Though it has higher protein, there is also 5% more fat than they should take. It would be better to stick to Fit32, later your hedgie gets addicted to kitten34, got problem neh.
Hedgehog Corner V4, Cuter than durians!
Nov 14 2007, 11:35 AM
2,903 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Somewhere in KL |
Though it has higher protein, there is also 5% more fat than they should take. It would be better to stick to Fit32, later your hedgie gets addicted to kitten34, got problem neh.
Nov 15 2007, 02:42 PM
Echo's adoption is an adoption but I'm not expecting to simply adopt her off. You need to show me that you can take care of her and understand the terms and conditions well.
Whoever that sent me smses that I didn't reply : I'm getting smses asking for her and asking if hedgehogs are easy to keep. What nonsense is this? You want something free you have to work for it, don't expect me to spoon feed you. My price is research, the internet is at your disposal, make use of it. |
Nov 17 2007, 02:32 AM
You should buy it first and prepare a few days before you bring your hedgie home. Since got 30% discount, should buy when the discount still available. Later no more discount, then zannendes.
Nov 17 2007, 03:20 AM
Get the largest your budget would allow, or at least one that is just nice. Don't get the ones with the second or third levels made from mesh or bars. Actually one floor is enough, as long as it's spacious enough. The sides as well, don't choose the ones with bars the hedgehog can easily reach.
Nov 18 2007, 12:55 AM
RIP little one. Safe trip over the rainbow.
This post has been edited by Reanne: Nov 18 2007, 12:55 AM |
Nov 22 2007, 09:14 AM
He's chinese and has been there for a very long time. More experienced with exotics than most vets we know and studied overseas. So he's a better bet than most.
Nov 23 2007, 02:32 PM
Cute cute.
Dec 20 2007, 11:41 PM
You should NEVER EVER EVER EVER feed Whiskas or Friskies to your hedgehog unless you want to damage their growth and life. Especially Whiskas, which is so full of colouring, corn, salt and by products, might as well feed corn flakes to you hedgehog, healthier than those 2 brands.(Not literally) You won't find RC in supermarkets. Go to pet shops that sell dogs and cats or a pet boutique. I recommend PetsPeople in Plaza Damas, Sri Hartamas. They have both RC and Orijen.
A friend of mine fed a stray kitten Whiskas and the kitten got very colourful diarrhoea. This post has been edited by Reanne: Dec 20 2007, 11:45 PM |
Jan 11 2008, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jan 9 2008, 11:43 PM) Just came back from summit... Hedgehogs don't really enjoy light pointed onto them and they don't need it either. They like to sleep in dark places like in a hide or in a towel. The owner of the pet store in Summit likes to fatten up his animals so the hedgehogs you saw are probably obese.I saw 3 hedgehogs in pet shop there... and I was.. @.@ cuz they put this yellow light which facing the hedgie directly and 3 of them scouting or sleeping together... I was busy body just wan to ask bout the price.... the owner said... he sell it RM 550 for a pair... means male n female.. and if I wan only 1 he'll gave RM 300.... and I just know that the 2 albinos there are female n male.. not pair of males or females... and also they looks quiet big for me.. -.- even bigger than my baby who is 2 months++... and the big albinos there still baby... I think they consider as big hedgehog then... haha btw.. wat i wan to ask is.. is it okay to put the light like that? |
Jan 26 2008, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(broken_string @ Jan 26 2008, 06:16 PM) Hi, Call me at 0126165997, don't PM, my PM box is still very full. The hedgehog has some special needs so please do consider that properly, we have the right to reject any adopters if deemed unsuitable.i have one female hedgie up for adoption, its the one adopted from reanne previously. reason why its here instead of ta adoption thread is tat i wish to let her go urgently to caring hedgie lover who frequents this thread rather than attracting 5354 ppl who juz wan her because its free on the adoption thread. i seriously dun have time for those nonsense atm, my glider is very sick and i wish to concentrate my time on taking care of my glider. those interested can pm me or reanne directly, strict screening. pls think about the commitment and responsibility of an additional pet first, dun react on impulse juz because its free thanks This post has been edited by Reanne: Jan 26 2008, 07:00 PM |
Jan 27 2008, 06:29 AM
She has recovered from stones in her bladder recently and was adopted off when she was stable. She is quilling a lot and she needs extra care and love, as well as a good diet of insects and quality cat/dog food. She was on treatment for mange but for certain reasons, her second dosage was delayed so a second treatment has to be given.
