iMac or Mac mini better?

PowerPC
post Mar 13 2023, 11:57 AM

269 posts

Hi TS, if your work need video editing with Mac Mini, you might need a very good monitor which usually cost few thousand ringgit (for example the LG Ultra Fine), plus proper Trackpad/Mouse and keyboard, it should over RM7k already.

Plus, the current M1 iMac will be replace to M2 very soon, not a good idea to buy it, and most importantly it lack of port.

I would suggest you to look for Intel iMac 27 that currently still have in TMT near Shopee for RM6599 only, yeah, Intel seems not good if compare to Apple Silicon, but that just because of power consumption which only show it weakness in laptop (in my opinion), for raw cpu power and GPU power, it is still very capable.

That RM6599 iMac 27 is high spec 10-Core i9 processor + AMD 5700 graphic + 1TB SSD, the 16GB RAM can be upgrade to 128GB via the door at the back, which is very handy too. The included 27 5K DCI-P3 display is same as the one in LG UltraFine 27 which is still selling RM5k ++ , no mention it come with a very good internal speaker and Apple Keyboard / Mouse.

The 27" Apple Studio Display (almost identical to iMac 27 display) alone cost RM6599 already, so I would suggest you go for iMac 27.

I have an iMac Pro 27 at home, it is a very good computer, and I just got M2 Mac Mini (Base model) last few days, and it serve as media center at my living room, in term of raw power and heavy task, my iMac Pro still faster than it.

Just myopinion.

0.0128sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:36 PM