Hedgehog Corner V4, Cuter than durians!

NewbieBetta
post Jan 2 2008, 05:12 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(rumizu @ Jan 2 2008, 03:47 PM)
if we breed an albino with an s&p, can we get different coloured hoglet instead of albino/s&p?
i think chances to get back s&p is higher rather then u getting another albino..
crazymouse_yyh
post Jan 2 2008, 10:21 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(rumizu @ Jan 2 2008, 03:47 PM)
if we breed an albino with an s&p, can we get different coloured hoglet instead of albino/s&p?
You won't get a different coloured hedgie.... you will get S&P if your S&P parent doesn't carry any recessive gene. The hoglets born would be S&P but carry the recessive albino gene and can breed out albinos in future if bred with an albino or with another albino carrier.

It really depends on the genetic makeup of the hedgehogs, if the gene they carry is dominant or recessive, if the mixing of the gene would gain more of which colour to which. Lots of things to study when it comes to colour breeding.

livingmonolith
post Jan 3 2008, 01:23 PM

821 posts

Wow, it's like biology lessons all over again, hahahaha...

BTW, a belated happy new year wish to everyone here!
climacool
post Jan 3 2008, 05:22 PM

Never End
1,415 posts

shakehead.gif Hate hate biology~~
Anywhere, Happy New Year to eveyone here and hedgehogs thumbup.gif
demonicbeing
post Jan 5 2008, 03:20 PM

81 posts

i think momo is starting to quilling...i found one of his quill in his box..huhu
BLuR15
post Jan 7 2008, 05:42 PM

69 posts

rclxms.gif Good luck to you...

They are very grumpy... hahahaha...
wanoridz
post Jan 7 2008, 06:47 PM

109 posts

hi all,
i just got a hedgehog from a very nice gentleman.
I just finish reading this thread, take a few days tho hahaha.

So just wanna introduce my female hedgehog, I named her Melati as the flower. smile.gif

These photos were taken on the 2nd day we met smile.gif.
So cute and lovely as the flower.

She is 1 year and 2 months old. If not mistaken, her d.o.b is on 26th Nov 2006. Will check it again.
She's very active at night, always try to get out of the box. When she sees my hand by the box, she will run towards it and try to climb out.
I let her go last night, she did behave, snug under the bedsheet, and stay for a while, then come out, move here, move there, and walk around me, never try to go far.

Both of my daughter love her so much, even on their first day of kindergarden, they ask to take photo with melati. biggrin.gif
NewbieBetta
post Jan 7 2008, 08:07 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

not to mention..ur camera are very chun also..what camera did u use?did u edit the pic b4?
demonicbeing
post Jan 7 2008, 11:26 PM

81 posts

ya loh...nice pic...melati seems small for a 1 year old...
toottut89
post Jan 7 2008, 11:31 PM

704 posts

wanoridz, your 1year hedgie looks really thin.
wanoridz
post Jan 8 2008, 07:01 AM

109 posts

hehehe, her previous owner said she took it from her father side, her father is small, but her mother twice as big.
Been feeding her RC fit 32, for few days she's not eating much, but after 3/4 days start taking a lot smile.gif. hopefully she will get bigger, and heavier. rclxms.gif

the photo my wife took it, shes's a photographer, i also take pictures laa, but still new, can only be a backup photographer whistling.gif

This post has been edited by wanoridz: Jan 8 2008, 07:03 AM
babymoli
post Jan 8 2008, 08:51 AM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

Welcome wanoridz...

Did you adopted her from Sangterap? If yes, then she may be Sparky's daughter if not mistaken. ^^ She's a beauty & the pics are really nice. thumbup.gif laugh.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by babymoli: Jan 8 2008, 08:52 AM
wanoridz
post Jan 8 2008, 09:45 AM

109 posts

yeah i just know that she is donut's sister smile.gif

thanks everybody for the warm welcome.

BLuR15
post Jan 8 2008, 10:39 AM

69 posts

Hey, did I saw some dry skin on melati's face area? Better check on that... Melati surely is a very friendly hedgehog... Mine still grumpy...
allsaints
post Jan 8 2008, 11:05 AM

14 posts

wanoridz: cute pics there! she's so friendly and cute.. haha.. good thing that she is willing to run towards your hand when u put ur hand into the cage.. trying to get spikey out sometimes can be challenging.. especially for baths.. =.=" but good thing spikey is getting along with us fast.. he's ok with us touching him now... just a bit grumpy at times..

btw, what will happen if we dun cut his toenails ar? will it grow too long? *still dun dare to cute his nails.. >.<*
<Kenji>
post Jan 8 2008, 12:05 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(wanoridz @ Jan 7 2008, 06:47 PM)

nice shots... cute ~ thumbup.gif

crazymouse_yyh
post Jan 8 2008, 02:08 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Melati is Sparky's Daughter, Donut's Sister hahaah....

The smallness comes from Sparky as he is quite a small hedgehog. He is about 300g adult size.

For you guys here, Pygmy hedgehogs can come in any weight, as long is above 255g.

Melati is lean coz the previous owner lets Melati run on a wheel everynight.

There is a difference between lean and skinny hedgehogs.

Dry skin comes from Wood shavings. If you use newspaper only, sure no dry skin.
wanoridz
post Jan 8 2008, 03:01 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 8 2008, 02:08 PM)
Melati is Sparky's Daughter, Donut's Sister hahaah....

The smallness comes from Sparky as he is quite a small hedgehog. He is about 300g adult size.

For you guys here, Pygmy hedgehogs can come in any weight, as long is above 255g.

Melati is lean coz the previous owner lets Melati run on a wheel everynight.

There is a difference between lean and skinny hedgehogs.

Dry skin comes from Wood shavings. If you use newspaper only, sure no dry skin.
ohh, thanks for the tips about the weight and dry skin.
So should i throw out the wood shavings, it looks nice tho with the woods shaving hehe, right now i build a hidebox for her, the same as in the 1st page hehe, she always stay inside, sleep sleep sleep. aiyahh
Lil'Maine
post Jan 8 2008, 03:51 PM

289 posts

argh...my Gie Gie dun like mealworms...put in her cage also she dun care 1...haih...
BLuR15
post Jan 8 2008, 05:12 PM

69 posts

The circled part... The skin look weird to me... What do you guys think?

Lil'Maine - It's normal that some hedge hog don't like mealworm... You can try cricket... Most of the hedge hog like it...

This post has been edited by BLuR15: Jan 8 2008, 05:24 PM

125 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:09 PM