She is not young anymore so moving her to a diet lower in protein and minerals would be better, removing cat/dog food from her diet to occasional treats would be even better as this helps to prevent her problem from re-occuring. If you can provide her with insects (mealworms and crickets), occasionally mushed with a bit of fruits twice daily as the concoction will turn inedible quickly, then you may have some plus points in adopting her. Or gut load these crickets with lots of fruits and veggies for at least 5 days before feeding her if you do not wish to mush them with fruits. She has a big appetite for insects, so don't think of just feeding her only a few crickets or a spoonful of mealworms a day. When she was stabilizing, she ate large fistfuls of mealworms and lots of crickets daily, insects being her main diet, though she didn't fatten up much back then, she has gained some weight recently. These insects must be gut loaded with fruits and veggies if you decide to feed them solely as the main diet. I doubt I can take her back for now as I have to clear space due to the room's ventilation issues and it's affecting my health as well. Suffering from constant sneezing and nose blowing as well as pain in my throat due to the bedding, going to change back to Breeder Celect or B2N or Healthy Pet soon to help deal with these issues. Ugh.... Her perfect diet would be, crickets gut loaded with a little of soaked cat/dog food, lots of fresh fruits and veggies continuously for a week prior to feeding, mealworms fed on veggies and carbs like wheat bran or oat bran. A few pieces of Orijen puppy kibble twice a week. Allow her to eat insects as much as she likes. This becomes easier when you observe how much she can take daily, then after awhile, you can estimate how much she usually takes and you can just put the amount she eats in a bowl. This diet plan is actually better for older hedgehogs than pure cat/dog food. For those who have forgotten how dear Echo looks like, cha cha cha chang cha chang! ![]() This post has been edited by Reanne: Jan 27 2008, 07:01 AM |
Jan 28 2008, 12:59 AM
Heheee... Cute ma. The other pictures her face cannot really see. She doesn't come with any charges, the only payment is love and care.
This post has been edited by Reanne: Jan 28 2008, 12:59 AM |
Jan 29 2008, 05:28 PM
Some do, some don't. Some mites are specie specific, means they only stay on hosts of the same species, but like mange mites, some are not and hedgehogs can contract mange fairly easily when exposed to an infected individual. Mange mites can infest any animal, including us.
Jan 30 2008, 01:07 PM
It may be mites, it may be the bedding, dunno if you don't check it. Try to bring to the vet and see.
What do you mean by normal mites? It depends on the type of mites. Got no such thing is normal mites, not normal mites etc. |
Jan 31 2008, 02:07 PM
Err... I don't really agree with that statement. Some vets will try weird things if the customer doesn't know what he/she wants to use to treat like the Revolution drops. Also, most of them carry only Frontline drops, so they will probably use that instead.
Jan 31 2008, 02:32 PM
lol. Actually, an inexperienced vet will probably not know how to take a skin scraping either, being that the hedgie will probably roll up. They usually have to take the scraping from the face, since the flakiness is the most obvious there. But that requires lots of patience and precision, won't want hurt the hedgie while it tries to roll.
If it were me, I would house bathe them in oatmeal shampoo and house on non-wood shavings like BC and see if the flakiness goes away or not for a few days. If not, then I would look for the drops and apply myself. If the drops don't work, then should bring to the vet to check what it is. The most common problem with flaky hedgies are mites and bedding. Once you rule these possible causes out and the problem persists, then bringing to the vet is a must to find out what it is. This post has been edited by Reanne: Jan 31 2008, 02:32 PM |
Jan 31 2008, 03:22 PM
I agree with that about inexperience owners, but dropping some drop on medication is not that difficult. If the owner really has no clue, then bringing to the vet with the meds would be a better choice.
Most vets here wouldn't know where to start, usually on dogs and cats, they will scrape where it's easiest to scrape and has the most to scrape off. In the hedgehog's case it would be the face as the quills may deter the vet from trying. It's very rare to find a vet that know much about exotics here, let alone treat them. Most of them specialize in dogs and cats, even rodents like hamsters and gerbils pose a problem to them. Probably because rodents like those don't bring much profit anyway and it's easier to buy a new one. This post has been edited by Reanne: Jan 31 2008, 03:24 PM |
Feb 3 2008, 03:35 PM
Yo Cimredopyh, I ran a search on Revolution when I had my first hedgehog that came down with mange and that product is apparently not available in Malaysia. The active ingredient in Revolution is Selamectin, which is in the same group as Ivermectin.
I used Ivermectin on all my hedgehogs and so far there have been no ill effects. Ivermectin and Selamectin is from the same group, if Ivermectin is not to be used, any drugs with selamectin shouldn't be used either. Apparently there shouldn't be any ill effects unless overdose of the drug. This post has been edited by Reanne: Feb 3 2008, 03:36 PM |
Feb 3 2008, 05:40 PM
I have both but I used the injectibles.
Other than Ivermectin, frontline seems to be the other option. But yet there are some sites saying that it could be fatal to your hedgie. Well, for now I will stick to Ivermectin jab and oral as the vet that treats my hedgehogs has experience with the meds and dosage. Unless I use Advantage for cats. This post has been edited by Reanne: Feb 3 2008, 05:41 PM |
Feb 3 2008, 06:07 PM
lol
So far I doubt my hedgehogs are allergic since the treatment was given and there were no effects, but I'm aware of the allergies toward Ivermectin cannot be predicted. If there were another choice available that's proven effective and safe, I would go for it. But Revolution cannot be found here and I do know that Frontline contains alcohol and is quite strong. So I will follow the doctor's recommendation for now since there seems to be no other safer alternative. Thanks for the pointers anyways. |
| Change to: | 0.0525sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:23 AM |