125 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V4, Cuter than durians!

wongzai
post Oct 11 2007, 07:25 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 11 2007, 04:05 PM)
Porcupines have healthier meat than beef, lower in uric acid and also very tender. It is illegal to keep a porcupine or catch a porcupine without a permit..... but now they are farming them for the exotic meat trade so less wild porcupines  become dinner.... it was in the newspapers.... summore say porcupine meat is very good for rendang.... crazy lah. Next what they farm? Bear and Tiger? doh.gif
it does not sound crazy compare to other decision they have made.. tongue.gif ..but it seems like a good job too....to reduce the illegal trade... since porcupine meat quite a popular...but somehow..ppl will still look for the wild instead of the farm...aiks...
vincent09
post Oct 11 2007, 07:42 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Ya, i read that news from newspaper 1, reduce the illegal trade is nice but hope after breeding no 1 will hunt those wild malay procupines, i ask my mum or father also havn't eat before... they eat alot alien thing when they was young biggrin.gif.
GreenNerdy
post Oct 12 2007, 01:34 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 11 2007, 04:05 PM)
Today I heard the silliest thing.... I was at a petshop buying RM5 worth of mealworms.... then I'm quite ok with the staff, always chat with them so I told her the mealworms were for my hedgehogs, then she told me this:

"Hedgehogs, don't they die easily?"

I was like "Huh? I've been keeping for 2 years lah" and then she was shock.... she told me there used to be a customer who bought 2 hoglets.... they died in a week.... you know why? The person did not do research lah..... For 1 week, the hoglets had nothing to eat but mealworms.... worst is that the mealworms didn't eat so they had very low nutrition in them..... since mealworms are just high in fat and moisture, there was nothing to sustain the health of the hoglets, so they died.... So I told the staff that next time anyone ask about diet, tell them feed high quality catfood like RC, then feed mealworms as snacks.
wah you said like this i'm a bit worry about my hedgehog's diet already...

i feed my hedgehog ~30 kibbles per day, usually put into the food bowl around 2pm in the afternoon and she finish them by 2nd day morning...
a few mealworms everyday, the mealworms eat the RC cat food, vegies and fruits sometimes...but sometimes never feed mealworms coz she gained so much of weight since the first day -.-
with a wheel to exercise, which i wash like mad everyday...

is that ok? too much food or too little?

that day i tried to put it on the floor, hoping she can walk around, end up she stoned at a corner and don't know how to pick her up again -.- pls advice on what can i do to give her more things to do? i dowan her to be bored to death ><
broken_string
post Oct 12 2007, 01:37 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

they wont be bored to death la lolz
try giving her a toilet roll to play with.

mine juz have a toilet roll but goona get a wheel for him today biggrin.gif
babymoli
post Oct 12 2007, 08:10 AM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

QUOTE(GreenNerdy @ Oct 12 2007, 01:34 AM)
wah you said like this i'm a bit worry about my hedgehog's diet already...

i feed my hedgehog ~30 kibbles per day, usually put into the food bowl around 2pm in the afternoon and she finish them by 2nd day morning...
a few mealworms everyday, the mealworms eat the RC cat food, vegies and fruits sometimes...but sometimes never feed mealworms coz she gained so much of weight since the first day -.-
with a wheel to exercise, which i wash like mad everyday...

is that ok? too much food or too little?

that day i tried to put it on the floor, hoping she can walk around, end up she stoned at a corner and don't know how to pick her up again -.- pls advice on what can i do to give her more things to do? i dowan her to be bored to death ><
30 kibbles per day? You count before you give ar?? I feel like is too little. I feed my boy 1 tablespoon per day & he's ok. Not overweight but a lil chubby. He has wheel to run every night. So it won't get over weighted.
GreenNerdy
post Oct 12 2007, 08:37 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Oct 12 2007, 01:37 AM)
they wont be bored to death la lolz
try giving her a toilet roll to play with.

