FD or House Loan?

TScheehoong91
post Dec 8 2022, 08:06 AM, updated 4y ago

435 posts

Hi guys, I would want to learn from you which will be better option?

Say I have 100k in hand, would it be better to put in fd for a year to earn interest 4% per annum or dump in house loan to reduce home loan interest better?

What is the impact of putting in the said sum into house loan now vs I put it in after 5 years?

Thank you
MUM
post Dec 8 2022, 08:24 AM

14,959 posts

QUOTE(cheehoong91 @ Dec 8 2022, 08:06 AM)

Say I have 100k in hand, would it be  better to put in fd for a year to earn interest 4% per annum or dump in house loan to reduce home loan interest better?
if you have enough surplus sitting around after taking this 100k to get a house,....use it to pay for the house, for housing loan interest rate is usually MORE than FD rate, and also it can impact you credit score if in future you really needed a loan
What is the impact of putting in the said sum into house loan now vs I put it in after 5 years?
other than the "extra" money you need to pay the bank in terms of interest, the possible impact of your credit score, the feeling of having not much cash at hand at the end of every month for 5 years more
Thank you
TScheehoong91
post Dec 8 2022, 08:33 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 8 2022, 08:24 AM)

Thanks for the reply. No worries I have sufficient investment in other place. Its just that this extra amount I'm thorn between to put in fd or house loan only.
MUM
post Dec 8 2022, 08:38 AM

14,959 posts

QUOTE(cheehoong91 @ Dec 8 2022, 08:33 AM)
Thanks for the reply. No worries I have sufficient investment in other place. Its just that this extra amount I'm thorn between to put in fd or house loan only.
thumbup.gif since you had "investment" in other places, then i would assume you know about the ROI and the interest rate to pay too.

calculates it $$ variance, between FD and housing loan rate
then mathematically do you think it is OK?

btw, can you get better ROI with your 100k in other places OVER what the housing loan rate charged you?
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 8 2022, 08:58 AM

3,864 posts

Aiyo... simple...just put in whichever can get better ROI. If you put in TriumpFX for example, sure win and kaya. No need think twice
Disclaimer:
*The above is just opinion of an idiot forumner and should not be taken seriously.
mini orchard
post Dec 8 2022, 09:06 AM

14,511 posts

Say I have 100k in hand, would it be  better to put in fd for a year to earn interest 4% per annum or dump in house loan to reduce home loan interest better?

Thank you
If HL interest is 3.8 and FD 4%, is it worth the effort to earn extra 0.2% ?

100 000 @ 3.8% pa = 3 800

100,000 @ 4% pa = 4 000

Diff 200 ÷ 365 = 0.54 sen per day.

If only FD int is 8%, otherwise dump the 100k into HL.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Dec 8 2022, 09:14 AM
wilson1149
post Dec 8 2022, 09:40 AM

508 posts

Pros and Cons

Flexi loan - daily rest interest.
FD - need to wait maturity to get profit.

Flexi loan - floating rate adjustment. (OPR)
FD - fixed rate during signup date.

Flexi loan - semi flexi charge for withdrawal, fully flexi free.
FD - Able to withdrawal anytime, but profit burned.

So i choose flexi loan if similar rate and much more flexible.

This post has been edited by wilson1149: Dec 8 2022, 09:48 AM
mini orchard
post Dec 8 2022, 09:45 AM

14,511 posts

When comparing loans with investments, just take note of one point ...

One can burnt the investments but loans will follow borrowers till grave.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Dec 8 2022, 09:46 AM
elea88
post Dec 8 2022, 11:26 AM

4,174 posts

Thank you
if yr loan is flexi.. then dump into it to reduce interest.
at all times loan will be higher than fd.

but if yr loan is those cannot cash out. then u hv to consider the fact
after put in the 100k difficult to take out if need use for emergency.

Also is your home loan .. investment income ? means rental derived or own stay?

if got rental income then hv to look at your tax bracket if high, then no point reducing the loan.

TScheehoong91
post Dec 8 2022, 02:06 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 8 2022, 11:26 AM)
if yr loan is flexi.. then dump into it to reduce interest.
at all times loan will be higher than fd.

but if yr loan is those cannot cash out. then u  hv to consider the fact
after put in the 100k difficult to take out if need use for emergency.

Also is your home loan .. investment income ? means rental derived or own stay?

if got rental income then hv to look at your tax bracket if high, then no point reducing the loan.
Semi flexi loan. Its for own stay.

So far no plan to touch this 100k as this is really extra funding only.
inquiries
post Dec 8 2022, 05:33 PM

273 posts

In that case, your main deciding criterion is just the ROI, as others said.

Since housing loan does give higher interest, go for it.
I believe for semi-flexi loan, you can still take out the 100k (if really needed) by paying RM25. The risk is low.
cklimm
post Dec 8 2022, 05:57 PM

2,338 posts

if your house is being rented out, just put them in fd. Tax reasons
elea88
post Dec 9 2022, 04:45 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(cheehoong91 @ Dec 8 2022, 02:06 PM)
Semi flexi loan. Its for own stay.

So far no plan to touch this 100k as this is really extra funding only.
own stay just put into housing loan.. reduce interest...
leo_kiatez
post Dec 12 2022, 10:11 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Dec 8 2022, 05:57 PM)
if your house is being rented out, just put them in fd. Tax reasons
If rented out, How do you reduce tax with that?
taitianhin
post Dec 12 2022, 10:15 AM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

really extra fund...definitely go to House Loan for Semi flexi facility...
no brainer...

if really has concern...then just
90K house loan
10K FD for few months...until you feel safe to put into House loan...
gooroojee
post Dec 12 2022, 10:21 AM

LowYee
2,193 posts

Thank you
Your housing loan is at what rate now? Surprised nobody asked this. If it is also 4% then to answer your question put into loan lah, if it's between the two.

Imagine if both were at 3.5% earlier this year. You go and put in FD for 2 years, then rate went up to 4%.. your FD is stuck at 3.5% and the FD interest can't cover your loan interest already.
cklimm
post Dec 12 2022, 10:31 AM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Dec 12 2022, 10:11 AM)
If rented out, How do you reduce tax with that?
rental income- interest expenses- maintenance fees- tafsiran- insurance= taxable income
TScheehoong91
post Dec 12 2022, 06:44 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 12 2022, 10:21 AM)
Your housing loan is at what rate now? Surprised nobody asked this. If it is also 4% then to answer your question put into loan lah, if it's between the two.

Imagine if both were at 3.5% earlier this year. You go and put in FD for 2 years, then rate went up to 4%.. your FD is stuck at 3.5% and the FD interest can't cover your loan interest already.
You are right.. Nobody asked about this. However I find home loan interest rate and fd rate are just more or less the same.. Home = 3.97%.. Fd 4.05% 12 months. So can say the difference is almost negligible.
mini orchard
post Dec 13 2022, 10:06 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(cheehoong91 @ Dec 12 2022, 06:44 PM)
You are right.. Nobody asked about this. However I find home loan interest rate and fd rate are just more or less the same.. Home = 3.97%.. Fd 4.05% 12 months. So can say the difference is almost negligible.
QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 12 2022, 10:21 AM)

Oredi given example in Post # 6

FD and Loan interest market rate is thereabout. Dont have to calculate till the last dollar.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Dec 13 2022, 10:08 AM
leo_kiatez
post Dec 13 2022, 10:55 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Dec 12 2022, 10:31 AM)
rental income- interest expenses- maintenance fees- tafsiran- insurance= taxable income
That's eyes-opening! Thanks for the info.

0.0299sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:10 AM