Maybank2u eFixed Deposit

MilesAndMore
post Jul 13 2009, 12:29 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jul 12 2009, 11:55 PM)
36 months
HSBC is giving 3% return for 36 months placement.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 13 2009, 01:30 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jul 13 2009, 09:09 AM)
last time my friend inquired at HSBC, the minimum amount is 300k to open a FD account in HSBC. 
Not true. I have multiple time deposit accounts (FD) at HSBC. You can start investing from as low as RM5,000, just like any other banks.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 13 2009, 05:28 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(nky_kevin @ Jul 13 2009, 03:17 PM)
I wonder why all the banks is offering minimum amount to be deposited for FD is so high i.e. RM5000 more or less, I thought everyone is talking about saving. But, how university undergraduate can save in FD form if the minimum amount is so high, right?
Which is why banks have savings account. An account for you to put your money. You can start thinking moving the rest of your money into time deposit when you have at least RM10,000 in your savings account. Why RM10,000 in your savings ? Because you can access your savings account anytime whereas time deposit is locked and can't be access using your ATM card. What if you need the money for emergency right ?

MilesAndMore
post Jul 13 2009, 05:37 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(elhh82 @ Jul 13 2009, 05:30 PM)
AFAIK, i think RM1000 was the minimum if you have 2 months and above. Not sure if it is still the same. RM5000 is the min if you are using a 1 month tenure.
Yes. You are right. It is still the same.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 14 2009, 12:45 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(nky_kevin @ Jul 13 2009, 08:09 PM)
Ya, I got you. Thanks for the details explanation. It means that I should stop thinking about FD for now and save up to a certain amount probably RM10,000++ then only consider what to do with it. Well, now I know.
Ya. Just to be safe lah smile.gif

QUOTE(joenjill @ Oct 7 2008, 10:36 AM)
i also wish to know, because based on the wiki explain on term 'Mudharabah' is what David83 say, the profit will shared equally to shareholders. So what it means? not follow on interest rate? maybe the invest will loss?
Not really sure how it works for Maybank Mudharabah FD but for HSBC Islamic FD (termed General Investment Account-i), the interest rate is float. Whenever Bank Negara Malaysia lowers down the interest rate, the interest rate for the Islamic FD will also goes down unlike regular FD.

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 20 2008, 11:14 AM)
QUOTE(pangolin88 @ Oct 20 2008, 11:11 AM)

Is the interest taxable?
I remember last time only terms of more than 12 months are tax free. Anything less than that, the bank will deduct tax before paying you.
Any idea what the current situation is?
Saving is not taxable.
QUOTE(pangolin88 @ Oct 21 2008, 06:35 AM)
That is what I thought too. However RHB bank site shows there is still a withholding tax of 5% imposed on interest earned on deposits of less than 12 months.
Actually the 5% tax was permanently abolish sometimes last year. There was a 5% tax imposed by LHDN on interest earned with a total fund in an account more than RM100,000. This was the reason why the bank usually will suggest to their customers who have a total FD placement of more than RM100,000 to open multiple FD accounts so to avoid the 5% tax on the interest earned.

Let say that Mr Lim intends to invest RM500,000 into FD. The customer service agent will help him to open five FD accounts. This way Mr Lim doesn't have to pay the 5% tax on interest earned.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 15 2009, 12:16 AM
MilesAndMore
post Jan 16 2010, 12:16 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jan 16 2010, 11:05 AM)
anyone know if any other banks lets u place and uplift FD online ?
Maybank is the first to provide such service. CIMB Bank is the other one.

HSBC also allows you to place FD online but you can't withdraw it prematurely online. This must be done in the branch. So technically there are only two banks with such service namely Maybank and CIMB Bank.

MilesAndMore
post Feb 1 2010, 07:22 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(askm3 @ Feb 1 2010, 12:48 PM)
min how many?
RM5000 for one month, RM1000 for two months and above.

0.0216sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:23 AM