seymour duncan, how much for the pickups

TStropiccana
post Oct 8 2007, 12:33 AM, updated 19y ago

24 posts

anyone have this seymour duncan pickups price list?
if more specific...i would like to know the price for seymour duncan SH-4 and SH-6..
thx

Added on October 8, 2007, 12:35 am
QUOTE(tropiccana @ Oct 8 2007, 12:33 AM)
anyone have this seymour duncan pickups price list?
if more specific...i would like to know the price for seymour duncan SH-4 and SH-6..
thx
hmm....i think i post in wrong section...lol sweat.gif

This post has been edited by tropiccana: Oct 8 2007, 12:35 AM
gapnap
post Oct 8 2007, 11:18 AM

1,782 posts

RM340 , RM360
Everdying
post Oct 8 2007, 11:27 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

SG is SGD110 each tongue.gif

dilin
post Oct 9 2007, 08:33 PM

348 posts

I have my friend buy it in SG and ship to me. Saved me about couple of hundred RM for my 59s and Seths. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dilin: Oct 9 2007, 08:35 PM
supercolossal
post Oct 9 2007, 10:52 PM

620 posts

A couple of hundred? Maybe RM100 but not a couple of hundred I suppose?
dilin
post Oct 9 2007, 10:56 PM

348 posts

About RM50 on each pickup, so 4 pups would be at least RM200.

At that time Bentley did not have the '59 set, but they were selling it separately at RM380 each. I got mine at Davis for SGD 165 (for 2 '59s). One '59 cost SGD 99 there, btw. I'm not sure if Bentley have the '59 set now though. smile.gif If they were selling at around RM500 it would be cheaper than going down south (plus expenses) I guess. smile.gif

Cheers!

This post has been edited by dilin: Oct 9 2007, 11:01 PM
gapnap
post Oct 10 2007, 01:09 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 8 2007, 11:27 AM)
SG is SGD110 each tongue.gif
yeah..thats the reason why i hate playing with *buy new* market..

no matter how cheap you offer..

somebody ..with better contacts , higher capital , buys in bulk..

will just come in and throw price , and destroy the whole market...hint...

somebody who just got a warning from blacktrix tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gapnap: Oct 10 2007, 01:10 AM
Everdying
post Oct 10 2007, 09:08 AM

30,735 posts

ehh before there was someone selling pickups bought from SG for RM290 or so each.
but destroy whole market?
ppl selling used gear at cheap prices have already destroyed the market tongue.gif
dilin
post Oct 10 2007, 09:59 AM

348 posts

I think destroying market is a bit too harsh. After all, in a free market system, each has every right to offer the lowest price (without compromising on quality), and consumers have every right to own high quality stuff at the lowest price the market can offer. Just my 2 cents.
gapnap
post Oct 10 2007, 10:28 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 10 2007, 09:08 AM)
ehh before there was someone selling pickups bought from SG for RM290 or so each.
but destroy whole market?
ppl selling used gear at cheap prices have already destroyed the market tongue.gif
lol...was it me ah ? i know there was one period i was selling a wide range of dimarzios brand new at RM290..

guess what ...people still come n fvckin nego with me , complain this , complain that..my profit per pickup was like RM20 ..

thats why i stopped..abit frustrating lor..

QUOTE(dilin @ Oct 10 2007, 09:59 AM)
consumers have every right to own high quality stuff at the lowest price the market can offer. Just my 2 cents.
yea . that is true . but try to put yourself in a seller's shoe ... a seller need to makan , pay rent also ...

go visit lelong 's forum ..there is a section for "sellers only" you can see all the horror stories where consumer crossed the line..

Everdying
post Oct 10 2007, 11:04 AM

30,735 posts

nothing to do with pickups la...just gear in general.

everyone has heard of a similar story of someone buying for example say a gibby LP for rm2k...then when some poor dude later on tries to sell his for rm5k...
everyone will say..."oh someone sold one for rm2k before...you should drop price..."
or like a MIA strat for rm1.5k etc etc...

heck, used gears in malaysia is actually pretty cheap also...even compared to US...how much cheaper can stuff get tongue.gif

dilin
post Oct 10 2007, 11:40 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Oct 10 2007, 10:28 AM)
lol...was it me ah ? i know there was one period i was selling a wide range of dimarzios brand new at RM290..

guess what ...people still come n fvckin nego with me , complain this , complain that..my profit per pickup was like RM20 ..

thats why i stopped..abit frustrating lor..
yea . that is true . but try to put yourself in a seller's shoe ... a seller need to makan , pay rent also ...

go visit lelong 's forum ..there is a section for "sellers only" you can see all the horror stories where consumer crossed the line..
Yeah, that's why consumers need to be educated about different prices of gear around the world, so they can understand the sellers' situation. Of course, they should allow the seller a decent profit as well.

But the Malaysian government should abolish all taxes on musical instruments (including sales tax) as we are a mature(ing) country. In this way, the major players will profit and keep prices within a reasonable level as well.

p/s Hey gapnap, you have any used A2Pros or Seths? I have a little project going on...

This post has been edited by dilin: Oct 10 2007, 11:44 AM
Everdying
post Oct 10 2007, 11:49 AM

30,735 posts

malaysian govt abolish? 10% is pretty decent, compared to what ppl in the UK get charged.
so lets see what you get charged in UK...
VAT 17.5% + UK Customs fee 4.6% + some mysterious money ripping off charge of extra 4-5%...
thats easily 26% extra...not including shipping...

also if not mistaken, singapore gets charged 7% GST...
BUT they are able to offer a much greater discount...cos the shops here sux tongue.gif

dilin
post Oct 10 2007, 12:05 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 10 2007, 11:49 AM)
BUT they are able to offer a much greater discount...cos the shops here sux tongue.gif
careful, don't want to piss off anyone do you? smile.gif

seriously, if Malaysian shops can compete with SG prices (and variability), I'll go with them all the way. Who won't? biggrin.gif
Everdying
post Oct 10 2007, 12:07 PM

30,735 posts

im sure the malaysian shops here can, and some do.
now if they would reduce costs by not hiring dumbass sales persons or making huge ass 5 storey buildings, they definitely will be able to match better.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Oct 10 2007, 12:09 PM
supercolossal
post Oct 18 2007, 03:54 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(dilin @ Oct 9 2007, 10:56 PM)
About RM50 on each pickup, so 4 pups would be at least RM200.

At that time Bentley did not have the '59 set, but they were selling it separately at RM380 each. I got mine at Davis for SGD 165 (for 2 '59s). One '59 cost SGD 99 there, btw. I'm not sure if Bentley have the '59 set now though. smile.gif If they were selling at around RM500 it would be cheaper than going down south (plus expenses) I guess. smile.gif

Cheers!
That's about right, I was thinking just about 2 pickups. You're right, ordering from Singapore can still be cheaper than buying in Malaysia. I wonder if that is true also for effect pedals.

0.0354sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:39 PM