Room is stuffy and no air flow

TSjacky91
post Nov 25 2022, 06:33 PM, updated 3y ago

DJ
1,780 posts

Hey guys, would like to get some idea on how to solve room being stuffy and no air flow issue.

My room is kinda like a L shape.. refer to attachment.

Red = door
Green = window
Brown = bed
Pink = fans (2 ceiling fan and 1 small stand fan at the corner)

Even though turning all 3 fans together, the room still feel very stuffy and hot during afternoon. Opening the window also not helping much. If there is no wind, the room is even hotter.

Just want to know you guys got any advice on how to solve this?
suicideroach
post Nov 25 2022, 06:36 PM

kiss mah a^^
1,494 posts

Take the small fan and facing forward to the window. Let the stuffy air goes out and create a negative airflow point in your room.
TSjacky91
post Nov 25 2022, 06:38 PM

DJ
1,780 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Nov 25 2022, 06:36 PM)
Take the small fan and facing forward to the window. Let the stuffy air goes out and create a negative airflow point in your room.
hmm, worth a try.. btw, i am not opening the door as I wfh and my household tend to get noisy sometimes.. especially when family member blasting song just outside my room (a living hall just outside my room)
mini orchard
post Nov 25 2022, 07:46 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Nov 25 2022, 06:33 PM)
Hey guys, would like to get some idea on how to solve room being stuffy and no air flow issue.

My room is kinda like a L shape.. refer to attachment.

Red = door
Green = window
Brown = bed
Pink = fans (2 ceiling fan and 1 small stand fan at the corner)

Even though turning all 3 fans together, the room still feel very stuffy and hot during afternoon. Opening the window also not helping much. If there is no wind, the room is even hotter.

Just want to know you guys got any advice on how to solve this?
Two options ...

1. Budget method ..... exhaust fan

2. Expensive method .... air cond.

The heat from the roof is the 'killing' part.
TSjacky91
post Nov 25 2022, 07:59 PM

DJ
1,780 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 25 2022, 07:46 PM)
Two options ...

1. Budget method ..... exhaust fan

2. Expensive method .... air cond.

The heat from the roof is the 'killing' part.
yea... as i am on the 2nd floor... and i got no air vent up at the roof...

the exhaust fan you mentioned... which 1 you talking about?
mini orchard
post Nov 25 2022, 08:42 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Nov 25 2022, 07:59 PM)
yea... as i am on the 2nd floor... and i got no air vent up at the roof...

the exhaust fan you mentioned... which 1 you talking about?
KDK ceiling exhaust fan. I have one in each room on the 1st floor plus the living hall.

metalfire
post Nov 25 2022, 08:46 PM

1,300 posts

the 2 ceiling fan is not creating airflow in and out, only circulating hot air within.

Try to use a 16" industrial fan to blow towards the window and off the ceiling fan on both.
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 25 2022, 08:51 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Aircond je lah
TSjacky91
post Nov 25 2022, 08:52 PM

DJ
1,780 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 25 2022, 08:42 PM)
KDK ceiling exhaust fan. I have one in each room on the 1st floor plus the living hall.

ohhh yea i thought of installing this as well.. but I don't know how to install it myself hahahaha

the hot air just go to roof is it?

QUOTE(metalfire @ Nov 25 2022, 08:46 PM)
the 2 ceiling fan is not creating airflow in and out, only circulating hot air within.

Try to use a 16" industrial fan to blow towards the window and off the ceiling fan on both.
yea, someone mentioned facing the stand fan towards outside, creating a negative airflow.. currently trying it

16 inch industrial fan is too big for my room, so that option is not feasible for me
metalfire
post Nov 25 2022, 08:56 PM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Nov 25 2022, 08:52 PM)
yea, someone mentioned facing the stand fan towards outside, creating a negative airflow.. currently trying it

16 inch industrial fan is too big for my room, so that option is not feasible for me
16" too big, try 14" but physically test all the different brands because not all 14" fans have the desired wind output.

Those tower fans can forget it...unless you going for Dyson and those turbine suction type.

This post has been edited by metalfire: Nov 25 2022, 08:57 PM
TSjacky91
post Nov 25 2022, 08:59 PM

DJ
1,780 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Nov 25 2022, 08:56 PM)
16" too big, try 14" but physically test all the different brands because not all 14" fans have the desired wind output.

Those tower fans can forget it...unless you going for Dyson and those turbine suction type.
aight, but for now, i am gonna try facing the stand fan towards outside first and see if it works
metalfire
post Nov 25 2022, 09:41 PM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Nov 25 2022, 08:59 PM)
aight, but for now, i am gonna try facing the stand fan towards outside first and see if it works
these are good. I've been using them.

https://www.khind.com.my/industrial-fans
mini orchard
post Nov 26 2022, 05:31 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Nov 25 2022, 08:52 PM)
ohhh yea i thought of installing this as well.. but I don't know how to install it myself hahahaha

the hot air just go to roof is it?

The purpose of the ceiling exhaust fan is not only to remove hot air from the room but more important is to circulated the heat built up in the area between roof and ceiling which is the likely cause of your hot room.

My upstairs bathroom fan is left on the entire day so that the place doesnt smell moldy and always dry.

Labour to install the fan wont be expensive .... max also 100 to 150. ... cheaper than aircond.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 26 2022, 07:45 AM
TSjacky91
post Nov 26 2022, 10:10 AM

DJ
1,780 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 26 2022, 05:31 AM)
The purpose of the ceiling exhaust fan is not only to remove hot air from the room but more important is to circulated the heat built up in the area between roof and ceiling which is the likely cause of your hot room.

My upstairs bathroom fan is left on the entire day so that the place doesnt smell moldy and always dry.

Labour to install the fan wont be expensive .... max also 100 to 150. ... cheaper than aircond.
who do you contact for the installation? 100 to 150 per exhaust fan?
mini orchard
post Nov 26 2022, 11:00 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Nov 26 2022, 10:10 AM)
who do you contact for the installation? 100 to 150 per exhaust fan?
Electrician.

LABOUR ONLY.

Install one new ac about 250 onwards. Exhaust fan cannot be more expensive than ac ?

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 26 2022, 11:03 AM
TSjacky91
post Nov 26 2022, 12:13 PM

DJ
1,780 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 26 2022, 11:00 AM)
Electrician.

LABOUR ONLY.

Install one new ac about 250 onwards. Exhaust fan cannot be more expensive than ac ?
alright, let me try ask around if got electrician wanna get this job.. ur exhaust fan how many inch bro? thinking should i get 10/12/14 inch

This post has been edited by jacky91: Nov 26 2022, 12:14 PM
mini orchard
post Nov 26 2022, 12:32 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Nov 26 2022, 12:13 PM)
alright, let me try ask around if got electrician wanna get this job.. ur exhaust fan how many inch bro? thinking should i get 10/12/14 inch
12" will do.
TSjacky91
post Nov 27 2022, 11:50 AM

DJ
1,780 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 26 2022, 12:32 PM)
12" will do.
alright bro, thanks for the input! i will get a 12inch exhaust fan and see how it goes
drbone
post Mar 19 2023, 09:37 PM

1,757 posts

Hi. What’s the update about the exhaust fan ? Did it solve hour problem?
Wanna get a quiet one for a small room which is stuffy.
Any suggestions ?
drbone
post Mar 19 2023, 09:38 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 25 2022, 08:42 PM)

This is quite noisy right ?

0.0223sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:29 AM