mine juz have a toilet roll but goona get a wheel for him today biggrin.gif
got toilet roll inside, but dunno whether she got play or not...
the toilet roll always i use to move the poo to one side laugh.gif

Added on October 12, 2007, 8:43 am
QUOTE(babymoli @ Oct 12 2007, 08:10 AM)
30 kibbles per day? You count before you give ar?? I feel like is too little. I feed my boy 1 tablespoon per day & he's ok. Not overweight but a lil chubby. He has wheel to run every night. So it won't get over weighted.
i counted during the first few days, just wanna check whether she got eat the food or not -.-
now still giving the same amount...

not sure but err 1 tablespoon is less than 30 right? unsure.gif unsure.gif

This post has been edited by GreenNerdy: Oct 12 2007, 08:43 AM
babymoli
post Oct 12 2007, 08:59 AM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

QUOTE(GreenNerdy @ Oct 12 2007, 08:37 AM)
got toilet roll inside, but dunno whether she got play or not...
the toilet roll always i use to move the poo to one side  laugh.gif

Added on October 12, 2007, 8:43 am

i counted during the first few days, just wanna check whether she got eat the food or not -.-
now still giving the same amount...

not sure but err 1 tablespoon is less than 30 right?  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
1 big tablespoon is more than 30 kibbles. Some time i give him 2 tablespoons per day. 1 morning, 1 night.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 12 2007, 09:57 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Tablespoon is about the chinese soup spoon size.... anyway, as long you feed a balance diet of catfood and mealworms, your hedgie won't die lah..... you imagine if someone just give you plain rice for 1 week? You will have energy but can be thin and feel unwell coz no vitamins, no protein, no minerals.... If your hedgie eats fruits, good. Some hedgies do not like fruits....
broken_string
post Oct 12 2007, 11:27 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

my hedgie only eat kibble sleep.gif shakehead.gif
Ryo`
post Oct 12 2007, 03:10 PM

227 posts

Hi guys,

Im getting a 3 months old salt n pepper from a breeder from garage sales, may i know roughly how big a 3 months old hedgie is? How to make sure it's 3 months old?

@ Hun,
Sorry Hun, can't wait for yout hoglet adi, the hedgie poison in my body too deep until i can't resist it >< Some more the price he offered is too attractive, now i just worry this is just too good to be true, lolz
Dear all hedgie lovers, please advice
broken_string
post Oct 12 2007, 03:43 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

my hedgie escape from the toyogo box last week which prompts me to buy a new enclosure with cover for him.
but today when i bath it i notice there is a small wound on his body sad.gif

it could because he fall down after climbing up the toyogo box as i can see its a slight scratch with a little bit of swollen.

what should i do ? need to apply medicine or not ? sad.gif

GreenNerdy
post Oct 12 2007, 04:58 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(babymoli @ Oct 12 2007, 08:59 AM)
1 big tablespoon is more than 30 kibbles. Some time i give him 2 tablespoons per day. 1 morning, 1 night.
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 12 2007, 09:57 AM)
Tablespoon is about the chinese soup spoon size.... anyway, as long you feed a balance diet of catfood and mealworms, your hedgie won't die lah..... you imagine if someone just give you plain rice for 1 week? You will have energy but can be thin and feel unwell coz no vitamins, no protein, no minerals....  If your hedgie eats fruits, good. Some hedgies do not like fruits....
ohh..all the time i tot you all were talking about those small tablespoon sweat.gif sweat.gif
ok thanks for the info smile.gif
climacool
post Oct 12 2007, 06:00 PM

Never End
1,415 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 12 2007, 09:57 AM)
Tablespoon is about the chinese soup spoon size.... anyway, as long you feed a balance diet of catfood and mealworms, your hedgie won't die lah..... you imagine if someone just give you plain rice for 1 week? You will have energy but can be thin and feel unwell coz no vitamins, no protein, no minerals....  If your hedgie eats fruits, good. Some hedgies do not like fruits....
Izzit must remove the seeds ??
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 12 2007, 10:07 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Oct 12 2007, 11:27 AM)
my hedgie only eat kibble sleep.gif shakehead.gif
LOL.... most of us just feed catfood.... but they are after all insectivores... still need insects in their diet. Some people may say that mealworms can cause hedgehogs to die or get diseased... that is SO SO not true man.... anyway, if possible, introduce mealworms and crickets, once a week is even good too.

