How to rename a file or folder in external drive, I meant external drive plugin to Macbook

shinichi88
post Dec 18 2022, 09:13 AM

Holy Crusader
984 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Dec 18 2022, 01:25 AM)
Just want to ask how to format my external drive to ExFAT using Windows or MacOS ?
CLICK HERE
acbc
post Dec 18 2022, 09:35 AM

9,049 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Dec 18 2022, 01:46 AM)
My external harddrive is Transcend brand, so possible to format it to exFAT format? So that i can use it in both of my Windows and Macbook. Any pros and cons for formatting to exFAT format?
Yes.

More pros than cons if formatting to exFAT. However, encryption and other security feature are not supported.
TSNeohJing
post Dec 19 2022, 03:24 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 18 2022, 09:35 AM)
Yes.

More pros than cons if formatting to exFAT. However, encryption and other security feature are not supported.
Meaning No security? Not safe?
acbc
post Dec 19 2022, 04:14 PM

9,049 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Dec 19 2022, 03:24 PM)
Meaning No security? Not safe?
Got maybe 5% of kiasi people who will encrypt their external drives. But the rest 95% couldn't be bothered.

Myself never bother to encrypt any of my external drives because no important data stored. Important ones will keep as cold archive.
TSNeohJing
post Dec 19 2022, 04:49 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 19 2022, 04:14 PM)
Got maybe 5% of kiasi people who will encrypt their external drives. But the rest 95% couldn't be bothered.

Myself never bother to encrypt any of my external drives because no important data stored. Important ones will keep as cold archive.
So like this external hard disk data can tahan how long in exFAT
acbc
post Dec 19 2022, 06:21 PM

9,049 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Dec 19 2022, 04:49 PM)
Longevity nothing to do with drive format type. More like how u take care of it. I have an old Seagate 1TB formatted in exFAT for 10 years now. Still going strong. But this drive never leaves the house. Always in the drawer.
TSNeohJing
post Dec 20 2022, 01:05 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 19 2022, 06:21 PM)
Longevity nothing to do with drive format type. More like how u take care of it. I have an old Seagate 1TB formatted in exFAT for 10 years now. Still going strong. But this drive never leaves the house. Always in the drawer.
Okay
TSNeohJing
post Dec 22 2022, 05:32 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Dec 19 2022, 04:49 PM)
Just want to ask after changing to exFAT format, can copy in & out from windows? Heard some ppl said cannot transfer files in and out from windows

0.0191sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:35 PM