Maybank2u eFixed Deposit

M@g!cK
post Apr 26 2010, 12:30 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(blueair @ Apr 24 2010, 11:18 AM)
What if I have 5K, is there any differences if I put 1 eFD (5K) for 60months, and 5 eFD, each 1K for 60 months?

Maybank2U only shown the following interest rate:

Interest rates
Tenure Rate (% p.a.)
1 month 2.25
2 months 2.25
3 months 2.30
4 months 2.30
5 months 2.30
6 months 2.35
7 months 2.35
8 months 2.35
9 months 2.35
10 months 2.35
11 months 2.35
12 months 2.75
13 months 2.25
14 months 2.25
15 months 2.25
18 months 2.25
24 months 2.25
36 months 2.25
48 months 3.25
60 months 3.25
Revised Fixed Deposit rates for Conventional Scheme for tenures 1 to 60 months are with effect from 9 March 2010. Subject to change
No, there is no difference. It does not matter how you split your FD. As long as the interest rate is the same, you will get the same value no matter which option you choose at the end of your FD's maturity.

Value after 60 months if you deposit 1 RM5k FD with 3.25% interest annually: RM5,867.06
Value after 60 months if you deposit 5 RM1k FD with 3.25% interest annually: RM1,173.41 * 5 = RM5,867.05

blueair
post Apr 26 2010, 08:17 AM

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 24 2010, 11:22 AM)
This one, personal needs 10k, company needs 100k~~~~
Serendipity123
post Apr 26 2010, 08:48 AM

175 posts

Hi all,

If I put RM1k in eFD, can I add another RM500 the next month to the eFD?
Sorry if this is a silly question.

Thanks!
SUSDavid83
post Apr 26 2010, 08:49 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Apr 26 2010, 08:48 AM)
Hi all,

If I put RM1k in eFD, can I add another RM500 the next month to the eFD?
Sorry if this is a silly question.

Thanks!
You need to uplift first before you can add more. There's no feature like auto debit or auto top-up.
elhh82
post Apr 26 2010, 11:41 AM

737 posts

just start a brand new cert, you don't have to top it up. But i think 1k is the minimum.

Added on April 26, 2010, 11:49 am
QUOTE(M@g!cK @ Apr 26 2010, 12:30 AM)
No, there is no difference. It does not matter how you split your FD. As long as the interest rate is the same, you will get the same value no matter which option you choose at the end of your FD's maturity.

Value after 60 months if you deposit 1 RM5k FD with 3.25% interest annually: RM5,867.06
Value after 60 months if you deposit 5 RM1k FD with 3.25% interest annually: RM1,173.41 * 5 = RM5,867.05
the value is the same but cash flow wise, its much better to put 5xRM1k.

If you happen to need to take out some money, you will lose all the interest with the 1x5k method. with 5x1k, you only lose part of the interest, depending on how many cert you uplift.

This post has been edited by elhh82: Apr 26 2010, 11:49 AM
M@g!cK
post Apr 26 2010, 01:05 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(elhh82 @ Apr 26 2010, 11:41 AM)
the value is the same but cash flow wise, its much better to put 5xRM1k.

If you happen to need to take out some money, you will lose all the interest with the 1x5k method. with 5x1k, you only lose part of the interest, depending on how many cert you uplift.
Yup, I agree. Splitting your FD would be a wiser choice, especially when you are locking your FD into longer term maturity.
blueair
post Apr 26 2010, 01:59 PM

thank you so much for your information!!! this is really useful, and now I understand =)
SUSDavid83
post May 4 2010, 07:07 AM

52,874 posts

e-Fixed Deposit's New Enhancement

Please be informed that starting today, there are new enhancements regarding e-Fixed Deposit. Currently, you have to visit to the nearest branch or close the Fixed Deposit if you want to change or modify your FD/GIA and MDA-i details such as tenure or dividend/interest payment mode.

With this new enhancement at M2U, you will be able to do modification of eFD in these areas:

1. Tenure
2. Dividend/ interest payment mode
3. Instruction on maturity

How To:

1. Login to Maybank2u.com
2. Click on ‘Accounts & Banking'
3. Click on ‘Manage Your eFixed Deposit Accounts'
4. Select your eFixed Deposit Account
5. Select ‘Modify' on the certificate.
6. Select the term, Interest payment mode and Instruction on maturity that you wish to changed. ‘Click Continue'.
7. Key in TAC no and click ‘Confirm'.
8. Summary page will appear. Click ‘Print Confirmation' for your personal record.

This service is available daily from 6am to 10.30pm

Terms & Conditions Apply.

URL: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...d=/mbb/Personal
porkchop
post May 4 2010, 12:24 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

but seems like rates just soso only worr
SUSDavid83
post May 4 2010, 09:47 PM

52,874 posts

The FD in all banks are governed by the interest rate from BNM. Won't have extraordinary rates in the FD instruments.
SUSDavid83
post May 24 2010, 06:45 AM

52,874 posts

M2U eFD does not require TAC anymore for new placement; similar like CIMBClicks.
jcintst
post May 27 2010, 05:07 PM

hi, may i ask how to terminate the eFD? thank you!
SUSDavid83
post May 27 2010, 09:54 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(jcintst @ May 27 2010, 05:07 PM)
hi, may i ask how to terminate the eFD? thank you!
Perform a upliftment under Accounts & Banking>Fixed Deposits>Make an eFixed Deposit upliftment
-Teddy-
post Jun 22 2010, 05:27 PM

meh
1,939 posts

If I did the placement today, they will only process and deduct the amount from my account the next working day?
SUSDavid83
post Jun 22 2010, 06:25 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Jun 22 2010, 05:27 PM)
If I did the placement today, they will only process and deduct the amount from my account the next working day?
It's deducted at instant. Not like CIMBClicks eFD.
-Teddy-
post Jun 23 2010, 12:47 PM

meh
1,939 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 22 2010, 06:25 PM)
It's deducted at instant. Not like CIMBClicks eFD.
But nothing happens so far. All my money are intact, and there's no FD account created when I check. The status was "Accepted" when I've done the placement yesterday. hmm.gif

Added on June 23, 2010, 6:07 pmUpdate: It's in.

This post has been edited by -Teddy-: Jun 23 2010, 06:07 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jun 23 2010, 08:13 PM

52,874 posts

Is it the 1st time you perform eFD? Maybe it takes sometime for 1st time creation for a FD account. After that, it'll be almost instantaneously.

Just my guess.
-Teddy-
post Jun 23 2010, 10:09 PM

meh
1,939 posts

Yea, it's my first time.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 24 2010, 12:08 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Jun 23 2010, 10:09 PM)
Yea, it's my first time.
That could have explained why. biggrin.gif
JY.
post Aug 27 2010, 07:36 PM

1,630 posts

hi guys, i placed a efixed deposit for 1year 1 week ago. today when i was trying to uplift it, it shows error. May i know why? does it has any 'office hour' to do the upliftment?

13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:44 PM