Hedgehog Corner V4, Cuter than durians!

smellyocheese
post Jun 25 2008, 10:46 PM

Quack
2,599 posts

when we first got Amy she wasn't really all that tame. I remember her curling around Hun's (Crazymouse) finger. Lol. When I got her she was already at least 1 years old. not a good age to have a hedgie that is not completely tamed.

and seriously, honestly, we do not keep her in the most by-the-book ideal environment. She lives in her toyogo box, with newspaper and her ice cream tub. outside the porch with the dogs. I don't use towels anymore because they are waaay too dirty and Amy's allergic to wood bedding.
We do not inspect her 24/7. She eat good biscuits though and gets the occasional insects.

Although not handled everyday, she actually became tamer. She was the hedgie who wakes up a greets people when she sees them instead of curling into a spiked up ball hissing. She willingly allows kids to handle her. and bathing her means I get to wrap her in a towel and she'd sleep on my chest with me, not going anywhere.

personally, I do think it's true that hedgehogs probably do not need that much handling than what we think is required. I've seen many occasions where frequent handling result in falling or dropping which is a big matter or even stress (we all think spiked up balls are so so cute).

My advise would be just to keep an eye on your hedgies, give them what they need (food, water, silence, darkness) and handle them occasionally. When they're younger, you can handle them more but as they're older, you don't really have to. I've learned from Amy that she never turns wild once she's been tamed.

and bathing is actually an excellent time to bond because after a bath, they're usually more relaxed (more unlikely to curl) and their quills are softer to touch making them easier to handle.
smellyocheese
post Jun 26 2008, 01:00 AM

Quack
2,599 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 25 2008, 11:26 PM)
well... After I read what smellyocheese said in her post.. I kinda agree thou..
Because... as now I din really give too much attention to ken.. and I mention before that Ken has became so grumpy and not that tame after I left him for 3 weeks holidays. Everytime I open the door or just to take a peek at him, he will just go to his hide box. Every time he saw me walk towards him, he quickly run to his hide box again -.-"

Because of this, I was thinking that He might want his own time where he plays happily without any supervision or as means dun really like if I always checked on him, so... what I did since that day was, just give him food, water greet him a while then I left him with his own time and space...
Been doing this for almost 5 months till now and today when I wan to give him food, he's not running away from me plus he just stood there look at me and when I put my hand down he will come to my hand... before this.. as i mention.. when he saw me wan to put my hand, he will start to hiss and put on his quill but today.. he did the opposite of it and it really made me happy <3

talking bout this... well.. I guess there are many hedgehog with many and diff soul that leave in there as mean they all have diff attitude. Some hedgehog really likes to be stroke their quills while some just wan their own time... so I guess no one should be blame bout this.. hehe
no offence thou.. as in this thread we all love hedgehog of course we do like them whatever they had did to us..

am I right? smile.gif
indeed, understanding your hedgie's behavior is important to find out actually what they like and what they don't like.

Cim: as much as I respect your vast knowledge, keeping animals... well, not everything is entirely by-the-book and matter-o-factly. I may not be right nor am I wrong. I guess I'm pretty instinctive when it comes to my animals. I don't always go by the book. i provide the basics, I take in advice and experiences here and there, and I put my own spin to it. I have had animals defy many logics and warnings given by facts. (it is said that gliders when introduced at a later age may fight to the death while my Pie embraces another friend's younger glider everytime she sees him and grooms him, cuddle together) i learned from them, that animals really aren't all that mechanical. I still believe that in the end, they are individuals.

as for the kids handling, occasional handling with supervision has a lower risk compared to constantly having the hedgie roaming around the bed and "occasionally" falling off it (personal experience of a friend). Lol. hedgies are pretty clumsy critters.

Amy doesn't mind getting her nails trimmed. She just lies flat and sticks her little feet out for us to trim.

12:12 thingy. I keep her in the porch. With the dog. I don't keep her in a cupboard. she wants a shed, she hides in her ice cream tub. really not all that complicated. Lol.

as for demeaning our experience and memories of Amy, you might as well have just done that. You never knew Amy or any other of our animals. Those who knew them, knows how special they are. They surprised others just as they have surprised us. Although there is a reason for every single one of their actions, as you have so kindly clarified, perhaps some things are better off left to the imagination?

these are the conversations that I've been wanting to avoid, which is the reason I've never posted in Pet Wonderland in a very very long time. To us, animals are more than just specimens. We're not scientific people hoping to find reasons for everything. Just as how reading every single parenting book in the world does not justify good parenting. (example)

Well, I'm outta here. Good luck to all hedgie owners. The vibe here is just too much for me to handle, even for just one night. Do whatever that floats your boat. There is no wrong, until something goes wrong. Make good choices.

This post has been edited by smellyocheese: Jun 26 2008, 01:09 AM

0.0167sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:46 PM