Portrait Studio

TSdirect707
post Dec 3 2022, 03:30 PM, updated 3y ago

203 posts

Guys,

I like photography but it was like 12-15 years ago I very active. Last 10 years I really leave photography technology. I am thinking of buying the gear again. Mainly for portrait photography either indoor (studio) or outside.

What kind of studio equipment do I need? The lighting, etc. can you suggest a dslr mirrorless or otherwise? Full frame? Etc.

I dont mind spending rm10-15k for start up.
TSdirect707
post Dec 3 2022, 05:36 PM

203 posts

I am thinking of Nikon Z6 ii as body and pair it with nikkor 50mm f1.4. Most likely this setup.

But I have no idea on the studio lighting equipment. Any input to start with?
Loseeker
post Dec 10 2022, 12:45 AM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(direct707 @ Dec 3 2022, 05:36 PM)
I am thinking of Nikon Z6 ii as body and pair it with nikkor 50mm f1.4. Most likely this setup.

But I have no idea on the studio lighting equipment. Any input to start with?
1. Do you really have to go for Nikon Z6ii ?
I would suggest you go for Sony A7iii or Canon Eos R or even the Z6 mark 1 to save yourself some money since you're doing studio work. Would you consider APSC bodies? The Fujis are great options such as the XT3 and XT4

I'm recommending this so that you can cut down on the spending on the camera body and can spend more on lighting and softboxes.

2. For studio lighting equipments, now the in thing is "Godox"

I would recommend you get i) Godox Ad200 Pro, they are the 200watts second flashes, ultra portrable and powerful for the size.
ii) Godox X Pro or X2T triggers
iii) Triopo 120cm Softbox (for your main lighting)
iv) Godox stripbox 30 X 150cm (for side lighting)
v) A reflector
vi) 4~5 lightstand. (1 for main light, 1 for side light, 2 for your backdrop and 1 for your reflector)
vii) Backdrops (they are ultra important to make your portrait look dramatic

This are some of my works incase you wonder

user posted imageDSCF0170 by Apa Macam, on Flickr

user posted imageDSCF2351 by Apa Macam, on Flickr

user posted imageDSCF3288 by Apa Macam, on Flickr

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Dec 10 2022, 12:48 AM
engseng
post Dec 10 2022, 05:14 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Dec 10 2022, 12:45 AM)
I would suggest you go for Sony A7iii or Canon Eos R or even the Z6 mark 1 to save yourself some money since you're doing studio work. Would you consider APSC bodies? The Fujis are great options such as the XT3 and XT4

I'm recommending this so that you can cut down on the spending on the camera body and can spend more on lighting and softboxes.

I would recommend you get i) Godox Ad200 Pro, they are the 200watts second flashes, ultra portrable and powerful for the size.
                                        v) A reflector
                                          vi) 4~5 lightstand. (1 for main light, 1 for side light, 2 for your backdrop and 1 for your reflector)

What do you think about Triopo softboxes? How is the quality compared to Godox? I see they have the Bowens adapter... Does it also take Godox mount?
Loseeker
post Dec 10 2022, 05:17 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ Dec 10 2022, 05:14 PM)
What do you think about Triopo softboxes? How is the quality compared to Godox? I see they have the Bowens adapter... Does it also take Godox mount?
Triopo softboxes are very good. Very well build, I think slightly better quality than similar pricing Godox softbox. Yes, they only come in Bowen mount. Why you need godox mount ? Because you have AD300/400 is it ? If that is the case, I suggest you just get the native godox softbox with Godox mount, or you get the bowen adapter for your strobe.
TSdirect707
post Dec 12 2022, 08:52 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Dec 10 2022, 12:45 AM)

v) A reflector

Thanks for your input. The reason I choose Nikon is because I never own Nikon. So would like yo try. 10-12 years back when I actively shooting, I was using Canon and Sony. I like the Sony more than Canon at that time due to vivid color. Nikon is similar in that aspect to Sony.

What do you think about Sony A7iii against the Nikon Z5? I mostly shoot photo instead of Video.