QUOTE(Ryo` @ Oct 12 2007, 03:10 PM)
Hi guys,

Im getting a 3 months old salt n pepper from a breeder from garage sales, may i know roughly how big a 3 months old hedgie is? How to make sure it's 3 months old?

@ Hun,
Sorry Hun, can't wait for yout hoglet adi, the hedgie poison in my body too deep until i can't resist it >< Some more the price he offered is too attractive, now i just worry this is just too good to be true, lolz
Dear all hedgie lovers, please advice
3 months is still young.... but do check for mites.... alot of breeders have been saying their hedgies are "mite free" but some infact come with mites. Choose your hedgie wisely too....

QUOTE(broken_string @ Oct 12 2007, 03:43 PM)
my hedgie escape from the toyogo box last week which prompts me to buy a new enclosure with cover for him.
but today when i bath it i notice there is a small wound on his body sad.gif

it could because he fall down after climbing up the toyogo box as i can see its a slight scratch with a little bit of swollen.

what should i do ? need to apply medicine or not ? sad.gif
No wonder.... now my toyogo boxes got a DIY mesh lid.... today I did a new one but somehow my old one looks more attractive than the new one hahaha.... wrong measurement.

Wash it with soap and water. If the wound is dry, just let it be. Do not put any cream or antibiotic, it could make it worst.

QUOTE(climacool @ Oct 12 2007, 06:00 PM)
Izzit must remove the seeds ??
Remove seeds? You mean the fruits? Yes, most fruit seeds like apples, grapes, pear, peach and cherries are toxic and can cause death in animals.
Ryo`
post Oct 13 2007, 09:36 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 12 2007, 10:07 PM)
3 months is still young.... but do check for mites.... alot of breeders have been saying their hedgies are "mite free" but some infact come with mites. Choose your hedgie wisely too....
Just brought my hedgie home last night, a male salt & pepper, haven't name him yet laugh.gif
Not sure whether he "mite free", but I find that he like to scratch his body though hmm.gif
akachester
post Oct 13 2007, 10:28 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Ryo` @ Oct 13 2007, 09:36 AM)
Just brought my hedgie home last night, a male salt & pepper, haven't name him yet laugh.gif
Not sure whether he "mite free", but I find that he like to scratch his body though hmm.gif
Ah, its been a long time since i had been here. And its V4 already..LOL.. flex.gif

Anyway, Ryo' i think you need to check the hedgie properly. If he likes to scratch, it is most probably he is having mites problem. Do look for anything moving around its body especially the quill area. Best of all, bring him to a vet to have a full checkup first. There tend to be alot of problem buying hedgie from normal breeders...
chamelion
post Oct 13 2007, 02:05 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

My Mochi RIP today...
akachester
post Oct 13 2007, 02:40 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Oct 13 2007, 02:05 PM)
My Mochi RIP today...
Ouch, what happened here? RIP Mochi... cry.gif
broken_string
post Oct 13 2007, 02:54 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

wtf so many hedgie die this 2 days sad.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 13 2007, 05:52 PM

12,047 posts

If hedgehog scratches alot, means mites loh.... they will only scratch alot if there are mites. Very irritating and if not cured, can cause death too.

Sometimes a hedgehog can die for many reasons, it could be some respiratory disorder, maybe liver failure? Inbreeding? Won't know until you do an autopsy....

Anyway, RIP to mochi the hedgie.....

So far mine all ok (touch wood) Hope nothing happen to them.

125 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0306sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:25 PM