau.com/2022/11/27/whatsapp-...on-sale-online/

https://www.lowyat.net/2021/254119/jpn-lhdn...base-sale-list/

https://www.lowyat.net/2017/145654/personal...-still-unknown/

short answer
u dont call. how come they received a missed call from your number ?
TSaltuser
post Dec 13 2022, 11:39 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Dec 13 2022, 11:20 AM)
Like I said, I couldn't have called anyone, my credit validity expired. Those two people called me and I picked up the phone.

My question isn't how someone got or used my number, my question is:

QUOTE(altuser @ Dec 13 2022, 10:36 AM)
What can/should I do in this situation? I would like to reach out to the proper authorities to have this investigated, as I don't want to be implicated in any kind of scam or shady stuff, but I'm a bit confused as what my options are.
This post has been edited by altuser: Dec 13 2022, 11:40 AM
nexona88
post Dec 13 2022, 08:40 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,409 posts

the doc one seems very suspicious...

no save name. then how your name appear...

anyway... just ignore it...
probably trying to "fish" u into something bigger later....

sadlyfalways
post Dec 14 2022, 03:41 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(altuser @ Dec 13 2022, 10:36 AM)
Not sure if this is the right place to post this, so my apologies if I got it wrong and I hope the mods would move it to the right section.

Problem:
Earlier today I received two phone calls from unknown mobile numbers. When I answered, both people asked me if I had called them (i.e. they received a missed call from my number). One was a guy who didn't talk much, the other was apparently a woman working as a doctor in a hospital and said she called back because it she thought it might be something urgent (seeing as she works as a doctor). She even told me my name came up on her screen as if my number is in her contact list. The first guy said his phone only showed my number, no name.

So it seems that either my number and possibly my personal info is compromised or someone is spoofing their calls using my number, but it's even more concerning when they are also using my name. But what was really interesting is this started after my credit validity expired today (I'm using the old celcom xpax prepaid plan thingy, subscribed from decades ago), so I couldn't even have made those calls to them! Not sure if there is a correlation or it's just a coincidence.

My question:
Lmaooo, the first person has truecaller installed and doesn't know. most probably by her family member because she always kena scammed.

As for the calls, it's very easy to spoof any number when calling people.

They just randomly choose your number because you have because you have a nice number or your truecaller profile looks good i dont know, but its really random.

Nothing has been compromised dont worry, the only way they can actually use your sim card to make calls whilst your current sim is active is somehow getting a watch sim for your number but you would be able to see this in your bills. They could also hijack your sim info and stuff but that is really high level hacking and you need nsa level information that they want.

A few times i also got call from people with actual number when they didnt call, funniest was when i called back it was a condominium security guardhouse lmao.
TSaltuser
post Dec 14 2022, 03:08 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Dec 14 2022, 03:41 AM)
Lmaooo, the first person has truecaller installed and doesn't know. most probably by her family member because she always kena scammed.

As for the calls, it's very easy to spoof any number when calling people.

They just randomly choose your number because you have because you have a nice number or your truecaller profile looks good i dont know, but its really random.

Nothing has been compromised dont worry, the only way they can actually use your sim card to make calls whilst your current sim is active is somehow getting a watch sim for your number but you would be able to see this in your bills. They could also hijack your sim info and stuff but that is really high level hacking and you need nsa level information that they want.

A few times i also got call from people with actual number when they didnt call, funniest was when i called back it was a condominium security guardhouse lmao.
Well, that's reassuring at least. Hopefully nothing more comes from it. I haven't received any more calls from perplexed people since then, but then again it might be people just didn't bother to call back…worst case is they'll report my number as spam!

0.0123sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:33 AM