You said I need 4-5 lightstands, meaning this to be used with Godox AD200 Pro?
Loseeker
post Dec 15 2022, 02:11 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(direct707 @ Dec 12 2022, 08:52 PM)
Thanks for your input. The reason I choose Nikon is because I never own Nikon. So would like yo try. 10-12 years back when I actively shooting, I was using Canon and Sony. I like the Sony more than Canon at that time due to vivid color. Nikon is similar in that aspect to Sony.

What do you think about Sony A7iii against the Nikon Z5? I mostly shoot photo instead of Video.

You said I need 4-5 lightstands, meaning this to be used with Godox AD200 Pro?
I think Z5 is good enough. Either way, you won't go wrong.

I got 5 lightstands, why ? 2 for the backdrops, 1 for front light and 1 for backlight and 1 for the reflector. Having said that, you can at least cut down 2 from that setup. If you go with T stand, then u only need 1 instead of 2 for backdrop. If you don't use the reflector, then you can cut away another one. It really depends on yourself.
TSdirect707
post Dec 16 2022, 08:15 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Dec 15 2022, 02:11 PM)

I got 5 lightstands, why ? 2 for the backdrops, 1 for front light and 1 for backlight and 1 for the reflector. Having said that, you can at least cut down 2 from that setup. If you go with T stand, then u only need 1 instead of 2 for backdrop. If you don't use the reflector, then you can cut away another one. It really depends on yourself.
Lightstand to be pair with Godox AD200 Pro? All of them?
engseng
post Dec 18 2022, 12:03 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Dec 15 2022, 02:11 PM)

1 light for key light, 1 for fill light (back), 2 lights aiming at the backdrop and 1 light aiming downwards at the u-shaped reflector?

How about using two lights for fill (left back and right back)?

This post has been edited by engseng: Dec 18 2022, 12:07 PM
Loseeker
post Dec 19 2022, 02:39 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(direct707 @ Dec 16 2022, 08:15 PM)
Lightstand to be pair with Godox AD200 Pro? All of them?
I have 2 Godox Ad200 (non pro version) which I got for RM780 and 750 respectively. So, both of them cost me about the price of an AD300, which is quite affordable. I also have the v860ii and the tt685. If I have the option, I will always go for the Ad200 for the main light as well as for the hair light.

QUOTE(engseng @ Dec 18 2022, 12:03 PM)
1 light for key light, 1 for fill light (back), 2 lights aiming at the backdrop and 1 light aiming downwards at the u-shaped reflector?
Haha, I'm not the pro nor I am that crazy to use all the 5 lights all at once. My studio potrait setup usually involved only 2 lights, the front and the back. If you read my comment again, I needed 5 lightstand because I need 2 of them as the backdrop stand. When I first started, I've also used 1 light to light the backdrop and also use the normal round reflector on the opposite side of the main light. But later, I find it too troublesome for effects that I hardly notice, so I stopped using the reflector. As for the backdrop light, it wasn't as round as i like it to be so, dropped that too.

Other than the two ad200, the other 2 lights i have are Godox tt685 and v860II which will be used as on camera flash during wedding day shoot and the godox tt350f is when i really want to travel light for non crucial events such as gathering with friends.

QUOTE(engseng @ Dec 18 2022, 12:03 PM)
How about using two lights for fill (left back and right back)?
Photography is a form of art, there is no right or wrong. If that's the effect you want, why not? AS for me, I want my subject to have all the attention of the viewer, so for me, shadows are important to. As such, I don't think I want to have so much fill lights. It's not my style, at least not now.

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Dec 19 2022, 02:44 PM
engseng
post Dec 19 2022, 04:31 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Dec 19 2022, 02:39 PM)
I have 2 Godox Ad200 (non pro version) which I got for RM780 and 750 respectively. So, both of them cost me about the price of an AD300, which is quite affordable. I also have the v860ii and the tt685. If I have the option, I will always go for the Ad200 for the main light as well as for the hair light.
You mentioned you use the Triopo 120cm softbox, the AD200 has enough power to fill the softbox?

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Dec 19 2022, 02:39 PM)
  Photography is a form of art, there is no right or wrong. If that's the effect you want, why not? AS for me, I want my subject to have all the attention of the viewer, so for me, shadows are important to. As such,  I don't think I want to have so much fill lights. It's not my style, at least not now.
Ah, you like deep shadows in your portraits. Moody and dramatic look.
Loseeker
post Dec 19 2022, 04:42 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ Dec 19 2022, 04:31 PM)
You mentioned you use the Triopo 120cm softbox, the AD200 has enough power to fill the softbox?
Yes, more than enough. Even a TT685 can do that job, since I only use it in indoor setting. I have never tried it yet, but I think one ad200 will struggle in the 120cm outdoor with HSS. That's why for outdoor shoot, I just use the 80x80 square softbox. By the way, I also got the ADB2 to combine the two ad200 to become 400watt when the need arise.

QUOTE(engseng @ Dec 19 2022, 04:31 PM)
Ah, you like deep shadows in your portraits. Moody and dramatic look.
Oh yes ! Especially for men portrait shots, it makes them very masculine and at the same time mysterious. You should try it.

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Dec 19 2022, 04:43 PM
TSdirect707
post Dec 20 2022, 07:47 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Dec 19 2022, 04:42 PM)
Yes, more than enough. Even a TT685 can do that job, since I only use it in indoor setting. I have never tried it yet, but I think one ad200 will struggle in the 120cm  outdoor with HSS. That's why for outdoor shoot, I just use the 80x80 square softbox. By the way, I also got the ADB2 to combine the two ad200 to become 400watt when the need arise.
Oh yes ! Especially for men portrait shots, it makes them very masculine and at the same time mysterious. You should try it.
I wanted to buy Godox AD200 Pro for my lighting but the seller told me that is for outdoor. Indoor studio should use kind of SK300/SK400. How true is that?

For me, logically, AD200 Pro is better to start as I have 2 options - indoor and outdoor as it just uses battery. Should I get AD200 Pro or SK400?

Loseeker
post Dec 20 2022, 12:40 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(direct707 @ Dec 20 2022, 07:47 AM)
I wanted to buy Godox AD200 Pro for my lighting but the seller told me that is for outdoor. Indoor studio should use kind of SK300/SK400. How true is that?

For me, logically, AD200 Pro is better to start as I have 2 options - indoor and outdoor as it just uses battery. Should I get AD200 Pro or SK400?
Well, you have answered your own question. For SK400, you can only use it in indoor setting. Ad200 pro can be used for both outdoor as well as indoor. It is more pricey than the SK400ii BUT, it is smaller which mean, it is very portable and it has many types of heads that you can swap. For starter, it comes with fresnel head, bare bulb. And you can also buy round head, led head and the new ring flash head for the ad200pro. Then there are many accessories that comes with it and it can also fit the magmod system if you decided get that as well. As I've mentioned above, you can combined 2 Ad200 pro to make 400watts. If you don't want to spend that much, go for the used one. It's definitely worth your money in my opinion.
TSdirect707
post Dec 21 2022, 08:01 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Dec 20 2022, 12:40 PM)
Well, you have answered your own question. For SK400, you can only use it in indoor setting. Ad200 pro can be used for both outdoor as well as indoor. It is more pricey than the SK400ii BUT, it is smaller which mean, it is very portable and it has many types of heads that you can swap. For starter, it comes with fresnel head, bare bulb. And you can also buy round head, led head and the new ring flash head for the ad200pro. Then there are many accessories that comes with it and it can also fit the magmod system if you decided get that as well. As I've mentioned above, you can combined 2 Ad200 pro to make 400watts. If you don't want to spend that much, go for the used one. It's definitely worth your money in my opinion.
Thanks bro. Normally, where can find the 2nd hand? Not many place nowadays. I just look around in carousel and fb
Loseeker
post Dec 22 2022, 09:52 AM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(direct707 @ Dec 21 2022, 08:01 AM)
Thanks bro. Normally, where can find the 2nd hand? Not many place nowadays. I just look around in carousel and fb
I found my first one on Carousell and the 2nd unit on shashinki. They are rare and hard to find. If you are making money out of this, I suggest you get the brand new one.
anavrin
post Jul 4 2023, 09:02 AM

156 posts

Any good brand LED lighting to recommend for indoor shoot? lazy to use flash trigger cause the flash is getting old and unstable performance...

0.0678sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:53 AM